Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Prep + Prime Skin Refined Zone

Average Customer Rating:
4.356 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews for Prep + Prime Skin Refined Zone
Review 1 for Prep + Prime Skin Refined Zone
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
LOVE LOVE LOVE!
Date:March 25, 2014
Tags: Extends foundation wear, oily skin
My holy grail primer that keeps me nice and matte longer than any other product I've tried. I have oily skin and I struggled to find something that would keep my makeup on my face without melting off in this Texas heat. This is perfect.
+63points
67of 71found this review helpful.
AnaJGallegos
Location: Texas
Review 2 for Prep + Prime Skin Refined Zone
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Immediate FIX
Date:October 3, 2013
Tags: oily skin, shine breakthrough
I live in a very hot and humid climate and have oily skin on top of that. This is a wonderful product. It was recommended to me in the store and the makeup artist applied with a stippling brush to half my T-zone (over my makeup even) to test it out. 6 hours later there wasn't a hit of shine on half my face. I went back and purchased the product the same day. Now I use it under my makeup and I can go all day without worrying about my ridiculously shiny face or having to constantly blot the oil slick off my skin. I highly recommend this product for anyone with an oil problem.
+36points
36of 36found this review helpful.
Mistified5
Location: South Texas
Review 3 for Prep + Prime Skin Refined Zone
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
THIS STUFF IS AMAZING!!!
Date:February 4, 2013
Tags: Extends foundation wear, Smooths, controlling oily skin
I am so happy that I FINALLY found the combination that is going to work for my oily skin. If you have oily skin you MUST try this because it is going to change your life and how you do your make-up! I promise! I currently use the OIL CONTROL LOTION FIRST, THEN I FOLLOW IT WITH THIS. I also use MAC Matte, but it is not totally necessary to use it as well. It is another GREAT MAC product. Now, I will say that once you apply this, you have to be quick because it may give you a "dry" effect/affect because there is no oil on your skin. However, It is worth the end result. If it is too dry for you, I recommend using the Studio Fix Moisturizer, then the Oil Control Lotion, and THEN this. The SFM will give you a little moisture and make your foundation application easier. I am now VERY satisfied with my make-up routine. I finally found something that works.It will leave you kinda Matte too, but you don't want to look ashy. If this is a problem, follow with the Sudio Fix + spray to finalize your application and that should do the trick! HIGHLY recommended!!
+57points
64of 71found this review helpful.
SexyLexie
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Review 4 for Prep + Prime Skin Refined Zone
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
O-M-G!
Date:September 8, 2011
Tags: Evens out skintone, Minimizes look of pores, Smooths, Extends foundation wear, oily skin!
I have extremely oily skin with large pores and I went to my MAC store to purchase a different primer. I used to use the PREP+PRIME SKIN from MAC and I loved it for awhile but then I noticed it really didn't help with my oily skin or helping my makeup stay on longer. The lady recommended this, and I am EXTREMELY happy she did! My pores are much, much, much smaller and my oil throughout the day is definitely diminished! I will NEVER go back to another primer...This stuff is worth every penny. My skin is thanking me for it too! My acne is gone because the oil has left! Definitely try it!
+57points
57of 57found this review helpful.
Charlee
Location: Georgia
Review 5 for Prep + Prime Skin Refined Zone
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Great for large pores or acne scars
Date:February 3, 2014
Tags: Minimizes look of pores, Smooths, acne scaring and large pores
I bought this and was told to put it on over my foundation. I did not like it that way. So i started putting it on over my problem area prior to my face primer and foundation. Really just some acne scarring on one cheek and a large pore on my nose. After a few weeks I really started to notice a difference. I put it on after washing my face in the morning. Even on days I do not wear make up I apply this. I'm maybe halfway through my tube, but have noticed a huge difference and so have my friends and family. I would highly recommend this. Please note it does not fill it all the way and it takes a few weeks to really notice a difference so do not think that one application is going to solve it all. I still have the scarring, but it has diminished greatly and my large pore on my nose is not even noticable at all anymore. So stick to it to see results, but this is the only product I have found that has actually helped.
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Jennferno
Location: Iowa
Review 6 for Prep + Prime Skin Refined Zone
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Better than I expected; very pleased
Date:May 20, 2011
Tags: Minimizes look of pores, Smooths, Extends foundation wear, oily skin!!!!!
