Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Oil Control Lotion

Average Customer Rating:
4.321 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Reviews for Oil Control Lotion
Review 1 for Oil Control Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Smooth, Balanced, Baby-Soft Skin
Date:January 8, 2014
Tags: Non-Oily, Lightweight, Absorbs quickly, normal-to-oily, oily, combination, humidity
This is one of my favorite moisturizers, and not just for oily skin. It absorbs super quickly, leaves no film or residue behind, and makes my skin feel very soft and smooth. I love that it balances out my combination-oily skin so that I don't get as shiny in my t-zone but I still feel hydration on the outer parts of my face. I use this as my daytime moisturizer and I can start applying my primer and foundation immediately after it. Three pumps is the perfect amount for my whole face.
+18points
19of 20found this review helpful.
Arm06j
Location: Miami
Review 2 for Oil Control Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Shine be gone
Date:March 10, 2013
Tags: Non-Oily, Lightweight, Absorbs quickly, oily skin, acne-prone skin
i love love love this moisturizer. I'm extremely oily and wth mostmoisturizers ive tried they have either burned my face, or have just not worked. without this lotion my makeup gets shiny and comes right off.
Since i've gotten this lotion ive noticed a huge difference in my face when i have makeup on. my face says matte longer and im able to go through the day without worrying about powdering my face.
+21points
22of 23found this review helpful.
MakeupMorgan
Location: Rochester, NY
Review 3 for Oil Control Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
love this product
Date:September 14, 2011
Tags: Non-Oily, oil control.
am i the only one who noticed you can buy two of the travel size for $30 and get (total) 2fl oz.. or you could buy reg size for $30 and get 1.7fl oz.. i think i'm reading that right.. the better deal is buying the two? if i'm wrong, someone correct me.
this product does what it says, i have super oily skin.. and it controls it all day.. love it, won't live without it.
+46points
48of 50found this review helpful.
j0annarae
Location: Arkansas
Review 4 for Oil Control Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love the oil control
Date:August 13, 2012
Tags: Hydrating, Non-Oily, Lightweight, Absorbs quickly, dry skin
I got this to wear because when I moved to SoCal, my make-up decided to move too... down my face, in the heat.
I put this on in the morning (I nix the moisturizer when I'm using this product), my make-up stays where I put it, all through the day. It doesn't matter what you throw at it, running around at work, on errands, running after the kids. Layer what you will over it, it stays. Foundation, powder, blush, bronzer... it all sticks.
Having sensitive skin, prone to breakouts and redness (i'm over 30), this puts a stop to the embarrassing moments when the make-up starts to slide and blemishes bloom.
If I were on a desert island, these would be one of the things I'd bring.
+20points
23of 26found this review helpful.
Lexington
Location: SD
Review 5 for Oil Control Lotion
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Oil No More
Date:February 28, 2012
Tags: Non-Oily, Lightweight, moisturizing face
So I bought this moisturizer because I lost the one I normally use and I was getting ready to go out of town. Normally I have oily skin in my t-zone and sometimes my cheeks but that is now a thing of the past. This product is remarkable because I have tried so many different products and i figured there was nothing I could do about the oiliness. My skin looks so natural and I am so pleased. And know when I get home I dont feel like my face is weighed down because I still have make-up on... I would suggest at least trying it. Please keep in mind I live in the humidity of Houston, TX.
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
KeshaB
Location: Houston, TX
Review 6 for Oil Control Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Finally!!
Date:April 7, 2011
Tags: Non-Oily, Oil control
I am a 44 year old who has had to deal with VERY oily skin all my life. I have looked high and low for something that controlled the oil even a little bit. I have used this product for years and, to be honest, I dont care if it was $100 I would find a way to get it. This is the BEST product on the market for oil control.....Thanks Mac
+12points
13of 14found this review helpful.
Laurieb0311
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Review 7 for Oil Control Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
BEST Oil Control Product I Have Used!
Date:June 8, 2012
Tags: Non-Oily, Lightweight, Absorbs quickly, controlling oil, great makeup base
This is hands-down the BEST Oil-Control product I have ever used! I get very oily in my T-Zone and would normally have a really shiny face about two hours after I had applied my make-up. I ordered this product and have only been using in for three days but it WORKS! I can go at least six hours without any powder touch-ups.
My skin is very sensitive and breaks out easily but I have not noticed any acne flair-ups.
This product is lightweight, absorbs quickly, perfect for oily skin. I will DEFINITELY be re-purchasing!!
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Becky0417
Review 8 for Oil Control Lotion
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Noticed no difference.
Date:September 27, 2012
Tags: Lightweight, Absorbs quickly
I have very oily skin and was hoping this lotion would be 'the one'. Nope. The lotion is very light and feels good on my skin but no oil control and that's what I need the most.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Tlynne
Location: Cincinnati
Review 9 for Oil Control Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great Product
Date:April 25, 2011
Tags: Non-Oily, Lightweight, Absorbs quickly
This lotion has improved my skin tone after only a few days of use. Amazing!!! I had the most uneven blotchy skin tone. Not anymore! It also helps my makeup to stay matte throughout the day. I'm so happy with my purchase!!!
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Marissa
Location: Austin, TX
Review 10 for Oil Control Lotion
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Not for me :(
Date:September 10, 2011
I have extremely oily skin and this product just doesn’t seem to cut it with controlling the oil but it does have a great scent and serves as a good moisturizer but that’s about all.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
NW45girl
Location: Virginia
Review 11 for Oil Control Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Got Oil?
