Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Eye Shadow

Average Customer Rating:
4.717 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (325 reviews)
5 stars
258
4 stars
49
3 stars
12
2 stars
5
1 star
1
Customer Reviews for Eye Shadow
Review 1 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Shade: Malt
Love
Date:July 26, 2014
Tags: Blendable, Crease resistant
I'm 70 and these eyeshadows work great for my old crepe-y eyes. The colors are so natural. I can't imagine how fabulous these are on a 30 or 40 year old.
+40points
42of 44found this review helpful.
Jorjagal
Location: Atlanta
Review 2 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Stays on and worth the price!
Date:December 19, 2011
Tags: Bold Color, Blendable, Highly pigmented, Crease resistant, your eyelids duh.
I have always been a buyer of cheap drug store cosmetics until I started coming to the MAC counter to get the pro longwear lipstick and for years that was the only thing I bought from them. One day, however, a certain shade of eyeshadow caught my eye and I bought it. (though that voice in my head was going $15!?!? seriously?!?!)
Well, I took it home and started wearing it and I noticed from the first time that it didn't fade the way my other ones always do. Later when the summer time came and I was working in a hot room and sweating I noticed that the eyeshadow still looked like I just put it on at the end of the day. When put on over the paint pots as a base you can actually have sweat or water roll down your eyelid and take a dry towel or tissue and just blot it dry real quick and IT STILL LOOKS GOOD!!
I gradually started replacing all my drugstore eyeshadows with these from MAC. One day I was swatching them all on the back of my hand and then I had to go off and do dishes... after submerging my hands completely in warm water the eyeshadows were still on the back of my hand!! I had to put soap directly on them and rub a little before they came off - but this impressed me enough that now I don't think anything of paying $15 for these guys.
+122points
127of 132found this review helpful.
Luci
Location: Portland OR
Review 3 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Shade: Plumage
Goes on easily and smoothly
Date:January 12, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, everyone
I've been using the Yogurt shade for many years as a base. I decided to try the Plumage and it is perfect. I could never find intense colors that weren't iridescent. I am a senior and sparkly eye shadows just don't work on crepe like skin.
+44points
49of 54found this review helpful.
funwalker
Location: Westminster MD
Review 4 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Shade: Kid
So Sorry to see it go!
Date:August 28, 2014
Tags: Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant, natural looks and beginners
Kid is one of the most under- rated eyeshadows ever. I have used Kid with every shade of colors on clients. It's wonderful on all
skin tones. Its blendable,long lasting and perfect as a base, it's great on crepey eyelids and opens small eyes for a natural look. Best with browns for matte and muted looks, natural no makeup looks. Great for teens and beginners to work with for starter kits.Get this while you can its a must have to be discovered again.
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
SHAINEYBABY1
Location: WORLD TRAVELER
Review 5 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Shade: Amber Lights
Beautiful gold tone
Date:January 21, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant, quality product
Love anmber lights. It was the first of a few colors I ever bought from MAC years ago and I still have it. It's so color rich I only use a little but that little goes along way. It seems to go well with my hazel/light-brown eye color and skin tone. I can use it with purples or turquiose colors. Love it! I also love how MAC's colors don't sit in those little creases starting to form around my eyes...very high quality stuff. Thanks MAC!
+16points
19of 22found this review helpful.
SearchingforRed
Location: Houston, Texas
Review 6 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great Quality
Date:August 25, 2010
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant
I like the MAC shadows due to their great quality: they are easy to blend, most of them have a nice colour pay off and they are crease and even water/sweat resistant (believe me, i was running about 5 miles while wearing MAC shadows and thought that they must have been sweaten away, but they just stayed in place! Plus I was not wearing any base that day.)
I have tried a lot of finishes and I like the frost/veluxe pearl finish and the matte/matte squared finish most for an evening eye, and the satin finish for an everyday eye. I don't like the lustre finish at all.
The Lustres are chunky and hardly have any colour pay off, they just give your eye a glittery look, but they are easy to blend. In my oppinion they are nothing special and because of their chunkiness I don't buy lustres anymore.
The Velvets are easy to blend, but again do not appear opaque on your eye, but in contrast to the lustres they are not chunky at all. I recommend you going to a mac counter/store and swatch the colour to be sure if it is the right choice. Actually I only buy velvets if I really fell in love with the colour.
The Frosts are really opaque and shimmery. These colours appear on your eye as same as they do in the pan. They are also very easy to blend.
The Veluxe Pearls are almost as same as the frosts, with the difference that they are a little bit more powdery than the frosts, but again they are highly pigmented, easy to blend and shimmery.
The Mattes are ,as the name already says, matte. They are usually very opaque (even higher pigmented than frosts or veluxe pearls) only lighter colours are not as opaque as the darker colours (even higher pigmented than frosts or veluxe pearls), but the darker shades are harder to blend.
The Matte squared ones are almost as same as the Matte ones, but they are easier to blend. These are also incredibly pigmented.
The Satin finish gives you a medium coverage with a little bit of shimmer. These colours are easy to blend and feel very smooth, "satiny" on your eyelid.
I hope I was able to give you an honest review about all of the finishes I have worked with but this is just my personal taste and it may differ from yours.
+30points
33of 36found this review helpful.
theruthie
Location: Germany
Review 7 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Shade: Nylon
Best eye shadow out there!
Date:July 13, 2013
Tags: Bold Color, Blendable, everyday every moment!
I've tried wearing other eye shadows but they don't last as long as MAC. It's my GO TO!
+16points
19of 22found this review helpful.
Sheeeeeeeeeeenna
Location: Aspen, CO
Review 8 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Shade: Trax
Fantastic product!
