Product Reviews

MAC Select Moisturecover

Average Customer Rating:
3.769 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
8
3 stars
10
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Reviews for Select Moisturecover
Review 1 for Select Moisturecover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Average product
Date:May 26, 2014
Tags: Natural looking
Im not impressed by this product. It of course doesn't work for my oily skin. Even though my clients do not prefer this product, the reason is simple. People usually have their pro make-up done for special occasions, they prefer something long wear so that their money can be well worth and they don't have to do touch up after every 5 minutes.
This is not a great product to cover under eye issues, it creases a lot and due to its dewy finish it can't be wear alone.
I don't bash products off until all the possible options fail. Anyways all in all MAC haven't let me down on this one, even though this product needs major alteration.
This product is perfect for shaping lips. Every time I use bold lip colors, I use it around the mouth to clean up. Since majority of women have dry skin around their mouth area, this product glides on like butter especially under lower lips. it is good for sharpening contour lines because of its light weight and it doesn't look cakey.
if you want to give it a try, sure you will find a way to use but if your sole purpose is to buy a good under eye concealer then Pro long wear is a best option.
+14points
14of 14found this review helpful.
SanBen
Location: California
Review 2 for Select Moisturecover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
It migrates.
Date:September 10, 2014
Tags: Natural looking, youthful dry skin with no fine lines.
I wanted to love this product. It goes on nice and moisturizing, but it moves. It was highly recommended to me by a MUA, but this was more of a miss than a hit. Setting it with powder, no matter how little, seemed to make it cake. To not set it, then go out, it just melts, and not in a good way. It travels. And if you dare touch anywhere near your under eyes, it comes right off. I'm going to give the Pro Longwear a go and see if I can get a better outcome. If you have no fine lines and like near sheer coverage, this might work for you, as long as you don't need to powder. I would suggest this for those in the 20-30 year age range. It's great for dry skin as well.
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
AllSmiles
Location: Kentucky
Review 3 for Select Moisturecover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
A Perfect Concealer
Date:January 5, 2015
Tags: Long wearing, Natural looking, anyone and everyone with dark circles
This is a sensational concealer for under eyes that need a little extra help. The doe-foot applicator glides on with ease and deposits just enough coverage without added pulling under the eyes. I adore the shade NC 20 as it matches my coloring and undertone and doesn't create a raccoon effect. It blends well and gives me that added boost of confidence.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
SkyCat
Location: New Jersey
Review 4 for Select Moisturecover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great Under Eye Concealer!!
Date:September 19, 2010
Tags: Natural looking, dry skin or under eyes normal skin
I have been on a very long search for a good under eye concealer and this one was the last out of the MAC concealers that I had not tried so I picked it up one day and fell in love!! It is VERY moisturizing and thats what I need for under my eyes cause they can get a bit dry so I def cant use any type of concealer that is drying. I just dab a few dots along the under eye and then tap it in with my ring finger a little goes a long way. This is NOT a full coverage concealer at all but it does even out the under eye a lot. If I seem to have a heavy dark cirlce I use a more full coverage concealer first then go over it with this or if I really want a porcelian canvas that is totally flawless. If you are looking for full coverage this is not what concealer will work for u its a natural finish which is great for everyday. I have tried this on other areas of my face and it tend to get a little oily thru the day so I just use it on the under eyes or dry areas such as healing blemishes (works great for that)
If you have dry under eyes I know you will LOVE this.
I hope this has helped someone!!
+22points
23of 24found this review helpful.
Ashley
Location: Coplay PA
Review 5 for Select Moisturecover
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Not as good as I had hoped with a MAC product
Date:December 2, 2010
I have the NW20 color in the Select Cover-Up product (which I LOVE):
http://www.maccosmetics.com/product/shaded/157/278/Select-Cover-Up/index.tmpl
I figured it would be a great idea to have this Select Moisturecover in the same NW20 color as a back up or alternative. Unfortunately, it is not a product I will buy again. There is a color difference between this product in NW20 vs. the Select Cover-Up NW20. This product has more of an orange tint to it, which is rather odd & the coverage doesn't last. Also, while the coverage wears away, it tends to cake up in any creases under the eye lid area, therefore making it more pronounced, in a bad way.
