Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at MacCosmetics.

MAC Prep + Prime Eye

Average Customer Rating:
3.186 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
12
Customer Reviews for Prep + Prime Eye
Review 1 for Prep + Prime Eye
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
perfect primer!
Date:November 18, 2010
Tags: Extends eye makeup wear, base under shadows pigments
This is the first primer I've ever purchased and now I realize the importance of having it to keep the eyes looking gorgeous throughout the day. Initially, I thought that I had wasted my money because of the creases I had begun to experience while using the product...I was using too much! It is easier to take a dab on the pad of a finger and blend this stuff out...it doubles as a concealer for me as well...i tend to get rather dark under the eyes. Anyhow, it's a good buy...and you have to learn to work with it through trail and error. Once you've mastered it, you won't be without it...
+15points
15of 15found this review helpful.
virgovixen
Location: Philadelphia, Pa
Review 2 for Prep + Prime Eye
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Prep and Prime Eye
Date:December 16, 2013
Tags: Smudge resistant, Extends eye makeup wear, Crease resistant, priming eyes
Goes on smooth and dries instantly. Works well with all the shadows and concealers Ive used so far. A little goes a long way. I have found this product to be just as the description states, a textured cream. It is creamy but dries in an instant when applied. I like it
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
GaBabyDoll
Location: Newnan Ga
Review 3 for Prep + Prime Eye
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
One of MAC's best: Not just for eyes
Date:January 17, 2011
Tags: Extends eye makeup wear, primer. light concealer. nude lip.
Although this is described as an eye primer, I love to use it all over. It's brilliant as a subtle concealer on the face in warm weather, or when you just need a slight polish instead of a full coverage product. For a nude lip look, apply a light coat and top with a clear gloss. Dab on eyebrows to pale them down for a different effect. Tap on the inner corners or underneath the eye to gently illuminate without a "makeup" look. Bit of a sunburn? Rosacea? Irritation from a skin treatment or chemical peel? This is your answer.
+10points
11of 12found this review helpful.
nicodemus
Location: nyc
Review 4 for Prep + Prime Eye
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Amazing for eyes that water!
Date:August 19, 2011
Tags: Smudge resistant, Extends eye makeup wear, Crease resistant, everyone
My eyes ALWAYS water. My shadow always runs. Even MAC. This is amazing!! A light coat and let it dry and it is exactly like primer for your eyes! They shadow sticks and looks amazing!! LOVE IT!
+9points
10of 11found this review helpful.
nickip9876
Location: Randolph, NJ
Review 5 for Prep + Prime Eye
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Creamy & Dreamy
Date:November 22, 2013
Tags: Smudge resistant, Extends eye makeup wear, Crease resistant, oily lids long wear pro wear
Hate lid creases? Love deep, noticable, long lasting colour?
Apply this before your eyeshadow, and you'll be batting those lids all day, knowing that your work or play, can't STOP the long lasting effects of this Lid primer!!!!!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
SaashMe
Location: Toronto
Review 6 for Prep + Prime Eye
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Not great...
Date:February 15, 2012
Tags: not much
Sorry MAC, this is one product I don't recommend to others... I find that it creases really easily, and I don't have that problem with the Urban Decay primer. I tried to love it, but just didn't work for me.
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
KH32
Location: AZ
Review 7 for Prep + Prime Eye
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Kit must have...
Date:April 14, 2011
Tags: Smudge resistant, Extends eye makeup wear, Crease resistant, evening skin tone and texture on lid
This product is gold in my kit. Evens out eyelid skintone and smooths out any texture present. Helps products perform better and helps frm creaseing. Apply with fingertip lash to brow thin layer. Little does go a long way. Product lasted me over 6 months and i use daily.
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
maccynthia
Location: San Antonio Tx
Review 8 for Prep + Prime Eye
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Great Primer
Date:October 12, 2010
Tags: Smudge resistant, Extends eye makeup wear, Crease resistant, priming the eyes
Works great, it does what its suppose to do, the only thing is tf you put to much it creases, but you don't have to put so much and it works great, this is my second time buying this.
