Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Prep + Prime Lip

Average Customer Rating:
4.495 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (91 reviews)
5 stars
68
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Reviews for Prep + Prime Lip
Review 1 for Prep + Prime Lip
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Must Have Lip Primer!
Date:January 5, 2014
Tags: Non - feathering, Conditions, Smooths, prepping for lipstick
I love this lip primer! I've used it under all my Mac lipsticks since I got it about five years ago. In fact I won't wear lipstick without it. First, I apply lip balm and let it sit while I'm doing my makeup, then I blot, apply this and let it sit for a minute, apply a Mac lip pencil (which it goes over wonderfully), and then apply lipstick. It makes your lips so soft and moisturized, keeps them that way, and it helps keep lipstick on longer without any feathering. It's worth the price, and it's a good investment. One thing I don't like is the packaging, because sometimes when you pull the lid off the product comes out. It will go back in, and it may stay there, but the product moves around in circles, and it's really annoying. Its that good of a product that i'll put up with it. However, I've gone in and exchanged it when it does that, and they'll give me a new one, even if it's not brand new, just save your box. I love this lip primer, it's a must have item for me!
+72points
74of 76found this review helpful.
Prettygirlmo
Location: Utah
Review 2 for Prep + Prime Lip
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Exceeded My Expectations
Date:December 27, 2013
Tags: Non - feathering, Conditions, Smooths
I purchased this with plans to mainly wear this under my matte lipsticks. Well ,it works great under mattes but turns out to be great under any formulation as it turns out. My lipglass goes on smoother and seems to last longer with this primer. I use it under everything now. I also didn't expect it to be so conditioning. My lips were dry and discolored before but now have nice pinky moisturized appearance-- very nice. If you're on the fence about this just try it, you'll love it. Just remember not to apply lip color right away. Give this product a few minutes to get tacky before adding lipstick or gloss. This will now be a staple for me going forward. Well done MAC!!
+75points
77of 79found this review helpful.
BellaBlack
Location: Ohio
Review 3 for Prep + Prime Lip
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
A MUST HAVE FOR MATTE LOVERS!
Date:January 20, 2014
Tags: Non - feathering, Conditions, Moisturizing
this product to me is ESSENTIAL when applying ANY lip product , especially MATTE shades. it conditions and preps the lip for any application of liner/lipstick/gloss while moisturizing them at the same time. prolongs the staying power of any lipstick and also prevents from feathering!
TIP: before applying any lipstick let this product sit on your lips for about 30 seconds. it will give it some time to sink in and really create an amazing surface for your lipsticks to glide onto. ALSO this can be used as a nightly treatment to the lips! pop it on before bed and when you wake up your lips will feel moisturized and ready to go :]
+28points
28of 28found this review helpful.
KYLEANDERSON
Location: MAC Artist NJ
Review 4 for Prep + Prime Lip
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Anti-slip mat for your lips
Date:August 18, 2012
Tags: Non - feathering, Conditions, Smooths
Oh, I do so LOVE this product!
This was introduced to me by a MAC artist when I was in-store looking for a matte red lipstick.
I'm not usually someone who does much with her lips. A bit of gloss here, some cremesheen there, nothing fancy. Having said that, looking for siren red lipstick for a "new look" for me was an eye opener.
I tried Ruby Woo without the primer, because I thought the primer to be a little superfluous and also thinking lip liner would be sufficient... Well, I thought wrong. The lipstick stayed somewhat, but my lips got so dry because it's a super matte lipstick. putting lip balm underneath eased the drying, but nixed the staying power of the lipstick... not good
So off I went and ordered the primer online. It is the epitome of "Stay Put"! =) Wore the lipstick with everything and it stayed throughout dinner AND dessert. WOW!
here's how I did it: Lip balm when applying my foundation, just to it has enough time to sink in (I do my lips last). Lip primer, letting it "dry" properly, lip liner, lipstick.. done..
+71points
71of 71found this review helpful.
Lexington
Location: SD
Review 5 for Prep + Prime Lip
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
AMAZING!
Date:September 2, 2013
Tags: Smooths, healing, Moisturizing, Hydrating
Before using this product I had the worst looking lips possible. They were always extremely chapped and peeling and no matter what type of chap-stick I used...nothing would heal my lips. I heard about this product and decided to give it a try. Let me tell you....It does exactly what the description says it does and more! My lips are now chap-free and they are no longer peeling. They are extremely smooth and hydrating all the time even if I go a day without using it, they still have moisture. This product is definitely worth it and anyone who suffers what I used to have needs to buy this! I LOVE IT!!!
