Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Eye Shadow

Average Customer Rating:
4.708 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (305 reviews)
5 stars
240
4 stars
48
3 stars
11
2 stars
5
1 star
1
Customer Reviews for Eye Shadow
Review 1 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Stays on and worth the price!
Date:December 19, 2011
Tags: Bold Color, Blendable, Highly pigmented, Crease resistant, your eyelids duh.
I have always been a buyer of cheap drug store cosmetics until I started coming to the MAC counter to get the pro longwear lipstick and for years that was the only thing I bought from them. One day, however, a certain shade of eyeshadow caught my eye and I bought it. (though that voice in my head was going $15!?!? seriously?!?!)
Well, I took it home and started wearing it and I noticed from the first time that it didn't fade the way my other ones always do. Later when the summer time came and I was working in a hot room and sweating I noticed that the eyeshadow still looked like I just put it on at the end of the day. When put on over the paint pots as a base you can actually have sweat or water roll down your eyelid and take a dry towel or tissue and just blot it dry real quick and IT STILL LOOKS GOOD!!
I gradually started replacing all my drugstore eyeshadows with these from MAC. One day I was swatching them all on the back of my hand and then I had to go off and do dishes... after submerging my hands completely in warm water the eyeshadows were still on the back of my hand!! I had to put soap directly on them and rub a little before they came off - but this impressed me enough that now I don't think anything of paying $15 for these guys.
+87points
90of 93found this review helpful.
Luci
Location: Portland OR
Review 2 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Shade: Plumage
Goes on easily and smoothly
Date:January 12, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, everyone
I've been using the Yogurt shade for many years as a base. I decided to try the Plumage and it is perfect. I could never find intense colors that weren't iridescent. I am a senior and sparkly eye shadows just don't work on crepe like skin.
+25points
28of 31found this review helpful.
funwalker
Location: Westminster MD
Review 3 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Shade: Ricepaper
Rice Paper Eye shadow
Date:April 22, 2014
Tags: Highly pigmented, brow bone
Great shadow for a highlight on your brow bone just love this color so much
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Nikki81
Location: Texas
Review 4 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Shade: Amber Lights
Beautiful gold tone
Date:January 21, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant, quality product
Love anmber lights. It was the first of a few colors I ever bought from MAC years ago and I still have it. It's so color rich I only use a little but that little goes along way. It seems to go well with my hazel/light-brown eye color and skin tone. I can use it with purples or turquiose colors. Love it! I also love how MAC's colors don't sit in those little creases starting to form around my eyes...very high quality stuff. Thanks MAC!
+12points
14of 16found this review helpful.
SearchingforRed
Location: Houston, Texas
Review 5 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Shade: Nylon
Best eye shadow out there!
Date:July 13, 2013
Tags: Bold Color, Blendable, everyday every moment!
I've tried wearing other eye shadows but they don't last as long as MAC. It's my GO TO!
+16points
19of 22found this review helpful.
Sheeeeeeeeeeenna
Location: Aspen, CO
Review 6 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great Quality
Date:August 25, 2010
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant
I like the MAC shadows due to their great quality: they are easy to blend, most of them have a nice colour pay off and they are crease and even water/sweat resistant (believe me, i was running about 5 miles while wearing MAC shadows and thought that they must have been sweaten away, but they just stayed in place! Plus I was not wearing any base that day.)
I have tried a lot of finishes and I like the frost/veluxe pearl finish and the matte/matte squared finish most for an evening eye, and the satin finish for an everyday eye. I don't like the lustre finish at all.
The Lustres are chunky and hardly have any colour pay off, they just give your eye a glittery look, but they are easy to blend. In my oppinion they are nothing special and because of their chunkiness I don't buy lustres anymore.
The Velvets are easy to blend, but again do not appear opaque on your eye, but in contrast to the lustres they are not chunky at all. I recommend you going to a mac counter/store and swatch the colour to be sure if it is the right choice. Actually I only buy velvets if I really fell in love with the colour.
