Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Eye Shadow

Average Customer Rating:
4.719 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (342 reviews)
5 stars
271
4 stars
53
3 stars
12
2 stars
5
1 star
1
Customer Reviews for Eye Shadow
Review 1 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Shade: Malt
Love
Date:July 26, 2014
Tags: Blendable, Crease resistant
I'm 70 and these eyeshadows work great for my old crepe-y eyes. The colors are so natural. I can't imagine how fabulous these are on a 30 or 40 year old.
+100points
107of 114found this review helpful.
Jorjagal
Location: Atlanta
Review 2 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Stays on and worth the price!
Date:December 19, 2011
Tags: Bold Color, Blendable, Highly pigmented, Crease resistant, your eyelids duh.
I have always been a buyer of cheap drug store cosmetics until I started coming to the MAC counter to get the pro longwear lipstick and for years that was the only thing I bought from them. One day, however, a certain shade of eyeshadow caught my eye and I bought it. (though that voice in my head was going $15!?!? seriously?!?!)
Well, I took it home and started wearing it and I noticed from the first time that it didn't fade the way my other ones always do. Later when the summer time came and I was working in a hot room and sweating I noticed that the eyeshadow still looked like I just put it on at the end of the day. When put on over the paint pots as a base you can actually have sweat or water roll down your eyelid and take a dry towel or tissue and just blot it dry real quick and IT STILL LOOKS GOOD!!
I gradually started replacing all my drugstore eyeshadows with these from MAC. One day I was swatching them all on the back of my hand and then I had to go off and do dishes... after submerging my hands completely in warm water the eyeshadows were still on the back of my hand!! I had to put soap directly on them and rub a little before they came off - but this impressed me enough that now I don't think anything of paying $15 for these guys.
+172points
180of 188found this review helpful.
Luci
Location: Portland OR
Review 3 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Shade: Kid
So Sorry to see it go!
Date:August 28, 2014
Tags: Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant, natural looks and beginners
Kid is one of the most under- rated eyeshadows ever. I have used Kid with every shade of colors on clients. It's wonderful on all
skin tones. Its blendable,long lasting and perfect as a base, it's great on crepey eyelids and opens small eyes for a natural look. Best with browns for matte and muted looks, natural no makeup looks. Great for teens and beginners to work with for starter kits.Get this while you can its a must have to be discovered again.
+28points
31of 34found this review helpful.
SHAINEYBABY1
Location: WORLD TRAVELER
Review 4 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Shade: Plumage
Goes on easily and smoothly
Date:January 12, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, everyone
I've been using the Yogurt shade for many years as a base. I decided to try the Plumage and it is perfect. I could never find intense colors that weren't iridescent. I am a senior and sparkly eye shadows just don't work on crepe like skin.
+58points
65of 72found this review helpful.
funwalker
Location: Westminster MD
Review 5 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great Quality
Date:August 25, 2010
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant
I like the MAC shadows due to their great quality: they are easy to blend, most of them have a nice colour pay off and they are crease and even water/sweat resistant (believe me, i was running about 5 miles while wearing MAC shadows and thought that they must have been sweaten away, but they just stayed in place! Plus I was not wearing any base that day.)
I have tried a lot of finishes and I like the frost/veluxe pearl finish and the matte/matte squared finish most for an evening eye, and the satin finish for an everyday eye. I don't like the lustre finish at all.
The Lustres are chunky and hardly have any colour pay off, they just give your eye a glittery look, but they are easy to blend. In my oppinion they are nothing special and because of their chunkiness I don't buy lustres anymore.
The Velvets are easy to blend, but again do not appear opaque on your eye, but in contrast to the lustres they are not chunky at all. I recommend you going to a mac counter/store and swatch the colour to be sure if it is the right choice. Actually I only buy velvets if I really fell in love with the colour.
The Frosts are really opaque and shimmery. These colours appear on your eye as same as they do in the pan. They are also very easy to blend.
The Veluxe Pearls are almost as same as the frosts, with the difference that they are a little bit more powdery than the frosts, but again they are highly pigmented, easy to blend and shimmery.
The Mattes are ,as the name already says, matte. They are usually very opaque (even higher pigmented than frosts or veluxe pearls) only lighter colours are not as opaque as the darker colours (even higher pigmented than frosts or veluxe pearls), but the darker shades are harder to blend.
The Matte squared ones are almost as same as the Matte ones, but they are easier to blend. These are also incredibly pigmented.
The Satin finish gives you a medium coverage with a little bit of shimmer. These colours are easy to blend and feel very smooth, "satiny" on your eyelid.
I hope I was able to give you an honest review about all of the finishes I have worked with but this is just my personal taste and it may differ from yours.
+36points
39of 42found this review helpful.
theruthie
Location: Germany
Review 6 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Shade: Trax
Fantastic product!
Date:June 26, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant, everyday wear
I love these eye shadows! They are definitely my new favorite. I get no fallout, which is really important to me. I use a paint pot as a primer/base and then use the eyeshadow on top. I get brilliant, crease-proof color that stays in place all day. I haven't tried to sleep in the stuff yet but I certainly don't have to worry about my eyeshadow from early morning till late night when I remove my makeup. I also love the selection of colors. I am fair skinned, blond and have green eyes and I have been using "Trax" alone on the lid for an everyday look and it makes my green eyes pop with color as well making them look more open and bright. I like to use this color when I want a soft, subtle look.
