Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Prep + Prime Lash

Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews for Prep + Prime Lash
Review 1 for Prep + Prime Lash
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Makes a Difference!
Date:January 26, 2011
Tags: making lashes look more dramatic
I'll admit, I used to be HIGHLY skeptical about under-mascara primers, considering them "gimmick" products that could well be done without.
I'd still rather skip the extra step, but Prep + Prime Lash makes the little extra trouble worth it! I forgot it once, and could really tell a difference.
I'm not convinced that Prep + Prime Lash has an effect on the way my mascara wears, but it *does* add extra "oomph" to my lashes.
Just be sure to apply your mascara *before* your Prep + Prime Lash dries, or it may get a bit clumpy. Doing one eye at a time may help.
I do the following:
Curl bare lashes
Wiggle the Prep + Prime Lash brush into lash roots, then sweep out to tips.
Add a little more Prep + Prime Lash to lash tips only.
Immediately apply Zoom Lash in Zoom Black; comb through with metal lash comb.
My naturally rather unimpressive lashes look long, thick, and "sooty," but clump-free.
+34points
35of 36found this review helpful.
CNo64
Location: Texas, U.S.A.
Review 2 for Prep + Prime Lash
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great at first....
Date:January 18, 2013
After reading reviews I decided to give it a try, and was absolutely hooked after the first use. It didn't last long however.. After using it for a couple weeks, I noticed it started clumping my eyelashes together and didn't glide on as easily as before, giving me the infamous lumpy spider-lashes.. I was a fan the first couple weeks, but it seems like the product had quickly turned and gone bad.. Will not be purchasing it again
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
AshleyT
Location: Smith Barracks, APO AE
Review 3 for Prep + Prime Lash
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Fantastic
Date:January 27, 2011
Tags: Extends eye makeup wear, thin lashes
I've been using this off and on for about 4 years now. Frankly I wish MAC would make a version in black and I would use it as my mascara. I would just wear it on its own if it didn't leave the slightly white cast on the lashes once it has dried. It lengthens and separates beautifully, and my lashes look soft and wispy, like a pair of natural falsies.
However, after I've layered my mascara on top (and I've tried several), my lashes become hard and clumpy whereas the mascara itself doesn't give that effect. So tragic. You can minimize this by finding the right time to apply it-- depending on the mascara formula you're using, you may want to apply immediately after prep & prime or wait until PP is completely dry.
I've never encountered an issue involving the staying power of mascara, but I guess PP does extend the wear of the mascara because it makes it twice as hard to remove at the end of the day. Small price to pay. I find after a few months after initially opening, it becomes rather thick. It's still workable but lashes clump more when it's this way.
+9points
11of 13found this review helpful.
Rachcol
Location: East Coast
Review 4 for Prep + Prime Lash
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Must Have
Date:March 9, 2011
Tags: Extends eye makeup wear
This product is a hidden treasure. I too was skeptical of an eyelash primer, but it makes my lashes look AMAZING. This is worth taking the extra time to apply and I can totally notice a difference.
This is a product I always have a back up of because it is that amazing!
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
SavvyKat
Location: MT
Review 5 for Prep + Prime Lash
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Date:January 27, 2014
Tags: Smudge resistant, Extends eye makeup wear
Love this product, doesn't clump and helps maginify lashes and mascara to go on smoothly
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Berna
Location: Colorado Springs
Review 6 for Prep + Prime Lash
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
The Best
Date:January 21, 2014
Tags: everyone
Absolutely the best primer on the market.
Wouldn't even dream of putting mascara on with out it !!!!
Was gonna boycott MAC when you guys discontinued the best fragrance ever created MV3 but I couldn't. Tried to use others but had to come back.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Lizzi
Location: Lake Tahoe
Review 7 for Prep + Prime Lash
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Incredible!
Date:April 4, 2014
Tags: Extends eye makeup wear, lashes
I love this product. It makes my lashes stand out and be seen before I apply the mascara. Best primer I have ever used. Will be buying more in the future.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
lulu59
Location: Texas
Review 8 for Prep + Prime Lash
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Noticeably Long Lashes!!!
Date:April 1, 2014
Tags: Smudge resistant
Want noticable lashes? This product is a must!! Extends and separates lashes without clumping and lasts all day!! I can not live without! Thanks MAC!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
AngieD001
Location: Stafford, VA
Review 9 for Prep + Prime Lash
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
The only lash primer I'll use!
