Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Pro Palette Eye Shadow x 4

Average Customer Rating:
4.684 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Pro Palette Eye Shadow x 4
Review 1 for Pro Palette Eye Shadow x 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Beautifully Portable
Date:February 3, 2013
Tags: Convenient, Multiple combinations, Portable
I love the x4 size palette cases and actually prefer them to the larger storage case. I have 32 refill palettes in x4 cases and counting. I love being able to group my palettes by look and easily slip them in my purse or carryon luggage when traveling without having to bring along my entire collection in a larger case and I can't imagine what it would be like to have to carry around multiple individually packaged shadows in my purse or on vacation. My only complaint is that once your shadows are in the case it is difficult to remove them again. You really have to be careful to not damage the shadow or the case when removing refill palettes. The magnet is quite strong and the packaging does not include a lip on the palette insert space to remove or rearrange shadows with ease. A good bang on a towel covering something soft (like your hand or a pillow) usually does the trick, but once the refill palettes in there and you're a happly with the arrangement you're good to go. On an upside, I hate cluttered makeup storage and the x4 palettes stack nicely in my cabinet like little black discs with wonderful see-thru covers. The cases are sturdy and clean well. Overall very elegant and classy.
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
Leuqer
Location: Chicago
Review 2 for Pro Palette Eye Shadow x 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
iPhone-level beautiful, elegant design
Date:August 25, 2012
Beautiful, elegant design...how Apple would design an eyeshadow palette.
* style: Ultra-contemporary. Beautifully framed crystal-like transparent lid (at least when new--see below). No noticeable inelegant and debris-catching hinges, latches or tabs--lid closing is done via combination of magnets and a concealed, possibly spring-loaded hinge...similar to a MacBook Pro laptop. Nearly invisible nearly flush tab for opening lid
* high quality, jewel-like precision feel--positive lid closing action; glossy, tight fitting plastic
* eyeshadow pans stay in place even upside down, using magnets just strong enough, yet weak enough to make removal easy
* debris-catching concave indentations for pan removal replaced by indentation-free removable 4-hole tray
The magnets for the pans are in the 4-hole tray. You can verify this by holding the tray upside down and slowly raising an eyshadow pan up to the hole until the magnet ""catches"" it. The case bottom has no magnets. The case front edge and lid magnets smoothly and snugly hold the lid closed.
I have two older MAC case designs....they also used magnets to hold the eyeshadow pans, and a somewhat inelegant debris-catching concave indentation for removing the pans. But they used a conventional functional but clunky mechanical latch rather than magnetic, and a less sturdy hinge...the lid broke at the hinge within a few months. When I bought this new design, soon after it appeared in late 2011, I was happily surprised at the vast improvement.
Impressions after having the Pro Palette for about a year
* Beautiful crystal-like transparent lid got scratched in my makeup case full of other cosmetics, though no worse than any other clear plastic like blush, lipstick cases, eyeglasses etc. Consider storing it in a separate compartment or in a vinyl/cotton case. This can actually be worth the trouble, given the beautiful design. Avoid stacking other cosmetics on the lid
* Clean the clear cover and internal glossy black tray with a damp soft cloth and liquid cleaner, rather than dry cloth and/or paper towels...the clear and the glossy plastic is very scratch-prone
* Easier to keep clean than the previous MAC palette, due to the smooth indentation/protrusion free design
* Two 4x palettes may be better than one larger one, since you can keep dark and light shadows separate
Suggestion to MAC: Print instructions on the box. The following is not obvious:
To remove the 4-hole tray holding the four eyeshadow pans:
With the lid open, push down at either the back center or front center of the 4-hole tray. Tray will tilt up
To remove individual eyeshadow pans without removing the 4-hole tray:
Using a cotton swab, push down on outside of pan. Pan will tilt up. There is a "sweet spot" around the perimeter for easiest tilting; you can find it by trial and error, or memorizing where the "bites" under the holes are. However anywhere will work.
This really deserves some sort of industrial design award...like the many the iPhone has received.
+17points
19of 21found this review helpful.
antera77
Location: Hollywood CA
Review 3 for Pro Palette Eye Shadow x 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
The new Pro Palette is a MUST HAVE!
Date:December 22, 2011
Tags: Portable, Convenient, Durable
I had the old palette until recently and I much prefer the newer version. It is far sturdier and more durable. The old version was a thinner plastic and cracked within a few months of owning it. The newer version is thick and solid. It is an excellent way to keep your shadows consolidated. I highly recommend it!
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
MACEXCLUS
Location: South Carolina
Review 4 for Pro Palette Eye Shadow x 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Fantastic
Date:December 21, 2013
Tags: Portable, Convenient, Multiple combinations, really good quality!
Very sturdy, nice looking with a see thru cover. Its cheaper to purchase eyeshadows this way,(if you're buying 4). Definately a must for eyeshadow lovers.
