Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at MacCosmetics.

MAC Select Sheer/Loose

Average Customer Rating:
4.214 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews for Select Sheer/Loose
Review 1 for Select Sheer/Loose
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Sheer/Loose Powder NW20
Date:June 4, 2011
Tags: Natural looking, Shine control
I LOVE this product! I HATE that they got rid of the shade NW20!! I have no idea why they would get rid of this color?!!? It's one of the worst decisions they ever made! No other powder (even in the compact) compares to NW20 in the loose! I've been trying other powders etc to replace it, but nothing its doing the trick like NW20 does! PLEASE BRING THIS SHADE BACK!!! :(
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
MissDestiny
Location: AZ
Review 2 for Select Sheer/Loose
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
I CAN'T LIVE WITHOUT NW20!! PLEASE BRING IT BACK!!
Date:July 13, 2012
Tags: Natural looking, Shine control, Non-Drying, setting foundation before blush & eye shadow., mid-day touch ups so makeup doesn't start to run.
I have been using Mac for over fifteen years & have received so many compliments on how natural my makeup always looks. I have always set my foundation with the Select Sheer Loose NW20 and it leaves my makeup looking great all day! I've had to use other brands of loose powder before (when a Mac counter wasn't near) & ALL OF THEM MAKE ME LOOK ORANGE OR CAKED & FAKE! I can not use the "NC" shades as they are just the wrong color for my skin. I don't like pressed powders & I always end up breaking them into a million pieces. PLEASE, I AM BEGGING YOU, PLEASE BRING NW20 BACK!! I ran out, went to buy a new one & they said its discontinued!! OMG! Now I'm scrambling trying to find a replacement. There isn't a single other product out there that is the right color for my skin! PLEASE MAC, BRING NW20 BACK!! PLEASE!!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Melika
Location: Wheat Ridge, Co USA
Review 3 for Select Sheer/Loose
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Bring Back the NW color line
Date:August 17, 2011
Tags: Natural looking, flawless lightweight matte color
I too have been an NW20 user for years. Have tried the NC colors and they won't do for my skin tone - way too yellow. MAC did a huge diservice by discontinuing the NW line. Please bring it back so I don't have to change Make-up brands. I like all of my make-up to come from the same manufacturer so that they blend better than mixing brands.
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Disappointed
Location: Arizona, USA
Review 4 for Select Sheer/Loose
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
i hate face makeup!…
Date:August 29, 2010
Tags: Non-Drying, Natural looking, Shine control, darker skintones
…but this is nice and sheer. I only use it on my T-Zone to reduce shine because I don't need full coverage. I really like it because I don't feel like I have all this junk caked on my face. It holds up pretty good when I sweat, too.
I'm usually a NW50, but I buy this product in NW45 and it looks just fine because it's sheer.
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Krys88
Location: Orlando, FL
Review 5 for Select Sheer/Loose
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Bring back NW20!
Date:July 9, 2011
Tags: Natural looking, Shine control, Non-Drying, setting my concealer/foundation plus shine control
NW20 was the perfect shade and I can't believe you took it away. The type of powder and sheerness is wonderful.
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
macjunkie68
Location: Tampa, FL
Review 6 for Select Sheer/Loose
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
PLEASE DO NOT DISCONTINUE!! NW20
Date:May 29, 2012
I can't believe what I am reading! I absolutely love this powder. I have always had trouble finding the right shade and feel. The coverage is so natural looking. Please keep this product!!!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
KMC1950
Location: Buffalo, NY
Review 7 for Select Sheer/Loose
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
PLEASE DON'T DISCONTINUE!
Date:September 19, 2011
Tags: Natural looking, Shine control, Non-Drying, everyday and special occations
I've been using this powder foundation for over 10 years and LOVE IT. It make my face look flawless. Its the ONLY powder that don't get chunky or cakey, doesn't settle into the lines on my face. After application it leaves a matte but a natural finish that doesn't look like your wearing tons of make-up, even if you are.... I've been in multiple weddings (indoor and outdoor)... applying my makeup with this powder, creates beautiful pictures, my skin looks perfect!! It hides my horrible oily skin and makes my foundation last forever. During a long wedding day (7 am to 2 am) I only a have to touch-up once or twice throughout the day and I'm golden. I've tried MAC's other powders and I keep going back to this one because of it fine-milled quality and it s beautiful finish. There is NOTHING like this one...
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
biscuit090
Location: Dallas, TX
Review 8 for Select Sheer/Loose
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
NW20
Date:August 22, 2011
I am very disappointed at the decision to discontinue this color line as well. I have been a loyal MAC user for years and regularly order online. Would have been nice to have some sort of a heads up at the very least. I am completly out and at a loss for a substitite. Not happy.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Fajita238
Location: Bethesda, MD
Review 9 for Select Sheer/Loose
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
another plea to bring back the NW line
Date:June 25, 2013
Tags: Natural looking, Shine control, Non-Drying, combination
This is the best powder I have ever used in 40 years of make up wearing (I am 54). Unfortunately, I used NW15. I am down to my last 2 boxes, I stocked up went NW15 went out of stock. The NC15 or NC20 are too yellow for my pinky toned skin, so I cannot use those. Combined with Studio Fix Fluid NW15, this powder in NW15 is a perfect skin like combo. NOTHING comes close. I assure you that us NW users would even pay more to get the NW colours back. Please bring them back. I have tried all your loose powders, I have tried the pressed version (not even close to how great the loose is). I have tried numerous other brands and none are as good. I am giveing this powder a the lowest rating because of the lack of the NW shades. It would get a FIVE if they were still available.