Date:April 2, 2013
I love how this helps to give volume to my lashes. I never have any issues with clumping, and I find that my mascara goes on cleaner and has less flaking when using it. Since finding the primer (about 18 months ago) I have noticed that my mascara is easier to remove and my lashes feel healthier.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
SharonO
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Review 10 for Prep + Prime Lash
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Does the Job
Date:March 14, 2013
Tags: Extends eye makeup wear, plumping eye lashes
This product heightens the thickness of your lashes very well. However, it has a tendency to clump your lashes together. I would suggest only using it if you have a good lash seperator. Seperate the lashes immediately after application because if you wait 30 seconds for it to dry, your lashes will stick together like glue.
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
hbear
Location: Denver CO
Review 11 for Prep + Prime Lash
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
The Best !!
Date:March 26, 2013
Have tried pretty much all the other primers, this is by far the very best. Wouldn't even bother to apply mascara without this going on first !!!!!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Lizzi
Review 12 for Prep + Prime Lash
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Awesome!!
Date:September 14, 2010
Tags: Smudge resistant, Extends eye makeup wear
I love this product! I literally can't live with out Prep + Prime lash. It helps my regular mascara stick to my lashes without clumping. It also helps to extend the wear time and prevent it from flaking. I can not wear mascara without it!!!
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
mandalynr
Location: Virginia, US
Review 13 for Prep + Prime Lash
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Didn't love it
Date:July 5, 2014
Tags: fine lashes
I will be honest and say that this gives me a bit more volume but not enough for me to take the extra step and use it and buy another tube of it , not impressed
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Rockinbeautysalon
Location: Huntsville Tx
Review 14 for Prep + Prime Lash
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
the best lash prime... period.
Date:August 7, 2013
Tags: prime for mascara
simply stated, i've tried every type of lash prime method & product and NOTHING equals MAC Lash Prime!!! it goes on so easily, first setting to a translucent white (just like they say) then quickly drying to leave your lashes moist, lush & ready for whatever mascara product/effect you desire. indeed, for days when a more natural look is desired, this stuff is PERFECT for giving your lashes that subtle but beautiful touch.
personally, i love using this w/the MAC "Haute & Naughty" Too Black Lash. i just so appreciate how the dual wiper system is always there to give me the choice:)
thank you MAC!! for giving me the power of choice!
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
roxxanna
Location: Santa Whatever CA
Review 15 for Prep + Prime Lash
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
My best friend!
Date:May 27, 2011
Tags: Smudge resistant, Extends eye makeup wear, Crease resistant, every occasion
Such an amazing product! Whether you want extreme length or thickness...even both! This prep + prime will not let you down! At first glance it looks a lil unnecessary, but if you use it once...you will for sure use it every time after!
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Rina00
Location: Tampa, FL
Review 16 for Prep + Prime Lash
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
LOVE IT!!!
Date:April 14, 2014
I stopped using lash primer a long time ago because none I used made a big difference but I bought this on a whim because I've heard good things about it. I am so glad that I bought it! It makes such a huge difference on my lashes! It makes them appear a lot longer and fuller! It's a must have for me now. This products does what it says plus more! I do one eye at a time and put my mascara on right after the primer before the primer dries so it doesn't clump.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Amber84
Location: Myrtle Beach, S.C
Review 17 for Prep + Prime Lash
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Forget False Eyelashes!
Date:June 4, 2012
Tags: Extends eye makeup wear, adding volume, adding length, keeping mascara on all day
I have never before used a primer and was about ready to give in and purchase false eyelashes. I am 51, and have never used false eyelashes, but the look is so beautiful when done well.. Then I tried the primer along with mascara (MAC) and WOW! The first day, a gentleman at a Starbucks came up to me to tell me how beautiful my eyes are!!! it is a must have ladies....
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
kaiayana
Location: Seattle
Review 18 for Prep + Prime Lash
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Standard!
Date:July 7, 2013
Tags: Smudge resistant, Extends eye makeup wear
I used a few different kinds before I decided to try this. The price scared me away at first, but now I realize you can't get any better than this! It makes my lashes pop like crazy!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
NaomiJ
Location: NH
Review 19 for Prep + Prime Lash
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great
Date:March 8, 2014
Tags: length
I actually really do like this mascara primer. I don't like wearing makeup without it now. It gives your lashes length and volume for sure.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Clarissaaaaaa
Review 20 for Prep + Prime Lash
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Very Helpful Tool
Date:March 19, 2013
Tags: Smudge resistant, Extends eye makeup wear, any mascara
As I grow older, my lashes have become skimpier but this primer really helps the mascara (any brand) go on thicker and has actually helped keep my lashes from breaking! I also noticed that it keeps the mascara stay on a bit longer since MAC mascaras tend to come off pretty easily with water...
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
letshell
Location: Sugar Land, TX
1-20 of 36 reviews