Product Reviews

MAC Penultimate Eye Liner

Average Customer Rating:
3.376 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (101 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
14
3 stars
14
2 stars
10
1 star
23
Customer Reviews for Penultimate Eye Liner
Review 1 for Penultimate Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
BEST EYELINER EVER
Date:February 1, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color, cat eyes
I have been using this eyeliner for almost 4 years. I'm shocked to see all the negative reviews because I have never had a problem with this product. When getting the product the eyeliner is SUPER black and glides on so well. After having the eyeliner for about a year, you can tell if its getting low because the black wont be as dark as the previous months and the tip won't be that sharp...but its because you need a new one! I love love love this eyeliner and always get tons of complements when I do a cat eye look.
+42points
43of 44found this review helpful.
lilbacon
Location: San Francisco
Review 2 for Penultimate Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Frustrating Eyeliner
Date:September 29, 2014
I have really tried to like this liner. I need to use several short back and forth strokes on my eye to get any of the color to come out, and even then the color is a dull grey/black - not bold, rich, or pigmented. It takes a lot of work for only a little bit of color. I have tried using it all different ways, but nothing helps. I'm wondering if mine was dried out to begin with ? I'm so disappointed because I feel like I wasted $20.00.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
RebeccaSwims
Location: Laguna Niguel, CA
Review 3 for Penultimate Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Fantastic.
Date:February 27, 2013
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color, longwear bold color easy application.
I have yet to find any eyeliner pen that is this precise and this bold with its application. At first, I shared the sentiment a lot of people here that left reviews had in that it dried out incredibly quickly. I was angry and frustrated that I spend $20 on something that only lasted a few weeks.
Lo and behold, I told my makeup artist friend that works at MAC this, and she informed me that you can pull out the felt tip, flip it around, and push it back in. Voila! Dry tip problem solved! For anyone who claims the pen dries out too quickly, try this first. Every time it dries out, flip the tip. When it finally doesn't help the issue, your penultimate is probably at the end of its days.
My only complaint is that I wish I didn't have to flip so often. But for a pen type liner, it's somewhat to be expected. I also get incredibly long wear time out of this. Usually all day and I have excessively oily skin, especially on my lids.
+52points
53of 54found this review helpful.
LILYisatig3r
Location: USA
Review 4 for Penultimate Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Dark Brown Please!
Date:May 27, 2014
Please make this available in dark brown-- it's a universal shade like black, but unlike black can be worn by my skin tone and in harsh summer light without looking severe and fake. PLEASE????
+13points
24of 35found this review helpful.
Nannerl
Location: Nannerl
Review 5 for Penultimate Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Date:December 30, 2013
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color
i really do love this eye liner. it's a nice, dark black. the only small complaint i have is that personally, i have to go over a few times to achieve the level of blackness i prefer. otherwise, it seems a bit grey to me at first. other than that, its rather enjoyable. the pen form makes it easy to hold and apply. i also find it easier to apply onto other people with this vs using a brush or shorter handled liquid liner. worth the buy. at least give it a try!
+13points
16of 19found this review helpful.
justmeg
Review 6 for Penultimate Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Penultimate is a no go for me
Date:October 4, 2011
Why can't this penultimate eye liner distribute the product like the penultimate brow liner?? If it did, it would be spectacular! I've tried using it every different way, reading the review from the person below me and all the others... I just can't get the product to come out like I think it should. It's a very soft black and you can hardly tell it's there. Almost like the liner has dried out.
Super bummed about this. Totally useless for me :/
+13points
15of 17found this review helpful.
kstone
Location: San Diego, CA
Review 7 for Penultimate Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Mines completely dried out in 3 days
Date:August 8, 2012
Tags: dull color not long lasting
I got this a few days ago and it lasted for 3 days. On the first day when i decided to use it, the color came out very dull and greyish black which dissapointed me... it smudges too and the color was like almost dried out and very very light as iit's not saturated enough. This is definately not BOLD in color, more like DULL. I regret purchasing this eyeliner and thought that it was not worth the price for something that lasts 3 days. Will not buy again!
+8points
9of 10found this review helpful.
Anonymous
Location: NY
Review 8 for Penultimate Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Amazing! Love Love Love it!
Date:April 26, 2012
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color, long lasting beauty!
