Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC 217 Blending Brush

Average Customer Rating:
4.845 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (84 reviews)
5 stars
76
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for 217 Blending Brush
Review 1 for 217 Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
A MUST HAVE!
Date:May 1, 2012
Tags: Blending, Lining, Shading, Applying, everything, all formulas of eye shadows, any style of application, blending applying packing on shadow and more
Years ago I was terrible with blending, especially several colors together, it just came out looking like one weird color. After reading, thinking, going and looking at it I just decided to go ahead and buy it thinking I would just return it. I placed on a color then used the 217 to blend, placed another color and again immediately used the 217 to blend. With my first try at using the 217 just the way I explained to you I have been wearing very dramtic looks ever since and people compliment my eye makeup all the time. I now own several because I am no longer afraid of packing on eye shadow, doing a smokey eye, smudging eye liner as a shadow and a ton of other styles. This brush works for you, as weird as that sounds you don't have to do any work, if you are pressing or scrubbing to blend you are not using the 217. This brush will blend your shadows, even if they are not high end, by lightly going back and forth over your shadow that the first time I used it I blended my dark shadow completely off my eyes:) You won't be sorry, I DO NOT WORK for the company and I just feel we waste our money on things that maybe meant for others but not us, not with this brush it is a must for anyone who wears eye shadow. I had to write this review because this actually makes a difference and to know you can return it, how can you go wrong.
+76points
79of 82found this review helpful.
Passion4Makeup
Location: Youngstown, Oh
Review 2 for 217 Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Slowly becoming my favorite MAC brush..
Date:January 1, 2014
Tags: Blending, Shading, Applying
The #217 blending brush has taken me a little time to get used to and enjoy. When I first got it, I used a heavier hand with it and only used it for blending eye shadows that had already been applied. What resulted was a "muddy" look with all my different colors, not the beautifully blended wash of colors that I was expecting.
Now, I use a lighter hand and also use the brush to actually do some of applying as well as blending of crease colors, transition colors and brow highlight. I think in the past I over-relied on the #239, but I am quickly seeing what this #217 is capable of -- it can do almost everything that the #239 can, plus some. I use it to apply a softer wash of color in my crease or brow bone and that takes care of half of the blending right there.
For smaller, detailed blending, especially on smaller lids, use a light hand and focus the color on the very end of the brush. The more you dig in, the messier it will be. That is because the brush is more densely packed than a lot of blending brushes. Using a light hand with this brush is key.
It took me several months to the hang of this brush, but it is quickly becoming my favorite brush and I will be ordering a second one my collection very soon. Based on the looks that I like to do, this isthe brush I reach for the most. If I had to choose just ONE of my MAC brushed to do an entire look, I would choose this one. Best part is, you can wipe your brush off and use it for different colors all in the same look. Clean it often to keep it in top shape.
+57points
62of 67found this review helpful.
Nami
Location: Pinehurst, NC
Review 3 for 217 Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
AMAZING!
Date:December 23, 2013
Tags: Blending, blending colors in your crease
This brush is an absolute must have in my collection. So much so that I have 3 of them (i am not a professional make up artist - just a girl who LOVES makeup). I finally just had to replace one of them because the bristles were wearing thin - - However, I had the brush for over 7 years so I definitely got my money worth on it. It is perfect for blending several colors together within your crease. I have used it with both powder eye shadow and cream eye shadow as well as with the paint pods. It is very easy to use. There is a zero learning curve on how to use this brush. I don't know what I would do if this brush did not exist.
On another note, I would like to point out that every time I go to a MAC store or counter there is always amazing customer service. I have never once felt like "just a customer". Keep up the great work MAC!
+19points
21of 23found this review helpful.
EricaM
Location: Totowa, NJ
Review 4 for 217 Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Must Must Must Have
Date:August 30, 2010
Tags: Blending, Shading, Applying
Let this be the very first brush you buy in your arsenal! If you feel as though MAC brushes are too pricey, buy this brush and call it a day or if you want to test the waters with their brushes, purchase the 217. If you are a make-up artist, buy this to add to your kit, but I guarantee you will be back for another. Perfect for applying highlighter beneath the brow bone, an all over shadow to the lid, a darker shadow to the outer corner of the eye, to add shadow to the crease, or to blend the crease and highlight shadows together. This brush is indispensable! Clean it well to maintain the bristles' softness OR do what I do and use one for light colors (highlights/base shadows) and one for dark colors (crease/darkening shadows).
+50points
53of 56found this review helpful.
banhbaocheeks
Location: SF Bay Area, California
Review 5 for 217 Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
amazing!
Date:December 15, 2014
Tags: Blending, Shading, Applying
I'm by no means a girly girl. I wear hardly any makeup. Recently been in love with eye shadow. And let me tell you the blending brush MAKES A HUGE DIFFERENCE! I can achieve the look I want that I thought was impossible. The brush REALLY MATTERS!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Alyx
Location: Hudson
Review 6 for 217 Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
LOVE THIS BRUSH!!!
Date:January 26, 2012
Tags: Blending, Applying
So when I first got these brush, I have to admit I was skeptical. Mainly because it was WAY bigger than I initially expected (I ordered it online, so I had an unclear idea of what it would actually be like). BUT then I started using it and it's AMAZING. I use it for applying and blending my crease. Then I blend on my highlight. IT DOES NOT SHED AT ALL. I've had it for quite a while and it hasn't shed ONE fiber. Not even when I wash it and I wash it pretty roughly (sometimes I'm not as careful with my brushes as I should be D;). SERIOUSLY if you are looking for the HOLY GRAIL blending/crease applying brush, THIS IS IT!
+13points
13of 13found this review helpful.
