Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Pigment

Average Customer Rating:
4.787 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (80 reviews)
5 stars
68
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews for Pigment
Review 1 for Pigment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Amazing!
Date:August 28, 2012
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, eyeshadow, eyeliner, lips, cheeks, body, nails, mascara, mixing
I only have 5 of these, but they're incredible. They have so many uses, and I really love a versatile product! They make amazing eye shadows, or custom eye liner with a mixing medium (or even just patted on top of some Glitter Glue from another cosmetic company). You can create your own nail polishes or lip glosses; some shades make excellent cheekbone highlighters. You can mix a little into some hand cream, and sparkle up your shoulders and decolletage! It's as if the options never end! Even better: the duochromes change color if you apply them over dark bases. Blue Brown turns green on top of a black base, and Frozen White turns blue! I'm sad they decreased the size significantly and raised the price, but I'm still going to buy more because the product is simply that amazing, and even the smaller jars will last forever. DO NOT THROW OUT THE PLASTIC LID UNDER THE SCREW CAP!! You can use that to mix the pigment with gloss or other mediums, or simply use it to get the pigment on your brush. I only wish there were more of these--at least there is a rather nice selection in the Pro collection. If you're not a Pro, Google those colors because you can call any Pro store and order those, too!
+41points
45of 49found this review helpful.
Ruca
Location: San Francisco
Review 2 for Pigment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Pigments Create 3D color
Date:January 2, 2012
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, 3d layering over paint pots
I have used pigments for years and one way that I use them and find that I turn heads and have people ask how I created such depth of color is to layer colored pigments over top of colored paint pots. So for example I will use Push The Edge ( dark purple pigment ) over top of Half Wild ( medium purple paint pot) in the crease where the paint pot blends out just beyond the edges of where I put the pigment on top. This creates a very 3 dimensional look. It works with any color of pigment and paint pot, so long as the paint pot is lighter than the pigment. You put the paint pot in the crease creating the smokey eye and then in the areas that are the darkest, you place the darker pigment. I know it sounds confusing but it works beautifully. Essentially it is just layering a darker color over a slightly lighter one in the crease but when you do that you are using different products for the colors. I hope at least someone will be able to find this helpful. I love M.A.C. I use every and all products, but I am partial to pigments because of the color power they pack.
+72points
75of 78found this review helpful.
3DEyes
Location: Saskatchewan
Review 3 for Pigment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Shade: Naked
Date:December 28, 2013
This product is amazing and lasts forever. I use it to highlight across the brow, under eyes, and down the nose and then use bronzer at temples, under cheekbones and tip of nose, and scalenes down neck. I am in my 40's and people constantly comment on my glowing healthy skin and fabulous bone structure. Both are do to playing artist with your products!
+26points
29of 32found this review helpful.
LanaM
Location: Ohio
Review 4 for Pigment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
ways to use the pigment
Date:December 1, 2011
Tags: Bold Color
I never used to wear pigments until i started working for MAC now Im addicted. Best way to use them is to first apply paint pot and the spray your brush with Fix + get the eye lid wet and then go into the pigment with a dry brush and instead of swipping like a normal shadow it is all about packing and pressing the pigment on the eye. Because they do last so long you can also dump some pigment into a clear nail polish,,,didn't believe it until i tried it, and it works like a charm!
+58points
60of 62found this review helpful.
RubyWoo
Location: Salt Lake City
Review 5 for Pigment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Shade: Blue Brown
A favorite color for years now!
Date:December 29, 2013
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, a punch of color
Blue brown has been one of my favorites for years. It can be worn with a variety of colors and reminds me of one of my favorite gem stones...mystic topaz.
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Mikic2
Location: Houston, TX
Review 6 for Pigment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Very Versatile!
Date:September 8, 2010
Tags: Bold Color, Blendable, Highly pigmented, Crease resistant, eyes lips nails
$19.50 for a 4.5 gram jar packed with possibilities. I am in LOVE with MAC pigments. Like the title says.. they are extremely versatile.. whether you're just looking to use a loose shadow or you want to use it wet to create a more dramatic look. Use a light color dry for a highlight color, or spray some fix + on your brush and use the pigment as a wet color. Grab some clear gloss and mix pigments with it for a unique gloss. Amazing. I have no cons other than their price.. but honestly, you get what you pay for in this instance. I just wish they were a little more inexpensive so I'd be able to expand my collection more frequently. MAC really needs to look into a VIP program. So customers that spend a lot can earn some benefits. Back 2 Mac is a fantastic program.. but maybe something for every $200 you spend. Maybe a point system.
+23points
26of 29found this review helpful.
Kady
Location: Forest, VA
Review 7 for Pigment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Gorgeous!
Date:January 25, 2011
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant, everything
I have about 20 pigments in my collection and for the $19 price you get a LOT of product. I bought my first pigment, Fairylite in 2002/2003 and I still have a bunch left.
Many of these pigments are versatile so you get eyeshadow, lip stain, blush, eyeliner and body shimmer in one packaging.
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
Peacocky
Location: Florida
Review 8 for Pigment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
Best makeup purchase ever
Date:January 25, 2013
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant
I bought a set of these pigments in basic colors last year after I couldn't find really good base halloween pigments. Once I got them I realized their amazing flexibility. If you are good with color mixing, using a basic set of 4-5 pigments, you can create virtually any shade of makeup you want with very small amounts of pigment. I love this because I often end up not using makeup because I tire of the color, or because it goes out of style, and it ends up going to waste. Using these pigments I mix small batches of the shade I want using a MAC mixing medium and palette knife, and store in small round makeup containers you can buy online. So far I have made lipstick, cheek color, eye tints...all manner of all over color.