The Frosts are really opaque and shimmery. These colours appear on your eye as same as they do in the pan. They are also very easy to blend.
The Veluxe Pearls are almost as same as the frosts, with the difference that they are a little bit more powdery than the frosts, but again they are highly pigmented, easy to blend and shimmery.
The Mattes are ,as the name already says, matte. They are usually very opaque (even higher pigmented than frosts or veluxe pearls) only lighter colours are not as opaque as the darker colours (even higher pigmented than frosts or veluxe pearls), but the darker shades are harder to blend.
The Matte squared ones are almost as same as the Matte ones, but they are easier to blend. These are also incredibly pigmented.
The Satin finish gives you a medium coverage with a little bit of shimmer. These colours are easy to blend and feel very smooth, "satiny" on your eyelid.
I hope I was able to give you an honest review about all of the finishes I have worked with but this is just my personal taste and it may differ from yours.
+25points
28of 31found this review helpful.
theruthie
Location: Germany
Review 7 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Shade: All That Glitters
All that glitters!
Date:April 9, 2014
Tags: Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant, natural look, neutrals
I just purchased 'All That Glitters' and it is by far my favorite shadow I have ever bought. It is a neutral tone, but it still has some pop to it and the glitter really makes my eyes pop. I love that it's not boring and has that little 'oomph' to it!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
catlady1490
Location: Minneapolis
Review 8 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Shade: Pink Freeze
I'm a lifelong customer for a reason!
Date:May 18, 2014
Tags: Highly pigmented, summer & spring, elegant
I began using MAC cosmetics as a teen and during those years, I probably tried every major makeup company that was sold at my local mall over a 5 year period. I learned very quickly that MAC was much different than the rest. These guys took a truly "artful" approach to the old timey "cover and go" spin on make-up. There is honestly nothing that they don't make better! Quality, color, skin care- they combine it ALL and the result stand out. If your new to MAC, I'd defiantly suggest spending some time at the make-up counter with a professional before ordering online or a quick "grab-n -go" at the mall because most of us will try one foundation or power not knowing what our specific skin type may need, and then if it's the wrong product we will give up on the company all together, therefore by starting at the counter with the pro's you can educate yourself and discover products you never even knew existed. With MAC cosmetics, the experimenting is what its all about, at least for me :-D
Now onto this specific shadow--LOVE< LOVE< LOVE! This was the very first shadow I ever got from MAC and it was for my prom...I don't think Ive ever had so many compliments on my make-up! This color is several different colors in one and it truly looks amazing! Its a great spring color bc it's got a sort of pastel look to it. Even though I wore it to prom, it would go beautifully for day time look as well. It's now been 18 years since I first used this stuff and it's still one of my all time MAC favs! I use it all the time!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
KatEyes
Location: Deep South
Review 9 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Shade: All That Glitters
Everyday perfection
Date:May 11, 2014
Tags: Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant, eyes, sparkle
"All That Glitters" is my must have shade. Great for everyday wear at work, or blend it with darker shades for a night out. Love this eyeshadow!
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Kelleymae
Location: California
Review 10 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
Amazing
Date:January 9, 2014
I've been wearing this makeup for as long as I could remember. Wearing and learning how to put makeup on using MAC is the reason for me going to cosmetology school!
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
DanaC
Location: New Jersey
Review 11 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Shade: Satin Taupe
Beautiful color that lasts all day
Date:April 19, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant
I love this color. It goes nicely with almost everything. I use a paint pot under it (bare study) and then the satin taupe eye shadow over it and it lasts all day long, no need to re-apply.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
MaryJ
Location: Jenks, OK
Review 12 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Shade: Sable
SABLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Date:December 19, 2013
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, any skin tone, long-lasting
AMAZING COLOR! SABLE GO SABLE! i totally recommend this color, it goes with any skintype/skincolor. Anyone could wear this and it goes with any makeup look and/or outfit. My first MAC eyeshadow, or should i say.. product! TOTALLY RECOMMEND SABLE!!!!!!!!!! SABLE SABLE SABLE SABLE SABLE SABLE
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
makeupbyerin
Location: New Jersey
Review 13 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Beautiful Colors!