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Kbphat
Location: MP, TX
Review 9 for Prep + Prime Eye
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
A Fantastic Eye Primer
Date:September 10, 2010
Tags: Smudge resistant, Extends eye makeup wear, Crease resistant, eyeshadow pigments paintpots
i have used many eye primers in the past and I can say MAC is the best. It helps my eyeshadows and paintpots last long. A little goes a long way. My eyeshadows and paintpots last all day. OnceI put it on in the morning it helps my eyeshadow to stay on until I take it off. It is very creamy and it blends well.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Xiulan
Location: Houston
Review 10 for Prep + Prime Eye
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Silky
Date:May 30, 2011
Tags: Smudge resistant, Extends eye makeup wear, Crease resistant
The consistency is very silky and the coverage is great! No creasing after the primer dries, but keep your eyes closed for a few seconds after applying to let it set.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Tweetie
Location: Snohomish
Review 11 for Prep + Prime Eye
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Better as a concealer
Date:March 17, 2013
Tags: Extends eye makeup wear, eyes
Nice and light texture, easy to apply but you have to make sure you use only a little. I cannot say it prevents creasing. I even think my eye shadow looks better without this product. The good thing it does: neutralizes your lid color, conceals.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
SandraC
Review 12 for Prep + Prime Eye
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
LONG LASTING!
Date:January 5, 2011
Tags: Smudge resistant, Crease resistant
The primer keeps your shadow on allll day, looking like it was just applied! Be sure not to put on too much, you only need to use a very small amount.
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Tarryn
Location: Belcamp, MD
Review 13 for Prep + Prime Eye
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Not to sure about this product
Date:May 2, 2012
Tags: eyeshadow base
I did use this for a while and couldn't tell if it was really doing what it was supposed to until I purchased the painterly paint pot. It is okay! Id much rather use the paint pot any day..
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
leilamichelleee
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Review 14 for Prep + Prime Eye
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Prep and Prime Eye
Date:December 4, 2011
Tags: Smudge resistant, Extends eye makeup wear, Crease resistant, eyes
This product is fantastic to use prior to putting on your eye shadow. It really helps your eye shadow stay on and not crease. Your eye shadow also glides on easier after using Prep and Prime Eye. This is a must have in my make up case.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
BethB
Location: PA
Review 15 for Prep + Prime Eye
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Favorite eye primer
Date:November 9, 2013
Tags: Smudge resistant, Extends eye makeup wear, Crease resistant
Highly recommended eye shadow primer. Gives just enough coverage to conceal unwanted tones in the skin and extends the wear of eye shadow. Absolutely love this! It's also crease resistant which is so hard to find in an eye primer these days.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
laurentappbeauty
Location: little rock, ar
Review 16 for Prep + Prime Eye
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Great Product
Date:September 26, 2010
Tags: Extends eye makeup wear, Crease resistant, eyes
This is GREAT! it feels light on your lids and prevents your eyeshadow from creasing. It also makes the shadow last longer. I use it everyday! And a little goes a long way so the product lasts a long time. Worth the MONEY!!!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Yellow321
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Review 17 for Prep + Prime Eye
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Bring back the Paint Pot!
Date:February 4, 2012
Tags: practicing free-throws into the garbage can
This stuff pales in comparison to the paint pot. I was very disappointed to find out that this is the only M.A.C. primer available and I will be searching other brands for a replacement. I have used this for two weeks now and I might as well not be wearing eye primer. By the end of just 8 hours of work, there's a gross crease. In fact, I have to apply it and then immediately put shadow over it, or it will crease. Very inconvenient. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone.
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Shye
Location: Sacramento
Review 18 for Prep + Prime Eye
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
eyeshadows BFF
Date:January 28, 2013
Tags: Extends eye makeup wear
Makes my already fanstatic eyeshadows FANTASTICER yes I made up a word. Holds eyeshadow pigments for even longer wear
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Darlingheart
Location: Lakewood, WA
Review 19 for Prep + Prime Eye
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Prep and Prime light
Date:February 28, 2011
Tags: nothing
I bought this and was so excited to even out my skin tone and have brighter eye's under my shaow. I put very little on one day, and more another to test and no difference. My eye color did not even out you could skill see through it and it did nothing for my eye shadow. After a few hours my eye shadow had creased. Now I can say my eye shaow stayed on but thats it. I was not happy with this product at all. I feel like I wasted my money.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Kimberly
Location: Fort KNox
Review 20 for Prep + Prime Eye
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Multi Use
Date:February 8, 2012
Tags: Smudge resistant, Extends eye makeup wear, Crease resistant, all skin types
This primer is also great for to use as for light concealer coverage. Especially good for oily skin under the eyes since it won't slip off and not greasy at all. No caking either. Apply before foundation.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Lizann
Location: Hawaii
1-20 of 43 reviews