Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC 219 Pencil Brush

Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for 219 Pencil Brush
Review 1 for 219 Pencil Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great Brush
Date:February 27, 2014
Tags: Lining, Shading, Applying, detail
I usually only keep a stiff angle brush, a fluff brush, and a large blush brush on hand, because I think you can do just about anything with these tools, but I bought this brush for laying down the professional pigments since the fluff brush tends to eat them. I'm so glad I bought it. It is great not only for the pigments, but I also love it for smudging shadow on my lower lash line so that I don't get such a stiff line when I use shadow as eye liner. It gives a much softer look than a stiff angle brush gives.
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
PHDENish
Location: Denver, CO
Review 2 for 219 Pencil Brush
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
not what I expected, perfect for other use
Date:November 15, 2011
Tags: Lining, Applying, smudging, smokey-eye
I'd heard all about this brush in terms of doing the outer-v and the crease. However, I'm really not impressed with what it does in either area, so unless I'm using it to get seriously defined crease, I won't be doing it. I guess it can do a decent outer v but since it's so small, it really just doesn't work for me. I'll stick to the 217, which is AMAZING.
So, disappointed, I continued to use it in search of other uses. I found that this is by far the best brush for lining, smudging and smoking out all types of products (powder, regular liner, cream/gel). I usually just use the 224 or 217 for putting the highlight shade in the inner corner, but I found that because the fibers of the 219 are so dense, it applies a much more pigmented and vibrant highlight. It effortlessly smokes out liner and shadow.
Overall, I'm not super excited about this brush like I am about the 224 or 217, but it's definitely one I'll keep and take care of. I think you can make do without it but definitely make it a part of your brush collection. I now own three MAC brushes (217, 224, 219) and they make a perfect set with what I already own (I have two other high quality/big brand brushes, one is a flat stiff shader with rounded edge; the other is a dense yet fluffy angled shader) . I guess I'm not excited because it only lines/smudges, but it does so much better of a job than any other similar brush I've owned.
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
rlynn07
Location: CT
Review 3 for 219 Pencil Brush
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Double-duty brush...
Date:August 30, 2010
Tags: Lining, Applying
This brush's tapered point makes it useful for smudging cream or powder eyeliner at the waterline. Apply pencil/cream/shadow liner, and smudge until you get the desired effect. Or dip in a bit of water/powder-to-liquid transformer, then into your favorite shadow, and smudge along the waterline to create a smoky eye. Unexpectedly, the same tapered point makes it perfect for applying concealer to specific spots/blemishes on the face (not in large areas such as around the eye). Add cream/liquid concealer to the brush tip, apply to the blemish, and blend out with a bit of liquid foundation on any duo fiber brush.
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
banhbaocheeks
Location: SF Bay Area, California
Review 4 for 219 Pencil Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Does all the work for you!
Date:May 6, 2014
Tags: Blending, Lining, Shading, Applying, smudging
LOVE this brush, it makes blending a smokey eye so easy. It works well with pencil liner or powder.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Christin
Location: California
Review 5 for 219 Pencil Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Versatile for precision blending
Date:November 24, 2013
Tags: Blending, Applying, applying color under brow or corner of eye
Precision brush is a great name for this one. You can use it as a highlighter brush or to get color on a specific spot for just a slight bit of blending. Very versatile. Wish I had bought 2 of them. Great for highlighting.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
berryfun
Location: Arlington, TN
Review 6 for 219 Pencil Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
THE FABULOUS MULTI-TASKER: WHO KNEW?!?
Date:April 24, 2012
Tags: Blending, Lining, Shading, Applying, -multiple applications for eye; cheek; nose; etc.!, -also buffs perfectly after application is made.
Heavens: & here all this time I'd thought this lovely brush was meant for about 2 or, tops, 3 things: all very eye-oriented &, though done well, quite limited in scope. WRONG!!!!