I was nervous the first time I bought this pen. I have been a pencil user for years because I had always made a mess with the liquid liners. I absolutely fell in love with this pen! It stays beautifully! I put my makeup on at 4:30am and take it off after 9pm and it looks just as perfect as it did when I started my day! Now if only there were more colors!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
RockinHairBabe
Location: Seattle
Review 9 for Penultimate Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
I DiG IT
Date:March 4, 2014
Tags: Waterproof, Long wearing, Bold Color
I actually really like this eyeliner. It's really easy to make the perfect wing. I haven't had any issues with it.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Courtemms
Location: Vancouver, BC
Review 10 for Penultimate Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Loved loved dissapointed
Date:August 22, 2012
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color
I fell in love with this product since the second I put the first stroke on. It has a great bold color and unlike other eyeliners it lasted ALL DAY. For about twenty dollars I expected alot, and it met up to my expectations. I don't usually wear makeup often so when I do this was my go to, although as I noticed over a month of only using the eyeliner about ten times it was OUT. If I am going to spend twenty dollars on an eyeliner I expect it to be a miracle in a bottle.. not a ten day supply. I wish this really did last longer though, it's a great liner.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
DanielleSimplicity
Review 11 for Penultimate Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Best liner ever
Date:June 6, 2014
Tags: eye liner ease of use and feel
Tried other liners with the pencil type shape or feel and nobody can beat this liner
Perfect size and length. Love love love it! And cheaper then others similar to it
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Sassy1
Location: Florida
Review 12 for Penultimate Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
It IS a great liner!
Date:September 25, 2011
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color, winged effect, not harsh looking
i've read the reviews below and people really are hating on the penultimate liner... the girl at the store told me HOW to use it and it works wonderful! you have to hold it tilted and sweep the side of the tip out and you can wing it or cat eye it from there. you have to shake it before you use it. and it will come out dark and wet and wonderful:) it takes some getting used to, but you can't use it point straight on and you have to use the side a lil more than you are used to.. the reviewer who said she sweeps a little black tied over it with an angled brush, brilliant, so pretty!! i would buy again.
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
VegasCat
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Review 13 for Penultimate Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
I want my money back
Date:September 29, 2014
The tip is stiff which doesn't allow for any bending of tip on the eye. Product doesn't get down to the tip, almost like the pen is empty. Want my money back.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Panazucar18
Review 14 for Penultimate Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Dont like it....
Date:July 15, 2011
While this product is very easy to use and application is smooth, it smudges easily and never seems to fully set. As soon as I touched my eye about an hour after applying this product it smudged everywhere.
Will not use it again.
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Shevybaby
Location: St.Croix, VI
Review 15 for Penultimate Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
The Best Control
Date:June 11, 2013
Tags: Waterproof, Long wearing
If you need an eyeliner pen with precision, this is the liner for you. I last tried Stila (one of many), which looked like it had a very fine brush, but it's very difficult to control the tip.
The only problem with this liner is the lack of color depth/strength. It might be that it's picking up the makeup from my skin or the fact that I'm using it on the outer edge of my pencil lined eyelid for a cat eye effect - smaller one for day and extended for evening.
Still, it offers the best control and would recommend if you want do get it right the first time.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
mrstim
Review 16 for Penultimate Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Long lasting eyeliner
Date:July 15, 2014
Really pleased with this eyeliner! It lasts the whole day and didn't smudge.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Shivu
Location: Orlando
Review 17 for Penultimate Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
My least favorite mac product :(
Date:July 7, 2011
Tags: beginners
This is the first mac product that i don't like.
When I tried it on the back of my hand at the store, I thought it was great.
When you put it on you eyelids, it's completely different. If any product comes out at all, its a very light grey. You have to press REALLY hard for a reasonable amount of product to come out.
Maybe I just had a dry one?
If the product actually came out, it would be a good first liquid eyeliner for someone who has very little experience. The applicator makes thick and thin lines.
I'm definitely sticking to liquidlast until it gets discontinued.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
ScubaAnastasia
Location: New York
Review 18 for Penultimate Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love it
Date:July 9, 2014
Tags: Waterproof, Smudgeable, Long wearing, Bold Color
This is the first time I've used liquid eyeliner and I love this one. I love the way it goes on my lashline and stays put. My only complaint is that is should/needs to be in brown for blue eyed people.
P.s. I always get complements on my eyes when I use this liner.
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
kmull002
Location: FLORIDA
Review 19 for Penultimate Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Best liquid eyeliner ever!
Date:November 28, 2011
Tags: Waterproof, Smudgeable, Long wearing, Bold Color, eyes
This pen lasts a very long time, if you remember to close it tightly after each use. I made the mistake ( without realizing) that I hadn't closed it right, only to have the product dry out on me.
It wears a very long time, and so easy to put on!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Dandelion
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Review 20 for Penultimate Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Great Liner
Date:June 24, 2011
Tags: Long wearing, easy application
This is a great eyeliner, since i find it so difficult to apply liquid eyeliner, the felt tip and pen form make it so simple and easy to apply! definitely getting a second one.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
MichelleV
Location: NJ
1-20 of 101 reviews