Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at MacCosmetics.

MAC Prep + Prime Skin Brightening Serum

Average Customer Rating:
4.278 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews for Prep + Prime Skin Brightening Serum
Review 1 for Prep + Prime Skin Brightening Serum
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love The Skin Brightening Serum
Date:July 26, 2012
Tags: as a primer, brightening the skin, troubled areas "blemishes/dark spots"
I recently purchased this product about a week ago and couldn't wait to get home to cleanse my face and start applying the "Brightening Serum". I noticed within @ 2 - 3 days how my blemishes / a few dark spots on my chin area immediately begin to lighten up. I realize it's a primer (apply before makeup) but I also started applying a dab on my troubled areas at night before I go to bed and I've seen a big difference in my results. I think the price is worth it. I really like the feel of the serum in addition to what they use in their formula / ingredients. I've already recommended the product to my sisters. Thanks Mac :)
+13points
13of 13found this review helpful.
JaeJae
Location: Pentagon
Review 2 for Prep + Prime Skin Brightening Serum
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
really like!
Date:April 17, 2012
Tags: brightening antioxidant protection hydration, primer
I really like this serum. It's very light weight, absorbs quickly and the ingredients are fantastic. Vitamin c, green tea, vitamin e, hylaronic acid. It's hydrating but not too much. I wasn't sure if this would work for me as a skincare product but it does! It dries down to a smooth finish for a primer too.It very easily could be sold as a skincare product and not under the prep prime line. Great for oily/combo skins too.
+15points
15of 15found this review helpful.
Daniel
Review 3 for Prep + Prime Skin Brightening Serum
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love It!!!
Date:January 4, 2011
Tags: Evens out skintone, Minimizes look of pores, Smooths, Extends foundation wear
I have been using this serum for about four months now, and I am still using the same bottle. It is a tad bit expensive however, you only need a tiny bit for your entire face . I can see a huge difference in how my foundation looks on my skin now. Great product.
+19points
19of 19found this review helpful.
QueenB
Location: Atlanta, GA
Review 4 for Prep + Prime Skin Brightening Serum
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Miracle Serum
Date:January 30, 2011
Best skin brightening serum! Ive tried so many skin brighteners and nothing worked as well and as FAST as this product! The first day I put it on, I immediately noticed my skin looked brighter and also have a nice glow. I thought I would have to use it for weeks until I see a dif, but literally..the first day I put it on...it was heaven.
This product is so worth the money. By the way it works, it certainly has the best ingredients. Oh...and let me tell you about the smell of this serum.....it smells soo nice and fresh. Best smelling product ive ever put on my face next to my Fix + of course:)
You are in for a treat with this serum!
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
GlamYouUp
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Review 5 for Prep + Prime Skin Brightening Serum
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Its sort of good...`
Date:February 28, 2011
Tags: dry skin
It moisturizes, but if you have normal-oily skin,it tends to make skin oily by the end of the day. There's also not a lot of product for the price. So I would say it's not worth the money.
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
maddie
Location: ATL, GA
Review 6 for Prep + Prime Skin Brightening Serum
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
It Works
Date:April 12, 2011
Tags: dry skin
This product deffinitly does what it claims to. Over period of time it will make skin more even, and diminish any sort of discoloration, acne scars, aging, etc. Will your spots complety dissapear? No. Though this certainly will speed along the process of scars diminishing quicker, it certainly helped me!
If you plan on using his during he day and have oily skin, i do not recommend it. By the end of the day your face will be quite a bit oilier/slicker looking. I personally use it only at night, making my face supple while still getting the "lightening" benefit.
Overall 4/5 product because it makes he skin quite a bit oily, at least a thin layer.
+13points
14of 15found this review helpful.
bela
Review 7 for Prep + Prime Skin Brightening Serum
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
magic
Date:December 27, 2010
Tags: Minimizes look of pores, Smooths, Extends foundation wear
Very, very pricey for only 1oz. But I have to say it really makes my skin glow and makes everything else look FLAWLESS.