+48points
49of 50found this review helpful.
Anonymous
Location: Alabama
Review 6 for Prep + Prime Lip
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
This is the best!
Date:April 11, 2014
Tags: Non - feathering, Conditions, Smooths
I am on my third tube and love it! To get it away from me they'd have to pry it out of my cold dead hands! My lips are full and thePrep+Prime keeps them moist and the lipstick stays put longer. Please never stop making this!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Hawk3965
Location: Omaha, Ne.
Review 7 for Prep + Prime Lip
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Yes..buy this..it's awesome
Date:October 7, 2011
Tags: Non - feathering, Conditions, Smooths, everyone...really great!!
I read ALL the reviews and took both bad and good to heart. Im kinda stingy with my money, and I do a lot of reading/research before I spend. 15 bucks for a primer? Humm, but I put my faith in the reviews and decided to buy it...and I love it! I wear just lipgloss or a long-wear lipstick. It keeps both in place. Long wear lipstick can get "grainy" or rub off and the primer keeps it in place...and it feels really good even on natural lips..like velvet. I hope you do decide to buy it. It's worth it.
+17points
17of 17found this review helpful.
Sippy
Location: Austin
Review 8 for Prep + Prime Lip
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
AMAZING
Date:March 30, 2014
I recently purchased because my lipsticks were not lasting long. I put chap stick on my lips before I start my makeup routine then once I am ready for my lips I blot that off then apply the prep and prime lip, wait 1 minute then I place my lipstick over. It last sssoo lomg even when eating and drinking. I love it!
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Maurissa
Location: Atlanta,GA
Review 9 for Prep + Prime Lip
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Plump, Primed, and Perfect Lips
Date:March 28, 2014
Tags: Conditions, Smooths, priming the lips
This is an excellent product. My lipstick would travel all over the place until I started using the prep and prime lip. Now, my lipstick stays put all day and it seemed to extend the life of lipstick. It is a MUST for matte lipsticks like Ruby Woo.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Toya1908
Location: Dayton, OH
Review 10 for Prep + Prime Lip
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
A++
Date:April 1, 2012
Tags: Non - feathering, Conditions, Smooths, treats dry lips, moisturizes
I can't say enough good things about this product. I've always had dry, flaky lips which made wearing lip color a big challenge. No matter which lip balm or moisturizing treatment I tried, nothing took care of the dryness. Lipstick on top of dry lips just doesn't work. I always ended up with uneven color that settled into every little line and accentuated each and every flake. I bought this on a whim, and was blown away by how great it worked. My lips looked moisturized and healthy immediately. No more flakes, no more dryness. Lipstick, no matter what kind, goes on smoothly and looks beautiful. And it really lasts. I used to have to put on lip balm every 30 minutes or so, but now my lips feel moisturized for hours. This is a truly great product, and definitely worth the cost. I will definitely buy this again, and I'd definitely recommend it to anyone.
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
Kristen8577
Location: Dallas
Review 11 for Prep + Prime Lip
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
perfect product...less than perfect applicatior
Date:September 5, 2013
Tags: Conditions, Smooths, Non - feathering, long lasting
This lip primer is a must have for me. The product really perfects any lip product. I especially use it under Macs lip erase, and lip mix. I also dab it over the lip color to set it. It prevents these products from drying out my lips and makes them last all day. It would be a five star product it it weren't for the fact that the twist up applicator is, in my opinion, an extremely poor packaging choice. It would work much better in a pot. The formula is much too soft and delicate to be a stick. The stick always breaks the first or second time I use it. I just reordered a new tube and it was delivered to me already broken. I would return it, but given I know it would end up breaking anyway...I will just keep it as is. I do really hope MAC will rethink packaging and turn it into a"primer pot" or "lip pot" or even a "balm pot"
+13points
16of 19found this review helpful.
aehuston
Location: Nashville TN
Review 12 for Prep + Prime Lip
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Great for Lips!
Date:January 17, 2014
Tags: Non - feathering, Conditions, Smooths, dry lips
I love this! it really moisturizes your lip and its great on maintaining your lipstick for a long time.
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Anachka
Location: brooklyn
Review 13 for Prep + Prime Lip
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Awesome!