When I bought this product I was skeptical because my skin is super oily. I've tried other products in the past that were ok but this one takes the cake :-) I use it on my clients and recently started using it on myself. My skin was matte, smooth, and velvety instantly with no visible pores. I applied 8 hours ago and still matte and shine free! Also the studio fix goes on flawlessly ontop of this. I'd just like to see the container come in a bigger size, at least 3 oz. Packaging is way too small for the price . For those who are unfamiliar with the size I would say its about the size of a thumb unfoutunately. But I pretty much get away with a dime size amount....This could also be worn alone just to give skin a nice matte look.
+19points
19of 19found this review helpful.
Topstyl1st
Location: Oakland CA
Review 7 for Prep + Prime Skin Refined Zone
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Instant Gratification
Date:February 1, 2013
Tags: Evens out skintone, Extends foundation wear, Minimizes look of pores, Shine control, Oil control, pore minimization
This is an awesome product. An hour after applying my Studio Fix face and body foundation or any foundation my nose becomes very oily (looks like a disco ball) and just appears unfinished. I visited the MAC counter to purchase primer and the MAC artist suggested that I try this product. Even though I already had foundation on she advised that I could put it on top of it. I only needed a very small amount because a lot goes a very long way. My foundation didn't rub off and before I could rub all of the product in, the shine was gone and stayed away for the rest of the night. Totally sold on this product. Definitely a must have for any makeup bag.
Shoutout to MAC Artist Sabrina at Haywood Mall in Greenville, SC. Thanks!!!
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
JAIsoPRETTY
Location: South Carolina, Upstate
Review 8 for Prep + Prime Skin Refined Zone
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Where has this been all my life?!
Date:May 19, 2011
Tags: Evens out skintone, Minimizes look of pores, Smooths, matte finish
I'm a 30-something Mexican female with the oiliest skin ever. This is the answer to my oily skin problem! Just a little dot on the T-zone and I was shine-free ALL DAY!! Before, even with powder I looked like someone smacked me with a pork chop but this leaves my face perfectly matte. No need for anything else to take away the shine. This is a keeper!!
+17points
17of 17found this review helpful.
Anonymous
Location: California
Review 9 for Prep + Prime Skin Refined Zone
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Amazing
Date:September 25, 2013
Tags: Minimizes look of pores, oily skin
This product is amazing. My original intent was to try & buy the P&P Radiance since it was recommended for skin of color. But when I told the counter artist that I had very oily skin she gave me a sample of both. I was extremely skeptical. I have tried every primer or moisturizer touted for giving a matte, oil free finish that last for hours. They either have too much silicone and burn my skin or last until 9am. But this was an unexpected surprise. As another reviewer mentioned, it dries very matte and very quickly and you only need a little. I would do serum, primer/moisture, then this, and then your foundation and finish with Fix+ to give you a more dewy look. Its a great product. Can't wait to try it in the summer for the real test!
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
LookingGoodFor50
Location: North Carolina
Review 10 for Prep + Prime Skin Refined Zone
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Awesome!
Date:January 24, 2012
Tags: Evens out skintone, Minimizes look of pores, Smooths, oily skin
I love this stuff, gets rid of shine completely. the downside though is the packaging, MAC needs to make a bigger size this is way too small for that price and I buy at least 3 a month. PLEASE MAKE A BIGGER SIZE.
+13points
14of 15found this review helpful.
Jayrrr
Location: Maui Hawaii
Review 11 for Prep + Prime Skin Refined Zone
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Holy grail for porous, oily skin
Date:September 11, 2014
Tags: Minimizes look of pores, Smooths, Extends foundation wear
I am IN LOVE with this primer. I have very oily & porous skin... & I mean VERY porous skin. The pores on my nose & forehead are extremely noticeable. This primer is seriously my holy grail. It creates a perfect platform/base for foundation & greatly minimizes the look of pores. It's ideal for people who have oily & porous skin. I used to blot my face 3 hours into foundation wear; now, I can go about 8-9 hours without having to worry about a greasy mess on my face. It sits nicely on the skin & leaves a smooth finish, allowing foundation application easily & flawlessly done. I used to have to worry about my foundation sinking into my pores, making them even more noticeable... But, not anymore, now that I use this product! I have a long 16 hour makeup wear day. & in this humid Hawaii weather, it can be a chore to wear foundation. It's all about the correct primer for your face. This product definitely fits well into my lifestyle & skin concern. I highly recommend this product to people with similar skin conditions as I do.
