Product Reviews

MAC Select Moisturecover

Average Customer Rating:
3.733 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
7
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Reviews for Select Moisturecover
Review 1 for Select Moisturecover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great Under Eye Concealer!!
Date:September 19, 2010
Tags: Natural looking, dry skin or under eyes normal skin
I have been on a very long search for a good under eye concealer and this one was the last out of the MAC concealers that I had not tried so I picked it up one day and fell in love!! It is VERY moisturizing and thats what I need for under my eyes cause they can get a bit dry so I def cant use any type of concealer that is drying. I just dab a few dots along the under eye and then tap it in with my ring finger a little goes a long way. This is NOT a full coverage concealer at all but it does even out the under eye a lot. If I seem to have a heavy dark cirlce I use a more full coverage concealer first then go over it with this or if I really want a porcelian canvas that is totally flawless. If you are looking for full coverage this is not what concealer will work for u its a natural finish which is great for everyday. I have tried this on other areas of my face and it tend to get a little oily thru the day so I just use it on the under eyes or dry areas such as healing blemishes (works great for that)
If you have dry under eyes I know you will LOVE this.
I hope this has helped someone!!
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
Ashley
Location: Coplay PA
Review 2 for Select Moisturecover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Nothing Special, but Good On-the-Go Concealer!
Date:June 17, 2013
Tags: dark spots light/medium coverage, normal/dry skin on-the-go
I was recommended to give this concealer a try by a Mac sales associate. I love that this concealer has a doe-foot applicator. It is best for someone who does not need or is not looking for a full coverage concealer as it does not provide that like the Pro LongWear Mac concealer does. It works best on pigmentation spots, but I would not recommend this for under eye circles as it is more of a light to medium cover. I also find in creases when you apply it under your eyes. This concealer does not provide moisture as said in the product description. There is moisture obviously when you apply it, but after that it dries up. Another con is that this concealer does not have long wear. Overall, I would only recommend this concealer if you are someone who doesn't have much time to apply makeup, is late to work one day or has a busy schedule as the applicator is excellent if you are on-the-go. Otherwise, I would consider it just an average concealer. I am not wowed enough to repurchase this product again.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Anonymous
Location: San Francisco, CA
Review 3 for Select Moisturecover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
ehhh
Date:February 26, 2014
Not impressed with this concealer. I find that it doesn't do much to hide my dark circles and instead settles into and accentuates the fine lines under my eyes. Will be returning.
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Junie721
Review 4 for Select Moisturecover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
LOVE THIS PRODUCT!
Date:March 21, 2014
Tags: Full Coverage, Long wearing, Natural looking, under eyes
Really good coverage and very blendable. I would recomend this for people who may have drier skin because it moisturizes the eye area pretty well.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
livlovesmakeup
Location: DC
Review 5 for Select Moisturecover
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Not as good as I had hoped with a MAC product
Date:December 2, 2010
I have the NW20 color in the Select Cover-Up product (which I LOVE):
http://www.maccosmetics.com/product/shaded/157/278/Select-Cover-Up/index.tmpl
I figured it would be a great idea to have this Select Moisturecover in the same NW20 color as a back up or alternative. Unfortunately, it is not a product I will buy again. There is a color difference between this product in NW20 vs. the Select Cover-Up NW20. This product has more of an orange tint to it, which is rather odd & the coverage doesn't last. Also, while the coverage wears away, it tends to cake up in any creases under the eye lid area, therefore making it more pronounced, in a bad way.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Millie
Review 6 for Select Moisturecover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
A wonderful product
Date:February 27, 2014
Tags: Full Coverage, Natural looking
I started using it a few years ago and am enjoing it until now, never want to change it!
The moisture and texture are perfect for everyday use and realy gets the job done!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Shansh
Location: Israel
Review 7 for Select Moisturecover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Perfect when used with Prep+Prime Skin
Date:October 24, 2012
Tags: Long wearing, Natural looking, conceals without pancake effect, evens skin tone
The MAC makeup artist at the store who helped me with the dark circles under my eyes first applied Prep+Prime to my whole face, then touched up and blended in the areas that need concealing using Select Moistercover in NW20. The results were spectacular.
For those of you who want a complete concealer, this apparently isn't your best choice, at least based on the other reviews I've found here.
That's why I wanted to add my review. It's my first I think. This concealer is perfect for me because I don't want to completely hide my skin. I'm 57 years old, with all the skin imperfections that go with my age. I've got good skin, but I'm not 18 anymore and that makes a difference. The combination of Prep+Prime with Select Moistercover creates a wonderful, much-better-than-natural look. I highly recommend this combination. I think you will be as thrilled as I am.
PS I use an excellent sunscreen from my plastic surgeon as my moisturizer.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
natural28607
Location: NC
Review 8 for Select Moisturecover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Favorite Concealer
Date:February 3, 2013
Tags: Full Coverage, Long wearing, Natural looking
I own Select Moisturecover concealer in NC50 and NW45. I also own Studio Finish (a heavy duty concealer w/ SPF and other good stuff) and Pro Longwear (great for mixing with other products) in the same shades but Select Moisturecover is my absolute all around favorite. It is excellent for the eye area and very hydrating and light (compared to other MAC concealers) with good coverage. It does exactly what it says it does, no creasing and the doe foot applicator suits the consistency of the product. Highly recommend.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Leuqer
Location: Chicago
Review 9 for Select Moisturecover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
YOU WILL LOVE IT!
Date:December 20, 2012
Tags: Full Coverage, Long wearing, Natural looking, undereye circle full coverage break-outs, softening "creases" highlighting
I've used the product for 3 years and have no need to try another!
