Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder

Average Customer Rating:
4.229 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Reviews for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder
Review 1 for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
GOOD FOR WOMEN OF COLOR ALSO!
Date:January 10, 2013
Tags: setting foundation, eliminating shine, make pores appear smaller
I read the reveiws on this powder before I purchased it. Needless to say the reviews were good, so I thought I would try it. I AM SOOOOO HAPPY I DID!! This stuff is like magic! You think because it is white that it would show up white on your skin, but it doesn't. You have to use the right brush to apply it, and when you do, all the shiny areas become matte and smooth! I use the #188 brush and it works wonders for this powder! I would recommend using the 188 after I purchased it as a suggestion from a MAC representative on a live chat. This powder is great, but be careful because it is messy. It is expensive so you defiinitely would not want to waste it, but it is a very good setting powder. I actually prefer to use this over my foundation rather than my mineralize. And if you are a women of color (I am brown skinned not really dark), it looks great and gives my skin an air brushed look. I wish that the packaging was a little different, but hey....then it would not be a "loose" powder maybe?? Its worth every penny!! ;-)
+34points
34of 34found this review helpful.
SexyLexie
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Review 2 for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Makeup SuperHold!
Date:November 18, 2010
Tags: Extends foundation wear, Minimizes look of pores, Smooths
I love this product and use it everyday. I spend two hours almost everyday on the water rowing. Needless to say, we're pretty sweaty and gross when we're done. But, every time we go in the locker room and I check in the mirror... my makeup is flawless! Also, Mac's PlushLash and Opulash stay put, no black streaks down my face.
I know some don't agree on wearing makeup while working out, but I have two reasons for it:
1. I perform best when I look my best.
2. My makeup has better protection from the sun than traditional sunscreen.
+25points
25of 25found this review helpful.
JessLovesMac
Location: Texas
Review 3 for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Finishing powder indeed
Date:August 21, 2010
Tags: Extends foundation wear, Minimizes look of pores, Smooths, setting makeup; evening out skin texture
I use this powder to set my foundation too, makes the application of blush and bronzer way easier. Applying this after my whole makeup is done indeed provides a soft feeling and makes my skin looks so smooth (I have what I consider "rough" skin, thanks to acne and big pores).
Not too much product is needed for the desire results. It does need to be blended or you may see a white cast on your face in pictures. I apply with a puff and then blend with the 182. The soft effect last for at least 3-4 hrs (on my combination skin) and if I need to re-apply, I just blot and put this on again: my makeup looks refreshed and my skin so refined.
This product does have corn starch, so if you have issues with that ingredient, maybe this is not for you.
The Transparent Finishing Powder does a great job controlling oilies, though I also use the Prep+Prime SPF 50 primer. I recommend it.
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
Beda
Location: PR
Review 4 for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Will Not let you down
Date:July 19, 2011
Tags: any time needed
I have dry/combonation skin and upon trying this product a few years ago I wanted something that was great for women of color. That offer a beautiful finish to my look's and not give you a white cast or a powdery look. I love using this product with a powder brush Mac 150 Lighty dusting this product over my T-zone and something cheek's I am set for the whole day with little to no tocuh up's. In the summer I will dust it all over but remember this product works better less is more it does not need to be Pilled on, That is what cause some women of color to get a chalky film or dry spots
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
mikab
Location: somewhere,ms
Review 5 for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Simply Perfect
Date:January 30, 2011
Tags: longwear setting foundation all day
I have tried a million and one different powders, and this one is by far the best! The finish is gorgeous and lasts all day long. It looks like a powder from another makeup line, but this one is so much smoother and gives you an airbrushed look that I felt other powders cannot achieve. Works great over the Pro Longwear foundation (which is also an amazing product). The best part is that it is sheer so one color fits all!
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
helloooo
Location: Salt Lake City
Review 6 for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Best for setting under-eye concealer, for me
Date:September 22, 2011
Tags: setting concealer in under-eye area, setting eye shadow, those who are not prone to blemishes
The Good: Works great to set under-eye concealer and to brighten the under-eye area. Does this without caking. I have also dusted this over eyeshadow.
The Bad: Can't say it stops the rest of my face from getting shiny.
The Ugly: Using this powder anywhere other than in the under-eye area causes me to break out in painful blemishes. (I have the very same problems with the MAC Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation.)
The Bottom Line: If you have blemish-prone skin as I do, I would recommend you use this ONLY in the under-eye area or to set eye shadow. I gave it three stars because it does work well for those uses. Granted, I likely have enough to last me for several years, if not a lifetime.
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
stacy
Location: Chicago
Review 7 for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great Setting Powder
Date:April 7, 2014
Tags: setting
I use this powder to set my under eye concealer & it works great for that. Its light, super soft & not too drying.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Jayjaybooboo
Location: Idaho
Review 8 for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
A-M-A-Z-I-N-G
Date:September 22, 2011
Tags: oily skin, professional finish
This product works great on my skin since I have super oily skin. Before my foundation wouldn't even last me till lunch now it lasts me till the end of the day and I do a little touch ups here and then but overall major plus for this product.!!!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Egs93
Location: California
Review 9 for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Wonderful for Oily skin!
