Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation

Average Customer Rating:
4.181 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (138 reviews)
5 stars
80
4 stars
30
3 stars
11
2 stars
7
1 star
10
Customer Reviews for Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation
Review 1 for Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Perfect for Thirsty Skin
Date:March 26, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Moisturizing, Buildable, dry skin, normal skin
I honestly have nothing majorly bad to say about this product. I find that using this is NOT for oily skin, my skin gets dry in the winter and I needed something hydrating and a more dewy look. This stuff is totally buildable and using a little the first time then going from there, "they say you can always add but never take away" The finish on it is not oily as most people say. If you are naturally oily then yes it will be!
Using the right techniques you can achieve a dewy look. I use philosophy Hope in a Jar for Dry Skin, wait until it dries then use the Prep and Prime Natural Radiance in pink since Im an NC20, then I have found the best way to apply this is to take some squeeze it out on your finger then dab dots around your face then take a beauty blender and use the dabbing technique to cover your skin and then work the beauty blender around your face smoothing it out to make a flawless finish. Then I finish it off with the FIX +.
I have tried my fingers and many brushes to apply this product and Im telling you the beauty blender is the best way! Remember for this to be long wearing set it with a finishing spray and key for flawless look is proper prepping! I have then achieved my dewy complexion bringing me back to being in Florida on a hot summer day..LOVE IT!! now onto to purchasing/trying the mineralized moisture foundation this weekend for an even more dewy look!! Keep an eye out for a review on that!
+27points
32of 37found this review helpful.
FloridaGirl
Location: Mighigan
Review 2 for Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great!! Miracle
Date:January 13, 2013
Tags: Long wearing, Moisturizing, Buildable
Let me say this is not the foundation i normally use i have been using nc50 studio fix fluid for the past 5 years and i never thought i would use anything else. i decided to get my makeup done for my befriends wedding i told the makeup artist "Stephanie she is amazing" what my skin type was what my color was and what i normally use she said ok i then saw her pick this up. Needless to say i was bit weary but what the heck shes the professional so i let her do her thing and let me tell you this foundation is AMAZING!!!!
Now i have really bad acne scares from when i was in high school and its been a struggle for me to hide/get rid of them which is why i love mac products because they make you look flawless. She put this on my face and the only concealer she used was under my eye..... Are your hearing me????? THE ONLY CONCEALER SHE USED WAS UNDER MY EYES!!! this makeup covered EVERYTHING, EVERY SINGLE SCARE i was shocked i couldn't believe that this worked better than the studio fix.
Now they say this for dry skin tones well i have combination skin my outer cheeks forehead and underneath my chin are dry my nose around my eyes and chin are oily and it works fine for me put some skin finish over it and im good you might have to use the blot powder eventually but not for maybe 5/6hrs after you've put it on at least that's how long until i needed a touch up.
Bottom line this is great ill continue until i find something better within mac to use until then this is now my foundation.
+107points
112of 117found this review helpful.
kimmy23
Location: ny
Review 3 for Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Best foundation MAC offers! Hands down!
Date:April 7, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Moisturizing, Buildable, dry skin
I've tried most MAC foundations & I've never had any luck whatsoever. Either they made my face look worse than before or they broke me out. This foundation is the only one that doesn't settle into pores or fine lines. Its awesome. It also does not accentuate any dry patches which has always been a problem of mine.
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
Jayjaybooboo
Location: Idaho
Review 4 for Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Absolute fave!!
Date:January 25, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Moisturizing, Oil control, Buildable, normal to dry skin
I am completely obsessed. I used the studio fix for a while and really liked it, but I heard this one had more coverage so I decided to try something new and I'll never go back it covers all my acne scars from high school, and my freckles with only one layer! Would definitely recommend for anyone looking for full coverage and a flawless face!
+46points
53of 60found this review helpful.
Makayla
Location: Los Angeles
Review 5 for Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Perfect
Date:March 1, 2012
Tags: Long wearing, Moisturizing, Buildable
This foundation was recommended to me through live chat, I was somewhat reluctant to buy it because I've never used this foundation before. With that being said, this foundation is fantastic ( if applied right ) I will never be without it. First off this foundation is thicker than I'm used to. It took me a few different ways of applying this to get the best application technique. I tried sponges, a foundation brush, my fingers, a stippling brush and a larger dense brush. The best application came from the larger dense brush. This foundation is thicker and really needs to be buffed into the skin. So fingers and other brushes aren't able to do that like a dense brush. Because this foundation needs to be buffed into the skin it does take a bit longer to apply than other foundations but if it's applied right the extra few minutes is more than worth it. In my opinion this foundation covers extremely well, and my skin is far from perfect. I currently have some mild acne and some scars from acne. When this is applied with a dense brush it doesn't even look like you're wearing makeup ( on me anyway ) Love, love, love this foundation!
+18points
18of 18found this review helpful.
september
Location: NY
Review 6 for Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
beautiful for everyday.. quick and beautiful
Date:April 14, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Moisturizing, Buildable, fast and easy!
This is a great foundation for a pretty finish and a quick application. The formula is beautiful!! Just wisk it on and out the door. Leaves a dewy healthy glow.
I love it.. great for mature skin...
+17points
21of 25found this review helpful.
ninababy
Location: Pittsburgh
Review 7 for Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great foundation!
Date:November 30, 2012
Tags: Long wearing, Moisturizing, Buildable, all skin types
After trying almost all MAC foundations, I found this to work the best! Its great for all skin types, especially for dry skin like myself. Hydrates, conceals and perfects all in one. Goes on very light with its mouse-like effect, covers any imperfections and is easily build-able. Perfect foundation!
+26points
27of 28found this review helpful.
PrincessSam
Location: San Pedro, CA
Review 8 for Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Best By Far!
Date:February 7, 2012
Tags: Buildable, Long wearing, Moisturizing, dry sensitive skin
I can't tell you how many foundations I have tried, but I thank my lucky stars that I finally came across Mac's Studio Sculpt! I have somewhat dry, sensitive skin, which needs exfoliating from time to time. Most foundations made my skin feel and appear dry and 'peely' looking, even when it was applied on top of a moisturizer or primer, or both, and other foundations were too 'wet' looking/feeling and made me break out! But I tell ya, I can't get over how my skin looks with this particular foundation. Hallelujah!! I was just about to give up my search when I came across this at the Mac Counter at Macy's. My skin feels smooth and fabulous...no tightness, no sensitivity, no breakouts, and most of all, no "I'm melting!" kind of feel!! Thank you Mac!!
+13points
13of 13found this review helpful.
Leila
Location: Boston
Review 9 for Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Delivers
Date:May 3, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Moisturizing, Buildable
My problem areas are dry skin and ocassional redness in my cheeks. This foundation manages both beautifully. The coverage is fantasick and long wearing. It delivers the right amount of hydration. It's buildable without looking heavy. It looks flawless and natural. Inconjuction I use Prep and Prime Skin Smoother, Select Cover Concealer, and Fix X.
My only recommendation is go to the MAC Counter for colour matching. I found the shades to differ slightly with this foundation.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
JerseyTess
Location: New Jersey
Review 10 for Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Amazing Product! Flawless Coverage!
Date:February 7, 2012
Tags: Long wearing, Buildable, Full Coverage
I am in love with this product. I had been looking for a new foundation for quite some time, and I decided to go with the Studio Sculpt after reading many reviews. I wanted a product that provided full coverage. When using this foundation, my skin is smooth, hydrated, and is absolutely flawless! You only need to use a small amount because of the consistancy of the cream foundation - which is why this foundation lasts longer than many other liquid foundations I have tried. I would recommend this product to anyone looking for full coverage and a beautiful flawless complexion!
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Anonymous
Location: Scottsdale, Arizona
Review 11 for Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Love love love!
Date:September 1, 2014
Tags: dry skin uneven tone anyone wanting a natural look
I love going out but hate when my face looks a mess after a couple hrs. This is my first time using foundation & THIS BLENDS SO FREAKIN BEAUTIFULLY! It looks sooo natural & lasts all night. Perfect!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Simone22
Location: MI
Review 12 for Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
THANK YOU!
Date:August 18, 2014
Tags: Moisturizing, Long wearing, Buildable
I ABSOLUTELY love this foundation. I works so well for my dry skin. I use to use SatinFinish but that was discontinued. I hadnt found another MAC foundation that I loved as much as that until this. It gives flawless coverage and last all day. It also looks very natural.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
BrittBrad
Location: Michigan
Review 13 for Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
High Coverage/ Buildable
Date:August 7, 2012
Tags: Moisturizing, Oil control, Buildable, Full Coverage, everyday use
I typically use Studio Fix Fluid as my everyday, but I turn to this when the fullest coverage is what my skin requires. I apply with my foundation brush, though a sponge can do the trick as well. I found it best to set this with a powder like Studio Fix Powder Plus to avoid getting a little blotchy in the T-zone and nose later in the day. That's not required, but I have oily skin to begin with so it definitely helps.
Even though customer service says Studio Fix Fluid does, I think Studio Sculpt has the fullest coverage within the MAC line of fluid foundations. Studio Sculpt definitely has a denser consistency and "gel-like" quality as described in the product detail. Again, good for higher coverage.
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Starlet
Location: Orlando, FL
Review 14 for Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great Coverage Natural Look
Date:October 28, 2012
Tags: Moisturizing, Long wearing, Buildable, normal-dry skin full coverage natural look
My favorite MAC foundation has been the MatchMaster. However, I've been feeling like the Matchmaster looks just too heavy lately. I like good coverage with a natural look. I don't want to look like I'm wearing foundation. I got a sample of this last night at MAC. I was matched to NW40, which was spot on! finally, one of the MAC girls matched me correctly. I never would have thought to try a NW shade, but it looked like I wasn't even wearing makeup. That's how spot on the shade was. This covers like a dream (better than Matchmaster), but it looks natural and like my own skin. This wears well. It did not make my face oily or wear off. Did not cling to dry spots. Covered everything- no need for concealer. This felt lightweight too. A little goes a long way. So far, I like this. This is good for full coverage with a natural look. I've had this on for 12 1/2 hrs and it hasn't budged, even through the rain.
+7points
8of 9found this review helpful.
naturalbeauty324
Location: Uniontown, A
Review 15 for Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
NW25
Date:May 15, 2014
Tags: Moisturizing, Buildable, normal/dry skin
First impression of this foundation is that it is very blendable and goes on smooth. In the bottle it looks much darker I was a little worried when I first saw it but after you put it on and let it set it gets lighter which is nice. The only issue I have with it is it seems to sink into my pores and makes them pretty visible. Id say if you get a good primer that fills in pores it would be fine.
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
HeatherRae
Location: Kouts, IN
Review 16 for Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
LOVE IT!!!!
Date:January 4, 2011
Tags: fantastic coverage and long wearing
I went to mac over the New Year and I had a young girl that tried this on me, and I wasn't expecting anything great bc I have very dry skin and allot ot red viens on my cheecks and a dull complection and I wasn't blessed with pretty skin, but when I left there I looked fantastic, my husband took a double take and said wow you look younger, thats all I needed to hear,it covers all my redness which was a miracle in it self, I have never felt so confident before,and I also got the sheer compact to set the sculpt foundation and it last me till I take it off and I also noticed my skin looks better after I even take it off? so it has been good for my skin too,thank you Mac for making feel better about my self and looking flawles...I love love love this stuff, I just wish I had of tried it allot sooner,I'm 48 yrs. old and have wrinkles and making me feel beautiful for the first time :) I also cant wait to see what this does in High Humidity
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
rosebud
Location: virginia
Review 17 for Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
High coverage
Date:August 25, 2010
Tags: Moisturizing, Oil control, Long wearing, Buildable
I like the studio sculpt foundation for its coverage and still it looks natural if you blend it well. I like to mix my foundation with a little bit of moisturizing cream: it's still high coverage but easier to blend (if i don't mix it I have to blend it a lot). So you can either have a light, medium or heavy coverage with this method and it works with most of the moisturizers.
It has an oily finish (due to it's function as a foundation for people with dry skin), so you must use a powder after the foundation unless you want to look shiny. I don't know if I'm the only one who noticed this, but I also feel like it does improve my skin (my skin is very dry but after using the foundation it feels very nice).
For me it is a great foundation, but people with oily skin should be prepared to get breakouts, but there is the studio fix fluid foundation specially designed for people with oily skin.
Another great fact: There are so many shades (even extra light shades) so that everybody can find his/her perfect foundation (which was the main reason for me to buy a MAC foundation).
+7points
9of 11found this review helpful.
theruthie
Location: Germany
Review 18 for Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
my holy grail foundation
Date:December 18, 2012
Tags: Long wearing, Moisturizing, Buildable, dry skin
This is my current foundation and I LOVE IT! I have really dry skin and the creamy gel-based formula does wonders for it. It's pretty full coverage, but it is also buildable if you desire a bit more. It lasts a whole school day and throughout some of the night. With such a wide range of color options you're sure to find the right shade for you. I highly recommend it, especially for people with dryer skin.
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
BeautyBug
Location: Hobbs, New Mexico
Review 19 for Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
good if you know what youre doing
Date:November 7, 2012
Tags: Moisturizing, Long wearing, Buildable, acne, normal skin, neutral skin tones
i have oily, pale, acne prone, red blotchy skin. this doesnt give me acne and really doesnt affect the oilyness in my face, i recommend using an oil free moisturizer as i think it helps a bit. this says its for dry skin but it doesnt look very good at all on dry sky types, i recommend it for basically normal skin types. with this foundation- less is more- or youll end up looking cakey and fake and greasy. If youre a beginner in makeup, dont start out with this foundation. it took me about 2 or 3 tubes to figure out how to use it to look flawless. i first apply a good amount of witch hazel to control oilyness, then aveeno moisturizer,and i apply it with a Face Secrets sponge that is dampend, apply maybe bit more than pea sized dot to the sponge (you dont need much at all; one tube of this has lasted me 3 or 4 months !! this was my first mistake- i was using wayyy too much foundation and went through a tube a month). apply and blend out really nice on skin and apply a concealer around any blemishes etc... apply powder around the t-zone and youre good to go.lasts basically all day; it does wear off, but since its moisturizing and gentle it kind of soothes redness of face and blemishes so it doesnt really matter. also this is the only foundation that is good for my pale neutral skin- all other mac foundations are either too yellow/orange for my skin but this one has nice pinky tones ( i am NC15). to summ up:
one tube last such a long time!
good for normal skin
good tone range
good coverage
helps skin look better over time
doesnt give me acne
but if you dont know what youre doing it will look cakey and bad- use just a little bit it gives enough coverage.
love this foundation though with never go back to any other foundation.
+10points
20of 30found this review helpful.
Jian
Review 20 for Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Absolutely Fantastic
Date:October 18, 2014
Tags: Moisturizing, Long wearing, Buildable
I have extremely dry, fair skin (nw20) with freckles and hyper-pigmintation from tanning in my 20's and it covers it all without feeling cakey. LOVE IT
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Angela618
Location: Virginia
1-20 of 138 reviews