Product Reviews

MAC Penultimate Brow Marker

Average Customer Rating:
3.889 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
4
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Reviews for Penultimate Brow Marker
Review 1 for Penultimate Brow Marker
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Ingenious product!
Date:January 10, 2012
Tags: Fills, Natural looking, Defining, all skintones, sparse brows (must be shaped), on the go!
I purchased this a few months ago and just started to use it again. I must say it works better than a pencil and it gives you less of a harsh look, no matter what your skintone or features. The pen is very buildable and the felt tip is just the RIGHT size as well. So it gives you the right arch and the right size, everytime.
I have noticed by reading other reviews on this site and on other makeup sites that this product has recieved a lot of negative reviews. Some users have said it does not give enough coverage and that the pen is hard to use. Here's the thing...I believe this pen works well on sparse brows. If you have full or unruly brows, I must say, it simply won't work and you wil not get the finish that you desire. Another thing is that fair skinned women find it to be too dark and Darker (warmer) skins find it too light. Remember that the color is BUILDABLE; that's why it's one universal shade. If you put it on with a heavy hand, its going to look darker, but with a lighter hand, its going to look subtle. If you apply with an artists hand, you will get the best results everytime, even if you don't have one at all! Not to mention it dries quick and stays on all day...AND... does not smudge! What a product! I'm going to purchase a few at a time! :D
Four stars! ****
+26points
29of 32found this review helpful.
StrangeBeauty
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Review 2 for Penultimate Brow Marker
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Not for dark hair
Date:December 2, 2013
Tags: reddish hair tones
The color is very reddish. I did like how great it layers for either a subtle fill or something heavier but the color is truly not for everyone. I have med/dark brown hair and it does not work for me.
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
DeannaT
Location: Cleveland, OH
Review 3 for Penultimate Brow Marker
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Very Innovative Product!
Date:October 30, 2010
Tags: Fills, Defining, eyebrows
I purchased this product from my local MAC Store about 4 months ago. I must say, I love how innovative it is, how it shapes my brows to precision, and how much I don't have to worry about an accidental and unknown brow-smudge, anymore!
I really wanted to give this product 5-stars but could only make it to "5". The ONLY reason it didn't get there, for me, was the lack shade choices offered to customers. I'm an African-American female, which happens to be of West Indian, Native American and Creole descent, and cosmetic products that have a "one shade fits all" policy don't work very well for me. This brow marker has more of a brownish-tinting to it, while my brows are without a doubt "black" in color. Therefore, I find myself combining brow products to get my desired color result. In every aspect, this product is WONDERFUL!
I've been using MAC products for almost 15 years and I'm not about to stop! Please, MAC; will you take a look at offering other color choices with the Penultimate Brow Marker? This product is too excellent in what it achieves for me to let a little thing like "color choices", or should I say lack of, force me to put it in my "obsolete for me" drawer?
Thanks a Million...And Love Your Products!!!
+16points
17of 18found this review helpful.
1MacFanatic
Location: Bridgeport, Michigan
Review 4 for Penultimate Brow Marker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
CHANGED MY LIFE!
Date:July 29, 2014
Tags: Fills, Natural looking
Absolutely LOVE this product. Hopefully I can keep buying it forever...it has totally helped me perfect my brows! I have light eyebrows and have always needed to fill them in. I'm not big on using an eyeshadow for the job and have always used a pencil (even though it's hard to look natural using a pencil). When I tried this product, I knew this was it! It goes on like a marker (but isn't runny, marks right where you put it) and gives very buildable, natural-looking color. The darker you want, the more you layer. Looks SO natural - no one will know your brows are filled in! This is all due to the unique pen texture (vs a chalky pencil or shadow). It has become part of my everyday routine. For day time, I just use the pen, but at night (for going out) I usually do an outline (esp. on arches) with a pencil and then fill in with the pen (gives a bolder look, looks great for pictures). I highly recommend for anyone who struggles with their eyebrows - this will make all the difference you need!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
AmyMarie22
Location: Kansas City
Review 5 for Penultimate Brow Marker
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Works well, but color is too light for my brows.
Date:March 9, 2013
Tags: Natural looking, Defining
I typically use the Anastasia brow pen but I love MAC so I wanted to give this one a try. The product works great and comes out fine however the color is too light for my dark brown eyebrows. I read that it is buildable however, even going over my brows a few times I still find that is too light for me. I think this is bet suited for women that have lighter brows/haircolor.
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
Drix
Location: Boston
Review 6 for Penultimate Brow Marker
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Need more colors!
Date:February 3, 2011
Tags: Fills, Natural looking, Defining, filling in sparse or over-plucked brows.
