Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Set Powder

Average Customer Rating:
4.676 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews for Set Powder
Review 1 for Set Powder
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Buy this!
Date:May 8, 2014
Tags: Non-Drying, Natural looking, Shine control, setting your makeup.
This powder is wonderful and so versatile. I use it to finish my whole face after makeup is applied to keep it budge-proof all day & also dab it on my lipstick to make it non-transferrable (lipstick literally lasts all night without smearing or transferring, even through food/drink). Plus, the jar is HUGE. I've had mine for over a year and haven't even made a dent in it. Definitely getting your money's worth!
Only downside, refrain from putting too much on or you will appear pale/washed-out in pictures.
+22points
22of 22found this review helpful.
MacFan4
Location: Texas
Review 2 for Set Powder
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Love it!
Date:April 25, 2014
Tags: Natural looking, Shine control
My skin gets EXTREMELY oily. So much so that it sometimes looks like I'm sweating. I've tried other powders and nothing really lasts. I just brought this a couple days ago and it's GREAT. I use it before and after foundation and I have definitely noticed a difference. I have darker skin, so a little goes a long way and it doesn't interfere with the color of my foundation. I wasn't sure about spending so much on this, but you get A LOT of powder in.
+20points
20of 20found this review helpful.
stefwitaf
Location: South Jersey
Review 3 for Set Powder
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
really nice setting powder
Date:March 23, 2014
Tags: Shine control
i use this on top of the studio fix liquid foundation in NC15 with a normal powder brush. i switched to this powder from the basic loose powder from a drugstore brand because i have oily skin, and after a few hours into the day i'd be shiny.
pros: it is very translucent; it goes on and sticks to the foundation well; i think it does keep me shine free for longer than the drugstore loose powder; you don't have to use very much, so it'll last for a looong time; the price is pretty decent, considering how long is lasts and how well it performs; i don't think it really makes my makeup cakey, though i don't use a very big amount;
cons: i feel like it's so matte that if you look closely, you can see the powder on my face (and, like i said, i don't use much at all); even though it does last longer than my other powder, i'm still a bit shiny after about 4 or 5 hours in doors.
i would recommend this for oily skin, because, honestly, if you're as bad as me, nothing is going to keep you matte all day long. but this powder does do a pretty decent job.
+27points
30of 33found this review helpful.
LittleKat
Location: Louisiana
Review 4 for Set Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Oily skin? Please read!
Date:December 24, 2010
Tags: Shine control, oily combo with acne
After I have put all of my makeup on I brush this powder on very last right before I use my fix spray. This will give me a clear perfection for the rest of the day. I have very oily skin and break out all the time at age 30. This powder actually controlled my oil through out the day and helped clear up my skin!
+109points
109of 109found this review helpful.
Letty
Location: Sacramento
Review 5 for Set Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
FABULOUS!!!!!
Date:February 11, 2011
Tags: Natural looking, Shine control, Non-Drying, setting creamy products
I use the "invisible" set powder to set cream color bases and foundation that you don't want to add color to (by way of a colored powder/foundation to set it) so that the true color shows through. This powder not only set makeup but makes it stay...through all the bright lights and my clients sweating escapades!!!!!!
+21points
21of 21found this review helpful.
Glambox
Location: Washington DC
Review 6 for Set Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love it
Date:June 22, 2011
Tags: Non-Drying, Natural looking, Shine control, setting foundation
Set powder is an absloute must have for setting all types of foundations. I particularly love the invisible because it's truely colorless. It's a must for on set photoshoots.
+15points
15of 15found this review helpful.
awg36
Location: Killian, La
Review 7 for Set Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
To set makeup so that it doesn't budge...
Date:August 30, 2010
Tags: Natural looking
Best used in conjunction with a sheer foundation, tinted moisturizer, or spot concealer for a more natural "no-makeup" makeup look or with a coverage-based foundation for everyday to special occasion wear. This powder's versatility lies in its basic ability to "set" makeup so that any underlying colored product (foundation, concealer, tinted moisturizer, etc.) resists rub-off and the makeup look will remain looking "fresh" after a long period of time. Since it is a powdered formula, be sure to moisturize the face before applying to avoid looking dry. A little goes a long way, so one jar will last very long.
+25points
28of 31found this review helpful.
banhbaocheeks
Location: SF Bay Area, California
Review 8 for Set Powder
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great setting powder for oily/combo skin types
Date:October 28, 2012
Tags: Shine control, Natural looking, daytime wear oil control
I used set powder for quite a while, but started noticing my face looked ghostly white in pics, I experimented with using a moisturizer without SPF at night, using different powders to set my foundation and discovered the culprit was this MAC set powder! so be forewarned if you take a lof of pics! this being said, the powder works great to control oil and goes on invisibly on top of foundation. I still use it for daytime/work purposes. This jar is HUGE and will last many months with daily use.