Izzie
Location: California
Review 7 for 217 Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Must Have for Eyes
Date:February 13, 2011
Tags: Blending, Shading, Applying, paints pigments contouring blending
I bought this brush years ago at the suggestion of a friend who wore paints and pigments as much as I did, and it is still one of my fave brushes for eye makeup application and blending. It is a stiff enough to easily apply paints and pigments but soft enough for blending and everyday eyeshadow application. A must have brush for any MAC lover.
+14points
14of 14found this review helpful.
Linds
Location: CA
Review 8 for 217 Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Fantastic Starter Brush
Date:October 24, 2014
Tags: Blending, Shading
After many, many, many recommendations from others I reluctantly purchased this brush. It took a bit for me to get the hang of the light touch required for appropriate blending but that is mostly due to my inexperience as a 30 year old makeup novice. This one brush has turned my whole eyeshadow blending experience from a muddy mess to gradient gorgeousness. This is one of the few times where the hype is legitimate.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Lainie
Location: Alabama
Review 9 for 217 Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Fabulous!
Date:January 5, 2014
Tags: professional looking makeup
As a MAC fanatic, this is probably my favorite or most convenient brush ever. It goes from average looking makeup, to looking like a Pinterest blended eyeshadow picture that I would pin! I love it.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Sullivan
Location: Georgia
Review 10 for 217 Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
legendary for a reason!
Date:November 4, 2011
Tags: Blending, Shading, Applying
I've finally found a way to describe why MAC brushes are much better than any other brush. You might be able to do a great blending job with even a cheap brush, but it takes eons, so much effort, and a lot of skill. I took this to my eye and amaaaaaazing-a few swipes and my eyeshadow was perfectly blended. I LOVE this brush and now I know why everyone else does, too. I can see why people buy several and although I don't quite have the dough to do that, this is the number one MAC brush everyone who likes makeup should own.
+7points
8of 9found this review helpful.
rlynn07
Location: CT
Review 11 for 217 Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Love the 217!
Date:July 7, 2011
Tags: Shading, all-over application
This brush is amazing for beginners. You can use either side of the brush for application to the lid & highlight, but the top of the brush is amazing for creasework and blending. I would 100% recommend this brush. It is also one of the most inexpensive MAC brushes and that is another reason I love it.
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Katy
Review 12 for 217 Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
HG!
Date:November 3, 2013
Tags: eye shadows paint pots concealers blending!
This is a absolute, hands down must have brush! So versatile! I use this mainly for blending my outer color into my eyelid. Great on paint pots and concealers aswell. If you don't own this, buy it!!!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
JOJOLUV21
Location: Tampa Fl
Review 13 for 217 Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Best brush
Date:September 10, 2010
Tags: Blending, Shading, Applying, everything
This brush is the best. I have tons of brushes but I can do all of my eye makeup with this one brush
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Makeupmom
Location: WASHINGTON, DC
Review 14 for 217 Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Amazing brush!
Date:December 20, 2013
Tags: Blending, Shading, Applying
This was the first brush I bought from Mac over ten years ago, and it still looks and works great. I own two now, and they look completely different from one another. My first one is a little longer and flatter, while the other is a little shorter and fluffier. I think that's just how they come, and I use both. Anyway, it's hands down the best eyeshadow blending brush I've used, but I use it for tons of things.. Blending concealer, cream highlighters, and to dab on my Myth lipstick as a light wash of color over the lips. It's a great investment because Mac brushes last forever. I only get a couple hairs here and there that shed when washing. I use baby shampoo too wash, and also a little conditioner to keep the hairs soft. Absolutely a must have brush!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Prettygirlmo
Location: Utah
Review 15 for 217 Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Perfect blender brush
Date:July 25, 2013
Tags: Blending, Shading, Applying, blending brush
Perfect blender! Stiff and dense and made to last! Very high quality and worth it!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
allMACdup
Location: GA
Review 16 for 217 Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Worth every cent
Date:March 9, 2014
Tags: Blending, Shading, Applying
I was skeptical about expensive brushes. I mean, isn't a brush a brush? After hearing everyone raving about Mac brushes, I bit the bullet and finally bought some. It was costly, but worth every penny. My eye work has greatly improved. My colors do not look like one big glob. This particular brush is great for applying color and blending, especially blending. I love it.
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
goldenoir
Location: Houston
Review 17 for 217 Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
MUST HAVE BRUSH!
Date:January 9, 2014
Tags: Blending, Applying
I'm note sure how I lasted so long without it. Blends PERFECTLY.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
snlamb
Review 18 for 217 Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Not what I was hoping for. Not stiff enough.
Date:September 14, 2014
Tags: blending (same as 224)
From the other reviews, I thought this was just the brush I needed to go along with my 224. It seems to do the same job as the 224, and doesn't fill the gap in my collection. I'll be returning it.
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
kailovemakeup
Location: Beautyland, USA
Review 19 for 217 Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
LOVE LOVE LOVE
Date:November 8, 2013
Tags: Blending, Shading, Applying
Always wondered what all the hubbub was about for this brush, so I finally invested in it to see... I LOVE it! No wonder it is in just about every makeup artist's kit. I've only used it on my eyes so far, but it applies and blends beautifully. It's so versatile I'm so happy I purchased two :)
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
WSMuse
Location: Ohio
Review 20 for 217 Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Date:July 10, 2012
Tags: Blending, Shading, Applying
The best crease and blending brush out there. Known by everyone. I would never do an eye look without this. Can be used to apply shadow to the lid or brow bone, to contour the crease, and works great for buffing in concealer and powders under the eyes or on blemishes.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Daniel89
Location: Long island, ny
1-20 of 84 reviews