Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Fluidline

Average Customer Rating:
4.597 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (216 reviews)
5 stars
164
4 stars
33
3 stars
7
2 stars
8
1 star
4
Customer Reviews for Fluidline
Review 1 for Fluidline
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great product... Until it dried! :(
Date:January 9, 2014
Tags: Waterproof, Long wearing, eyebrows, liner
When I first used it... AMAZING. Perfect precision line for brows with my MAC 266 brush. HOWEVER, after some time the product dried and was incredibly flaky. I visited the MAC counter and was told to try mixing with an oil (olive oil, coconut oil, etc.) This method worked OK, but was too much of a hassle for me. It's really unfortunate because the product is PERFECT when the consistency is normal. When/IF you buy, make sure to keep a closed (tight!) lid. :)
+22points
24of 26found this review helpful.
snlamb
Review 2 for Fluidline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Nothing Better!
Date:September 1, 2010
Tags: Waterproof, Smudgeable, Long wearing, Bold Color, eyeliner/shadow it's versatile!
I used this liner to really brighten and whiten my eyes. Inner lower lash and under lower lashes it gives great light play, which gives you a fresh awake look.
On a whim I started using it as as shadow and WOW it was a fantastic look. Really bright, stayed in place lasting all day sometimes more than 19-20 hours. Many women have oily lids and using this seemed to avoid problems with oily lids (makeup traveling, sliding, or fading is GONE).
A few moths ago I went to restock and found only 6 shades. As the stores are always busy I didn't ask about the item I needed. I fnally had to ask and was told it the SilverStroke was discontinued!
This is a dritical product for my daily adn spedial makeup use. Why do they just stop making colors ater they have them availael or years. I thought this was a classic, adn could not be dropped. I am sad to say I am wrong.
I don't often care enough about a product to beg. BUT I am begging, Please please bring this excellent product back. I never thought a liner in a pot was going to work, and as it turns I've had the best results with this product. There's nothing like it it to replace and help me. I hope you can send me some overstock you may have had in sample, or misplaced in the warehouse....
Thank you for listening. But you've shaken me as a loyal client since I never know when you will stop making other key products I use daily.
+10points
11of 12found this review helpful.
AuraStorm
Location: Los Gatos
Review 3 for Fluidline
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Great at first...
Date:November 29, 2013
Tags: Waterproof, Smudgeable, Long wearing, Bold Color
When I first bought Fluidline, I thought it was the best thing ever. It was very easy to apply and made a great bold statement - exactly what an eyeliner should do. Fast forward 6 weeks and the eyeliner has dried out, making it (1) much more difficult to apply (2) less bold. I never leave the container uncovered, and this happened with two different eyeliners I bought, so I don't think there is anything I'm doing "wrong". I expect more from Mac, and I won't be purchasing this product again.
+14points
14of 14found this review helpful.
NicoleElli87
Location: San Diego, CA
Review 4 for Fluidline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
great after some getting used to
Date:November 5, 2013
Tags: Waterproof, Long wearing, Bold Color
I researched what brushes people had good experience using with this gel liner and found many suggesting using a bent liner which definitely makes it easier.
I have to admit, I even tried a non- MAC brush and have to say I was definitely disappointed and thank goodness I had also purchased a couple MAC brushes that would work with the gel liner.
The one I love using with this is the 209 Eye Liner Brush which is thick enough to hold shape but not too thick. I could easily pick up the gel liner with this brush and draw the line as thin and as thick as I want.
I also tried the 210 Precise Eye Liner Brush but found it to be too thin for me and I couldn't get it to draw the line. It is probably more suited for liquid.
I have always used pencils and powder before using gel but hated having the smudge look after a few hours and look tired at the end of the day.
This gel liner is amazing because it goes on easy and looks sharp as if it was just put on without the smudge.