User tip: A little goes a long way.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
stephmikako
Location: Hawaii
Review 12 for Prep + Prime Skin Refined Zone
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
DOES WHAT IT SAYS
Date:September 6, 2010
Tags: Minimizes look of pores, creating a nice matte layer between moist & found
I have been using this product for a week. Love it. I have always had a very oily t-zone and could never find anything to last all day. I just added this product to my everyday lineup and no more oily nose and big pore cheeks....awesome. This will be a regular on my makeup table. Thanks MAC.
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
DECOART
Location: BROOKLYN, MD
Review 13 for Prep + Prime Skin Refined Zone
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
love it!
Date:February 23, 2014
Tags: Evens out skintone, Extends foundation wear, Minimizes look of pores, Smooths
It minimized my pores immediately, made my skin tone look even & smooth. It controlled my oily t-zone and also helped keep my foundation on longer. it lasted the whole day. It dries quickly so you don't need to worry about waiting to apply your foundation. I am definitely going to keep purchasing this item!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
jayramirez06
Location: California
Review 14 for Prep + Prime Skin Refined Zone
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Date:September 26, 2010
Tags: Extends foundation wear
I've tried other products to control oil for the T-Zone. This product is the best. This product is long lasting and I do not have to touch up my make up. I love it
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
TEE36
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Review 15 for Prep + Prime Skin Refined Zone
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
the best primer ever
Date:August 18, 2014
Tags: Evens out skintone, Extends foundation wear, Minimizes look of pores, Smooths, priming and oily skin
I love this product it really made my face smooth and i look very flawless with this product
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
deedee4
Location: queens
Review 16 for Prep + Prime Skin Refined Zone
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Good oil reducing adjunt.
Date:August 30, 2010
Tags: Evens out skintone, Minimizes look of pores
I have used this product sparingly on T-zone with the Prep+Prime Face Protect and found that I was not as oily throughout the day. In combination it give a nice base matte prior to using concealer or any foundation coverage (light to heavy). The products have Zinc which is an excellent drying agent for those who suffer with oily skin. I would recommend this product for any one with oily skin. Also, diet plays a role. Eating healthy and hydrating with water helps keep the skin tone even and beautiful.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
New2Beauty
Location: Upper Marlboro, MD
Review 17 for Prep + Prime Skin Refined Zone
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Disappointed
Date:October 19, 2012
I thought this product was going to be my solution to most of my problems: oily t-zone, big pores on my nose, dry patchy parts on my face, and the need for longwear in my foundation. I did none of these. My pores are actually more defined than ever, the dry patchy parts are more visible, and as far as I can tell it's made little to no difference in how long my foundation has remained intact. I talked to an online consultant and she said that this product is drier than some of the other primers. She suggested the Prep + Prime Skin. The consultant said that I may be able to return this product in exchange for the P+P Skin, fingers crossed!
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
shopsinthecity
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Review 18 for Prep + Prime Skin Refined Zone
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love!!! Love!!!
Date:July 16, 2014
Tags: Minimizes look of pores, Oil control
This product really works. I had been using the oil control lotion for a while and it just wasn't enough, but this does the trick. It keeps my skin matte from morning until I wash it off at night.My skin gets oilier in the summer, like most people, but this keeps me looking good all day long. I will be using this for a long time.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Velle
Location: Memphis
Review 19 for Prep + Prime Skin Refined Zone
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Amazing!
Date:July 18, 2014
This product is great. I don't like to use setting powder cause I don't like the dusted look. This is perfect because it goes on wet so it makes your skin feel refreshed as well. I apply with the 109
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
JellyR
Review 20 for Prep + Prime Skin Refined Zone
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
AMAZING for OILY skin!
Date:November 11, 2012
Tags: Smooths, Extends foundation wear
I love this primer in combination with oil control lotion from MAC and studio fix fluid!!! Really helped combat my oil skin... I use this all over because I have insanely oily skin.... usually makeup cakes up and gets oily after 2 hours this helps me for at least 4 hours if not longer and i just touch up a little with the blot powder.
I am buying a second tube of this hands down! :)
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
JPOWWW
Location: Vancouver, BC
1-20 of 45 reviews