In just 1 evening of drawing outside the lines, I've now discovered that the next time I travel by air & thus can only take 1 other brush along besides a blush brush, THIS will actually be that one! You see, Mac promotes this brush as being strictly for the eyes, & it is indeed wonderful there. But guess what? THIS brush also works beautifully for such very DIFFERENT areas as (A) applying very precise highlights to the tops of the cheekbones -- & even curving a subtle arc of light along the front rounded portion of the "apples", something no facial brush can do so delicately & beautifully; (B) creating the perfect "C" line -- &/or the "3" & "E" curves -- of luminous highlight for either side of the face between temples & cheekbones; (C) drawing the delicate path of subtle dazzle from the bridge to the end of nose [& at last: doing so w/ a brush that isn't actually too wide for this feat, unlike ALL designated facial brushes, alas!!]; (D) depositing the perfect little saucer of light within the cupid's bow -- ...& the list goes on & ON! Plus in each case, these fibers are SO soft & SO perfectly tapered that one doesn't have to merely lay down the light & stop there: this brush is actually also superb at buffing these highlights into the skin so that they penetrate the surface & thus become natural looking. Finally, this baby's also small & precise enough to do all sort of subtle things in the orbital area, including that magical plane right above the cheekbone, that the next-smaller brush -- i.e. an eyeliner brush -- would be just TOO small for -- & any other brush besides the 219's just too darn large! /// In sum, my friends, this 219 is actually the MULTI-TASKER SANS PAREIL. Investing in this brush is an act of wisdom: you'll eliminate the need for at least 4 other brushes! /// -- In sum, oh joy of joys: ...who knew?!?
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Heidi
Location: East Coast
Review 7 for 219 Pencil Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Draw My Eyes!
Date:February 26, 2013
Tags: Blending, Lining, Shading, Applying
Oh my goodness! This brush is amazing! It's perfect size for the eyes! I use this as a lining for top and bottom eyes. It's also prefect for lining the corner of the eyes. It blends and shades well. I love the density of this brush. It is worth the buy! Will I ever buy this again, Yes! I recommend it for anyone (including beginners). "This draws my eyes!"
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
iluv2makeup
Location: San Diego, CA
Review 8 for 219 Pencil Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Amazing multi purpose brush
Date:March 6, 2012
Tags: Blending, Applying, highlighting under the brow, inner corner
I've had this brush three years and I'm still finding uses for it! I've been on an experimental kick with my makeup lately and find myself reaching for this brush more and more. Originally I bought this brush for highlighting and inner corner of my eyes. Until recently, that's all I used it for. After playing around with different stuff, I realized what an amazing blending brush this is! Seriously it might top the 217, which is my fav eyeshadow brush. The head of the brush is super defined and the bristles are stiff and dense, unlike the 217 making applying/blending a lot easier, especially for cut the crease looks. Invest in this brush!! You will love it as much as I do.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
lizzylovesmacmakeup
Location: CA
Review 9 for 219 Pencil Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Date:July 10, 2012
Tags: Blending, Shading, Applying
Super precise brush if you want a very defined crease, and great for blending out eyeliner on the top and bottom to smoke out the eye.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Daniel89
Location: Long island, ny
Review 10 for 219 Pencil Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
God ahead, you know that you want it.
Date:March 27, 2011
Tags: Blending, Lining, Shading, making fabulous looks.
I used to believe that a good artist could use anything and make a look shine like art, and I guess that maybe they could, but this brush makes it easier. Honestly, using something made by hand, in conjunction with actual makeup artists, just produces something that's easy to use. No shedding, no fussing, I just move one color into another and it looks good.
The original outlay of money is a bit steep, but MAC brushes last and last. How many dupes will you have to buy, telling yourself over and over that they're just as good as MAC, when you could just get this and get on with your fabulous self?
