Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Studio Tech

Average Customer Rating:
4.195 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (123 reviews)
5 stars
67
4 stars
32
3 stars
10
2 stars
9
1 star
5
Customer Reviews for Studio Tech
Review 1 for Studio Tech
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
Best foundation ever
Date:November 15, 2013
Tags: Long wearing, Buildable
This is by far the BEST foundation I have ever used I am 45 and have tried a ton. I have rosacea and large pores and this makeup gives me even full coverage and does not clog pores or make my pores look large. LOVE THIS STUFF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
+42points
43of 44found this review helpful.
PHHHHHH
Location: San Antonio
Review 2 for Studio Tech
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Darkskin love!
Date:December 27, 2013
Tags: Long wearing, Oil control, Buildable, day to day
After years of looking for foundation to match my reddish brown skin tone, I finally found MAC. Their specialist just LOOKED at me and matched me perfectly for foundation and concealer. My skin finally looks like mine--not weird, patchy, or muddy. I wish more companies understood brown skin like this.
I've been wearing this for about 8 years now, and I truly appreciate that a company has taken the time to figure it out. Everyone in my family wears MAC and we are all shades. Don't hesitate, get one of their people to match you up and you will look great and feel great. Oh, and do not underestimate the power of a MAC brush! I can't say enough.
As far as the product goes, I have oily skin, so the water base is super helpful. Like all foundations--if I'm having an oily day it will get on my papers, so be careful. Fortunately--unlike other foundations, I have an easy time washing it out.
I find the department stores are easiest to shop at--the MAC stores are always crowded--good for them, bad for me.
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
AnitaP
Location: Chicago
Review 3 for Studio Tech
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
NOT Impressed
Date:January 12, 2011
This foundation fell short of my expectations. I think the salesperson pushed for me to purchase this one in particular to sell me the brush set too (for the foundation brush). :-/
I wanted a foundation with a little more than light coverage, but didn't want something that would dry out my skin either, which the cream-type foundations I've noticed tend to do. Against my better judgment, I purchased this foundation and was disappointed after using it.
The foundation gave my face a finish that looked decent for about an hour. Despite having only a few fine lines and a normal complexion, after just an hour or so, I noticed it settling into fine lines and looking not-so-fresh. It did not have good oil control. I felt like I needed to apply powder more often throughout the day when I wore it, but at the same time it made my skin feel dry (if that makes any sense at all). The applicator sponge does not apply or blend the foundation well at all. That is why I used the MAC foundation brush to apply it and still...blah. And if that wasn't enough, because it's a cream foundation, it lasted me just a few weeks and that's even with using the foundation brush (which tends to use less because it buffs the foundation into the skin) !
For over $30 after tax, that's a high price to pay for such a miniscule amount of poor performance foundation. SAVE YOUR MONEY.
I switched to the MAC Pro Longwear, which is perfection!
+16points
23of 30found this review helpful.
CJRBMH
Location: Houston
Review 4 for Studio Tech
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
It ends here
Date:February 17, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Oil control, Buildable, Full Coverage
After years of searching, I've found the Holy Grail of foundation. I researched a lot when looking for a fuller coverage foundation that wouldn't break me out. Read a lot of great reviews and bought it. Wow! amazing! It goes on like perfection and stays on my oily skin for about 8 hours without budging. And NO breakouts. I use a foundation brush to apply so there's no mess. I use the little sponge that came inside for touch ups after a long day. You can build this up but I find one coat and then focusing on problem areas is enough for me without looking heavy. Please don't hesitate to try because you'll love it. Soooooo happy.
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
NC828
Location: nC
Review 5 for Studio Tech
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Awesome Coverage
Date:February 12, 2014
Tags: Moisturizing, Buildable, dry skin
This product is really good for dry skin and if you are looking for a creamy foundation. Before using this foundation I had really dry cheeks and flakey skin but the Studio tech is super moist and is easy to put on. No more flakey dry looking skin! Once you apply this foundation your skin looks instantly smooth. Finish with a loose powder and it stays on all day. Love it!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Renae
Location: Phx,AZ
Review 6 for Studio Tech
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Best foundation I've ever used.