Date:January 31, 2011
Tags: Non-Oily, Lightweight, Absorbs quickly, oily skin/oily t-zone
This lotion is a must have if you have oily skin! I have super oily skin that is prone to breakouts. This helps control a majority of my oil.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
AshMRo
Location: San Diego
Review 12 for Oil Control Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great for Combo/Oily Skin
Date:March 20, 2013
Tags: Hydrating, Non-Oily, Skin brightening, Lightweight, Absorbs quickly, prepping before primer
I have combo/oily skin and this works like a miracle. It helps control my oily skin and hydrates the rest of my face. It doesn't make my face tight or dry and of course doesn't make my face greasy. It's very lightweight and absorbs quickly, it works great under primer as well. :)
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Lils
Location: Los Angeles, CA.
Review 13 for Oil Control Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
DOES WHAT IT SAYS!!
Date:February 4, 2013
Tags: Hydrating, Non-Oily, Lightweight, Absorbs quickly, oil control minimizing pores extending make-up, wear
This OCL is the BOMB!! I don't know why I had not tried it sooner. It works! I use this along with the Prep +Prime Skin Refined Zone. The combination of these two products have made me VERY happy because I now have a shine free face!! I mean the first time I used it, it left me shine free all day! If you are suffering with oily skin, this is your BEST friend!! Try it now!! :)
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
SexyLexie
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Review 14 for Oil Control Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Just what I needed
Date:August 17, 2011
Tags: Hydrating, Non-Oily, Lightweight, Absorbs quickly, prepping face for make up application
Like alot of people I have super oily skin, that makes wearing makeup somewhat challenging. I would change foundation types and try primers and powders and setting techniques that still left me shiny and greasy by 3pm. When I went to buy a new foundation I was discussing my issues with the Mac Consultant and she told me something that I thought didn't make any sense; my skin is oily cause it's super dry. WHAT? If my skin was super dry then all of this oil production should take care of it. Or so I thought. She asked me what moisturizer I used and I admitted none. She said I needed to moisturize because my skin was over compensating with oil production. And to think I had been using a toner trying to get rid of the oil. She sold me the oil control lotion and I was somewhat skeptical. PLUS it's 30 bucks for what seems to be a small bottle. But it works! I have less oily skin, my make up isn't wiping off on everything and creasing. Thumbs up!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
SantaMaria
Location: Columbus
Review 15 for Oil Control Lotion
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
DOES ITS JOB!
Date:October 16, 2012
Tags: Non-Oily, Lightweight, Absorbs quickly, oily skin
So when I say I have oily skin I MEAN I have redonkulous oil spill oily skin! Gross I know! I used to wear the natural radiance primer alone - it was "supposed" to "control" oil but i guess my oil was too much for it, but with the addition of the oil control lotion it has been phenomenal! I put the Oil Control Lotion first then follow with the natural radiance primer, with that on my face i'm oil/shine free till at least 12:30 thats when i use my MAC blotting powder and I'm GOLDEN TILL 5:30! This has been the only combo that has worked for me!!!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Cecilia
Location: New York
Review 16 for Oil Control Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Good
Date:November 18, 2012
Tags: Absorbs quickly, very oily skin
I purchased this because I have really oily skin; especially my nose and chin! But this seems to do the trick I don't have " powder my nose" as much. Although at night I do feel I have mostorize my face. Overall I am happy with this product! Will purchase again :-)
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Gomez
Location: Austin, Texas
Review 17 for Oil Control Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Saved My Skin!
Date:September 16, 2013
Tags: Hydrating, Non-Oily, Skin brightening, Lightweight, Absorbs quickly
Love this product. I have extremely oily skin and after just a few days of using my New Oil Control Lotion along with my Mineralize Foundation and my Skin Base Primer I could already see the difference in my skin.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
ortizA10
Location: New Orleans
Review 18 for Oil Control Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Amazing
Date:August 30, 2012
Tags: Hydrating, Lightweight, Absorbs quickly
I love this product... This is gret for people with oily skin such as mine.. this product last all day without leaving a shinny finish to your face. Great under foundation products as well
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Eshh
Location: Seaford, De
Review 19 for Oil Control Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Good product!
Date:April 6, 2011
Tags: Hydrating, Non-Oily, Lightweight, Absorbs quickly, all skin type along with good skin care regimen
I have combination skin ( oily in the T-zone). About a month ago I went to the mac counter for a make over and this product was used along with a sprtizer (some kind of spray with green tea and some other stuff) before she applied my make up she used both products to help hydrate and control the oil in my skin. I must say this product worked for me. My skin did not look oily for the entire day. I am not sure if it was the combination of the sprtizer (mac product) and the oil control but I like them both. In addition to using products such as this, I think a daily skin regimen should be followed as well. Miracles do not happen over night...
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
T0203
Location: Louisiana
Review 20 for Oil Control Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Perfect
Date:February 28, 2012
Tags: Hydrating, Lightweight, Absorbs quickly, oily to semi-oily skin
I bought the travel size X2, thinking it came in the cool bottle (not noticing there being two sizes); however I bought the bigger bottle later anyways. This moisturizer leaves my skin feeling soft, tight and smelling AMAZING!
My Skin is not too oily, and I live in heat year round and it still works great.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
MollyDolly
Location: FL.
1-20 of 53 reviews