Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at MacCosmetics.

MAC Opulash

Average Customer Rating:
3.559 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
8
Customer Reviews for Opulash
Review 1 for Opulash
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Very volumizing!
Date:August 23, 2011
Tags: Volumizing/Curls, Natural, Dramatic, volumizing lashes
This is a great volumizing mascara. It does add length too, but I desire more volume than length, as my lashes are pretty long. If I wipe off the end before I use it, I don't have issues with clumping. It lasts a very long time and doesn't give me raccoon eyes. It is a little difficult to remove, but that's probably because it stays on well. It tends to flake after it's been on a while, but it takes hours and hours for that to happen. It lasts all day long, and it is my new favorite mascara. I don't think it curls... it doesn't curl my lashes anyway, but with this mascara and an old fashion lash curler... I'm good to go!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
kats1285
Location: philadelphia, pa
Review 2 for Opulash
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
No smudging... really
Date:November 3, 2010
Tags: Volumizing/Curls, those who find everything smudges
I have been in search of a mascara that won't smudge and leave me looking like I've got dark circles by noon. I have tried every brand- cheap to frighteningly expensive. Most of the ones that stay on are torture to get off and pull out half your eyelashes when you remove them. THIS is a long wearing mascara that doesn't leave you with dry, crunchy lashes. It's got a super fat bushy brush and builds great volume and length. LOVE IT.
If you're used to a small brush, this will take a little practice to get used to.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
crazyworkingmom
Location: chicago
Review 3 for Opulash
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Lengthens and Volumizes, but very heavy formula
Date:August 27, 2010
Tags: Lengthening, Defining, Dramatic
The title says it all. I didnt really get any clumps or anything. and it truly did lengthen y eyelashes and gave the some volume at the tips. I think this is by far the best MAC mascara thats ever came out. it works very well. But it will not hold a curl whatsoever. if you layer on too much mascara, youll end up without any curl in your lashes throughout the day. so its not great for holding a curl for long, but it does lengthen.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
joeygenevieve
Location: moreno valley
Review 4 for Opulash
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
find your balance and you'll love it
Date:July 5, 2011
Tags: Volumizing/Curls, Lengthening, Natural, Defining, Dramatic
So, I bought it despite all of the negative reviews, because I love big, fat lashes and that brush looks like it should be able to deliver. during my first uses, I could relate to the neg reviews. It kinda came off waxy. but after finding the balance between the formula and the nature of my lashes... I love it and am about to buy more. my lashes look thick, dark, long and are NEVER clumpyI
Formula: The black is black enough. I'm a jet-black head and have very dark features and it's perfect. Yeah, the formula can "harden/ stiffen" a bit, but if you apply/ set it properly, that will just help your curl and volume last. And i can also go "natural" by just applying one coat.
Application: i use about 2 coats (and i often apply in the car - yeah, I'm that girl - so you know the coats aren't even thorough) and I always get the same results. I've never been a lash-curler because they "auto-curl", so maybe that's where the disconnect lies w other reviewers. but even with that, i think you can use the consistency to your advantage and hold your lashes in a curl while the mascara sets/ dries. but I just apply by wiggling the brush at the base of my lashes for volume and then ride the brush up with some minor wiggling during the ride up.
Brush size: The brush is nowhere near large to me, but it is similar to the other large brushes from drugstore mascaras. So if you're used to smaller wands, be aware that you're buying a product called OPUlash... the goal is opulence...
Lastability: I just checked and after 8 hours on oily skin [did not prep, nor prime this morning ;)], my lashes still pop. and I've often added a coat in the evening and have never dealt with sticky or clumpy lashes when adding coats. but again, application is key.
Once you find the balance, I think you'll enjoy.
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
shoesandicecream
Location: Washington DC
Review 5 for Opulash
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
my new Favorite Mascara
Date:March 8, 2011
Tags: Defining, Dramatic, Volumizing/Curls, Lengthening, Natural, naturally long thick lashes
I emailed MAC because I have had many problems finding a mascara I would like. I have naturally very long and thick lashes, but they are blonde. I do not want to look like a racoon, I love my lashes but most mascaras do not do what they claim to do, I've spent a lot on trying out all the new ones that come out, but NONE of them made my lashes look nice, they took for ever to dry leaving little dots on my eye lids, clumping my lashes together, when they did dry, they started to drop little black flakes all over my face, so I desperately needed Help.
I saw a review on YouTube and my favorite girl was using MAC. She used the mascara over thick false eyelashes and they looked great so I had to seek more info.
Got my MAC Opulash Mascara, I Love it!
It doesn't clump or stick my lashes together, it's creamy and dries fast, it is beautiful satiny shiny black on my lashes. The brush is thick and large and separates very nicely, For a more dramatic look all you need to do is just apply another coat. I know this is my new Favorite Mascara.