+14points
15of 16found this review helpful.
sbranco
Location: Arizona
Review 5 for Fluidline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Editing review
Date:July 25, 2013
Tags: Smudgeable, Long wearing, Bold Color
In my past review for fluidline which I love, I said I used a 219 brush- Wrong- I used a 209 line brush...got my numbers wrong.
I recommend a MAC 209 liner brush for application and it's great!
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
allMACdup
Location: GA
Review 6 for Fluidline
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
I like it.
Date:February 16, 2014
Tags: Waterproof, Long wearing, Bold Color, anytime
It's a little challenging to apply to my 58 year old crepey eyelids. but if I take my time and am very careful I can make it look ok. It definitely stays on all day and doesn't smear. I think it works better if warmed up.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Paragon
Location: Florida
Review 7 for Fluidline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Amazing.
Date:October 10, 2010
Tags: Long wearing
I have been wearing this eyeliner for the past 6 years. I have traveled to Suriname, Guyana, India and Nepal and everywhere I have gone, women have asked me what do I do to my eyes to make them look as they do. Fluidline has to be the best eyeliner I have ever used. I have recommended this to so many people, MAC should give me commission!
I have worn this eyeliner swimming and in the humid hot summers of India and it has managed to stay on nearly perfect. It does not run, it tends to melt a little around your tear duct but with immense sweating in India's environment, this eyeliner definitely outlasted the others. I have never been afraid to wear this eyeliner- I know it will last no matter what type of environment I am in.
The colors are also the type that you can wear without fear of looking overly intense or underdone. You cannot go wrong with fluidline. It may be pricey for a tiny jar, but I wear this eyeliner EVERYDAY and I wear a healthy amount and it manages to last me up to 5months. MAC is also wonderful and has their recycling program so I never feel bad going through it the way I do.
It is worth the investment. The brush, 266, has lasted the 6 years that I have had it and ultimately everything pays for it self with all the compliments I get!
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Nafeeza
Location: West Virginia
Review 8 for Fluidline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Amazing!!
Date:April 9, 2014
Tags: Smudgeable, Long wearing, Bold Color, all ages - day or night - i put some glitter on, top of the liner in the evening for some twinkle :
I LOVE fluidline!! I am NOT good at doing makeup but this goes on perfect each time. YES -it dried out over time out but all i do is wet my angle brush with plain ole water and it goes on, perfectly, NOT flaky. The product stays on all day. It's a definite must have!!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
ChristinaB
Location: Wisconsin
Review 9 for Fluidline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
amazing!
Date:June 29, 2013
Tags: Long wearing
This eyeliner is absolutely amazing! It's so easy to use! I mainly stuck to pencils before so I was a little worried about the application and how hard it might be, but I was thrilled with the results. I used with the 210 brush and my first try came out perfect and it only took me a couple of minutes.Now I use it everyday and it lasts forever! Don't hesitate to purchase, you won't regret it!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
niammoo
Location: Atlanta
Review 10 for Fluidline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
My FAVORITE MAC Product
Date:January 8, 2014
Tags: Waterproof, Bold Color, Smudgeable, Long wearing, liner, long-wear shadow
Fluidlines are absolutely my favorite MAC product! I think I have about 15 of them now and they are still some of my absolutely holy grail products. Long-wear, smooth consistency, easy to apply, usually great pigmentation. Mostly use as a liner, but have used as a bulletproof shadow in the hot & humid summers of Texas when visiting and they stay perfect!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
CosmeticsCrazy
Location: Eastern Oregon
Review 11 for Fluidline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
All time favorite
Date:March 14, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, lining upper lid
Have purchased multiple times in Dip Down and Blitz/Glitz. I have had some pots dry out so it's very important to keep the lid on very tightly. Other than that I use it daily and love it.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Traveler
Location: NE Ohio
Review 12 for Fluidline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Lines
Date:February 13, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, brows, eyeliner
i use this product to outline my brows in the color dipdown with a mac 208 brow brush and it is by far the best products i used it lasts all day and does not smear
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
mruval
