Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC 187 Duo Fibre Face Brush

Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (63 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Reviews for 187 Duo Fibre Face Brush
Review 1 for 187 Duo Fibre Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
HOLY GRAIL. PERIOD.
Date:August 25, 2013
Tags: All over application, Highlighting, Blending
I bought this brush back in 2011 when I knew almost nothing about makeup artistry; specifically makeup application. I didn't even know what stippling and blending were back then. Needless to say, I've come a very long way after nearly two years, and this is THE holy grail of brushes. You won't catch me applying any type of liquid foundation or cream concealer to my face without this brush. The irony about this tool that I love so much is that I had it for over a year before I finally realized what it was for! I had been using other, cheaper brands and couldn't figure out why my foundation never looked quite right.
After doing some YouTube research for "stippling", I noticed the 187 brush was being used in almost all of the videos I was seeing. So, after digging through my "don't really use" stash of beauty products, I found my 187 brush still in the plastic, brand new. So, today, after countless times of buttering my face, the 187 is the tool that stands out as the beacon of perfection when it comes to applying foundations and concealers. When I say that I LOVE this brush, I mean exactly that. If it came right down to it, and I had to choose between the $42.00 for this brush and $42.00 for groceries, it'd be the 187 hands down. I know that sounds crazy, but you've got to try it to believe it.
It blends my foundation (Matchmaster 9.0) to the most amazing, near-airbrush finish; I get compliments on my makeup all the time. After almost a year and a half of CONSTANT use, I've encountered virtually no shedding whatsoever; and if I do find the occasional strand, it's only when I'm cleaning the brush. I also use it for blending out my concealer, which I apply underneath my foundation for highlighting/concealing. The only drawback about this particular tool is its size, but its sister 188 brush takes care of the nooks and crannies on the face. And at some point I'll be rounding out my ownership with the 130 brush. If you don't have this brush in your repertoire, and you have an extra $42, it can take your makeup game from enthusiast to all-star. I'm that serious about this brush.
+39points
43of 47found this review helpful.
Roni
Location: Georgia
Review 2 for 187 Duo Fibre Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
SHEDS!
Date:May 21, 2014
Tags: do not purchase this brush
A $42 brush and it's shedding every single time I use it. I have to take time to pick all of the fibers off of my face after I apply my foundation - and it was sold to me to use with my foundation, so it's the appropriate brush. I clean it - it sheds. I use it on my face - it sheds. Horrible quality, and I've been buying MAC brushes for at least ten years.... no other brush has done this. Do some Quality Control!
+4points
6of 8found this review helpful.
LongtimeMACwearer
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Review 3 for 187 Duo Fibre Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
best brush
Date:December 10, 2013
Tags: All over application, Blending
I love this brush for personal and professional use. I have been using 187 ever since it came out. If you are a starter and don't know which brush to purchase, I would suggest you to buy this brush. Some people, complain about leaving streaks behind, its because the skin is dry. This brush blends beautiful, my clients never complaint about anything. I never had any issues using this brush on my face. Yes, it does shed a little but I have tried all the top branded brushes and seriously I haven't came across a single brush that doesn't shed. Over all a must have brush, the magic trick to get beautiful even skin is BLENDING. Use a good moisturizer, if you have dry skin, add some luster drops in your foundation and then use this brush.
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
SanBen
Location: California
Review 4 for 187 Duo Fibre Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
SHEDS LIKE A DOG IN SUMMER
Date:April 26, 2013
The bristles of this brush are as soft as hairs plucked from the tail of a baby unicorn, but it also sheds like dog in summer. I exchanged my first on after several weeks of having to remove bristles from my face and received a second that sheds almost as badly. If this brush didn't shed, it would be marvelous, but it most definitely does.
+10points
15of 20found this review helpful.
herinb
Location: New Mexico
Review 5 for 187 Duo Fibre Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Worst. Brush. EVER!
Date:July 15, 2011
Tags: All over application
The black hairs on this brush fall out a LOT. There are now so many in my cream foundation pancake that I have to search my face for stray brush hairs so people don't think I am turning into Sasquatch. Washing the brush as instructed by the MAC salesgirl hasn't improved the situation at all. What a HORRIBLE WASTE OF MONEY. I went out and bought a non-MAC brush for half the price which doesn't leave hairs AND applies my foundation more evenly with more of that 'airbrushed' look that the MAC girl promised I would get from the MAC brush. Do yourself a favor and skip this brush...if you need a foundation brush try another brand. Any brand would surely be better than this!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Cazza
Location: Dallas
Review 6 for 187 Duo Fibre Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
OMG! I Finally Found It!