I really like how this brow marker works! I was a little worried that is would be really marker-y (like a Sharpie) but it really goes on nicely. I was also able to build up to a darker shade as my brows are pretty dark brown. The only bad part is that the one color it comes in is too reddish of a brown for my coloring. I wish MAC offered more colors!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Mirmir
Location: Madison, WI
Review 7 for Penultimate Brow Marker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
My miracle brow product
Date:August 27, 2010
Tags: eyebrow filling
I cannot explain how much I love this product. My brows are naturally sparse and I have black hair and olive skin, and this product is my DREAM eyebrow filler. My brows come out perfectly shaped and lovely with this little pen. I also have oily skin and this stays on all day, and even overnight to the point that I don't care about leaving the house in the morning before I've redone my brows. That is a first. I hope MAC never gets rid of it, or I will cry. Cannot recommend it enough.
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Tina
Location: WNY
Review 8 for Penultimate Brow Marker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Perfection
Date:January 13, 2012
Tags: Fills, Defining, Natural looking, precision, feathering
I love that this pen has a nice fine point and go thicker if you lay it sideways more.
I like a defined point on my inner brow and powder was a lil hard to make it precise. Even the thinner auto pencils were not what I really desired. So, this was a godsend for me.
Not only can you make fine thin lines....this also works perfect for the rest of my brows. With some quick soft moves this gives me natural looking soft feathery filled in brows.
From genetics, I have larger pores around my nose/cheeks and outer part of my brows. Sometimes my Espresso or SmBx brow powder would just sit in them unnaturally. But since this has a pen like fluid, it just glides over them so nicely. Yay!!!!! Just luv it so much!!
I would describe this color as being kinda similar to my MAC Espresso eyeshadow. Yet, this is not as dark and has more of a taupe red undertone, like SmBx's taupe brow powder. Although don't worry its not too red at all. I hate any brow coloring that has too much red.
You can make it darker brown by going back over them....this turns into a nice dark neutral brown.
Imo, I believe that this color is perfect color for anyone between blonde to brunette. Though, if you would only use this color alone, I would probably not recommend for black hair though. But, if you are like me and you set your brows with a brow powder anyways...then a blacker brow power would probably work out for your tone too. ;)
I have had this almost daily, for over 4 months, and its still going strong!
I found for the best longevity is to keep it laying down on its side and stored inside a plastic makeup bag.(which I also keep my gel liners sealed up constantly too. But, I store them upside down)
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
MrsLeonidas
Location: INDY
Review 9 for Penultimate Brow Marker
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Bring my pencil back!
Date:September 13, 2012
Tags: Fills
I really tried to like the brow marker, I did. But it just doesn't compare to the pencil. Please bring the thicker pencil's back. Every time I find a mac product that I love for my eyebrows it is discontinued. I have gone with the flow in the past and switched to whatever new product has come out but I wont be switching to the brow marker. I will have to find somewhere else to buy my brow pencil as mac no longer sells the thicker pencil :(
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
onlineshopper
Location: Salt Lake
Review 10 for Penultimate Brow Marker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Miracle Marker
Date:September 10, 2011
Tags: Fills, Natural looking, Defining, thin eyebrows sparse brows
I have very sparse eyebrows at the base and more quantity at the arch yet they are a bit thin. I've tried every single serum to grow them but it hasn't worked so I started drawing them. I've tried powders, pencils, everything. I've found maybe two products I like but they don't look completely natural, so I considered brow tinting for a while but was undecided as I don't want something too obvious or strong.
I decided to try the penultimate brow marker based on the reviews and I must admit I was skeptical at first, but after the first application, I absolutely LOVE it. I can fill in the sparser areas and they still look very natural. I'm very pale with dark brown hair and I thought maybe the shade would be a bit light, but it looks just great. I absolutely recommend it, it works just wonderfully for me.
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
senza
Location: chicago, il
Review 11 for Penultimate Brow Marker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
LOVE IT
Date:March 7, 2012
Tags: Fills, Natural looking, Defining
I was skeptical at first, being as I have very light eye brows and I have had a lot of trouble in the past with liquid eye products.. But for my eyebrows this pen has been fantastic! I will be buying it again, I hope MAC keeps it around :) The only aspect that would make this brow pen perfect would be if it was water proof *hint hint*
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Lashley
Review 12 for Penultimate Brow Marker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
AT LAST!!!!!! MAC has done it again!!