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
SueM
Location: Vancouver
Review 10 for Select Sheer/Loose
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Amazing and Light~
Date:October 15, 2010
Tags: Natural looking, Shine control, light smooth natural look
I love loose powders because they go on sooooooo light and feels so silky smooth. It doesn't look cakey or too much. With the right application technique, anyone can achieve a stunning beautiful natural look. I highly recommend this product to EVERYONE!!!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
QtxMsRed
Location: Oakland Gardens, NY
Review 11 for Select Sheer/Loose
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Perfect matte finishing powder
Date:April 24, 2013
Tags: Natural looking, Shine control, everyday use, finishing powder, combination skin
I switch back and forth between this and my Studio Fix pressed powder to set my liquid foundation. I honestly prefer this over the pressed in terms of the finished look, but I hate carrying the powder and brush with me. Other than that, this product is amazing.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
ArtDoll1986
Location: Chino, CA
Review 12 for Select Sheer/Loose
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great for setting.
Date:March 27, 2012
Tags: Natural looking, Shine control
I use this product in NC15 to set my Pro Longwear liquid foundation (also shade NC15) with a large face brush (i.e. brush # 134). A little goes a long way and I rarely need to powder again through out the day and I have very oily skin (I also use primers under my foundation). I love that it just sets my liquid foundation without making my face look too matte or cakey but controls the shine for hours!
I will continue to buy and use this product as long as MAC still makes it :)
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Missi
Location: Halifax, N.S.
Review 13 for Select Sheer/Loose
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
NC40 Select powder
Date:October 6, 2011
Tags: Natural looking, Shine control, no shine on face, light
I too love this powder. It goes on well and lasts all day once applied. I had to search to get colors right and for 5 years I have been great with my MAC. I have to search Dept stores for this powder now and have been told it may be discontinued. I truly hope not, its great.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
wyse1
Location: California
Review 14 for Select Sheer/Loose
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Translucent sheer loose NW45
Date:April 20, 2011
Tags: Natural looking, Shine control, Non-Drying, everything face
The worse thing mac ever did was get ride of the Translucent sheer loose NW45 powder. This powder was excellent for winter, springs summer and fall weather. It was perfect. terrible move MAC.
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Denise
Location: Arkansas
Review 15 for Select Sheer/Loose
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Another request to bring back NW20
Date:August 6, 2011
Tags: Natural looking
This product is a '5', but if I can't get my shade, then it can't get a '5' rating.
I completely agree with the previous reviewer. NW20 is the perfect shade for me and it was a perfect complement for the NW20 Studio Fix foundation. I also loved how I could wear it without foundation if I just wanted a little skin tone evening and I didn't have much time to do my make-up.
Please reconsider and bring back this shade! I love MAC products and really don't want to have to turn to another line of cosmetics to find a loose powder that I like.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
MACadamiaNut
Location: Athabasca, Alberta, CANADA
Review 16 for Select Sheer/Loose
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
most amazing loose powder
Date:May 12, 2012
Tags: Natural looking, Shine control, matte finish, medium coverage
If MAC is discontinuing this they're doing a disservice to all of us ladies who love a sheer matte finish with a decent amount of coverage. This powder is lightweight and magical. The price is great as well. Please don't let this product RIP MAC!!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Carousels
Location: Philly
Review 17 for Select Sheer/Loose
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Don't discontinue!
Date:October 9, 2011
Tags: Natural looking, Shine control, Non-Drying, everyone
I love this stuff! I will continue to buy more every time I run out. Please don't discontinue it! i don't like pressed powders at all. This keeps my skin matte throughout the entire day. In the afternoon it's a little bit dewy but that's fine. I love this stuff.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Serena
Location: California
Review 18 for Select Sheer/Loose
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
NC
Date:September 2, 2011
Tags: Natural looking
Please bring back the NC colors! Also, I had heard that MAC may be discontinuing the sheer/loose face powder in favor of a packed powder. Please keep the sheer/loose product.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
kageneko
Location: San Diego
Review 19 for Select Sheer/Loose
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Great Buy
Date:February 2, 2014
Tags: Natural looking, Shine control, Non-Drying, everyday
This is the first powder i bought from mac and immediately fell in love with this product. I have also tired the pressed powder and I would choose this product over pressed powder. I would not buy make up online unless you know the exact product you want and your mac numbers to match your skin tone!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Sadiefshr
Location: Seattle
Review 20 for Select Sheer/Loose
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
LOVE MY MAKE-UP
Date:December 15, 2013
Tags: Natural looking
THIS LOOSE POWER IS WONDERFUL I LOVE IT
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
SWEETNESS76
Location: ELK GROVE
1-20 of 28 reviews