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Student4Life
Location: SoFla
Review 9 for Set Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great finishing product
Date:July 30, 2011
Tags: Shine control, wedding photography
I love this powder. There are many imitator/DYI set powder out there and nothing comes to the real thing. It does finish the face with a very MATTE look, so do not over use it. A jar of this will last me for years to come. Good investment if you want a good finishing powder that gives the matte look.
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
kmlstudio
Location: sacramento
Review 10 for Set Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Set Powder
Date:April 20, 2014
Tags: Non-Drying, Natural looking, Shine control
I absolutely love this powder! Its always hard to tell when you're using a translucent powder if it even makes a difference vs any other but it does, it sets the face beautifully, almost leaves this soft focus to the skin. I do my brows with a gel and I have such oily skin so throughout the day it almost appears wet, I use this powder to set my brows and no longer experience that. It's a must have multi use product!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
chelseaesparza
Location: California
Review 11 for Set Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Outstanding!
Date:March 22, 2014
Tags: Shine control
PURE PERFECTION!! NO SHINE/OILY FACE ALL DAY!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Jojo375
Review 12 for Set Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
in love with this product
Date:January 7, 2011
Tags: Natural looking, Shine control, Non-Drying, set up your foundation.
I use it over my prolong wear foundation. Gives you a smooth finish and really fix your make up. Perfect for oily/combination types, and doesn't cake on your skin.
I even use it over my eyeshadow and makes the color to stay all day.
the container is larger than "prep and prime finishing powder", and the final effect is similar.
Recommend it.
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
latina
Location: el paso
Review 13 for Set Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Sets Very Well
Date:March 20, 2014
Tags: Non-Drying, Natural looking, Shine control
Really love this powder better than any other I have used. It sets very well & looks really natural.
I will order extra 2 pack and I am glad to do.
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Dhabya
Review 14 for Set Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
One Word: AMAZING!!!!
Date:July 5, 2014
Tags: Non-Drying, Natural looking, Shine control
This is the best setting powder ever!!! This is literally my 8th one. I've tried so many transparent setting powder from drugstore to high end (Nyx,MUFE HD, Nars, etc), but I keep coming back to this one. This is my holy grail setting powder. I have combination oily skin tone, and this works amazingly well with my skin type. On top of that my skin looks flawless. I get so many compliments when I set my foundation with this powder!!!
Please do not discontinue this!!!!!! Please!!!!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
GraceC
Location: Los Angeles
Review 15 for Set Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Cannot live without~
Date:May 3, 2011
Tags: Non-Drying, Natural looking, Shine control
I absolutely love this. I have skin that is quite oily, and I don't always wear foundation, but when left bare, I get that awful oil slick in the afternoon. This powder keeps that from happening, even when I apply it at 8am and don't wash my face until midnight. It doesn't change the color of foundation, isn't heavy like a lot of powders, and doesn't block pores when worn without makeup or even primer.
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Ayuu
Location: US
Review 16 for Set Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Smooth Face
Date:July 30, 2013
Tags: Natural looking, Shine control, smooth skin/finish, reducing redness
This is one of my favorites by M.A.C! You can apply it over a tinted powder or simply on its own over foundation. This powder smooths out any problematic sections of skin; it will also decrease redness. Love this product, and absolutely recommend it!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
makeupchique91
Location: louisiana
Review 17 for Set Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Setting powder
Date:September 19, 2014
Tags: Natural looking
Love this works wonderful truly sets your make up great for under eye can tell makes my make up last all day
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Brittbylo
Location: Houston Tx
Review 18 for Set Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love it!
Date:May 25, 2013
Tags: Natural looking, Shine control, Non-Drying, setting and oil control
I absolutely love this powder. It is great for providing that matte effect for my oily skin. I am very pale and it helps blend everything together and set it. You can't go wrong with this wonderful dusting powder.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Chase88
Location: Kansas
Review 19 for Set Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Date:October 26, 2010
Tags: Natural looking, Shine control, Non-Drying
I love this powder. I have used this powder with MAC Face & Body foundation for almost 4 years now. It gives me a natural finish and it does not change or alter the color of my foundation.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Ericka82
Location: GA
Review 20 for Set Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Set Powder
Date:August 29, 2014
Tags: Natural looking, Shine control
AMAZING! Makes a huge difference on my finished look. Great price.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Crissy
Location: Coloado
1-20 of 34 reviews