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Devine
Location: California
Review 5 for Pro Palette Eye Shadow x 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
These are great!
Date:November 18, 2014
Tags: Portable, Convenient, Multiple combinations
Bought 2 and I can tell this is just the beginning. I arranged a look in each. So convenient and such a great space saver.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Jorjagal
Location: Atlanta
Review 6 for Pro Palette Eye Shadow x 4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Good
Date:October 16, 2012
Tags: Convenient, Multiple combinations, everything
I love that you can see the colours inside because the front is clear plastic so you can select the palette without having to open it and check. The refill pans stay inside it well and the case shuts securely so no worries about it opening and spilling the contents. However, I think they're a bit pricey for the material. It's just plastic, nothing special but I guess that's what you get with MAC. I hope it doesn't break when I travel with it!
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
DisappointedKelly
Location: Canada
Review 7 for Pro Palette Eye Shadow x 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Date:May 9, 2012
I don't know if I have the older or newer version of the palette, but I'm quite happy with it... it's been very convenient. It would be really nice if there was a 6 or 8 shadow palette, which would give more color selection without having to have a large 15 shadow palette... personally, I find that one too big.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
DJinBC
Location: Canada
Review 8 for Pro Palette Eye Shadow x 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great palette
Date:July 8, 2014
This palette is compact and has a magnetic closure. Your able take favorites from your larger Mac palette and fill this one to carry in your makeup bag. I have 2.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Flaka
Location: San Diego
Review 9 for Pro Palette Eye Shadow x 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
LOVE
Date:November 3, 2011
Tags: Convenient, Multiple combinations, Portable, travel
I love this a lot more than the 15x palette, its a lot more sturdier and easier to clean. Not to mention it's portable, and makes your collection look classy and clean.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Babylove
Location: florida
Review 10 for Pro Palette Eye Shadow x 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Eyeshadow Quad
Date:July 27, 2012
Tags: Portable, Convenient, Multiple combinations
I bought this as a palette that was portable and I could put my everyday colors in. I love it & I thought the magnets added a nice touch, now I don't have to worry about my eyeshadows falling out. I'm new to MAC so I didn't know that. But, I think I'm going to enjoy this small and portable palette a lot for traveling and everyday colors.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
New2makeup
Location: West Virginia
Review 11 for Pro Palette Eye Shadow x 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Great Design
Date:December 28, 2011
Tags: Portable, Convenient, Multiple combinations
The case is sleek, simple, and durable. I can tell that some thought was put into designing this because Mac incorporated magnets into it. The magnets will keep the shadow pans in place and keep the case closed from debris.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
ayala
Location: Atlanta
Review 12 for Pro Palette Eye Shadow x 4
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Just ok
Date:September 22, 2013
Even though metal discs must be attached to MAC eyeshadow pans, I still prefer a zpallet over this one.
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Christine62
Location: Norfolk, VA
Review 13 for Pro Palette Eye Shadow x 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love
Date:October 2, 2013
Tags: Portable, Convenient, Multiple combinations, eye shadows
Great for organizing you eye shadows. Travel friendly. Very nice. Lightweight.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
shantal1104
Location: Cali
Review 14 for Pro Palette Eye Shadow x 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
FANTASTIC
Date:June 9, 2013
Tags: Portable, Convenient
Love these I have already bought 2 more! Thanks Mac!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
beeyes
Location: NC
Review 15 for Pro Palette Eye Shadow x 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Love it
Date:June 8, 2013
Tags: Convenient, Portable
very sleek and compact, love this.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
TeTe
Review 16 for Pro Palette Eye Shadow x 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Must have!
Date:November 17, 2012
Tags: Convenient, Multiple combinations, Portable
For me, this is a must have to pair together my constantly used together shades. It quickens my time getting ready in the morning that I can grab one pack and I have all the colors to create a single look (highlighting, all-over, crease, etc) and it's great when I travel because I can grab on palette and have all the colors I need. The only downside is having to travel to the pro stores to get the palette refills, and I can't do anything about the colors I already have in single pots.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Megtc
Location: IL
Review 17 for Pro Palette Eye Shadow x 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
Great Quality
Date:October 15, 2012
Tags: Convenient, Multiple combinations, Portable
This palette is very sleek, well made, and travel friendly... It has a secure magnetic close, and it is very easy to change out the colors...
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
AlyssaM
Review 18 for Pro Palette Eye Shadow x 4
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Bring back old packaging......
Date:November 18, 2011
Tags: Portable, Convenient
So I recently got into MAC 2 years ago and began expanding my collection! I own the old 4 eyeshadow pallet and I have to say I like the old one better! After I baught this one I back to MAC'd it! I wish they would bring the old one back!
-8points
0of 8found this review helpful.
Jennaboomakeup
Ratings-Only Reviews for Pro Palette Eye Shadow x 4
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )