Product Reviews

MAC 109 Small Contour Brush

Average Customer Rating:
3.821 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Reviews for 109 Small Contour Brush
Review 1 for 109 Small Contour Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Multi-Use Brush
Date:December 17, 2013
Tags: Contouring, All over application, Highlighting, blush
If you contour your cheeks you need this brush, it fits perfectly in that area. I've never had this brush shed, and I've had it for over five years. It's a multi-functional brush because I've used it to apply Studio Fix Powder Foundation, highlighter to my cheek bones, blush to the cheeks, bronzer to the contours of the cheek, and could be used for liquid foundation. This is a must have brush for me. It's a great investment, and there ARE more expensive brushes out there.
+16points
16of 16found this review helpful.
Prettygirlmo
Location: Utah
Review 2 for 109 Small Contour Brush
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Disappointed
Date:February 20, 2014
I was so excited to receive this brush, but when I finally used it, the brush was shedding so much!!!!! so I called customer service and they are mailing me a new one! hopefully the new one doesn't shed like this one
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
Gabrielle6212
Review 3 for 109 Small Contour Brush
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Great shape, sheds terribly
Date:January 6, 2014
Tags: Contouring
Perfect shape for the use intended for but I can't get past how bad this brush is shedding. Even the cheapest of all brushes don't shed like this one, even from day 1. It will be returned. Disappointing for $35!
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
SamIam
Location: Mn
Review 4 for 109 Small Contour Brush
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
sheds
Date:March 8, 2014
Tags: Contouring, All over application
First MAC brush I bought, and although it does a *decent* job, it sheds alot. When I'm done putting my makeup on with this brush I need to wipe off the little leftover hairs on my face.
Kinda disappointed.
+10points
11of 12found this review helpful.
ntr93
Location: coral springs
Review 5 for 109 Small Contour Brush
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
must to have... i love it
Date:January 14, 2013
Tags: Contouring
i love this brush it has so many uses .. i love it for blush and contouring ... i got one from a mac store but it was shedding so much so i returned it ... then i ordered it again online it was much better ... it is a must have
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
maysoon
Location: il
Review 6 for 109 Small Contour Brush
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
dissapointed
Date:September 11, 2011
i got this brush today and it was so soft, i was so excited to use it. i like to wash and condition my brushes before i use them, and i've done it with all my other mac brushes and never had a problem. after i washed it, it dried and it didn't keep its shape, the bristles were sticking out? i was upset because this brush is so raved about. it shed too when i just rubbed it against my face. returning it tomorrow.
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
etonnant
Location: long island, new york
Review 7 for 109 Small Contour Brush
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Date:August 17, 2014
Tags: Contouring
Very disappointed. The brush sheds a lot.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
xxtinna
Review 8 for 109 Small Contour Brush
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Must have changed manufacturer...
Date:February 3, 2013
Let me preface this with the fact that I've been an absolute MAC brush fanatic for a very long time. I recently purchased a backup 109 and am very disappointed with the the brush I received in comparison to my old 109 that I purchased several years ago. The new 109 has a much lighter handle, has rough bristles, is more square-ish than domed, the handle is a wee bit shorter, it has more fallout, and is not as full as the original 109. The old 109 is very plush, the new one isn't by a long shot. I am very disappointed and will be making my first MAC brush return.
+7points
9of 11found this review helpful.
Nickname
Location: Nicky
Review 9 for 109 Small Contour Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great Brush!
Date:October 27, 2010
Tags: Blending, All over application
I didn't know what I was missing.. I love this brush for applying the Studio Sculpt. Very smooth application... really gives the "airbrushed" look. Definitely a keeper. Thanks MAC!
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Lwnam
Location: South Carolina
Review 10 for 109 Small Contour Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
You'll want two!
Date:January 16, 2011
Tags: Contouring, All over application, Highlighting, Blending, powder liquid and cream.
