Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Prep + Prime Skin

Average Customer Rating:
4.345 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (116 reviews)
5 stars
84
4 stars
11
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
10
Customer Reviews for Prep + Prime Skin
Review 1 for Prep + Prime Skin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Will never go without...
Date:February 26, 2014
Tags: setting foundation, oily skin
Bought this because of a recommendation from a friend. I've never used a primer before at all, and have a combination/oily complection. I found that by the end of the day my foundation felt like it was melting off my face due to my oily skin. Now that I've got this primer I will forever buy it. It helps with the longevity of my foundation and keeps my skin dewy through-out the day. It's got a really beautiful shimmer in the cream and makes your skin feel so yummy when it's on. Although the bottle is a bit smaller than I'd like, you only need the smallest amount each time so I'd expect to get a fair few months use out of one bottle! Overall, absolutely LOOOOVE this product - I definitely recommend getting it.
+58points
61of 64found this review helpful.
Chrystal
Location: Manawatu, New Zealand
Review 2 for Prep + Prime Skin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Perfect!
Date:January 8, 2014
This prep and prime skin is absolutely perfect! I use it after my face moisturizer (studio moisture cream) but before any makeup. It makes my makeup last more than twice as long. Before using my makeup would last from about 630am until maybe 200pm. Now getting home at 5 my makeup looks as good as in the morning! It does have some sparkle to it but it is hardly noticeable. Also, I absolutely love the texture its like a light foam mouse kind of and feels really good on your skin.
+49points
53of 57found this review helpful.
honeymoosh
Review 3 for Prep + Prime Skin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
How did I live without this?
Date:August 19, 2011
Tags: making skin even long-lasting makeup lightweight
This is the first primer EVER that I've tried, so clearly, I have nothing to compare it to...But either way, I loved this product! My skin type is oily at the T-zone, but dry wherever I get pimples - usually on my lower cheeks by the jaw. I got this primer two days ago, and the SECOND I put it on I felt/saw a difference. I was honestly becoming hopeless with my skin lately - I had no idea what to do to keep my makeup looking long-lasting, and keep it from looking oily. I'm gonna be honest, my makeup would look cakey and gross (I'm sure a lot of that was due to the humidity in NY) before I used this product. I would just cake on my powder because I didn't know what else to do. This really makes my makeup look very even and helps my skin from being oily. My skin feels 10 times better with this than with just foundation. It's so lightweight. I don't feel insecure with my face anymore. I don't break out from this either, and I do not have the best skin in the world... I have acne-prone skin. So basically, for the money I spent ($36, including tax & shipping) I am very satisfied! If there's something better out there I'd love to know what it is because I can't imagine what something better would do to my face if this is so perfect!! :)
+46points
50of 54found this review helpful.
LovelyLisa
Location: New York
Review 4 for Prep + Prime Skin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Works great!
Date:August 13, 2012
Tags: oily skin, large pores, uneven skin tone
I have combination skin that gets super shiny within 30 mins of washing. I use this under makeup and it keeps the shine down, but also improves the look of my skin. There's something in it that reflects light so it makes my skin look less shiny but more all over luminous at the same time. And it has a completely non-greasy texture so it feels good when I put it on. I also have large pores, and it seems to minimize the look of them. I definitely like this product!
+74points
74of 74found this review helpful.
Slwarhola
Location: Seattle
Review 5 for Prep + Prime Skin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
L.O.V.E.!!!!!!
Date:August 2, 2011
Tags: smooths & softens evens tone removes red & more
i started off with studio fix compact w/t fondation I found a new love that day. love that stuff too, it started the ball rolling to trying mac's full line. i cant believe the quality of everything ive tried. no wonder its used by make up artists and worn by models and on red carpets all the time.