Date:February 22, 2011
Tags: Fills, Natural looking, Defining, any with warm toned hair & desire 4 perfect brows
I have an eyebrow obsession....i can go out with no makeup, but must do my brows. I am also a redhead so it makes it hard to find brow pencils that don;t go orange or rust colored on my skin... in fact I had actually started dying my hair a medium rich brown to make things easier. I actually acquired this product by accident. The sales girl gave me the wrong product and once home i figured i would try it out. I was so happy i did a little dance. This is the perfect shade for me...no matter my hair color. I have gone back to my natural ginger shade ( my boyfriend loves it and heads turn often..YAY) and my brows are quite perfect. no more waxy pencils...no more fake orangy tones. this gives perfect control for the necessary feathery strokes, but can also be used to outline the brow shape you want to fill with powder and creates a barrier that keeps powder in place and is wonderfully buildable. It stays on all day even in the wretched Florida humidity. I use the "fix sheer white powder" lightly to make sure it's set and then the brow gel to make sure all hairs stay perfectly in place and have a nice natural sheen. This product has made me love MAC all the more. Please never get rid of it!! But maybe a cool toned version for those without red in their hair....my ash blond sister will thank you.
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
HairINFlames
Location: FLORIDA
Review 13 for Penultimate Brow Marker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
*** The Best Eyebrows Product in the Market ***
Date:June 9, 2011
Tags: Fills, Natural looking, Defining, eyebrow defining/ color/ shape/ control look
I LOVE Makeup & always had trouble finding the perfect product for my Eyebrows (I'm a little bit obesses w/ that area).
I have Tons of Eyebrow Powders/ Pencils/ Finishers/ Eyebrow mascaras. But, nothing has worked better than the PENULTIMATE BROW MARKER. I LOVE the fact that I can get the Look I want I control if I want my Eyebrows Natural or more Dramatic.
Everybody has noticed that I'm using something New & they make compliments!! :)
My Hair is Natural Black & my Eyebrows are very Light & sparse. I can use my PENULITMATE BROW MARKER even with Red & Blond color :)
I Recommend this product to Anybody. If you lear how to use it & control your looks, YOU'LL LOVE IT!
**** I CAN'T LIVE WHITOUT THIS PRODUCT ****
I wear MAC Concealers, Foundations, Finishing Powders, Blushes, Prep & Prime, Pots, Eyeshadows (TONS & TONS), Eyeliners (incluing PENULTIMATE EYELINER) & I'm sorry this is my MAC #1 FAVORITE.
NEVER DISCONTINUE IT PLEASE!
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Aurora
Location: Arizona
Review 14 for Penultimate Brow Marker
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Love hate relationship
Date:April 23, 2011
Tags: Natural looking, Defining, thin eyebrows
I loved it at first, it would fill in my eye brows and look natural but at time to much will come out when I apply it and sometimes not enough. Its a fight and battle when to much comes out and its just love when it doesn't do that.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
mellybbyxo
Location: Chicago IL
Review 15 for Penultimate Brow Marker
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Didn't like it
Date:February 24, 2013
The color is too light for my skin tone & natural brow color. I'm a medium brown black women. Won't try this again until there's a darker color. I can do a much better job with my dark brown eyeshadows.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
riceville2
Review 16 for Penultimate Brow Marker
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Can't See It
Date:February 9, 2013
Didn't really care too much for this, cannot see it when it goes on... I think it would be better for really light brows, but for darker brows, i prefer my pencil.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
LaVonna
Location: Nashville, TN
Review 17 for Penultimate Brow Marker
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
too red
Date:September 4, 2012
Tags: Fills, Defining, auburn red hair
I really like the product, it's precise and lasts a long time, however, it's too red for my ash light brwn hair w/ golden highlights. Since I won't go though the trouble of returning I have been able to use it by first applying where needed and then going over it w/ eyeshadow pwder that matches my eyebrows. I wish it came in a light ash color, then it would get 5 stars fm me.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Nico10
Review 18 for Penultimate Brow Marker
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Brow Marker
Date:July 16, 2012
Tags: Fills, Defining
Love the workings of this product but I have black eyebrows and this product is only sold in a reddish brown so it looks odd. If it was in a black brown it would be perfect and I would buy it over and over again as it lets you stroke in the individual look of hairs. Not everyone has this odd color MAC. Please make a darker color for we girls who have sparce brows.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Marta
Review 19 for Penultimate Brow Marker
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Brow Marker
Date:September 16, 2012
Tags: Natural looking
Really helped me to fix my eyebrows to how I wanted them... just wish the actual color when applied was a little darker. Still have to color in with a pencil to get the right visibility.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Teegie
Location: Illinois
Review 20 for Penultimate Brow Marker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Very Natural looking
Date:July 1, 2012
Tags: Fills, Natural looking, Defining, defining eyebrows, making brows appear thicker
I recently purchased this product online and I AM IN LOVE!!! I normally use Mac's strut or Spiked which are also excellent products but this liner is nice and light. Not harsh at all, use nice short light strokes and it looks like hair growing from your skin. I will be purchasing more of this marker very soon.
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
PriscillaDazzle
1-20 of 36 reviews