Date:October 18, 2010
Tags: Evens out skintone, Extends foundation wear, Minimizes look of pores, Smooths, oily skin
I have extremely oily skin! This product really helps my foundation keep a matte finish. I highly recommend!!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
ssloan
Location: Mississippi
Review 10 for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Flawless Skin
Date:March 20, 2014
Tags: oily skin, setting powder, wanting flawless skin, all skintones
This is so nice. Because the powder is so fine it makes the skin flawless!
Its great for all skintones (i am nc44) and it sets my makeup well (before i apply fix+)
I would recommend anyone who has oily skin mostly because this will mattify and also keep your makeup from running
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
DeeLishisFaces
Location: Amherst MA
Review 11 for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Love It!
Date:August 23, 2012
This powder is really great. People tell me my skin looks like porcelean when I use it over foundation. Today I tried it alone with just primer. Does smooth nicely.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
KWhiting
Review 12 for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
A must in all make-up kits!
Date:March 7, 2011
Tags: set make-up and controlling shine
This is a staple in my everyday to evening and special occasion looks. I really love the way this product gives an airbrush-like finish to every look. When I'm in a hurry and have no time for the whole eyeshadow, liner, ect. ect... I cleanse my face, apply MAC's Strobe Cream, top it off with Prep+Prime Transparent Finishing Powder and finish the look with mascara and lip gloss. My skin looks fresh and glowing all day long. No joke, I ALWAYS get complimented on my skin when I combing those two products. You might want to play with this first, get a feel on how much product you should use on your own skin. I've used this product on my clients and most of them do end up purchasing this product.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Soleil
Location: California
Review 13 for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Great product. 5 stars
Date:September 14, 2011
This product is awesome, it sets the make up and covers up the imperfections such as fine lines and large pores. It gives the skin a smooth matte finish look. People who complain about this product need to understand that it takes a little time for the product to set in. I personally think it looks very natural. And I have very sensitive skin, and this powder doesn't clog nor irritate my skin.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Calen
Location: Los Angeles
Review 14 for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
look like a pro artist
Date:January 18, 2011
Tags: Evens out skintone, Extends foundation wear, Minimizes look of pores, Smooths
I can get really oily in my Tzone, and this product completely resolved that. But regardless of your skin type, this works wonders and it only takes a tiny bit. Once I'm done with all my makeup, I just apply a small amount with a big brush, and it really it that little extra that completes, sets, and smooths out for a flawless airbursh-looked finish. It also does an amazing job of fixing out uneven foundations, blushes, and bronzers. A must have!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
pandita
Location: chicago
Review 15 for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
a MUST for anyone who uses makeup
Date:October 18, 2010
Tags: Smooths, Extends foundation wear, makeup setting
This product is a MUST HAVE whether you're a makeup artist or just a typical makeup-user. It sets under eye concealer PERFECTLY and sets the entire face makeup perfectly. It feels very smooth on the face and when applying. A little of this product goes a LONG way...so you definitely get your money's worth. Since this product doesn't have any coloring, it doesn't even out the skin tone but it really helps blend face makeup and smooth out any imperfections.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
DeLindaArtistry
Review 16 for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Beautiful!
Date:June 11, 2011
I absolutely LOVE LOVE LOVE this powder. It is great for under the eyes after applying concealer as it brightens up the whole area and it fills in the lines and gives a beautiful smooth look; feels like silk. I absolutely recommend it to anyone. LOVE! LOVE! LOVE!!!!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Volatti
Location: NYC, NY
Review 17 for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Phenomenal
Date:October 22, 2010
Tags: Minimizes look of pores, Smooths, Extends foundation wear, glow
This product is absolutely the best. I have very oily skin especially T-zone. I do have to re-apply my Studio Fix a time or two, but beats applying every hour. I wish they'd make this in a LONG wear formula, nonetheless, I love this product, gives the skin a fresh look and minimizes pores while deflecting light. Also, it look amazing in photography. GLOW.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
mlm801
Location: AL
Review 18 for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Sets Perfectly
Date:November 12, 2012
Tags: setting
This powder sets makeup perfectly without adding too much color. Creates a great effect paired with setting spray.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Anonymous
Location: Vienna, VA
Review 19 for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great for oily skin!
Date:April 18, 2012
I have pretty oily skin, and have tried A LOT of products, from setting spray to matteifiers, but nothing really seemed to have a long term affect, they'd make my skin matte but a couple hours later my skin would be just as oily. So I bought this out of curiosity, and it worked better than I thought it would! I work all day so I need my makeup to stay on and my skin to be comfortable, this stuff keeps everything in place, makes my skin baby soft, and my shininess is only noticeable about 7 hours after application. The only problem with it is the packaging, if you don't keep the container flat all of the powder will sift up and could spill. I love this product though, and I'll continue to buy it!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
meghanw
Location: California
Review 20 for Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Finishing Powder
Date:March 21, 2013
Tags: setting makeup; controls oil;, lasting makeup
I bought this about a year ago and have been using almost everyday after my makeup application. I like that it sets your makeup and it helps with touch up as well.
This powder soaks up oil and helps your makeup last.
The down side is, if you dust a little too much, your face will be white. Even though it says transparent.
I would like this container to have an option to close the shifter, as I can't travel with it.
I had a few incidient where I knocked it out and try to pat the powder back in the holes. :(
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Lils
Location: Los Angeles, CA.
1-20 of 48 reviews