Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Fluidline

Average Customer Rating:
4.595 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (237 reviews)
5 stars
181
4 stars
34
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 star
5
Customer Reviews for Fluidline
Review 1 for Fluidline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Nothing Better!
Date:September 1, 2010
Tags: Waterproof, Smudgeable, Long wearing, Bold Color, eyeliner/shadow it's versatile!
I used this liner to really brighten and whiten my eyes. Inner lower lash and under lower lashes it gives great light play, which gives you a fresh awake look.
On a whim I started using it as as shadow and WOW it was a fantastic look. Really bright, stayed in place lasting all day sometimes more than 19-20 hours. Many women have oily lids and using this seemed to avoid problems with oily lids (makeup traveling, sliding, or fading is GONE).
A few moths ago I went to restock and found only 6 shades. As the stores are always busy I didn't ask about the item I needed. I fnally had to ask and was told it the SilverStroke was discontinued!
This is a dritical product for my daily adn spedial makeup use. Why do they just stop making colors ater they have them availael or years. I thought this was a classic, adn could not be dropped. I am sad to say I am wrong.
I don't often care enough about a product to beg. BUT I am begging, Please please bring this excellent product back. I never thought a liner in a pot was going to work, and as it turns I've had the best results with this product. There's nothing like it it to replace and help me. I hope you can send me some overstock you may have had in sample, or misplaced in the warehouse....
Thank you for listening. But you've shaken me as a loyal client since I never know when you will stop making other key products I use daily.
+29points
33of 37found this review helpful.
AuraStorm
Location: Los Gatos
Review 2 for Fluidline
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Great at first...
Date:November 29, 2013
Tags: Waterproof, Smudgeable, Long wearing, Bold Color
When I first bought Fluidline, I thought it was the best thing ever. It was very easy to apply and made a great bold statement - exactly what an eyeliner should do. Fast forward 6 weeks and the eyeliner has dried out, making it (1) much more difficult to apply (2) less bold. I never leave the container uncovered, and this happened with two different eyeliners I bought, so I don't think there is anything I'm doing "wrong". I expect more from Mac, and I won't be purchasing this product again.
+57points
59of 61found this review helpful.
NicoleElli87
Location: San Diego, CA
Review 3 for Fluidline
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great product... Until it dried! :(
Date:January 9, 2014
Tags: Waterproof, Long wearing, eyebrows, liner
When I first used it... AMAZING. Perfect precision line for brows with my MAC 266 brush. HOWEVER, after some time the product dried and was incredibly flaky. I visited the MAC counter and was told to try mixing with an oil (olive oil, coconut oil, etc.) This method worked OK, but was too much of a hassle for me. It's really unfortunate because the product is PERFECT when the consistency is normal. When/IF you buy, make sure to keep a closed (tight!) lid. :)
+66points
72of 78found this review helpful.
snlamb
Review 4 for Fluidline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
great after some getting used to
Date:November 5, 2013
Tags: Waterproof, Long wearing, Bold Color
I researched what brushes people had good experience using with this gel liner and found many suggesting using a bent liner which definitely makes it easier.
I have to admit, I even tried a non- MAC brush and have to say I was definitely disappointed and thank goodness I had also purchased a couple MAC brushes that would work with the gel liner.
The one I love using with this is the 209 Eye Liner Brush which is thick enough to hold shape but not too thick. I could easily pick up the gel liner with this brush and draw the line as thin and as thick as I want.
I also tried the 210 Precise Eye Liner Brush but found it to be too thin for me and I couldn't get it to draw the line. It is probably more suited for liquid.
I have always used pencils and powder before using gel but hated having the smudge look after a few hours and look tired at the end of the day.
This gel liner is amazing because it goes on easy and looks sharp as if it was just put on without the smudge.
+27points
31of 35found this review helpful.
sbranco
Location: Arizona
Review 5 for Fluidline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Editing review
Date:July 25, 2013
Tags: Smudgeable, Long wearing, Bold Color
In my past review for fluidline which I love, I said I used a 219 brush- Wrong- I used a 209 line brush...got my numbers wrong.
I recommend a MAC 209 liner brush for application and it's great!
+15points
15of 15found this review helpful.
allMACdup
Location: GA
Review 6 for Fluidline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Best ever!
Date:May 29, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, intricate eyeliner designs
I've been looking for an eyeliner that allows me to achieve the perfect cat eye. Most liquid eyeliners don't allow me to do so. I thought I would give this one a try since I heard that pot eyeliners are usually better than pen form eyeliners. I coupled this eyeliner with Mac's 210 eyeliner brush and they work absolutely great together! The brush allowed me to glide the eyeliner on with precision and they fluidline eyeliner went on smoothly! Some people have reviews on how the eyeliner isn't pigmented enough or doesn't go on easily, but I don't see that at all. All I did was wet the tip of my brush and dipped it in the fluid line. Works perfectly!
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
StephMac
Location: Denver
Review 7 for Fluidline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Amazing.
Date:October 10, 2010
Tags: Long wearing
I have been wearing this eyeliner for the past 6 years. I have traveled to Suriname, Guyana, India and Nepal and everywhere I have gone, women have asked me what do I do to my eyes to make them look as they do. Fluidline has to be the best eyeliner I have ever used. I have recommended this to so many people, MAC should give me commission!
I have worn this eyeliner swimming and in the humid hot summers of India and it has managed to stay on nearly perfect. It does not run, it tends to melt a little around your tear duct but with immense sweating in India's environment, this eyeliner definitely outlasted the others. I have never been afraid to wear this eyeliner- I know it will last no matter what type of environment I am in.