Date:December 14, 2010
Tags: Bold Color, Blendable
I love all of the shadows they have i usually try to buy a couple a month and all of the limited edition ones! If used with a concealer you wont get he crease effect!
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
TinkLee
Location: Washington, DC
Review 14 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Shade: Omega
Perfect Eye Shadow!
Date:June 4, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant, going out
This eye shadow is wonderful. It goes on smoothly and lasts all day. It blends very well with other shades. I love the look I get when I use it. The colors are so pretty. I think it looks natural but just enhances my eyes. It is perfect for day time or evening.
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Fields
Location: Pennsylvania
Review 15 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Shade: Vanilla
Vanilla is classic and long-lasting!
Date:March 30, 2014
Tags: Blendable, Crease resistant
This shade is a perfect base color for all skin tones and has a matt finish which is great for over 50 eyes. You can add other colors to the crease for depth - or to the lid for color - then take your finger and press the vanilla in the center of the lid for added pizazz. Lasts all day - even through my evening Jazzercise!!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
trainergirl
Location: Erie, Pa.
Review 16 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Shade: Swimming
New favorite
Date:June 26, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant, every day wear
I love these eye shadows! They are definitely my new favorite. I get no fallout, which is really important to me. I use a paint pot as a primer/base and then use the eyeshadow on top. I get brilliant, crease-proof color that stays in place all day. I haven't tried to sleep in the stuff yet but I certainly don't have to worry about my eyeshadow from early morning till late night when I remove my makeup. I also love the selection of colors. I am fair skinned, blond and have green eyes and I have been using "Swimming" alone on the lid for an everyday look and it makes my green eyes pop with color as well making them look more open and bright. I like to use this color when I want a bright, vibrant, happy look. I am 51 years old and have a few lines, not many, and have to be careful with sparkly makeup but the lustre of Swimming is not too much for my age.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
tkreitz1
Location: Southwestern MI
Review 17 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Coral eyeshadow
Date:July 17, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant, everyday wear, coral color
The color is super pigmented and I only seem to have to use a little. I can add more if I wast a deeper coverage. Its beautiful!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
JBDUB
Location: Idaho
Review 18 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Shade: Satellite Dreams
Lovely eyes
Date:July 18, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant
applies easily, gorgeous color, stunning looks
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
LindaR
Location: Georgia
Review 19 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Shade: Brown Script
Some of the best eyeshadows
Date:July 10, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant
If I could say MAC is known for one thing, it would definitely be their eye shadows. They are greatly pigmented and even better, limited to no fall out whatsoever. They blend so well, but not too well, to where it melts away. I have tried name brand, to drugstore brands, and starter brands from cosmetic companies, and I honestly think MAC tops them all. Lets hope they keep their formula the same.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
keishfayce
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Review 20 for Eye Shadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Shade: Trax
Fantastic product!
Date:June 26, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant, everyday wear
I love these eye shadows! They are definitely my new favorite. I get no fallout, which is really important to me. I use a paint pot as a primer/base and then use the eyeshadow on top. I get brilliant, crease-proof color that stays in place all day. I haven't tried to sleep in the stuff yet but I certainly don't have to worry about my eyeshadow from early morning till late night when I remove my makeup. I also love the selection of colors. I am fair skinned, blond and have green eyes and I have been using "Trax" alone on the lid for an everyday look and it makes my green eyes pop with color as well making them look more open and bright. I like to use this color when I want a soft, subtle look.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
tkreitz1
Location: Southwestern MI
1-20 of 302 reviews