Location: Lowell
Review 13 for Fluidline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Perfect for winged liner
Date:July 29, 2013
Tags: Waterproof, Smudgeable, Long wearing, Bold Color
Tried many "24 hour" liquid and black liners, and this is by far the best product. I have hooded and oily lids and this doesn't budge. A must have for artists!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Lenea
Location: Phoenix, Az
Review 14 for Fluidline
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Not a good product for me
Date:December 30, 2013
Maybe I got a bad batch, but the Fluidline is chunkier than I would like. It doesn't go on smoothly, no matter which brush I use...I end up fixing the edges with a damp q-tip. It also flakes off during the day! For example, I put it on at 7:30 this morning, and have been indoors and sitting behind a desk all day in a climate-controlled environment. It's now just after 2pm, and it's seriously flaking off and looks bad. Because it needs a brush to put on, and you have to clean the brush immediately after (or it dries and messes up your brush), it's not like I can do touch-ups with this when I need to. The Blacktrack is a nice dark black, but I would not recommend this product, and won't ever buy it again.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Reiland
Location: Arizona
Review 15 for Fluidline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Best Staying Power
Date:February 8, 2012
Tags: Waterproof, Smudgeable, Long wearing, Bold Color, all skin types, especially oily eyelids, active on-the-go people
This is one of the best eyeliners you can find! No smudging, smearing or raccoon-eyes! Great for use in the water-well area in your eye for that sultry-look. It has awesome staying power and highly pigmented in color. If you're active and running around, this is the liner that you want! Definite "must have"!!!
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Lizann
Location: Hawaii
Review 16 for Fluidline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Staying Power
Date:April 23, 2011
Tags: Waterproof, Long wearing
After trying numerous supposedly "smudge proof" eyeliners I thought I'd give one last product a try (Seriously, I was giving up my search if this one failed me). I was looking for a waterproof/smear proof eyeliner I could use on my bottom lash including my water line. Every other one I have ever tried has always left me with "racoon eye". Well, this one did not disappoint. I use a skinny liner brush to apply the "Blacktrack" color to the top lash line, to the bottom water line for a more conservative look or thicker for a more dramatic dress up/going out look. So far it hasn't run, smeared, smudged (and I live in humid TX weather) or caused any eye makeup emergencies. This liner is awesome. Smooth and easy to apply. It does take some work to get it off when I wash my face (Hey, that's a good thing if you're looking for a waterproof liner!) It hasn't caused any irritation or flaked/run into my eyes either. And FYI-this is the least expensive eyeliner I tried and it has worked the best for my needs. I've heard others say it can dry out fast so I would double check you've closed your container properly after using.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Becksies
Location: San Antonio, TX
Review 17 for Fluidline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great liner!
Date:January 10, 2014
Tags: Smudgeable, Long wearing, Bold Color
This stuff goes on like silk, super easy to apply. I was surprised as it looks intimidating when you look inside the jar. Really good stuff, I'm planning on purchasing the other colors.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
rozgarden
Review 18 for Fluidline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
love it forever and always
Date:April 8, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color, eye liner
ive used this product for a couple years now, ive currently had my fluid liner for about a year i dont use it as much as i used to but i havent had a problem with it drying out so far. this has always been a go to for long lasting and bold looking eyeliner for me. i wander with all products but this one is my favorite as far as eyeliners go.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
tinadoll
Location: san diego
Review 19 for Fluidline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
New to gel liner...won't go back to pencil!
Date:December 7, 2013
Tags: Long wearing
This gel liner is the best! I found it incredibly easy to use and it never smudges or smears.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
wfu2014
Location: North Carolina
Review 20 for Fluidline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
BEST EVER!
Date:March 9, 2014
Tags: Smudgeable, Long wearing, Bold Color
I have terrible trouble keeping eyeliner where it belongs because of my oily skin and hooded eye lids. Pair this eyeliner with the cream Groundwork eye shadow and it will be a very lasting experience!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
lcjherk
Location: Minnesota
1-20 of 216 reviews