I totally love this stuff. i have the pickiest skin ever. its sensitive and dry and oily and gets breakouts..I get it all.. this stuff doesn't give me any problems. it makes my skin smooth.. my skin gets patches. this stuff evens it out and helps ALOT with the redness if not takes it away. (depending on how bad it is that day) i don't wear make up all the time so i thought this stuff would feel heavy but NOPE! it goes on rubs in smooths everything out and makes my mac makeup.(which i only started using on my honeymoon last June of 2010and ill never change. I'm trying everything over time and so far soooo good! mac stays on really well)this stuff makes it even better. love it. it really makes a difference. i always thought primer was just a gimmick Have to say i was totally wrong there. no matter your skin type u should definitely try this stuff its very worth the money. and I've still got my first bottle. i bought this stiff at least 9 months ago. u only need about 3/4 of the size of a pea. IF THAT. seriously don't use more or you'll be simply waisting it. and this is not something u want to waste. its practically worth its weight in gold or more!!!!!. GIVE IT A GO. I BET YOULL LOVE IT.
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Anonymous
Location: Elkford BC. (east kootneys)
Review 6 for Prep + Prime Skin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
amazing primer!
Date:June 19, 2013
Tags: oil and shine control, mattifying skin before foundation
This primer does what its supposed to do. It feels like a lotion so i apply 2 pumps of this all over my face before i put on my studio fix foundation. I love how it leaves my face matte and even toned. I also have very oily skin so I love how it controls the shine unlike the beauty balm i also got which made me break out and got oily. I prefer this over the bb cream.
+20points
22of 24found this review helpful.
beautygirl23
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Review 7 for Prep + Prime Skin
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
like, not love
Date:October 3, 2012
- the first time i used a primer, it was a free sample from sephora (dont remember the brand) that my sister had.. it was silky, silicone and filled in the tiny imperfections that set my face for foundation perfection...
- being that mac has very high quality products, i expected the same, but better.. this product disappoints, especially for the price.. i bought it online, so i didnt get to try it out in person.. honestly, i was too lazy to return it.. it's not a bad product, i do like it..
- it doesnt quite "fill in" like the other primer did, well.. mildly.. it does however help to keep my studiofix in place all day at work for 9 hours without having me retouch it.. even with my nose that gets oily-ish by the end of the day.. i never have to touch up.
- a little goes a long way. one pump is too much.. it shouldnt feel greasy, but silky.. it took me a couple tries to get the perfect tiny pearl amount that is suffice for my face. the bottle itself seems great in that it will pump out every last drop..
- there are no directions on the bottle: first put on moisturizer, blot, wait a couple minutes.. then put on the primer.. wait a couple minutes.. then apply your foundation
- overall happy.. but i would have been happier with the primer my sister had, as it filled in my skin a little more..
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
superdelite
Location: nyc
Review 8 for Prep + Prime Skin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
best kept secret
Date:January 18, 2011
Tags: Evens out skintone, Extends foundation wear, Minimizes look of pores, Smooths
Once I bought this product, I don't know how I could have ever applied foundations with out it. This has become a daily staple in my makeup collection! I have combination skin, and can't stress how much this has helped my complection, makeup application, tzone area, and added hours to longer lasting makeup!
On bad skin days, I just mix two pumps of the prep + prime with a small drop/pump of my foundation, and I still get a flawless matte finish without the obviously cakey look. On good skin days, I just apply a quick layer to my face and finish with a sweep of powder and blush that sets and lasts all day! I also mix it w/my studio finish concealer to dry areas, under eyes, and even for a lip and eye primer!
+14points
14of 14found this review helpful.
pandita
Location: chicago
Review 9 for Prep + Prime Skin
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Oily, Greasy, Disco Ball
Date:June 22, 2012
Tags: making a crafty glitter disco ball
I went to a MAC store last summer and purchased the studio fix foundation, the concealer, and this primer and everything was working well for a while. I ran out of primer and purchased more in January of this year and everything was still ok.
I just purchased another bottle of primer about 2 weeks ago and not only is the make up sliding off my face but the primer this time is too glittery. I have medium/dark skin and glitter or "luminescence" on my complexion looks a glittery mess. I also noticed that it didn't provide the oil control that it did before. After an hour my nose lose like an oil luge. This formulation of a primer has way more glitter than the last. I thought I was mistaken but I squeezed out a drop from my old bottle and compared it to the new bottle. I was right! The consistency and formula has changed.