Date:February 14, 2012
Tags: All over application, applying foundation
I have been working on perfecting my foundation and have finally solved all my problems. I visited the MAC Houston Galleria location and got the hook up. Stella, the awesome make up artist that assisted me finally matched my foundation correctly. Stella also suggested that I reform from using a sponge for application and finally purchase brush 187. Brush 187 is awesome! I use Studio Fix liquid foundation and this brush applies it so naturally. I will never use a sponge for foundation application again. The brush is a little expensive, but as the saying goes, you get what you pay for. Thanks Stella @ MAC!
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Adrienne
Location: Houston, Texas
Review 7 for 187 Duo Fibre Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
AMAZING!!!!!!
Date:February 8, 2013
Tags: Blending, Contouring, All over application, Highlighting
I have to say that when it comes to buying things I do my research and I am very picky in buying things especially a 40 dollar brush. I just recieved the item and noticed the brush was shedding. I did get upset because it was brand new and was already shedding but I decided to keep it and when I applied my foundation MY GOD I LOVED IT!!!!!! SERIOUSLY FELL IN LOVE! there was still pieces of the brush from shedding while applying my foundation but seriously I would recommend 100%!
+4points
6of 8found this review helpful.
vane1441
Location: ny
Review 8 for 187 Duo Fibre Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
I use this brush frequently
Date:December 5, 2011
Tags: Blending, All over application, Highlighting
187 Duo is a stippling brush. It's not for the heavy hand. I use it to apply all over foundation. Dab lightly around the face and bridge then work your product lightly using feather light circular motions all around coverage. The result will be a flawless finish. I use this brush to apply my moisturizer,too. Great for bronzing too. When used properly no one will lose the fiber bristles. I never have a problem with this brush. Great for clearing fall out too. It's one of my favorites and I'm so glad I have it. Just be sure to clean it after each use.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Lovemymac
Location: Illinois
Review 9 for 187 Duo Fibre Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
expensive but worth it
Date:September 3, 2011
Tags: Blending, All over application
I questioned whether I should buy this brush since $42 seemed a lot for one brush. After using it for a week or so now, I have to admit it was totally worth it. I use this for both my liquid foundation and my setting powder. I've bought "similar" brushes at grocery stores/pharmacies before, but this brush is on a whole new level for me. I seriously think I've cut down on my makeup application time because its so much easier to apply and blend with this brush than what I had previously been using. Highly recommend it - only giving it 4 stars though cause of the price
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
ElizKT
Review 10 for 187 Duo Fibre Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
MUST HAVE
Date:March 19, 2011
Tags: All over application
Okay, so I use this brush for my liquid foundation (studio fix by MAC). It is great. I couldn't believe how fresh faced and naturally flawless my skin looked. I also used this to blend my concealer, and it definitely works (would recommend the smaller one for that though). The concealer I use twists out of a lip gloss look a like container and I dot it around the bottom of my eye then in circular motions blend it up wards. Fantastic!!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Viper27
Location: Colorado Springs
Review 11 for 187 Duo Fibre Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Perfect powder and blending brush.
Date:May 1, 2011
Tags: Contouring, All over application, Highlighting, Blending
I bought this brush yesterday along with the 191. After I apply my Mineralize Foundation with the 191, I use this brush to set my cream foundation with the Mineralize SPF 15 foundation/loose and it just looks perfect. I couldn't ask for more.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
StyleNeverFails
Location: New York, NY
Review 12 for 187 Duo Fibre Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Sheds every time I used it :(
Date:March 16, 2014
Mac products are the great! I was really excited to buy this brush and add it to my mac brushes collection. I have used this a couple of times for lightweight application of powder foundation all over my face. It shed a significant amount of hair each time I used it. I am really disappointed with this purchase!
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
MacGirl01
Location: MA
Review 13 for 187 Duo Fibre Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
The best loose/pressed powder- also for foundation
Date:October 20, 2010
Tags: All over application, best for loose/pressed powders/foundations!!