Thank you Dianna (MAC Tech) for the recommendation :D I am very NEW to MAC Cosmetics, but I know I am going to love it :}
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
DrGraceG
Location: Westport, CT
Review 6 for Opulash
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Best Mascara Ever
Date:November 26, 2010
Tags: Volumizing/Curls, Dramatic, dramatic lash lovers
Does all it says it will do. If you want dramatic, drag queen ultra out there lashes. This is the mascara for you. Love, love, love it!!!!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Siouxsan
Location: Florida
Review 7 for Opulash
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Full Lashes
Date:January 5, 2013
Tags: Volumizing/Curls, Defining, Dramatic
A good mascara. Gives a full-lash effect. It washes off easily and can be accidentally rubbed off easily, too. I like the way it looks, but I am not too happy about the way it wears.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
CoolBlonde
Location: Maryland, USA
Review 8 for Opulash
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Flakes
Date:December 17, 2012
When I first applied this mascara I thought it would be great. One hour into wearing it, there were mascara flakes all over my cheeks and lids. It was terrible. Flaking mascara is a nightmare!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
ECachu
Location: Oakhurst, CA
Review 9 for Opulash
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
review
Date:June 4, 2012
Tags: Lengthening, Defining, Natural, thin lashes
1st off i am very picky about my mascara because alot of them dont do good with my lashes but this kind makes them look so thick and fool
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
abbylovesmaccosmetics
Review 10 for Opulash
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
love it
Date:September 12, 2011
Tags: Defining, Volumizing/Curls, every day wear
I just ran out of Opulash a couple weeks ago and have been hurting without it. I keep hearing that drug store mascaras are just as good, but I can't agree with that. Each drug store brand I've bought has either applied poorly or removes poorly. Opulash applies great, makes my lashes look better and comes off amazingly. It never smudged for me, but when I wanted it off, it was off.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
ksummers
Location: charlotte, nc
Review 11 for Opulash
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Not What I expected
Date:October 15, 2011
Tags: Natural
This mascara, well this is not what I expected. It's not as dramatic as I would like it to be. It does last for a while, but I had to mix another type of mascara just to make my lashes pop! It separates and curl, just wish it was a little darker and makes my lashes thicker. This mascara just makes your lashes look natural.
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
lovebalphy
Location: NC
Review 12 for Opulash
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Best so far
Date:February 15, 2012
Tags: Defining, Dramatic, Volumizing/Curls, Lengthening, all
I think this mascara has been my favorite one from MAC so far. I really like the full brush, and the formula seems to stay good longer than others.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
KH32
Location: AZ
Review 13 for Opulash
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Nice!!
Date:November 27, 2010
Tags: Defining, Dramatic, Volumizing/Curls
My eyelashes tend to stick straight out so I was in need of a mascara that would curl my lashes. This mascara not only does that but it makes them appear fuller due to the product being so black! I've tried the zoom lash and I do like that one but this one is better! I don't think it dries the lashes but because the product contains beeswax, if you are one that likes to layer heavily you may feel the build up on your lashes. I only apply one coat to get my desired look and it last all day!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Charm
Location: NC
Review 14 for Opulash
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Amazing!!
Date:August 10, 2011
Tags: Defining, Dramatic, Volumizing/Curls, Lengthening, Natural, long think lashes
At first i was a bit iffy when i bought this, but after a few weeks of dealing with it and pumping it to dry it out a bit, it works amazingly! best mascara ive ever used! will never use a different one now! takes a bit of patience to get it to work really great, but once it does it lasts a long time and doesnt flake off halfway through the day and holds a great curl!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Annakin
Location: New Brunswick
Review 15 for Opulash
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Its not exactly what i expected
Date:April 26, 2011
Tags: Defining
i thought this was gonna be amazing, but its not what i expected. yes, it makes your lashes much more dense and its very black, but it doesnt curl your lashes or give it volume. it just makes it look blacker and thicker. i use it for a base and than i use another mascara, haha so i use two. but yeah.. not what i expected.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Vicc
Location: Merrick, New York
Review 16 for Opulash
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
THE LOOK!
Date:January 22, 2011
Tags: Defining, Volumizing/Curls, Lengthening, Natural
This mascara is the shiznet!Love the MEGA big brush. Gives long 'out there' lashes in about 3 strokes-No joke. I love big brushes because they give instant result unlike the small plastic brushes which seperate the lashes and take more time in applying. If you know how to work the brush, you will get amazing length,volume AND separation from this mascara.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
MACWOW
Location: Montreal
Review 17 for Opulash
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Love it!
Date:July 31, 2011
Tags: Volumizing/Curls, Lengthening, Natural, Defining
I purchased this mascara and I love it. It gives my lashes length and thickness. It's not clumpy or sticky, as some other mascaras I have tried. When I tried it on at the Mac counter in Macy's I had to buy it. It goes on smooth, effortless!!!!!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Peekaboo
Location: Atlanta
Review 18 for Opulash
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Just Ok
Date:August 11, 2013
Tags: Lengthening
This mascara was recommended to me and it's average at best. You have to apply quite a bit to get a thicker look. Removing this off your lashes is somewhat difficult. A bit stubborn. It's non-irritating which I like, but I wouldn't rate this a 5. The overall cost not bad, compares to others.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
ilonabologna
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Review 19 for Opulash
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
=( no good
Date:June 6, 2011
Tags: nothing.
I am a huge MAC fan but this mascara is no good. I've tried 5 MAC-scaras, and this was probably the worst.... eh, close call between this and the 'falsies' mascara. My fave is Studio Fix, 2nd would be the Plush Lash, and then Zoom, this one is just not what I expected and not what it said it would be. Would not purchase again.
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Jessy87
Location: Grayslake, IL
Review 20 for Opulash
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
I don't know-I never got it!
Date:August 25, 2012
Tags: i don't know
I received a really God-awful colored eye pencil. I never got the mascara. I love M.A.C. Products but I don't think I will other online any more. I ordered online because my store is 100 miles from my home. I don't have time to mess around with a messed up order so I use the eye liner asa lip pencil. I really wanted to try that mascara! Please next time you guys don't have a product I have ordered just please back order it. I would have never bought that eye liner. It its truly hideous.
-4points
0of 4found this review helpful.
Piglet
1-20 of 34 reviews