Date:June 26, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant, everyday wear
I love these eye shadows! They are definitely my new favorite. I get no fallout, which is really important to me. I use a paint pot as a primer/base and then use the eyeshadow on top. I get brilliant, crease-proof color that stays in place all day. I haven't tried to sleep in the stuff yet but I certainly don't have to worry about my eyeshadow from early morning till late night when I remove my makeup. I also love the selection of colors. I am fair skinned, blond and have green eyes and I have been using "Trax" alone on the lid for an everyday look and it makes my green eyes pop with color as well making them look more open and bright. I like to use this color when I want a soft, subtle look.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
tkreitz1
Location: Southwestern MI
Review 9 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Shade: Ricepaper
Rice Paper Eye shadow
Date:April 22, 2014
Tags: Highly pigmented, brow bone
Great shadow for a highlight on your brow bone just love this color so much
+3points
6of 9found this review helpful.
Nikki81
Location: Texas
Review 10 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Shade: Pink Freeze
I'm a lifelong customer for a reason!
Date:May 18, 2014
Tags: Highly pigmented, summer & spring, elegant
I began using MAC cosmetics as a teen and during those years, I probably tried every major makeup company that was sold at my local mall over a 5 year period. I learned very quickly that MAC was much different than the rest. These guys took a truly "artful" approach to the old timey "cover and go" spin on make-up. There is honestly nothing that they don't make better! Quality, color, skin care- they combine it ALL and the result stand out. If your new to MAC, I'd defiantly suggest spending some time at the make-up counter with a professional before ordering online or a quick "grab-n -go" at the mall because most of us will try one foundation or power not knowing what our specific skin type may need, and then if it's the wrong product we will give up on the company all together, therefore by starting at the counter with the pro's you can educate yourself and discover products you never even knew existed. With MAC cosmetics, the experimenting is what its all about, at least for me :-D
Now onto this specific shadow--LOVE< LOVE< LOVE! This was the very first shadow I ever got from MAC and it was for my prom...I don't think Ive ever had so many compliments on my make-up! This color is several different colors in one and it truly looks amazing! Its a great spring color bc it's got a sort of pastel look to it. Even though I wore it to prom, it would go beautifully for day time look as well. It's now been 18 years since I first used this stuff and it's still one of my all time MAC favs! I use it all the time!
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
KatEyes
Location: Deep South
Review 11 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Beautiful Colors!
Date:December 14, 2010
Tags: Bold Color, Blendable
I love all of the shadows they have i usually try to buy a couple a month and all of the limited edition ones! If used with a concealer you wont get he crease effect!
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
TinkLee
Location: Washington, DC
Review 12 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Shade: All That Glitters
All that glitters!
Date:April 9, 2014
Tags: Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant, natural look, neutrals
I just purchased 'All That Glitters' and it is by far my favorite shadow I have ever bought. It is a neutral tone, but it still has some pop to it and the glitter really makes my eyes pop. I love that it's not boring and has that little 'oomph' to it!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
catlady1490
Location: Minneapolis
Review 13 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Shade: Soft Brown
Shade: Soft Brown
Date:June 22, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant, eyeshadow: soft gentle color for neutralizng, eyelid area.
Over the years, I've purchased very many shades and I love them all. 'Soft Brown' is my go to everyday shade. For reference I have NC40 skin in the winter and tan up to NC44 in the summer. This shade is perfect on top of 'Painterly Pot'. It creates a perect base for other eyeshadows and works perfectly well by itself, on top of 'Painterly'. 'Soft Brown' is basically my skintone. For anyone with my skintone, you got to have it. Its one of those neutral colors, that will probably work for everyone.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Devine
Location: Fresno
Review 14 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
Amazing
Date:January 9, 2014
I've been wearing this makeup for as long as I could remember. Wearing and learning how to put makeup on using MAC is the reason for me going to cosmetology school!
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
DanaC
Location: New Jersey
Review 15 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Shade: Woodwinked
Date:October 27, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant
the color is more golden bronze than i expected it to be. still nice though
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
catr
Location: massachusetts
Review 16 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Luv Mac
Date:October 27, 2014
Tags: eyeshadow, lip gloss
Always a fan..like color descriptions. Prompt service
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Myrongma
Location: Davenport Ia
Review 17 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Shade: Humid
Date:October 27, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Blendable, Crease resistant
nice but not as bold and pigmented as i expected
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
catr
Location: massachusetts
Review 18 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Shade: Mythology
Just what I was looking for!
Date:June 13, 2014
Tags: all skin tones
This is a beautiful Rose Gold type color! I purchased for a wedding the I am going to be in and am going for a rose gold bronze makeup look and with this shadow I will acheive it!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Gina601
Location: PA
Review 19 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Shade: Brown Down
The difference is quite astounding!
Date:October 11, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant
I have recently began using MAC eye shadows and the difference compared to other shadows is quite astounding! Other shadows have major fall out or they don't blend well or worst of all they look blotchy on the eye. I don't have this problem with MAC shadows. There is virtually no fall out and the shadows blend amazingly beautiful. I use Painterly Paint Pot for my shadow primer and this seems to work quite well. I will never and I mean never be purchasing any eye shadow that isn't MAC!!!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Lynnmarie1221
Location: Illinois
Review 20 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
LOVE LOVE LOVE
Date:October 17, 2014
Tags: blue eyes
I have never used MAC cosmetics but when I tried the amber lights and bronze eye shadows I knew I'd never use anything else. So pretty for blue eyes and it's a beautiful color.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
chelpadg
Location: KY
1-20 of 322 reviews