This is the most versatile brush out there. Because you can use it for almost every product out there. I use this brush for my loose and pressed powders. It's great at picking up the product, as well as stippling the product on- making your face look natural and flawless. It's also great for foundation. It doesn't streak at all. If you're are using the brush correctly, which is to stipple the product onto the face, then you shouldn't have streaks. ONLY after you've let the foundation set, then you can use the brush in circular motions. But it's not really meant to swipe it back and forth on the face, or else YOU WILL get streaks. I like using this brush more than the 190. It's more accurate and takes less time - which I love! Who wants to spend hours on applying foundation? No one! So def. pick this brush up. It really is a must have!!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
QtxMsRed
Location: Oakland Gardens, NY
Review 14 for 187 Duo Fibre Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Fantastic
Date:February 10, 2012
Tags: foundation, flawless face
So, I had a version of this brush from the travel sets they sell around Christmas time and it was kind of scratchy but it also applied very nicely. I decided to splurge and buy this one and WOW it was a huge difference, foundation goes on sooo flawlessly and makes my skin look absolutely perfect (I use studio fix fluid) I definitely recommend this brush for anyone who wants that flawless look without using too much foundation!! Also I don't recommend this to anyone who has dry skin as it can cause micro exfoliation and cause your makeup to look flaky!!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
omta
Location: toronto
Review 15 for 187 Duo Fibre Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Buy This Brush!
Date:June 23, 2011
Tags: Blending, Contouring, All over application, Highlighting, applying liquid foundation
If you wear liquid foundation this is the brush for you. This brush gives me the most flawless finish with any foundation I use. But I do not recommend you use it to set your powder because it seems to make my pores more visible.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Devika
Location: New York
Review 16 for 187 Duo Fibre Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great for blending...
Date:September 1, 2010
Tags: Blending
The 187 is best used for blending of either liquid or powder foundation. Its soft and flexible bristles glide easily over the face and help to create a more natural look by evenly dispersing product. Can also be used to dust highlight powder onto cheekbones.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
banhbaocheeks
Location: SF Bay Area, California
Review 17 for 187 Duo Fibre Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
So amazing!
Date:September 14, 2010
Tags: Contouring, All over application, Highlighting, Blending
I love this brush because it works on my cream foundation and my powder blush, bronzer, and foundation. It is so so soft and blends really nicely. I really consider this the perfect brush!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Kann
Location: Houston
Review 18 for 187 Duo Fibre Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Awesome for ANYTHING you put on your face!
Date:October 27, 2012
Tags: All over application, Highlighting, Blending
I initially got the 187 brush to apply foundation. I had the first brush about 1.5yrs when one day the hair came right off the ferrule (silver part of the brush). I take good care of my makeup tools, so I contacted MAC corporate with my problem and they sent me a postage paid envelope to send them back the damaged 187 so they can check quality control. MAC then sent me a brand new 187. GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE as always.
I no longer use the 187 for foundation as I have transitioned to the awesomeness that is the beauty blender sponge. However, I still love my 187 for mineralize skin finish blushes and shimmer powders as well as to apply pressed or mineral powders. Its a great brush for blending out all your makeup for that flawless look.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Student4Life
Location: SoFla
Review 19 for 187 Duo Fibre Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Favorite Brush Ever!
Date:January 27, 2013
Tags: All over application
This is the most impressive brush I have ever used in the fact that it does exactly what it promises. Depending on how you use it, you can use it for a lightweight application or a heavier application for more coverage. Either way, it creates a flawless airbrushed appearance which I finish off with the 190 foundation brush. I haven't used it with powder, but I'm sure it works great with both. I would definitely recommend this to everyone!!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
beachbeautyla
Location: California
Review 20 for 187 Duo Fibre Face Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Easy to blend
Date:February 3, 2013
Tags: Blending, All over application
I was recommended this at a MAC store while looking for a brush that blends liquid/cream foundation well. I originally had the 191 brush, which is a good brush, but only if you're really good at blending. It does normally leave one or two bristles on my face, but it's not too bothersome. It's a little pricey... but if this is the kind of brush you're looking for, it's worth it.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
AshleyJ26
Location: IL
1-20 of 63 reviews