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
tkreitz1
Location: Southwestern MI
Review 7 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great product!
Date:December 26, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant, eyes
I have been using MAC for over 10 years, and their eyeshadow is TOP NOTCH. A few of my favorites: Soft Brown, Satin Taupe, Nylon, Shroom, Coppering, and Woodwinked. You can't go wrong!! I highly recommend investing in one of the pro palettes, and buying the refill pans, makes it much easier to have all of your single eyeshadows in one place to reach for them!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
shellbelle1027
Location: Boynton Beach, FL
Review 8 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Shade: Aquadisiac
aquadisiac is just as the name
Date:December 29, 2014
Tags: Highly pigmented, Blendable
perfect light blueish green that is pigmented and great for a lot of looks
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
stoneystars
Location: south orange county
Review 9 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Soft and creamy
Date:February 22, 2015
Tags: Highly pigmented, Blendable
The mac eyeshadows are super pigmented and soft. And I love the rabge of colors, and all the finishes, my favorites are the VXP, Satin and Matte.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
BrunaBraga
Location: Brazil
Review 10 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Shade: Amber Lights
Beautiful gold tone
Date:January 21, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant, quality product
Love anmber lights. It was the first of a few colors I ever bought from MAC years ago and I still have it. It's so color rich I only use a little but that little goes along way. It seems to go well with my hazel/light-brown eye color and skin tone. I can use it with purples or turquiose colors. Love it! I also love how MAC's colors don't sit in those little creases starting to form around my eyes...very high quality stuff. Thanks MAC!
+17points
21of 25found this review helpful.
SearchingforRed
Location: Houston, Texas
Review 11 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Worth the wait
Date:February 12, 2015
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Crease resistant, anyone who wants a dramatic evening look
Strike while haute was sold out in US so I had to wait till it became available online. I bought it as soon as it did. It is gorgeous red matte and it looks great on Indian complexion. I was wary of trying the matt red color but this one is absolutely gorgeous. I am so happy that MAX came out with this dramatic colored eye shadow. Couldn't be happier. LOVE MAC!!!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Pooja
Location: New York
Review 12 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Shade: Malt
great neutral color
Date:February 13, 2015
Tags: Blendable, neutral
Great neutral color, malt, and easy to build and blend. I use for every day wear
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
beansu11
Location: maryland
Review 13 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Shade: All That Glitters
Very close to Bliss!
Date:September 30, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant, everything, everyday, beautiful
I have been sad that they don't have Bliss anymore. I have a little left in the old pot that screws open. ATG on me is very close. I am very glad I bought it. I give it 5 stars.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
JAZZZ
Location: Denver
Review 14 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Shade: Nylon
Best eye shadow out there!
Date:July 13, 2013
Tags: Bold Color, Blendable, everyday every moment!
I've tried wearing other eye shadows but they don't last as long as MAC. It's my GO TO!
+16points
19of 22found this review helpful.
Sheeeeeeeeeeenna
Location: Aspen, CO
Review 15 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Shade: Stars N' Rockets
love this lid color
Date:December 29, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant
dark neon pink at is buildable bright :)
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
stoneystars
Location: south orange county
Review 16 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Shade: All That Glitters
All that glitters!
Date:April 9, 2014
Tags: Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant, natural look, neutrals
I just purchased 'All That Glitters' and it is by far my favorite shadow I have ever bought. It is a neutral tone, but it still has some pop to it and the glitter really makes my eyes pop. I love that it's not boring and has that little 'oomph' to it!
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
catlady1490
Location: Minneapolis
Review 17 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Shade: Ricepaper
Rice Paper Eye shadow
Date:April 22, 2014
Tags: Highly pigmented, brow bone
Great shadow for a highlight on your brow bone just love this color so much
+5points
8of 11found this review helpful.
Nikki81
Location: Texas
Review 18 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Beautiful Colors!
Date:December 14, 2010
Tags: Bold Color, Blendable
I love all of the shadows they have i usually try to buy a couple a month and all of the limited edition ones! If used with a concealer you wont get he crease effect!
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
TinkLee
Location: Washington, DC
Review 19 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Shade: All That Glitters
Everyday perfection
Date:May 11, 2014
Tags: Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant, eyes, sparkle
"All That Glitters" is my must have shade. Great for everyday wear at work, or blend it with darker shades for a night out. Love this eyeshadow!
+4points
6of 8found this review helpful.
Kelleymae
Location: California
Review 20 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Shade: Soft Brown
Shade: Soft Brown
Date:June 22, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant, eyeshadow: soft gentle color for neutralizng, eyelid area.
Over the years, I've purchased very many shades and I love them all. 'Soft Brown' is my go to everyday shade. For reference I have NC40 skin in the winter and tan up to NC44 in the summer. This shade is perfect on top of 'Painterly Pot'. It creates a perect base for other eyeshadows and works perfectly well by itself, on top of 'Painterly'. 'Soft Brown' is basically my skintone. For anyone with my skintone, you got to have it. Its one of those neutral colors, that will probably work for everyone.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Devine
Location: Fresno
1-20 of 339 reviews