The colors are also the type that you can wear without fear of looking overly intense or underdone. You cannot go wrong with fluidline. It may be pricey for a tiny jar, but I wear this eyeliner EVERYDAY and I wear a healthy amount and it manages to last me up to 5months. MAC is also wonderful and has their recycling program so I never feel bad going through it the way I do.
It is worth the investment. The brush, 266, has lasted the 6 years that I have had it and ultimately everything pays for it self with all the compliments I get!
+15points
18of 21found this review helpful.
Nafeeza
Location: West Virginia
Review 8 for Fluidline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Won't buy anything else!
Date:July 10, 2014
I love love LOVE this product. I've used both the 210 and 211 brushes for this product, but I favor the 211 the most. The description says "ultra-smooth" and that's spot on. I use this for myself and it lasted over 18 months before I needed a new one. I don't use pencils anymore, just this.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
z0mbait
Location: Atlanta
Review 9 for Fluidline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Fluid line
Date:October 14, 2014
Tags: Waterproof, Smudgeable, Long wearing, light sparse brows
Finally I have great looking eyebrows. It's taken me forever to try and am sorry about that! I have terrible light, sparse (light blonde) eye brows. If they weren't so sparse, I could use this alone and be happy. But with my brows I did need to fill in even more than this does in a couple of areas. So I do still use my Fling to help and voila - I have the best brows I've had in years. So happy with this and I do use the brush that is recommended so I can't say how they would be without it, but with it - I've finally got natural, full looking shapely brows. It's been a long search too.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Jani
Location: Florida
Review 10 for Fluidline
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
I like it.
Date:February 16, 2014
Tags: Waterproof, Long wearing, Bold Color, anytime
It's a little challenging to apply to my 58 year old crepey eyelids. but if I take my time and am very careful I can make it look ok. It definitely stays on all day and doesn't smear. I think it works better if warmed up.
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Paragon
Location: Florida
Review 11 for Fluidline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
My FAVORITE MAC Product
Date:January 8, 2014
Tags: Waterproof, Bold Color, Smudgeable, Long wearing, liner, long-wear shadow
Fluidlines are absolutely my favorite MAC product! I think I have about 15 of them now and they are still some of my absolutely holy grail products. Long-wear, smooth consistency, easy to apply, usually great pigmentation. Mostly use as a liner, but have used as a bulletproof shadow in the hot & humid summers of Texas when visiting and they stay perfect!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
CosmeticsCrazy
Location: Eastern Oregon
Review 12 for Fluidline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Only the Best!!
Date:September 26, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color, eyes
This is by far, the best gel eyeliner I have ever used! It goes on smooth, and stays all day, into night, (and at times into the next morning) I couldn't be more pleased...
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
CandyM
Location: Scranton
Review 13 for Fluidline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
THE BEST!!
Date:September 22, 2014
Tags: Waterproof, Long wearing, Bold Color
This is my favorite gel line of all time!!!! Lasts all day and does not smudge! Also the product itself lasts for what seems like forever. Worth every penny!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
MrsBranaman
Location: Trussville, AL
Review 14 for Fluidline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Best liner ever
Date:July 11, 2014
Tags: Smudgeable, Long wearing
Beautiful colors. Easy, easy easy to put on. Stays put all day (and night). Never irritates my very sensitive eyes. The only liner I will use. And great value; a little goes a long way.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
carong
Location: Boston
Review 15 for Fluidline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Would you consider changing the container?
Date:September 1, 2014
Tags: Waterproof, Bold Color, Long wearing
I have used Fluidline for years. I appreciate the dramatic look it gives, and that it holds all day. I give it a "5" for being a great product. Nonetheless, would you consider slightly modifying the packaging? The container is so small - with a narrow jar and lid - and so round and so smooth that it is easy to go flying out of hands. I wrap rubber bands around the jar and the lid so I have something to hold on to. Would you consider a square shape or, if that is too drastic a change, roughing up the surface of the jar? A change like that to the jar would enable it to sit more securely in the hands, and would be greatly appreciated...
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Dancer
Location: Denver
Review 16 for Fluidline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Lines
Date:February 13, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, brows, eyeliner
i use this product to outline my brows in the color dipdown with a mac 208 brow brush and it is by far the best products i used it lasts all day and does not smear
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
mruval
Location: Lowell
Review 17 for Fluidline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Amazing!!
Date:April 9, 2014
Tags: Smudgeable, Long wearing, Bold Color, all ages - day or night - i put some glitter on, top of the liner in the evening for some twinkle :
I LOVE fluidline!! I am NOT good at doing makeup but this goes on perfect each time. YES -it dried out over time out but all i do is wet my angle brush with plain ole water and it goes on, perfectly, NOT flaky. The product stays on all day. It's a definite must have!!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
ChristinaB
Location: Wisconsin
Review 18 for Fluidline
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Great when you first get it
Date:September 5, 2014
Tags: Smudgeable
When I first got it I was really enjoying the eyeliner it was very smooth and appealing, but after a while it just didn't give the same results, its not as bold and creamy as it was before. Its definitely smudge able which works when doing black smoky eye shadow
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Lupita
Review 19 for Fluidline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Best ever!
Date:June 16, 2014
Tags: Waterproof, Smudgeable, Long wearing, Bold Color, eyeliner
Applies easy, creamy and is not messy.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
BeautybyRita
Location: Virginia
Review 20 for Fluidline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Best Liner
Date:August 22, 2014
Tags: Smudgeable, Long wearing, Bold Color
I have mastered the art of making thin catline bec of this. This should be applied with an angled brush rather than a thin eyeliner brush. The latter didn't work for me, angled brush is the best for this.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Riza
Location: New York
1-20 of 237 reviews