Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Eye Shadow

Average Customer Rating:
4.698 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (288 reviews)
5 stars
224
4 stars
48
3 stars
10
2 stars
5
1 star
1
Customer Reviews for Eye Shadow
Review 1 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Shade: Plumage
Goes on easily and smoothly
Date:January 12, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, everyone
I've been using the Yogurt shade for many years as a base. I decided to try the Plumage and it is perfect. I could never find intense colors that weren't iridescent. I am a senior and sparkly eye shadows just don't work on crepe like skin.
+15points
16of 17found this review helpful.
funwalker
Location: Westminster MD
Review 2 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Stays on and worth the price!
Date:December 19, 2011
Tags: Bold Color, Blendable, Highly pigmented, Crease resistant, your eyelids duh.
I have always been a buyer of cheap drug store cosmetics until I started coming to the MAC counter to get the pro longwear lipstick and for years that was the only thing I bought from them. One day, however, a certain shade of eyeshadow caught my eye and I bought it. (though that voice in my head was going $15!?!? seriously?!?!)
Well, I took it home and started wearing it and I noticed from the first time that it didn't fade the way my other ones always do. Later when the summer time came and I was working in a hot room and sweating I noticed that the eyeshadow still looked like I just put it on at the end of the day. When put on over the paint pots as a base you can actually have sweat or water roll down your eyelid and take a dry towel or tissue and just blot it dry real quick and IT STILL LOOKS GOOD!!
I gradually started replacing all my drugstore eyeshadows with these from MAC. One day I was swatching them all on the back of my hand and then I had to go off and do dishes... after submerging my hands completely in warm water the eyeshadows were still on the back of my hand!! I had to put soap directly on them and rub a little before they came off - but this impressed me enough that now I don't think anything of paying $15 for these guys.
+48points
49of 50found this review helpful.
Luci
Location: Portland OR
Review 3 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Shade: Amber Lights
Beautiful gold tone
Date:January 21, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant, quality product
Love anmber lights. It was the first of a few colors I ever bought from MAC years ago and I still have it. It's so color rich I only use a little but that little goes along way. It seems to go well with my hazel/light-brown eye color and skin tone. I can use it with purples or turquiose colors. Love it! I also love how MAC's colors don't sit in those little creases starting to form around my eyes...very high quality stuff. Thanks MAC!
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
SearchingforRed
Location: Houston, Texas
Review 4 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Shade: Nylon
Best eye shadow out there!
Date:July 13, 2013
Tags: Bold Color, Blendable, everyday every moment!
I've tried wearing other eye shadows but they don't last as long as MAC. It's my GO TO!
+15points
17of 19found this review helpful.
Sheeeeeeeeeeenna
Location: Aspen, CO
Review 5 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Shade: Satin Taupe
Beautiful color that lasts all day
Date:April 19, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant
I love this color. It goes nicely with almost everything. I use a paint pot under it (bare study) and then the satin taupe eye shadow over it and it lasts all day long, no need to re-apply.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
MaryJ
Location: Jenks, OK
Review 6 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great Quality
Date:August 25, 2010
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant
I like the MAC shadows due to their great quality: they are easy to blend, most of them have a nice colour pay off and they are crease and even water/sweat resistant (believe me, i was running about 5 miles while wearing MAC shadows and thought that they must have been sweaten away, but they just stayed in place! Plus I was not wearing any base that day.)
I have tried a lot of finishes and I like the frost/veluxe pearl finish and the matte/matte squared finish most for an evening eye, and the satin finish for an everyday eye. I don't like the lustre finish at all.
The Lustres are chunky and hardly have any colour pay off, they just give your eye a glittery look, but they are easy to blend. In my oppinion they are nothing special and because of their chunkiness I don't buy lustres anymore.
The Velvets are easy to blend, but again do not appear opaque on your eye, but in contrast to the lustres they are not chunky at all. I recommend you going to a mac counter/store and swatch the colour to be sure if it is the right choice. Actually I only buy velvets if I really fell in love with the colour.
The Frosts are really opaque and shimmery. These colours appear on your eye as same as they do in the pan. They are also very easy to blend.
The Veluxe Pearls are almost as same as the frosts, with the difference that they are a little bit more powdery than the frosts, but again they are highly pigmented, easy to blend and shimmery.
The Mattes are ,as the name already says, matte. They are usually very opaque (even higher pigmented than frosts or veluxe pearls) only lighter colours are not as opaque as the darker colours (even higher pigmented than frosts or veluxe pearls), but the darker shades are harder to blend.
The Matte squared ones are almost as same as the Matte ones, but they are easier to blend. These are also incredibly pigmented.
The Satin finish gives you a medium coverage with a little bit of shimmer. These colours are easy to blend and feel very smooth, "satiny" on your eyelid.
I hope I was able to give you an honest review about all of the finishes I have worked with but this is just my personal taste and it may differ from yours.