I am disappointed, I am taking my bottle back for a refund.
+21points
24of 27found this review helpful.
Beany
Location: NJ
Review 10 for Prep + Prime Skin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Thought I Could Live Without It - I Was Wrong!!!
Date:May 25, 2014
Tags: oil control & foundation application
I brought my first bottle of Prep & Prime when I began wearing MAC foundation at the recommendation of a MAC make up artist. i have only had to replace the bottle three times in a few years, because I don't wear make up to work everyday - only on the weekends. One pump from the bottle is more than enough to cover my face and neck as you don't have to slather it on to get the effect. Anyways.....I ran out and didn't think it would make a difference as long as I moisturized. Soooooooo Wrooooong!!! I noticed an oil slick break through on my t zone after about 4 hours after applying my foundation. Thank GOD I had my blot powder in my bag. Prep & Prime obviously helps me control the oil in my face. I took Prep & Prime for granted and I will never do it again. I will be sitting in front of my MAC store waiting for it to open tomorrow so I can get another bottle. I've learned my lesson.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Adrienne
Location: Houston, Texas
Review 11 for Prep + Prime Skin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
AWESOME PRODUCT!!!!!!
Date:October 8, 2011
Tags: oily skin pore minimizer
I have the VERY oily skin. I chatted online with a rep and she recommended this product to use under my studio fix powder. I've tried the oil control lotion, but didn't like the reddish, ashy way it made my makeup looked, but the prep and prime skin is awesome. I've been using this product for 2 weeks and saw the difference in my skin and the look of my makeup on the first use. Prior to using this product, I would have to pat my face every hour. This is a miracle product!!! My skin is not as oily and when I use it under my face powder, I only get a little shine around my nose in about 3-4 hours, a HUGE difference.
Even when I'm not wearing makeup, my skin is not as oily since using this product. You only need to use a dime size amount. Yes, its pricey, but worth every dime because I feel more confident when I put my makeup on and I don't have to worry about my skin looking very oily. Another plus, it also minimize your pores. MAC, thank you for making such a great product; please don't change the formula. It really leaves your makeup looking smoother, not cakey and really controls the shine. If you have oily skin, this is a must buy!!!
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
NYCSHOPPER
Location: BROOKLYN, NY
Review 12 for Prep + Prime Skin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Wonderful product
Date:November 21, 2011
I just used this product for the first time and I love it. I'm a 47 yr old transgender girl and this product makes even my oily skin feel silky soft and sexy. My foundation went on so much nicer than it did without primer. I used very little primer and it worked beautifully! I applied MAC Studio Tech foundation over it and it just glided on. I also used much less foundation than before so this is a real money saver. Ladies you will love this product! Buy it and you'll wonder how you ever got along without it. I'd also like to say to all you TG girls out there that the artist at the MAC counter were so very nice to me that I would love to recommend MAC products to you all. I'm a new MAC customer but between the service and the wonderful products I'll be a customer for life.
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
DonnaCD
Location: NY
Review 13 for Prep + Prime Skin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Couldn't Do Makeup Without It!
Date:October 1, 2010
Tags: Evens out skintone, Minimizes look of pores, Smooths, Extends foundation wear, softens appearance of skin to create natural glow
This is one of my "must haves". Every time I place an order with MAC, I always order my Prep & Prime Skin. I apply in the AM before makeup goes on, after I get out of the shower, before bed, whatever... it hydrates the skin just enough to zap it and say "look glowy now!" There is a hint of shimmer, but it is not Barbie or glitzy. It's the kind of shimmer that looks natural. Like a naturally beautiful complexion.
Just a hint to other users- when I apply P&P Skin, I let it sink in for a minute or two before applying concealer or foundation. This allows you to get a better look at what blemishes or red areas truly need covering up. Sometimes the right amount of hydration (in this case our P&P Skin!) will uncover a more naturally even skin-tone, keeping you from caking on the makeup when not need-be.