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Millie
Review 6 for Select Moisturecover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Great for Dry Skin
Date:January 14, 2015
Tags: Natural looking, dry skin, under the eyes, dry blemishes
This concealer works really well with dry skin. It feels lightweight, so it can be used under the eyes as well without looking cakey or dry. I would say the coverage is light but build-able to medium. It doesn't cling to dry patches and will kind of fill in any dryness so that the skin looks hydrated. However, it does not last long even when set with a powder because it is very liquidy. After about 2 hours even without touching your face, it seems to disappear slightly. It lasts longer under the eyes than on blemishes.
Still, it's worth the price and good to have in your collection for those really dry days when you need something light and quick that won't cling to dryness or for those times when you have really dry blemishes and everything else cakes up on them...this wil fill in the dryness and provide nice coverage.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Linds123123
Location: NJ
Review 7 for Select Moisturecover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
love love love
Date:January 23, 2011
Tags: Long wearing, Natural looking, all skin
this is a great concealer! however, tube concealers tend to be more sheer coverage, so if you get this be aware that if you need lots of coverage, go for studio finish rather than this. I only use this under my eyes and the corners of my nose. & dont use studio finish under your eyes because it has a thicker formulation and is a matte/full coverage, which will cake up. therefore this concealer is better for under eye area. :)
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Deryn
Location: CANADA
Review 8 for Select Moisturecover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great correcting color & coverage
Date:January 11, 2015
Tags: Natural looking, mature skin
I really like the color and texture of Select Moisturecover and wonder why it isn't talked about more on YT. I use it in NC45 for the inside corner of my eye and where my eye glasses leave those telltale marks. It goes on opaque and works even better with the addition of a peach corrector (even though it seems to have salmon in it ) for discolored areas and under the eyes. Some concealers or correctors have talc in them or are too waxy and they make fine lines stand out. I don't have that problem with this formulation though it can look cakey if too much setting powder is used. This blends nicely into surrounding foundation with a damp makeup sponge.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Arise
Location: Long Island, NY
Review 9 for Select Moisturecover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
ehhh
Date:February 26, 2014
Not impressed with this concealer. I find that it doesn't do much to hide my dark circles and instead settles into and accentuates the fine lines under my eyes. Will be returning.
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Junie721
Review 10 for Select Moisturecover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Nothing Special, but Good On-the-Go Concealer!
Date:June 17, 2013
Tags: dark spots light/medium coverage, normal/dry skin on-the-go
I was recommended to give this concealer a try by a Mac sales associate. I love that this concealer has a doe-foot applicator. It is best for someone who does not need or is not looking for a full coverage concealer as it does not provide that like the Pro LongWear Mac concealer does. It works best on pigmentation spots, but I would not recommend this for under eye circles as it is more of a light to medium cover. I also find in creases when you apply it under your eyes. This concealer does not provide moisture as said in the product description. There is moisture obviously when you apply it, but after that it dries up. Another con is that this concealer does not have long wear. Overall, I would only recommend this concealer if you are someone who doesn't have much time to apply makeup, is late to work one day or has a busy schedule as the applicator is excellent if you are on-the-go. Otherwise, I would consider it just an average concealer. I am not wowed enough to repurchase this product again.
+3points
6of 9found this review helpful.
Anonymous
Location: San Francisco, CA
Review 11 for Select Moisturecover
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Didn't last long
Date:January 17, 2012
I went to the MAC store today to inquire about concealers and the guy - who was very nice and helpful - helped me narrow down my choices to this one and the ProLongwear one. He applied one under each eye so that I can see how they wear and compare. I came home and after just an hour or so I found that this one creased a little and settled in the fine line under my eye. No-go.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
MoonlightShadow
Review 12 for Select Moisturecover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Will Re-Purchase this concealer!
Date:May 17, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Natural looking
I have been looking for a good high end concealer for quite some time now. I went to a MAC store the other day and this is what one of the girls recommended for me. It is such a great fit for my skin. I love that it is small and compact (easy to travel with) and it just works very well and looks so natural under my eyes. Will definitely be re-purchasing this product! Only reason it's a 4 our 5 stars is because I rarely ever give anything 5 stars, there's always room for improvement. :)
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
VictoriaBunker
Location: Chicago
Review 13 for Select Moisturecover
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Nothing Special
Date:January 7, 2012
Tags: Natural looking, dry skin, blemishes
This concealer did a great job at keeping my under eye moisturized, however it did settle in my fine lines within 1-2 hours. Also it is not very pigmented for someone like myself with intense dark circles. Because i use concealer solely for under my eyes, I would not repurchase this product.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
m0sas
Location: US
Review 14 for Select Moisturecover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Perfect when used with Prep+Prime Skin
Date:October 24, 2012
Tags: Long wearing, Natural looking, conceals without pancake effect, evens skin tone
The MAC makeup artist at the store who helped me with the dark circles under my eyes first applied Prep+Prime to my whole face, then touched up and blended in the areas that need concealing using Select Moistercover in NW20. The results were spectacular.