Date:December 8, 2010
Tags: Moisturizing, Oil control, Long wearing, acne-prone skin
I have extremely sensitive, blotchy, acne-prone skin. I have tried so many other foundations and have wasted so much time & money until I found Studio Tech. At first I was nervous to use a pan make-up because I have not had pleasant results with others in the past. But I have now been using Studio Tech for four consecutive years and it has never caused me to break out. It's so smooth & soft and blends amazingly well. It has just the right amount of coverage I need to make my skin look even and it never looks cakey. It is neither drying or oily. If you tend to break out easily, I highly recommend Studio Tech. I also always buy the extra Studio Tech sponges and use a new one every so often. It lasts all day. I absolutely love it.
+17points
18of 19found this review helpful.
pirategirl
Location: USA
Review 7 for Studio Tech
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Love It!
Date:March 30, 2011
Tags: Long wearing, Buildable, daily and special event use
As a Black woman, I can tell you finding the right foundation is very difficult. A friend recommended MAC Studio Tech to me a few years ago and I've never looked back. Not a month goes by that I don't receive a compliment on how beautiful and flawless my skin looks.
This is the best foundation I have ever used. I HIGHLY recommend it, particularly to African-American women.
+15points
16of 17found this review helpful.
Cakelady
Location: Florida
Review 8 for Studio Tech
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
amazing product
Date:June 10, 2013
Tags: Long wearing, Moisturizing, Buildable
Lately I hav been suffering from hormonal acne. I was in need of a full coverage foundation. I found this and I fell in love. I use my beauty blender or stippling brush to apply. A little bit goes a long way. It covers flawlessly.I'm almost done with my compact and I def plan to repurchase :)
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
StringBeans
Location: Florida
Review 9 for Studio Tech
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
L.O.V.E.
Date:January 3, 2014
Tags: Buildable
Love this foundation! I am a no muss no fuss person. I have to have a foundation where I can swipe on, blend and run and this is it! I dont *have to* use a concealer with this.. the coverage is buildable where I need a little extra help.
I dont use the sponge, I use clean clean clean fingers to apply.
+5points
7of 9found this review helpful.
Nanette
Location: Irvine CA
Review 10 for Studio Tech
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Flawless Application
Date:March 5, 2011
Tags: Long wearing, Moisturizing, Oil control, Buildable, a flawless finish
I have tried Studio Fix Plus, and Pro Longwear, both are great, but this to me is excellent. The coverage is flawless and matte. I couldn't stop looking in the mirror. I'm looking for the perfect foundation for my makeup kit for brides, and I believe I have found it. It does not feel heavy to me at all. I apply if with the #130 brush and I take the sponge in the compact to wipe off the excess, and then it's flawless and smooth. I believe that it would photograph well as it it advertised. My blush and other makeup seemed to show up better also. I will be getting more colors for my kit. When you first put it one it may seem heavy, but wipe off the top layer with a sponge, and then give it time to settle, you will be happy.
+9points
10of 11found this review helpful.
CandySweets
Location: Columbia, MD
Review 11 for Studio Tech
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
doesn't crease or sink into lines
Date:February 21, 2013
Tags: Long wearing, Buildable
My shade is NW20. I am a 48 yr old woman with fair skin and fine lines. I apply after moisturizing and priming my face. i use the MAC stippling brush. This lasts and lasts, won't 'slide' off your face and when applied properly using the stippling brush, gives a flawless look. I use fix plus to set my foundation and can wear this for hours upon end (overseas flights, working night shift) and it stays in place without sinking into the fine lines around my eyes, mouth, and the '11' brow crease. My skin type is normal. This also does not transfer when used with the setting spray. this is just a great foundation.
+7points
8of 9found this review helpful.
tunisianswife
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Review 12 for Studio Tech
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
the worst makeup i have ever tried
Date:September 22, 2011
Tags: no one!
I have no idea who would like this makeup. I bought it thinking that it would do at least some of the things they claim it does...Sure, it feels nice going on but you can't blend it, you can see every pore on your face clogged with makeup instead of "disappearing", and the coverage is so minimal you may as well be wearing nothing. Also, you can't even set it with powder to blend it or set it, it just makes your powder brush all nasty.
I love MAC and have for years, this is the only product i have ever tried from MAC that was truly disappointing. Don't waste your money! Get StudioFix FLuid! IT's the best!!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
NurseJody
Location: Fraser Valley, BC, CAN
Review 13 for Studio Tech
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Holy grail
Date:March 8, 2013
Tags: Long wearing, Moisturizing, Oil control, Buildable
I have never written a review before but I just had to write one about this product. I absolutely adore this foundation...it is perfect! I have never got more compliments on my face then when I wear this foundation. I have tried so many foundations and none compare to this. Flawless finish. TRY IT!
