Product Reviews

MAC Nail Lacquer

Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
12
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Reviews for Nail Lacquer
Review 1 for Nail Lacquer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Are You Kidding Me?
Date:November 20, 2012
I absolutely love most of MAC's products, and wear it faithfully, however they have lost their minds when it comes to their nail polish!! The quality is NOWHERE near that of a high end brand to even begin justify charging almost double what they did a few years ago!! The colors are not unique (extremely dupable) and you can get a better formula in some of the other mid end brands. MAC seriously needs to get their heads out of the clouds when it comes to pricing their polishes, what a joke!!
+26points
26of 26found this review helpful.
RachT
Location: Dallas
Review 2 for Nail Lacquer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Does not last
Date:May 27, 2012
I recently purchased a nail lacquer in 'SNOB" color which is a beautiful color. However, after only one day of getting my manicure done it has already chipped and the color on the nail edges is already fading. I wear gloves when washing dishes and cleaning so I know it's the product and not me. Love the color, just does not last at all. I feel it should last more than a day for a $16.00 price tag.
+21points
22of 23found this review helpful.
LCTania
Location: New Jersey
Review 3 for Nail Lacquer
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
:( disappointed!!!
Date:December 10, 2012
Tags: Fast drying
I have attempted to use MAC nail lacquers for a few years now. I have about 10 shades all different finishes. I have never had luck with these and I am a nail fanatic!!! I find that these polishes are pretty colors but do not live up to being good quality at all. They are expensive and more expensive than many brands but lack the high performance you would expect. I don't know what MAC is thinking. I would love if the quality was great like the rest of MAC products but its just not. :( I love nail polish and would love to like these but the formula is not good. MAC should team up with a great nail brand and create a nail lacquer with dignity!!!
+18points
21of 24found this review helpful.
1macdoutG
Location: Ohio
Review 4 for Nail Lacquer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Mixed
Date:January 22, 2012
Tags: Fast drying
Some of the colors are really lovely, and the shimmers quite shimmery. However the polish chips away like no tomorrow if an overlaquer is not applied. In addition, the "endless night" polish is more gray/taupe than shimmery or pink as described. Overall I've loved some of my MAC colors but not the best nail polish brand out there. If there's a unique color you're in love with, get it ... plus a top coat.
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
MacGirl83
Review 5 for Nail Lacquer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Metallic purple
Date:April 7, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, ????
Great color but does not last... Starts peeling after 2 days
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Reece
Location: Houston
Review 6 for Nail Lacquer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
pricey, but good service
Date:December 25, 2010
I like ordering from MAC because I always get my order in a short amount of time. $13 is pricey for nail polish, but I keep ordering because of the wonderful service MAC has to offer. I have bought several nail polishes, and the only one I've had a real problem with is the black nail polish, it is very streaky.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Anonymous
Location: Virginia
Review 7 for Nail Lacquer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Meh..
Date:March 8, 2011
Tags: Bold Color
I bought this product awhile back in "Gee Whiz". The color is absolutely lovely, a bright pinkish red, but Im a little confused as to what they consider "Long Wearing".
I've applied 2 coats of this color a few different times since owning the product and I find it always starts chipping within a day or so.
I'm not particularly hard on my nails and don't have this problem with other brands. I just feel like for $14, it should have a bit more staying power than it does.
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Yzerkendra
Location: Florida
Review 8 for Nail Lacquer
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Date:July 28, 2011
This nail polish is not what I expected. Chips really fast. The colors are really nice though.
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Turka
Location: Pensacola, Florida
Review 9 for Nail Lacquer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Good, BUT....
Date:March 2, 2014
I cannot really say that I am disapponited. My only complain is that the nail polish was not that opaque, so I had to use two generous coats (sometimes it needed three).
BUT... what hate about this is the glass packaging. I dropped it from 50 cm height and IT BROKE!!! It turned into smithereens and my whole house was smelling so badly and my floor was brown!!! I also have other brand nail polish and when I dropped that it did not brake!I consider that the color was incredible. It needs a more resistant packaging!!!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
ctrlove
Location: Greece
Review 10 for Nail Lacquer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Saint Germain Nail Polish
Date:May 12, 2012
definitely not worth 16 dollars for how long it lasts. Saint Germain was not true to color advertisement at all. completely disappointed
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Ellekw
Location: Chicago, IL
Review 11 for Nail Lacquer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Gorgeous color
Date:June 6, 2011
Tags: Bold Color, Chip resistent, Fast drying
This is great nail enamel- the colors are beautiful and intense, especially Vintage Vamp and Nightfall. Good wear, and chip- resistant- especially with a top coat.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
madbint
Location: Connecticut
Review 12 for Nail Lacquer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Frayed to Order
Date:April 5, 2011
Tags: Fast drying, nails
This polish has a great look but it dries so fast that it makes it hard not to make the nail polish finish look clumpy.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Flirt
Location: Delhi, California
Review 13 for Nail Lacquer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
This color ROCKS!
Date:January 18, 2013
Tags: Bold Color, anyone that loves being noticed!
Just received this color (Screening Room) and was going to put it on my toes, but its SO incredible the world needs to enjoy it. Fingertips get to enjoy this great deep wonderful color!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
NotATourist
Location: King of Prussia, PA
Review 14 for Nail Lacquer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
there are better..
Date:January 1, 2013
In general, there's nothing really special about MAC nail polishes. I don't see the point in paying $16 whereas I can get the same quality and color for half the price elsewhere. They're not bad polishes but they're just not worth the money.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
fany
Review 15 for Nail Lacquer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Bad quality(
Date:November 22, 2012
Tags: "product is best for": discontinue.
I TRUST MAC.
I am always hope maybe next nail polish from MAC will be better.... I love all Monroe collection. I bought 3 shades nail polish from that collection and I need 3 coats of a nail polish for make manicure just ... "not so bad"
And this grey again.....Very disappointed(((
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
RussianSpy
Location: NJ,USA
Review 16 for Nail Lacquer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Toes Only
Date:September 18, 2012
Tags: Bold Color, Fast drying
Love the color and packaging of this product. I applied this nail polish to both my nails, and toes- polish never chipped on my toes. My nails however, did not last- I didn't even do anything- I went to shop, and my polish began chipping within two hours. I do love how fast drying this product is however.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
MissSmith99
Location: Canandaigua
Review 17 for Nail Lacquer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Okay
Date:August 28, 2012
Tags: Bold Color
I bought the "Spirit of Truth" shade when it first came out as a part of the Wonder Woman collection. I really like the strong color. The problem is that the color stains my nails and the surronding skin a shade of blue. I also don't feel it is long lasting.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Kerby
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Review 18 for Nail Lacquer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Dark Angel
Date:December 18, 2010
Love the color, hate the price. However, its a nice treat. Beautiful, very romantic color. I like the weight of the brush. it's heavier than most. Thin small /med brush. The bad part is that you need to apply 2-3 coats for the color to look like the bottle.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Tatyana17
Location: USA
Review 19 for Nail Lacquer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
pretty great!
Date:March 8, 2011
Tags: Fast drying, Bold Color
pretty great! a little sticky and chips but wonderful color and you really only need 2 coats!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
MAClover1999
Location: New Hampshire
Review 20 for Nail Lacquer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Fast drying
Date:September 26, 2013
Tags: Fast drying, Bold Color, Chip resistent
I've been reading negative feedback but for me mac nail polish are very nice. They dry fast and it takes awhile for me to get them off. Im happy and satisfied with my purchase and will definitely buy more.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Kristine
Location: Philippines
1-20 of 39 reviews