Date:November 14, 2011
Tags: Non - feathering, Conditions, Smooths, everyday
I always wait until I've had a product for a long time before I write a review, and made no exception for this product. I was incredibly disappointed when I first tried it, even though I don't know what I was expecting. Having used it for several weeks with several different formulation of MAC lipsticks (including ProLongwear Lipstick, Pro Longwear Lustre Lipcolor; and Satins, Amplifieds, Mattes, and Frosts, I love it. I was having trouble with lighter shades like Snob and Angel showing every little line in my lips, but this really does provide a smooth base for all varieties of lip color. Sometimes I wipe out my lips with long-lasting foundation. I apply this both under and over the foundation, blend it, and it totally keeps my lips from feeling dry.
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
timothybcat
Location: Chicago, Il
Review 14 for Prep + Prime Lip
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Lip Primer
Date:April 20, 2014
Tags: Non - feathering, Conditions, Smooths
Now this is one of those products where for some reason I expect to change my lipstick completely and get that WOW ITS REALLY WORKS effect from. This isn't going to make your lipstick change or transform, but it's when you don't use it that you realize, oh my lips stayed on longer with it. It reduces that build up that I usually experience with lipsticks. It's a nice product to have especially with bright lipsticks.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
chelseaesparza
Location: California
Review 15 for Prep + Prime Lip
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Prep and Prime Lip
Date:February 20, 2013
Tags: Non - feathering, Conditions, Smooths
I love this product! It works and makes my lips so soft. My lip colour stays on longer and I have tried others that come nowhere close to this lip primer. Five stars, in my opinion.
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Hawk3965
Location: Omaha, Ne.
Review 16 for Prep + Prime Lip
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
FABULOUS. IF YOURE A LIPSTICK LOVER,YOU SHOULD OWN
Date:May 16, 2014
Tags: Conditions, Smooths, lipstick, moist
Was playing around with the idea of a lipstick primer for a while and am so happy I tried it out! it is flawless! Keeps your lips moist and smooth and the colour perfect shine and pigment. I don't know how i lived without it.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Destiee
Location: Vaughan
Review 17 for Prep + Prime Lip
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Effective
Date:January 25, 2013
Tags: Conditions, Smooths
I love this product. It has become one of my "must" in my purse. My lips are more smooth and when I put my lipstick on, it holds on for longer time than not using the primer.
What I find also very positive is that when I take my lipstick off, my lips are way more smoother. Love it.
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
annae
Review 18 for Prep + Prime Lip
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
"Stays Put."
Date:July 23, 2014
Tags: Non - feathering, Conditions, Smooths
This lip primer is like glue for all my mac lipsticks to stay put, it even makes the application of the retro matte lipsticks smoother. My lipsticks stay on my lip all day, and don't need any feathering touch ups. Using this plus a lip liner will do the don't budge trick even better.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Lunie
Location: New York
Review 19 for Prep + Prime Lip
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
The BEST!!
Date:September 8, 2011
Tags: Conditions, Smooths, Non - feathering
I've been using this product for almost a year now and I LOVE it! I've always had issues with dry, cracked, and peely lips. That issue + lipstick = not cute! This product is the only thing that has helped! I was reading reviews and seems a few find this product to be a waste of money etc. The reviews kind of had me second guessing the product so I tried going without it for a day to see if it really made a difference. I substituted this product for a day with an average chap-stick, then applied my lipstick as usual. Boy, could I tell the difference! I seriously can not live without this product now. It provides a smooth base before my lipstick, enhances the color, and keeps my lips smooth and peel free for hours!
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Monikaa
Location: Orange County, CA
Review 20 for Prep + Prime Lip
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
MUST HAVE
Date:March 28, 2014
Tags: Non - feathering, Conditions, Smooths, dry lips, under lipglass, underlipstick
For ten yrs i been wearing mac, and was always skeptical of this lip primer. I didnt see how this was a need product. Well, now that i have been using it for a month, i can say this is a holy grail product for me!!! SOOO great for wearing under mattes or more drying lipsticks, and i even wear it under lipglass too. Makes your lip products just glide right on so nice and smooth, It also does help the wear time as well. If your lips get dry easy from wearing lipstick this is a must have. I can tell you that i will never go without this product as long as MAC makes this i will buy it!!!!!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
JuiceyJay
Location: Seattle, wa
1-20 of 91 reviews