This brush is spectacular! A MUST for anyone's kit. A multipurpose brush. I use it for contouring, blush, powder, cream and liquid foundation. The finish is seamless. It blends powder like a dream and buffs foundation into the skin beautifully. It's so soft, my clients purr when I use this on them. You will definitely not regret buying this. It won't be long before you want to buy another one for your kit.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
MissMLB
Location: Austin, TX
Review 11 for 109 Small Contour Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
109 brush
Date:August 29, 2014
Tags: Contouring, All over application, Blending
I'm so happy I purchased this brush. Amazing how well it puts on my foundation. Buy an extra one in case you lose your first one. Worth the cost.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Crissy
Location: Colorado
Review 12 for 109 Small Contour Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great brush for CONTOURING & HIGHLIGHTING
Date:October 20, 2010
Tags: Contouring, Highlighting
This brush is great for contouring. Whenever I need to contour, this brush is the FIRST brush I pick up all the time. It's small enough to make contouring look so natural and flawless. I don't like using this brush to blend though. I'd rather use a denser/stiffer brush for that. I use this brush mainly to contour and highlight. It's great for those small to reach areas like the nose. I love it! It's definitely a brush that you want in your collection. As for the highlighting, it's awesome for that too, especially the cheekbones. It's small enough to apply the color in the specific area where you want it. I love this brush, hands down!!!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
QtxMsRed
Location: Oakland Gardens, NY
Review 13 for 109 Small Contour Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Wonder Brush
Date:August 21, 2010
Tags: Contouring, All over application, Highlighting
I love the brush because I can use it as a foundation brush. It doesn't matter if it is liquid, cream or stick. It picks up the product nicely. And it is awesome for blush, contour and even highlight. It is definitely a must have
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Peny
Location: New Mexico
Review 14 for 109 Small Contour Brush
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
109 small contour brush
Date:September 25, 2010
Tags: Blending, All over application
I bought this brush because I heard good things about it but I ended up being very disappointed with the quality of this brush considering that I paid $32 for it. This brush sheds like crazy!! It applies liquid foundation nicely but each time I use it I end up having to pick off at least 10 bristles off my face. It very annoying. Definitely would not recommend buying this brush unless you don't mind constantly picking bristles off your face.
+2points
5of 8found this review helpful.
maliedc
Location: Portland, OR
Review 15 for 109 Small Contour Brush
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Worst brush I have ever bought
Date:March 3, 2013
This brush is terrible. Every time I use it it leaves my face and my makeup full of bristles. At first I thought it might be mine that was defective, buy my mom bought the same one and she has the same problem. I also thought that it was just doing that because it was new, but I have had it for a couple of months now and I still have the same issues.... I have like 10 MAC brushes and they are all wonderful, I don't what happened with this one.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Holmquistm
Location: Port Orange
Review 16 for 109 Small Contour Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
My Cheeks' Soulmate
Date:August 5, 2012
Tags: Blending, Contouring, Highlighting
I don't think I've used any other brush for cheeks after using this. A friend bought it for me as a gift bc I was lusting after it, and I instantly fell in love. It's perfect for contouring, highlighting, and blush no matter what your cheek size (I have big ones). Mine hasn't shed at all and stays in shape after cleaning. <3
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Bryte
Location: Chicago, IL
Review 17 for 109 Small Contour Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Best brush ever!!
Date:April 28, 2011
Tags: All over application, i just bought
I just bought this brush and used it for the first time today! I absolutely loved it! I used it with my cream liquid foundation and it made my make-up and skin look flawless! It buffs the make-up right into the skin without having those brush lines that you typically get with those "paint brush" type foundation brushes! It's a lot better than using your fingers and it makes the foundation go a long way so you don't need to use much.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Samic
Location: Denver, CO
Review 18 for 109 Small Contour Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
109- My Favorite!
Date:August 1, 2011
Tags: Blending, Contouring, Highlighting, blush bronzer
Love this brush!! I use this for blush, contouring, and highlighting! It fits right well in those areas the way I like it to be! Totally would repurchase another one again! Must-have item along with your other mac brushes!!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
ArtzeeV
Location: Minnesota
Review 19 for 109 Small Contour Brush
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
109 contour brush
Date:March 25, 2012
Tags: Contouring, Highlighting, contour blush
it does the job beautifully, is just as the angled contour brush, they both started shading from day 1!, not not cool.....
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
LilyBBQ
Location: OKC
Review 20 for 109 Small Contour Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Very good quality!!!
Date:November 9, 2013
Tags: Contouring, All over application, Highlighting, Blending
I love this brush. it picks up plenty of product and I love the way it feels on my face. It's not scratchy at all. I've washed it more than a handful of times and it doesn't shed much at all. I haven't used it apply foundation yet. I highly recommend this brush. it's small enough to where you can use it to contour, blend and highlight and it's a good quality brush and was worth every penny!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Vette79
Location: Oregon
1-20 of 28 reviews