Kudos to the MAC gods! xoxo ;)
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
trishcortani
Location: upstate SC
Review 14 for Prep + Prime Skin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Super Great!
Date:November 19, 2012
Tags: oily skin, acne
I have very oily acne prone skin with a lot of acne "pot holes" and this works great! It's smooth and not oily or a creamy feeling on your face. It helps to control my oily skin and helps my liquid studio fix go on even smoother!
+12points
13of 14found this review helpful.
xoxoLeesy
Review 15 for Prep + Prime Skin
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Glitter..........
Date:February 25, 2014
I was really excited to get this in the mail. The packaging was great and the bottle is beautiful. However, when I put a swatch on my hand it was like a disco ball.... shimmering glitter all through out. Not just a hint of it either... Full blown glitter. The creamy texture of it is wonderful but I probably won't be using it because of the overwhelming glitter.
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
redbomb
Review 16 for Prep + Prime Skin
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great product, not recommended for oily skin.
Date:October 31, 2010
Tags: Smooths, Extends foundation wear
Mac prep and prime skin primer does what it says, it calms and smoothes the skin wonderfully. Skin feels much softer and foundation lasts much longer after the usage of this product. However, this primer does not absorb oil well if you have semi-oily or oily skin. All makeup around the T-zone will wear off in a short period of time when using this primer. Not recommended for oily skin unless used with prep and prime refined zone primer.
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Mengshi
Location: Naperville, IL
Review 17 for Prep + Prime Skin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love!
Date:January 3, 2011
Tags: Evens out skintone, Extends foundation wear, Minimizes look of pores, Smooths
This stuff is amazing! I love how it smoothes the skin and illuminates. There is a bit of iridescent or pearlescent color to it which I think gives the skin a healthy glow. Makes foundation stick all day. Great stuff!
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
KarmicBeauty
Location: Minneapolis
Review 18 for Prep + Prime Skin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
A must-have.
Date:December 8, 2010
Tags: Evens out skintone, Smooths, Extends foundation wear, helps blend concealer and foundation
The very first time I tried this product I could immediately tell a difference it made.A MAC artist gave me a sample to try and I bought it within a couple of days. It really makes your foundation blend easier and helps make it look flawless. It's extremely soft & smooth and a little goes a long way. I even have oily, sensitive, acne-prone skin and it's never broken me out or made my skin oilier. If you wear foundation, you need this product. I've told several friends I know to try it and all of them have thanked me for recommending it.
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
pirategirl
Location: USA
Review 19 for Prep + Prime Skin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Awesome
Date:November 8, 2010
Tags: Evens out skintone, Extends foundation wear, Smooths, use everytime you wear foundation
I highly recommend this product. It goes on smooth and makes my skin so soft and then the foundation product can slide on. I also don't feel like I'm wearing makeup because it's so light. The consistency is perfect, not to thick. Doesn't smell. I have really oily skin and I noticed my face only had minimal shine than when I used a cheap primer where I had to keep blotting the oil off. This is a must have for me now.
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Tario
Location: Hawaii
Review 20 for Prep + Prime Skin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
It's so good, my sister "stole" mine...
Date:August 13, 2012
Tags: combination skin, radiant, smoothing
Went to MAC because I was looking for makeup for my wedding. Being a little difficult skin-tone wise and having my best friend tell me that MAC is the best brand ever, I decided to give it a go. I didn't regret it.
This product was given to me to even out my skin and prepare it for foundation and what not. The feeling of this on my skin was so good, I continued to use it after my wedding, just on my skin! Smooth, radiant skin that felt soft to touch and looked so divine! Foundation went on like a charm and stayed there throughout the wedding and into the night. Layered oil control underneath this to combat my combination oily skin on that summer's day. It was perfect!
Now, thanks to my sister, I have to go and buy another one... =)
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Lexington
Location: SD
1-20 of 116 reviews