I'm 53, w/mixed Mediterranean bloodlines (mainly Greek), so dark circles are just part of our heritage. I have to have something that covers is one go -- and this is IT!
It provides the most excellent coverage w/o being "masky." Wonderful consistency: neither too thin or too thick. Long-wearing; lasts all day! Color I chose (NC20) is perfect for my fair-to-medium w/yellow undertones skintone. Applicator is really, really usefull for getting in corners, or spot dabs. DOES NOT CREASE OR SETTLE IN FINE LINES! Very moisturizing. Enjoy!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
DebraZebra
Location: Long Island, New York
Review 10 for Select Moisturecover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
love love love
Date:January 23, 2011
Tags: Long wearing, Natural looking, all skin
this is a great concealer! however, tube concealers tend to be more sheer coverage, so if you get this be aware that if you need lots of coverage, go for studio finish rather than this. I only use this under my eyes and the corners of my nose. & dont use studio finish under your eyes because it has a thicker formulation and is a matte/full coverage, which will cake up. therefore this concealer is better for under eye area. :)
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Deryn
Location: CANADA
Review 11 for Select Moisturecover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Excellent Concealer
Date:January 15, 2013
Tags: Natural looking, everyone who needs a little help.
I use and love NC 20 in this formulation; it is easy to use, stays where I need and looks natural and not artificial. The creamy texture is very forgiving to the tender under eye area.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
SkyCat
Location: New Jersey
Review 12 for Select Moisturecover
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Didn't last long
Date:January 17, 2012
I went to the MAC store today to inquire about concealers and the guy - who was very nice and helpful - helped me narrow down my choices to this one and the ProLongwear one. He applied one under each eye so that I can see how they wear and compare. I came home and after just an hour or so I found that this one creased a little and settled in the fine line under my eye. No-go.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
MoonlightShadow
Review 13 for Select Moisturecover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Decent
Date:June 28, 2011
Tags: Full Coverage
I bought this in NW25 which is the same color i was using in 2 other foundations at the time and it was way way way too dark for me and embarrassing because the color looks fine when you put it on and 20 minutes later it looks orangey/yellowy. I went back and exchanged it for the lighter shade NW20 and unfortunately it has the same exact effect of orangey/yellowy color just slightly lighter than the pervious shade. I love the feel and texture of the product and coverage is perfect but the color is just awful.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Viiccc
Location: Philadelphia
Review 14 for Select Moisturecover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Date:September 28, 2010
Tags: Natural looking
this is great! i was looking for something natural to soften my super black "bags" under my eyes so this works just perfeclty! as it was already mentioned, it's not for full coverage but it really improves that tired appearance and can be used well during the day or night.
i totally recommend it
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
luandinha
Location: NJ
Review 15 for Select Moisturecover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love it!
Date:March 22, 2011
Tags: Long wearing, Natural looking, dark under eye
This is the second and best MAC concealer I've purchased and it is the best. Goes on light and last all day. I have dark circles around my eyes and it cover them naturally.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
ChargerGirl
Location: Shreveport
Review 16 for Select Moisturecover
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Not good at concealing...
Date:September 8, 2012
Cons:
*Does't actually cover anything: - I don't even have puffiness under my eyes, all I need is a little help with the dark shadows and not only does this not cover anything, it actually brings attention to it by looking like I did try to cover up something...
*Creases like crazy: - Within few minutes it finds every tiny little imperfection under my eyes to crease into. By the time I finish smoothing the creasing out - I've essentially wiped the whole thing off...
Pros:
* None.
This product actually made me paranoid about having eye wrinkles. I can't believe I waited a year to read the other reviews here and realize - it's not me, it's the product. (Who buys retinol eye cream at 28??)
I'll be trying Pro Longwear Concealer next.
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Liznyc
Location: New York
Review 17 for Select Moisturecover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
great for undereye area
Date:September 27, 2010
Tags: Natural looking, undereye area
This is the only concealer I've used on my thin-skinned, delicate undereye area with any success. Most other concealers are too thick and heavy and look cakey and creasey on me by the end of the day. When you're only 26 years old, you shouldn't look like you have fine lines under your eyes, no matter what you have on your face! This concealer keeps my skin's natural texture and blends like a dream; I just swipe once under each eye and gently pat in and blend with my ring finger. Adding a dot on your eye's inner corner will also help you look more "bright" and awake. I haven't had any problems with staying power and find that it works beautifully when set with the Mineralize Skinfinish Natural on a big fluffy brush. It's not necessarily "full coverage" but if it were, I think it would have to be thicker, and would look unnatural and wouldn't wear as nicely as it does. It really just evens everything out and creates a nice blank canvas. I've just about used up my current tube and will be repurchasing soon so that I don't have to go a day without it!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Katherine
Location: VA
Review 18 for Select Moisturecover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Great~
Date:June 30, 2012
Tags: Full Coverage, Long wearing, Natural looking, dry under eye circle.
Used up the ENTIRE THING
Lasted forever...PERFECT for UNDER EYE CIRCLES.
Made my entire face look better!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Kirra
Review 19 for Select Moisturecover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Good for now... Wouldn't buy it again!
Date:February 25, 2012
Tags: under eye circles
Not enough coverage for acne prone skin! If you have acne prone, you might want to get a cream concealer rather than a liquid concealer like this one! It does not last long, either.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
cblwsa
Location: Miami
Review 20 for Select Moisturecover
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Nothing Special
Date:January 7, 2012
Tags: Natural looking, dry skin, blemishes
This concealer did a great job at keeping my under eye moisturized, however it did settle in my fine lines within 1-2 hours. Also it is not very pigmented for someone like myself with intense dark circles. Because i use concealer solely for under my eyes, I would not repurchase this product.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
m0sas
Location: US
1-20 of 45 reviews