I definitely recommend setting mixed products with a primer.
Absolutely the very best makeup purchase I have ever made.
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
robins
Review 9 for Pigment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Amazing!
Date:January 21, 2012
Tags: Highly pigmented, everything
This baby does it all! It's just not use on the eyes, you can use it as a
highlight,blush,lip color,foundation,body,nails, and even your hair! I love vanilla pigment you can use it as a highlight on your cheeks,pop this in the middle of your lips when your doing a bold lip -it gives it a nice pop -glow. For your nails just add a clear polish add the pigment, wow! looks amazing. & for your hair you can mix it w.your hair cream products to give your hair a punk look.
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
CindyG
Location: Maryland
Review 10 for Pigment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
AWESOME!
Date:December 10, 2012
Tags: Bold Color, Blendable, Highly pigmented, Crease resistant
While I love the pressed eyeshadows, there's no comparison to the color payoff you get from the MAC pigments. You can use them to create a thin, irredescent layer of color as well build up to the color to a high intensity. You can use this product alone or with a mixing medium to increase the intensity and the length of wear (ie. create a water-resistent effect).
+11points
13of 15found this review helpful.
sahorvat
Location: Red Wing, MN
Review 11 for Pigment
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Versatile and Bold
Date:August 25, 2010
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Crease resistant, base highlighting eyeshadow
I love using pigments wet, that way the color payoff is more vibrant. It's excellent as a base for eyeshadows to give a nice pop of color. I like it dry also but I hate the fallout and it can be messy. TIP: when using dry, do foundaton after eyes. I love that you can use these on cheeks, as eyeliner and even blend with your foundation for a nice highlighter. LOVE!
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Blaze
Location: Inglewood, CA
Review 12 for Pigment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Pigments, my favorite!
Date:September 13, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant, any eyeshadow wearer...
I just received another pigment that I ordered, and as usual, I'm very happy with the product! Although I have way too many eyeshadows (does one ever have enough colors?), I have too many of the pigments, too. However, I would venture to say that too many is never enough. I love the way they look, they have great color intensity (buildable), and are long wearing. I highly recommend this product!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Willie
Location: Fayetteville, NY
Review 13 for Pigment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Hey Anonymous!
Date:February 16, 2011
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant, beautiful eyes
I feel your pain, anonymous! I bought two pigments after viewing the artistry in action video on pigments. I mean, she made it look so easy! The first piece of advice I have is to do your eyes first, because the pigments can flake and get on your cheeks! This is how I use them- basically like regular eyeshadow. I lightly tap the jar and spill just a small amount onto my hand; I use it like a pallette. I use my 242 brush to apply the pigments because this brush doesn't get the color everywhere; it's a very direct application. If I have funky looking lines, I then use my 217 brush to blend, and the look is gorgeous. I am always getting compliments when I use blue brown. The colors are absolutely beautiful, long lasting, and you use so little of it it is totally worth the money. I also use them on my cheeks and lips when I am out for something dramatic. Hope this is helpful!
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Chkfrmoc
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Review 14 for Pigment
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
one of the most versatile products
Date:December 30, 2013
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, pros, good in a pinch
lipgloss, lip paints, nail polish, blush, eyeshadow, eyeliner, mascara, brow color, there isnt anything you cant do with this if you have the right mixing product
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
bexamillion
Review 15 for Pigment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Vanilla is a MUST
Date:May 9, 2012
Tags: Highly pigmented, Blendable, highlighting adding some light sparkle
My business partner just made me buy Vanilla and I did just to have it. I have used it EVERY day since. You can use it as a base, to blend, to create some shine. It is not too severe but you can certainly build it.
It is also amazing for highlighting in the inner corners of your eyes, by the brown bone, unde the outside of your eyes and even the collarbones and shoulders - within reason of course!
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
MLibby9
Location: Danvers, MA
Review 16 for Pigment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Shade: Tan
Perfect
Date:January 1, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable
Obsessed with tan pigment! You can use the pigment for your eyes or even add a pinch to your foundation for an all over glow! I am hooked for life :)
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Megan2733
Location: NY
Review 17 for Pigment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Date:December 27, 2013
I just wanted you to know that I really love the Pigment Colors I purchased. I have
influenced my family to also purchase these colors at a later date.
Doris Day
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Delight
Review 18 for Pigment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Tan and Melon
Date:December 17, 2012
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable
These pigments are the bomb. The tan is my absolute favorite. It is a pretty bronzish pink color with a lot of shine. It is so so pretty! The melon ends up looking more like a yellowish orange on my eyes, but I still love it. They blend well and I will purchase more pigments soon.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
carrollb
Location: Colorado
Review 19 for Pigment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
The best!
Date:March 27, 2012
Tags: Bold Color, Blendable, Highly pigmented, Crease resistant
You can not go wrong with MAC pigments. I have so many of them and tend to mostly use them loose as eye shadows on both myself and clients. I have used them as blush on many occasions and mixing them with a clear lip gloss. They have sooo many uses and there is nothing negative to say about them.
I would suggest using caution and a light hand with them if you are new to loose shadows especially with the brighter or darker shades as they are VERY pigmented.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Missi
Location: Halifax, N.S.
Review 20 for Pigment
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love pigments but wish for the 7.5g ones!
Date:August 23, 2010
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant
I love MAC pigments! They are the best thing ever! Although I do wish that the 4.5g ones didn't exist and wish for the 7.5g ones to come back since there are people that have actually finished the entire jar of pigment that they use on the daily basis. I hope that MAC does bring back the 7.5g jars back soon!
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Jacquelyn
Location: San Antonio, Texas
1-20 of 80 reviews