Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC 214 Short Shader Brush

Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for 214 Short Shader Brush
Review 1 for 214 Short Shader Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
I like it
Date:September 7, 2010
Tags: Lining, Shading, Applying, smudging
This brush is great for packing on color on the lid, however I wouldn't blend with this, it's too stiff. I also use this to put eyeshadow onto my lashline, it's great for that as well. It can also smudge out liner, like it says lol.
But, all in all, if you own the 239 and 219, I think you can skip this brush. The 214 is a good mix of both without the blending ability.
+5points
7of 9found this review helpful.
a0312
Location: Virginia
Review 2 for 214 Short Shader Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great Smudge Brush!!
Date:May 7, 2013
Tags: Blending, Shading
I love this brush. It works great to smudge out your liner for a softer look, or go over top of the liner with a shadow for a smokey effect. Very happy to welcome it into my brush collection.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
ASees
Location: NJ
Review 3 for 214 Short Shader Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Can't live without
Date:February 12, 2013
Tags: Lining, Shading, Applying, smoky look, applying shadow as liner on top lash line
I do not have anything new to add to all the other rave reviews, except that if one more positive review encourages you to buy this brush, then go for it! I prefer to go over my eyeliner with dark shadow to soften the harsh line. This tool does it perfectly. Also, I was told by the MAC store saleslady that this is only available online or in MAC stores, as I found out because Nordstrom and Macy's did not have this.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Tennis29
Location: Washington, DC
Review 4 for 214 Short Shader Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
quality
Date:December 16, 2012
Tags: Blending, Lining, Shading, Applying
I reach for this quality, versatile brush daily. Great for applying a darker eye shadow close to the lashes, When I want more intensity, I wet it and it grabs more pigment.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
coffeebabe
Location: arizona desert
Review 5 for 214 Short Shader Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Smudge that color!
Date:June 22, 2011
Tags: Blending, Lining
I only use this brush to smudge my eyeliner and color around my eyes. I also use it to soften my gel liner! LOVE that MAC added this brush to the permanent collection!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
CharmedMuggle
Location: DMV
Review 6 for 214 Short Shader Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Wonderful addition
Date:September 23, 2013
Tags: Blending, Shading
to my now favorite brushes by MAC. Don't know why I waited so long to purchase the 214 brush; it really is an essential in my everyday look. It works my eyeliner like any other brush and I love the finished look of a shaded eye! Bristles are little rough and tight but still smooth enough of delicate skin. LOVE this brush!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
critty88
Location: newport news, va
Review 7 for 214 Short Shader Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Its the Perfect Lid Packer and Smudger
Date:January 11, 2011
Tags: Lining, Shading, Applying, smudging packing on shadowslining with shadows
This is such an awesome brush!
It packs on the shadow...... anywhere you want it!
Then it can smudge out anything!
The hairs are short and are densely packed.
Yet, the hairs are still very soft.
I haven't had a single hair poke my lids....like my 239 does sometimes.
But, I absolutely love and cannot live without my 239 brushes! I have 2, 239's.
I actually needed 1 more, since I use a lot of different colors on my eyes.
But, this 214 solved that problem!!!!!! :)
The hairs taper together... thinly and very firmly... at the top.
Which creates a thinner line when using shadows as your eye liner. And of course it makes it perfect for smudging!
I am so happy MAC finally gave us this smudger/shader brush.
It was totally needed in my arsenal of brushes! ;)
-1point
2of 5found this review helpful.
MrsLeonidas
Location: INDY
Review 8 for 214 Short Shader Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
favorite
Date:April 2, 2013
Tags: Blending, Shading
Love the brush.
-4points
0of 4found this review helpful.
Anonymous
Location: fort worth
Review 9 for 214 Short Shader Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
214 Short Shader Brush
Date:November 15, 2012
Tags: Blending, Shading, Applying, eye lids
Love love love it. its perfect for smudging around the lash line or just all over lid.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Elizabeths
Review 10 for 214 Short Shader Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Smudge!
Date:March 12, 2012
Tags: Shading, smudge
I use this brush for smudging my eyeliner on the top and bottom lid. Stiff bristles but soft! It is worth the cost and will last you forever!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Mellyyyyyyo
Location: Ventura CA
Review 11 for 214 Short Shader Brush
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
good
Date:May 11, 2011
Tags: Blending
i like this brush the price is a lil steep but all mac products are :) this brush is great for shading and blending
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
thebrushlover
Location: NC