+19points
22of 25found this review helpful.
theruthie
Location: Germany
Review 7 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Shade: Cork
Cork
Date:July 7, 2013
Tags: Blendable, Crease resistant, any one who likes natural makeup
I love this color its a very natural/nuetral color. It's easy to blend. Works very well very light on skin.
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
kisskissxox
Location: in the world
Review 8 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Shade: Sable
SABLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Date:December 19, 2013
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, any skin tone, long-lasting
AMAZING COLOR! SABLE GO SABLE! i totally recommend this color, it goes with any skintype/skincolor. Anyone could wear this and it goes with any makeup look and/or outfit. My first MAC eyeshadow, or should i say.. product! TOTALLY RECOMMEND SABLE!!!!!!!!!! SABLE SABLE SABLE SABLE SABLE SABLE
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
makeupbyerin
Location: New Jersey
Review 9 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Shade: All That Glitters
All that glitters!
Date:April 9, 2014
Tags: Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant, natural look, neutrals
I just purchased 'All That Glitters' and it is by far my favorite shadow I have ever bought. It is a neutral tone, but it still has some pop to it and the glitter really makes my eyes pop. I love that it's not boring and has that little 'oomph' to it!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
catlady1490
Location: Minneapolis
Review 10 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Shade: Blackberry
set and go
Date:April 9, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant
this goes on very soft and smooth and last a very long time. I do use the pro pot under my shadow to keep it set even longer. 50 and lovin it!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Mrsfixit2
Location: midwest
Review 11 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Shade: Smut
youe want smoky eyes
Date:April 10, 2014
Tags: Blendable, smoky eyes
i bought a color called smutt and ti gave my eyes a nice look like asupper model
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
cuttie
Location: fairburn
Review 12 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Shade: Vanilla
Vanilla is classic and long-lasting!
Date:March 30, 2014
Tags: Blendable, Crease resistant
This shade is a perfect base color for all skin tones and has a matt finish which is great for over 50 eyes. You can add other colors to the crease for depth - or to the lid for color - then take your finger and press the vanilla in the center of the lid for added pizazz. Lasts all day - even through my evening Jazzercise!!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
trainergirl
Location: Erie, Pa.
Review 13 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Beautiful Colors!
Date:December 14, 2010
Tags: Bold Color, Blendable
I love all of the shadows they have i usually try to buy a couple a month and all of the limited edition ones! If used with a concealer you wont get he crease effect!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
TinkLee
Location: Washington, DC
Review 14 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Shade: Expensive Pink
Very pretty
Date:March 20, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Blendable, Crease resistant, anytime
I kind of took a chance on this shade and I am not disappointed. I wasn't sure about the pink with my skin tone but it works. This is a very beautiful and versatile shade. You can use it to compliment other colors or make it your primary color. It makes my blue eyes pop. I can't wait to wear it in the summer when I am tanned.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
mrshill
Location: canada
Review 15 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
Amazing
Date:January 9, 2014
I've been wearing this makeup for as long as I could remember. Wearing and learning how to put makeup on using MAC is the reason for me going to cosmetology school!
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
DanaC
Location: New Jersey
Review 16 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Shade: Blackberry
Love it!!!
Date:March 1, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant
I love Mac eye shadows! There are so many colors to choose from and they are all high pigmented. I never get creases with Mac eye shadows. I also like that it blends easily. It stays on all day for me. I have used lots of different eye shadows and these are my favorite.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Amber84
Location: Myrtle Beach, S.C
Review 17 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Shade: Shroom
Long Lasting
Date:February 21, 2014
Tags: Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant
This shadow has beautiful matte colors. It stays out of the crease and lasts all day.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
tmbrown
Location: florida
Review 18 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Satin Taupe-My first MAC purchase
Date:March 21, 2013
Tags: Highly pigmented, Blendable
This is my first MAC purchase. For years, I had been searching for an eyeshadow to replace Covergirl's Tapestry Taupe eyeshadow. I found what I was looking for in MAC's Satin Taupe. It's a soft, neutral brown shade with a suble hint of shimmer. I applied it with a sponge-tip applicator and it blended across my eyelids beautifully. My only complaint is that I was expecting for the container to be a little larger than it was.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
adh1006
Location: MS
Review 19 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
The best eyeshadow ever!!
Date:February 16, 2014
Tags: Blendable, Crease resistant
This was my first eye shadow purchase from MAC and I have to say this product is fabulous! The coverage is great and goes on smoothly. I will be buying more for sure!!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
sonhopson
Location: Tennessee
Review 20 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Best eyeshadows ever made
Date:March 16, 2012
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant, high quality
After discovery MAC eyeshadows 3 years ago, I now only use them! No other brand can compare! MAC has the most pigmented and vivid colors! You can create from a simple neutral and elegant look to an elaborate colorful eye make-up. I love MAC and honestly cannot live without their eyeshadows!!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Jmlm92
Location: PA
1-20 of 286 reviews