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Tayy
Location: PA
Review 14 for Studio Tech
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Medeocre
Date:December 7, 2010
Tags: Long wearing, Moisturizing, Buildable, convenience
I wanted to try something different in the form of a compact from MAC. Usually I use studio fix powder & love it. This on the other hand is only okay. I find it very difficult to blend and the applicator sponge it comes with doesn't work well with it at all. I find I have to use so much product to get a good consistent blend or coverage. I probably won't buy it again.
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Linny
Location: Toronto
Review 15 for Studio Tech
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Different is Good
Date:August 25, 2014
I have oily skin and this foundation holds up even with all that going on. It is different from any foundation I have ever tried. I really like it. It doesn't seem to clog my pores and cause acne.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Evergreen
Location: Nacogdoches, TX
Review 16 for Studio Tech
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Wonderful For African American Women
Date:February 16, 2012
Tags: Long wearing, Oil control, Buildable
Before buying this product, I read a lot of the reviews, and I noticed that there were some who thought that this product was too heavy. I found this not to be in my case. I love it. It gives me a full coverage look, that is totally flawless. After taking a few pics, I didn't even need to airbrush them! Now, that says quite a bit. It didn't feel heavy, as it had sort of a cooling effect while placing it on. It wears for a long time without needing a touch up, and it gives me a natural look. I have had several people already who have asked me where did I purchase it. I love it, and this is now my foundation of choice. I've tried all the types of foundations that MAC carries, and this by far is the greatest.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
MrsMitch2
Location: Kansas City, Kansas
Review 17 for Studio Tech
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
LOVE
Date:November 29, 2013
Tags: Full Coverage
LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE. This foundation is amazing. So creamy and beautiful! Finish it off with a powder and wow. Skin looks flawless. The ONLY problem I have with this is that after a few hours my skin gets very oily with this product. I have to touch it up with some more powder but after just one touch up its good for the rest of the day. I have oily skin to begin with so this foundation doesn't really help with that… but otherwise love this product.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Clarissaaaaaa
Location: Montana
Review 18 for Studio Tech
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Wanted to like it, but...
Date:May 27, 2013
This foundation on me was SO cakey. I gave it two stars because the color was perfect. However, that was where the perfection ended.
I'm getting married in a month and asked a MAC artist at Saks what she recommended for foundation, as I'm doing my own makeup. She warned me to stay away from Studio Fix Fluid (my go-to) and Studio Sculpt and suggested the reformulated Mineralize fluid or the Studio Tech. I've always been on the fence with Mineralize, and when I came home and read the reviews on the reformulation I decided to stay away.
I'd never tried Studio Tech so I figured I'd give it a shot. I'm a pretty true NC20, but I'm always worried about matching. Like I said before, no problems there. My problems lie here:
I have combo/oily skin. The area down and out from the corners of my nose to the corners of my mouth (above my smile lines) always dries out. Studio Tech is like a magnet to this area as the day goes on. It slides, and then just sits there...but in an odd way. It feels greasy but looks cakey. The area in between my eyebrows is the same way: Feels greasy, looks cakey. I've tried with and without primer and I always set with Mineralize Natural Skinfinish. I've tried applying with a beauty blender, different brushes, and my fingers. Nothing is working for me. Unfortunately, this is going back.
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
CarliJo
Location: Ravenna, Ohio
Review 19 for Studio Tech
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
did not last
Date:November 16, 2013
Tags: Buildable
I like this product because it looks good and I like being able to put in on with a sponge that is in the compact. However, I WILL NEVER BUY IT AGAIN! I have had it a month and it is almost used up! The foundation makeup that I have bought in the past cost much less and lasted for months and months! The cost of this is $31 and MAC does not make refills (which I might have bought, depending on the cost). If I continue to use this make up it will cost me approx. $300/year!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
DBF1
Location: baltimore
Review 20 for Studio Tech
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Excellent
Date:August 10, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Moisturizing, Buildable
I am 55 years old and been wearing Chanel and Dior foundations for the last 10 years. My sister in law turned me on to Mac and I am hooked on this foundation. It offers full or sheer coverage depending on what you need and looks so natural. And the price is right compared to what I've worn in the past!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Lisager15
Location: Massachusetts
1-20 of 122 reviews