Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Set Powder

Average Customer Rating:
4.654 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews for Set Powder
Review 1 for Set Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Sets Very Well
Date:March 20, 2014
Tags: Non-Drying, Natural looking, Shine control
Really love this powder better than any other I have used. It sets very well & looks really natural.
I will order extra 2 pack and I am glad to do.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Dhabya
Review 2 for Set Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Oily skin? Please read!
Date:December 24, 2010
Tags: Shine control, oily combo with acne
After I have put all of my makeup on I brush this powder on very last right before I use my fix spray. This will give me a clear perfection for the rest of the day. I have very oily skin and break out all the time at age 30. This powder actually controlled my oil through out the day and helped clear up my skin!
+70points
70of 70found this review helpful.
Letty
Location: Sacramento
Review 3 for Set Powder
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
really nice setting powder
Date:March 23, 2014
Tags: Shine control
i use this on top of the studio fix liquid foundation in NC15 with a normal powder brush. i switched to this powder from the basic loose powder from a drugstore brand because i have oily skin, and after a few hours into the day i'd be shiny.
pros: it is very translucent; it goes on and sticks to the foundation well; i think it does keep me shine free for longer than the drugstore loose powder; you don't have to use very much, so it'll last for a looong time; the price is pretty decent, considering how long is lasts and how well it performs; i don't think it really makes my makeup cakey, though i don't use a very big amount;
cons: i feel like it's so matte that if you look closely, you can see the powder on my face (and, like i said, i don't use much at all); even though it does last longer than my other powder, i'm still a bit shiny after about 4 or 5 hours in doors.
i would recommend this for oily skin, because, honestly, if you're as bad as me, nothing is going to keep you matte all day long. but this powder does do a pretty decent job.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
LittleKat
Location: Louisiana
Review 4 for Set Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
FABULOUS!!!!!
Date:February 11, 2011
Tags: Natural looking, Shine control, Non-Drying, setting creamy products
I use the "invisible" set powder to set cream color bases and foundation that you don't want to add color to (by way of a colored powder/foundation to set it) so that the true color shows through. This powder not only set makeup but makes it stay...through all the bright lights and my clients sweating escapades!!!!!!
+18points
18of 18found this review helpful.
Glambox
Location: Washington DC
Review 5 for Set Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love it
Date:June 22, 2011
Tags: Non-Drying, Natural looking, Shine control, setting foundation
Set powder is an absloute must have for setting all types of foundations. I particularly love the invisible because it's truely colorless. It's a must for on set photoshoots.
+15points
15of 15found this review helpful.
awg36
Location: Killian, La
Review 6 for Set Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Outstanding!
Date:March 22, 2014
Tags: Shine control
PURE PERFECTION!! NO SHINE/OILY FACE ALL DAY!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Jojo375
Review 7 for Set Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
To set makeup so that it doesn't budge...
Date:August 30, 2010
Tags: Natural looking
Best used in conjunction with a sheer foundation, tinted moisturizer, or spot concealer for a more natural "no-makeup" makeup look or with a coverage-based foundation for everyday to special occasion wear. This powder's versatility lies in its basic ability to "set" makeup so that any underlying colored product (foundation, concealer, tinted moisturizer, etc.) resists rub-off and the makeup look will remain looking "fresh" after a long period of time. Since it is a powdered formula, be sure to moisturize the face before applying to avoid looking dry. A little goes a long way, so one jar will last very long.
+21points
24of 27found this review helpful.
banhbaocheeks
Location: SF Bay Area, California
Review 8 for Set Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great finishing product
Date:July 30, 2011
Tags: Shine control, wedding photography
I love this powder. There are many imitator/DYI set powder out there and nothing comes to the real thing. It does finish the face with a very MATTE look, so do not over use it. A jar of this will last me for years to come. Good investment if you want a good finishing powder that gives the matte look.
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
kmlstudio
Location: sacramento
Review 9 for Set Powder
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great setting powder for oily/combo skin types
Date:October 28, 2012
Tags: Shine control, Natural looking, daytime wear oil control
I used set powder for quite a while, but started noticing my face looked ghostly white in pics, I experimented with using a moisturizer without SPF at night, using different powders to set my foundation and discovered the culprit was this MAC set powder! so be forewarned if you take a lof of pics! this being said, the powder works great to control oil and goes on invisibly on top of foundation. I still use it for daytime/work purposes. This jar is HUGE and will last many months with daily use.