+17points
19of 21found this review helpful.
kmkz
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Review 8 for Prep + Prime Skin Brightening Serum
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Love it!
Date:October 2, 2012
I wasn't sure if this product would really work. I read the reviews and decided to try it. I love it, my skin looks clearer and smoother. I would definitely suggest this product.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
fishes305
Location: San Diego, CA
Review 9 for Prep + Prime Skin Brightening Serum
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
:o
Date:January 26, 2011
Tags: clearing pimples; brightening dark spots ;a glow
I have been using this serum for about a week and so far so good. I had a hugeeee pimple on my nose and as i was using this all over my face, my pimple got smaller each day. Hopefully i dont get a mark from the pimple but if i do, i can just use this serum to lighten the spot because it does that too! I truely love this stuff.
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
indigo
Location: NY
Review 10 for Prep + Prime Skin Brightening Serum
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
LOVE IT!!
Date:February 25, 2011
I bought this about three weeks ago and absolutely LOVE IT!! Use it at night and again in the mornings before make-up. Within days could see my skin tone and hydration improving. Also, my make-up "sits" on my face better and lasts all day!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
RDGoulding
Location: Newfoundland, CANADA
Review 11 for Prep + Prime Skin Brightening Serum
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Good for the Price
Date:September 16, 2011
Most of the reviews state how pricey this product is but I disagree. Most high end, illuminating skin-tone serums cost 45 to 50 per ounce or more. And the fact that it last for at least 2 months or more makes it even more cost effective. As for performance I haven't noticed a significant difference. I don't have a lot of hyperpgimentation and I'm also very oily. It might be best suited for a dryer skin with more uneven skin tone. I am impressed however with the ingredients.
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
LookingGoodFor50
Location: Dallas, Texas
Review 12 for Prep + Prime Skin Brightening Serum
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Amazing Results!
Date:January 31, 2011
Tags: uneven skin tone and discoloration
I've been using this a week now and I can't believe the results! I have hyperpigmentation and the very first day I used this, the darkness was significantly lighter! My skin is more even with every use. I don't know about plumping, but I do know my skin is more youthful looking again. I can't live without this stuff!
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Lori
Location: Ohio
Review 13 for Prep + Prime Skin Brightening Serum
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Great product
Date:April 4, 2012
Tags: dry skin
I just starting using this product about a week ago, and the results are already showing! My skin looks better and more hydrated and my make-up goes on beautifully! My coworker even commented on how nice my skin looked! I can't wait to see the results after I continue to use it!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Rissy
Location: New Haven
Review 14 for Prep + Prime Skin Brightening Serum
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
convinced!
Date:February 27, 2013
Tags: everyone!
I felt sure that the dewy yet taut-skinned M.A.C. rep at Dillards was blowing smoke when she said this would help my considerably older-than-hers skin. After using it for a month I LOVE IT! I use it under my moisturizer rather than as a makeup primer. I don't have much discoloration to even out but when I touch my face there is a significant difference in the smoothness of my skin.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
TraciDR
Location: Mobile, AL
Review 15 for Prep + Prime Skin Brightening Serum
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great hydrating serum
Date:July 22, 2013
This provides some serious hydration. My skin feels 'plumped' and alive after applying this. I've bought it at least to times for that reason. BUT I have not seen the brightening effects, that is why I'm rating it 4/5.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Beda
Location: PR
Review 16 for Prep + Prime Skin Brightening Serum
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Prep & prime
Date:June 1, 2013
Really do not care for this product, it is too runny. Does not feel good on the face. Tossed the receipt (was so sure I would love it) otherwise I would have returned it.
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
AMD33
Review 17 for Prep + Prime Skin Brightening Serum
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Works
Date:August 6, 2011
Tags: daily
I think I noticed a difference in my skin after using it a couple weeks. I have normal/dry skin so I didnt have the oily problem. For the price, there should be more product.
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
RachT
Location: Dallas
Ratings-Only Reviews for Prep + Prime Skin Brightening Serum
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )