Product Reviews

MAC Penultimate Eye Liner

Average Customer Rating:
3.303 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (109 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
14
3 stars
15
2 stars
11
1 star
27
Customer Reviews for Penultimate Eye Liner
Review 1 for Penultimate Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
BEST EYELINER EVER
Date:February 1, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color, cat eyes
I have been using this eyeliner for almost 4 years. I'm shocked to see all the negative reviews because I have never had a problem with this product. When getting the product the eyeliner is SUPER black and glides on so well. After having the eyeliner for about a year, you can tell if its getting low because the black wont be as dark as the previous months and the tip won't be that sharp...but its because you need a new one! I love love love this eyeliner and always get tons of complements when I do a cat eye look.
+61points
62of 63found this review helpful.
lilbacon
Location: San Francisco
Review 2 for Penultimate Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Fantastic.
Date:February 27, 2013
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color, longwear bold color easy application.
I have yet to find any eyeliner pen that is this precise and this bold with its application. At first, I shared the sentiment a lot of people here that left reviews had in that it dried out incredibly quickly. I was angry and frustrated that I spend $20 on something that only lasted a few weeks.
Lo and behold, I told my makeup artist friend that works at MAC this, and she informed me that you can pull out the felt tip, flip it around, and push it back in. Voila! Dry tip problem solved! For anyone who claims the pen dries out too quickly, try this first. Every time it dries out, flip the tip. When it finally doesn't help the issue, your penultimate is probably at the end of its days.
My only complaint is that I wish I didn't have to flip so often. But for a pen type liner, it's somewhat to be expected. I also get incredibly long wear time out of this. Usually all day and I have excessively oily skin, especially on my lids.
+77points
79of 81found this review helpful.
LILYisatig3r
Location: USA
Review 3 for Penultimate Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Dark Brown Please!
Date:May 27, 2014
Please make this available in dark brown-- it's a universal shade like black, but unlike black can be worn by my skin tone and in harsh summer light without looking severe and fake. PLEASE????
+28points
39of 50found this review helpful.
Nannerl
Location: Nannerl
Review 4 for Penultimate Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Frustrating Eyeliner
Date:September 29, 2014
I have really tried to like this liner. I need to use several short back and forth strokes on my eye to get any of the color to come out, and even then the color is a dull grey/black - not bold, rich, or pigmented. It takes a lot of work for only a little bit of color. I have tried using it all different ways, but nothing helps. I'm wondering if mine was dried out to begin with ? I'm so disappointed because I feel like I wasted $20.00.
+6points
12of 18found this review helpful.
RebeccaSwims
Location: Laguna Niguel, CA
Review 5 for Penultimate Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Date:December 30, 2013
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color
i really do love this eye liner. it's a nice, dark black. the only small complaint i have is that personally, i have to go over a few times to achieve the level of blackness i prefer. otherwise, it seems a bit grey to me at first. other than that, its rather enjoyable. the pen form makes it easy to hold and apply. i also find it easier to apply onto other people with this vs using a brush or shorter handled liquid liner. worth the buy. at least give it a try!
+12points
16of 20found this review helpful.
justmeg
Review 6 for Penultimate Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Penultimate is a no go for me
Date:October 4, 2011
Why can't this penultimate eye liner distribute the product like the penultimate brow liner?? If it did, it would be spectacular! I've tried using it every different way, reading the review from the person below me and all the others... I just can't get the product to come out like I think it should. It's a very soft black and you can hardly tell it's there. Almost like the liner has dried out.
Super bummed about this. Totally useless for me :/
+14points
16of 18found this review helpful.
kstone
Location: San Diego, CA
Review 7 for Penultimate Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Mines completely dried out in 3 days
Date:August 8, 2012
Tags: dull color not long lasting
I got this a few days ago and it lasted for 3 days. On the first day when i decided to use it, the color came out very dull and greyish black which dissapointed me... it smudges too and the color was like almost dried out and very very light as iit's not saturated enough. This is definately not BOLD in color, more like DULL. I regret purchasing this eyeliner and thought that it was not worth the price for something that lasts 3 days. Will not buy again!
+9points
10of 11found this review helpful.
Anonymous
Location: NY
Review 8 for Penultimate Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Amazing! Love Love Love it!
Date:April 26, 2012
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color, long lasting beauty!
I was nervous the first time I bought this pen. I have been a pencil user for years because I had always made a mess with the liquid liners. I absolutely fell in love with this pen! It stays beautifully! I put my makeup on at 4:30am and take it off after 9pm and it looks just as perfect as it did when I started my day! Now if only there were more colors!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
RockinHairBabe
Location: Seattle
Review 9 for Penultimate Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
I DiG IT
Date:March 4, 2014
Tags: Waterproof, Long wearing, Bold Color
I actually really like this eyeliner. It's really easy to make the perfect wing. I haven't had any issues with it.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Courtemms
Location: Vancouver, BC
Review 10 for Penultimate Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Loved loved dissapointed
Date:August 22, 2012
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color
I fell in love with this product since the second I put the first stroke on. It has a great bold color and unlike other eyeliners it lasted ALL DAY. For about twenty dollars I expected alot, and it met up to my expectations. I don't usually wear makeup often so when I do this was my go to, although as I noticed over a month of only using the eyeliner about ten times it was OUT. If I am going to spend twenty dollars on an eyeliner I expect it to be a miracle in a bottle.. not a ten day supply. I wish this really did last longer though, it's a great liner.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
DanielleSimplicity
Review 11 for Penultimate Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
would not buy again
Date:March 23, 2015
the color comes out very light; seems almost as if you're already running out of product since use 1.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
fernanda
Location: dallas
Review 12 for Penultimate Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
dissapointed
Date:March 13, 2015
when i first got this i was excited but i tried it and it only lasted a few days maybe a week tops.. it started coming out a greyish color and it took so many strokes to get anything out of it. Very disappointing i expected more out of MAC :( i felt like i wasted 20$ defenitily not purchasing again would not recommend this for anyone, i want to try the fluidline but i dont want to be dissapointed again
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
uuiyuf
Review 13 for Penultimate Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
The best eyeliner ever!
Date:March 18, 2015
I'm so happy I decided to buy this eyeliner! Easy to put on, dries quickly and looks great!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
IreneT
Review 14 for Penultimate Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
It IS a great liner!
Date:September 25, 2011
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color, winged effect, not harsh looking
i've read the reviews below and people really are hating on the penultimate liner... the girl at the store told me HOW to use it and it works wonderful! you have to hold it tilted and sweep the side of the tip out and you can wing it or cat eye it from there. you have to shake it before you use it. and it will come out dark and wet and wonderful:) it takes some getting used to, but you can't use it point straight on and you have to use the side a lil more than you are used to.. the reviewer who said she sweeps a little black tied over it with an angled brush, brilliant, so pretty!! i would buy again.
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
VegasCat
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Review 15 for Penultimate Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
My least favorite mac product :(
Date:July 7, 2011
Tags: beginners
This is the first mac product that i don't like.
When I tried it on the back of my hand at the store, I thought it was great.
When you put it on you eyelids, it's completely different. If any product comes out at all, its a very light grey. You have to press REALLY hard for a reasonable amount of product to come out.
Maybe I just had a dry one?
If the product actually came out, it would be a good first liquid eyeliner for someone who has very little experience. The applicator makes thick and thin lines.
I'm definitely sticking to liquidlast until it gets discontinued.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
ScubaAnastasia
Location: New York
Review 16 for Penultimate Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Could be better
Date:January 31, 2015
Tags: Bold Color
i have owned this eye liner for 2 years now and i re purchased twice but thats because i don't use liners as often. It is very bold and it goes on wonderfully which i love the most about it how ever for me, if i try to do a thicker look it will definitely transfer to my crease which is awful so if i want to use this liner i have to do a very thin line. It also dried fairly quickly which also upsets me.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
lilica2468
Location: Boston MA
Review 17 for Penultimate Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
I do not recommend this product
Date:February 4, 2015
This liquid liner is not very good at all. The liquid does not run consistently and in fact, other than when you first touch the lids, it does not run at all.
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Maria6
Location: Jackson, TN
Review 18 for Penultimate Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Dont like it....
Date:July 15, 2011
While this product is very easy to use and application is smooth, it smudges easily and never seems to fully set. As soon as I touched my eye about an hour after applying this product it smudged everywhere.
Will not use it again.
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Shevybaby
Location: St.Croix, VI
Review 19 for Penultimate Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Very disappointing
Date:January 17, 2015
When I first used this eyeliner, I was thrilled - went on smoothly and easily, looked great. The next few times it was also ok but it became drier and harder to apply each time I used it. Now, after having it for about two weeks, there is either none left in the tube or it is completely dried out.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
CGTX
Location: Houston, Texas
Review 20 for Penultimate Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best eyeliner on the market
Date:January 2, 2015
Tags: Bold Color
This is the best eyeliner I've ever used! I have pretty small eyelids and I used to use a gel liner with a brush and it practically covered my whole eyelid and I got so tired of it. I saw a clerk at Dillard's with flawless eyeliner and I asked her what brand it was and where she got it and she said MAC so I knew I had to get it! So I did and it's phenomenal. It goes on easy and comes off easy but stays on when it needs to stay on. Great for people with small eyelids!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
delanie
1-20 of 109 reviews