For those of you who want a complete concealer, this apparently isn't your best choice, at least based on the other reviews I've found here.
That's why I wanted to add my review. It's my first I think. This concealer is perfect for me because I don't want to completely hide my skin. I'm 57 years old, with all the skin imperfections that go with my age. I've got good skin, but I'm not 18 anymore and that makes a difference. The combination of Prep+Prime with Select Moistercover creates a wonderful, much-better-than-natural look. I highly recommend this combination. I think you will be as thrilled as I am.
PS I use an excellent sunscreen from my plastic surgeon as my moisturizer.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
natural28607
Location: NC
Review 15 for Select Moisturecover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Favorite Concealer
Date:February 3, 2013
Tags: Full Coverage, Long wearing, Natural looking
I own Select Moisturecover concealer in NC50 and NW45. I also own Studio Finish (a heavy duty concealer w/ SPF and other good stuff) and Pro Longwear (great for mixing with other products) in the same shades but Select Moisturecover is my absolute all around favorite. It is excellent for the eye area and very hydrating and light (compared to other MAC concealers) with good coverage. It does exactly what it says it does, no creasing and the doe foot applicator suits the consistency of the product. Highly recommend.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Leuqer
Location: Chicago
Review 16 for Select Moisturecover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
YOU WILL LOVE IT!
Date:December 20, 2012
Tags: Full Coverage, Long wearing, Natural looking, undereye circle full coverage break-outs, softening "creases" highlighting
I've used the product for 3 years and have no need to try another!
I'm 53, w/mixed Mediterranean bloodlines (mainly Greek), so dark circles are just part of our heritage. I have to have something that covers is one go -- and this is IT!
It provides the most excellent coverage w/o being "masky." Wonderful consistency: neither too thin or too thick. Long-wearing; lasts all day! Color I chose (NC20) is perfect for my fair-to-medium w/yellow undertones skintone. Applicator is really, really usefull for getting in corners, or spot dabs. DOES NOT CREASE OR SETTLE IN FINE LINES! Very moisturizing. Enjoy!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
DebraZebra
Location: Long Island, New York
Review 17 for Select Moisturecover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Excellent Concealer
Date:January 15, 2013
Tags: Natural looking, everyone who needs a little help.
I use and love NC 20 in this formulation; it is easy to use, stays where I need and looks natural and not artificial. The creamy texture is very forgiving to the tender under eye area.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
SkyCat
Location: New Jersey
Review 18 for Select Moisturecover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
long wear
Date:September 17, 2014
Tags: dry skin in the fall and winter time, and oily skin in the summertime
I would like to find a foundation with red undertone and that is for oily skin in the summertime and for dry skin in the fall and winter time
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
bodajai
Location: los angeles
Review 19 for Select Moisturecover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Decent
Date:June 28, 2011
Tags: Full Coverage
I bought this in NW25 which is the same color i was using in 2 other foundations at the time and it was way way way too dark for me and embarrassing because the color looks fine when you put it on and 20 minutes later it looks orangey/yellowy. I went back and exchanged it for the lighter shade NW20 and unfortunately it has the same exact effect of orangey/yellowy color just slightly lighter than the pervious shade. I love the feel and texture of the product and coverage is perfect but the color is just awful.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Viiccc
Location: Philadelphia
Review 20 for Select Moisturecover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Loving It
Date:November 20, 2010
Tags: Long wearing, Natural looking, brightening
I am loving this!! I went to a mac class and the makeup artist suggested I purchase this to finish off my eye make up look and I am glad I took her advice. It makes a HUGE difference. It brightens up the entire eye look and the rest of the face. I apply it in an upside down triangle shape underneath each eye, blend onto the skin with my ring finger, then blend out the edges with a fluffy brush. Then make sure to set it with a loose translucent powder. I love love loooooove this product. Will definitely repurchase.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
jujubear
Location: California
1-20 of 52 reviews