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
c2keri
Location: Atlanta, GA
Review 11 for 219 Pencil Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Works just like the description
Date:July 11, 2011
Tags: Blending, Lining, Shading, smokey eye
I absolutley love this brush. I use both 217 and 219 for a quick smokey eye. This brush is dense of goat hair, i think, into a nice well sturdy tip, made to make intricate unique lines, smokey looks, and applying product into the crease. BLEND BLEND BLEND! For the ultimate look. A bit scratchy if you use it near the eyeball, so avoid that so you wouldnt to get tears. Great with eye kohl eyeliners and eyeshadows. I bet there are better dupes out there, but just to say this is my first time i got a brush like this. Wonderful must-have!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Lissa
Location: RIVERSIDE
Review 12 for 219 Pencil Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Love this brush!
Date:December 16, 2011
Tags: Lining, Shading, Applying
I went to MAC looking for a brush that could blend colors into my crease without blending the color away and they girl at the counter recommended this brush. I was so happy with this purchase and the girl was amazing. I have smaller eyes so I have to fake a crease and this brush is fantastic!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
danihan
Review 13 for 219 Pencil Brush
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
great for crease
Date:February 16, 2013
Tags: Applying
This is my second brush from Mac. I specifically bought this brush for applying eye shadow to the crease. This brush definitely applies a precise amount of eye shadow to the crease with beautiful results. You just have to make sure that you really blend out the harsh lines. Overall great brush for the crease.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
jamied
Location: Florida
Review 14 for 219 Pencil Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Great for the crease!
Date:February 5, 2013
Tags: Shading, Applying
I've used brushes my own makeup school gave me and this 219 brush made it better. I can apply product to the crease better and straight. I recommend this brush. I like it a lot!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
CynRon8
Location: Long Beach, CA
Review 15 for 219 Pencil Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
cant do with out it
Date:August 21, 2010
Tags: Blending
An absolute necessity for anyones collection
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Blahnik
Location: Brooklyn,NY
Review 16 for 219 Pencil Brush
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
best or smoky look
Date:August 27, 2012
Tags: Blending, Lining, smoky look
this product is amazing for creating smoky eyes. the bristles are so soft that the dont hurt your eyes at all...if taken care of, MAC products last forever...They are the best...LOVE YOU MAC :)
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
NIKO
Location: India
Review 17 for 219 Pencil Brush
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
great for non-liquid eyeliner
Date:November 26, 2011
Tags: Lining
i always have used eyeliner pencils or all sorts except liquid.
I like the more natural look that penciled eyeliner brings and the abilty to make it fade and blend.
This brush is perfect for those that use powder like i do.
I dab some black powder and the just pencil away and it comes out just right.
If you are looking for a brush for your eye liner, this would be it.
I always do a smoky eye look on my eyes and using powder for a eye liner just makes it perfect.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
sbranco
Location: Virginia
Review 18 for 219 Pencil Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great brush
Date:November 2, 2011
Tags: Applying
At first I thought it would be useless and would not help me at all. When I first tried it i decided it was definitively a keeper.
You can use it also under your eyes and would help you create a perfect look, just like you imagined it before.
It's also very useful for smokey eyes
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Sasita
Location: Monterrey; MX
Review 19 for 219 Pencil Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
love this brush
Date:November 10, 2011
Tags: Lining
i love this brush...i use it everyday on my lower lash line..i don't like the look of eyeliner around my eyes becuase it's too harsh with this brus,h i'm able to smudge the eyeshadow which gives me a nice shoft and/or a smokey sexy look! LOVE IT...
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
makeupjunkie01
Location: manchester, ct
Review 20 for 219 Pencil Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
A MUST HAVE for your collection!
Date:June 22, 2011
Tags: Blending, Lining, Applying
Pencil brush is REQUIRED in any brush collection. Get the color just right around the eyes and the crease. I have 3 or 4 of these brushes for my different color ways and I have gifted several. Love it & HIGHLY recommend.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
CharmedMuggle
Location: DMV
1-20 of 22 reviews