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Student4Life
Location: SoFla
Review 10 for Set Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
in love with this product
Date:January 7, 2011
Tags: Natural looking, Shine control, Non-Drying, set up your foundation.
I use it over my prolong wear foundation. Gives you a smooth finish and really fix your make up. Perfect for oily/combination types, and doesn't cake on your skin.
I even use it over my eyeshadow and makes the color to stay all day.
the container is larger than "prep and prime finishing powder", and the final effect is similar.
Recommend it.
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
latina
Location: el paso
Review 11 for Set Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Set and go
Date:April 9, 2014
Tags: Non-Drying, Natural looking, Shine control
This is a great fine powder for setting your makeup with out changing the color. It does exactly what it says it will do. Generous sized jar as well.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Mrsfixit2
Location: midwest
Review 12 for Set Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great Powder!
Date:March 31, 2014
Tags: Natural looking, Shine control
I love this powder because I can use it on all of my clients, and the fact that it's 30 g, it lasts a long time!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Chauncei
Location: Monroe, La
Review 13 for Set Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love it!
Date:May 25, 2013
Tags: Natural looking, Shine control, Non-Drying, setting and oil control
I absolutely love this powder. It is great for providing that matte effect for my oily skin. I am very pale and it helps blend everything together and set it. You can't go wrong with this wonderful dusting powder.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Chase88
Location: Kansas
Review 14 for Set Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Date:October 26, 2010
Tags: Natural looking, Shine control, Non-Drying
I love this powder. I have used this powder with MAC Face & Body foundation for almost 4 years now. It gives me a natural finish and it does not change or alter the color of my foundation.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Ericka82
Location: GA
Review 15 for Set Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Cannot live without~
Date:May 3, 2011
Tags: Non-Drying, Natural looking, Shine control
I absolutely love this. I have skin that is quite oily, and I don't always wear foundation, but when left bare, I get that awful oil slick in the afternoon. This powder keeps that from happening, even when I apply it at 8am and don't wash my face until midnight. It doesn't change the color of foundation, isn't heavy like a lot of powders, and doesn't block pores when worn without makeup or even primer.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Ayuu
Location: US
Review 16 for Set Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
I LOVE IT!!
Date:July 2, 2011
Tags: Shine control
NOTHING finishes my makeup better!! It's so light but just sets my makeup perfectly!! If I had a list of Must Haves for a deserted island, this would definitely be on it!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Suzooo
Location: San DIego
Review 17 for Set Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Smooth Face
Date:July 30, 2013
Tags: Natural looking, Shine control, smooth skin/finish, reducing redness
This is one of my favorites by M.A.C! You can apply it over a tinted powder or simply on its own over foundation. This powder smooths out any problematic sections of skin; it will also decrease redness. Love this product, and absolutely recommend it!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
makeupchique91
Location: louisiana
Review 18 for Set Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
INVISIBLE
Date:March 21, 2013
Tags: Non-Drying, Natural looking, Shine control
A totally invisible, adheres well to the skin and perfect for oil control.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Lacruxx
Location: San Diego, CA
Review 19 for Set Powder
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Meh
Date:August 31, 2012
Tags: Natural looking, balanced skin vintage looks
This powder doesn't have the vacuum-like sebum sucking action of Blot, though it does come in a solid variety of shades. I appreciate the texture, but it is not lasting for an oily-skinned person. MAC has so many powders for combo, balanced and dry skins... but it is those with oily skin who really depend on a powder to keep their skin in check. Disappointing, but decent.
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Anonymous
Location: Seattle, WA
Review 20 for Set Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Fantastic
Date:September 3, 2013
Tags: Natural looking, Shine control, setting all makeup
This is the best setting powder I have ever used! it is amazing.. my makeup don't budge at all and lasts all day long. I would totally buy it again. I just wish Newfoundland had a Mac store ( come on already!!!) buying online can sometimes be tricky to pick out products.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Amandaxo
Location: Newfoundland
1-20 of 26 reviews