Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Oil Control Lotion

Average Customer Rating:
4.316 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
3
Customer Reviews for Oil Control Lotion
Review 1 for Oil Control Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
MOST AMAZING OIL CONTROL EVER
Date:July 30, 2014
Tags: Non-Oily, Lightweight, Absorbs quickly, minimizing oil
I have had a very oily face since puberty, I have decided to try this oil control lotion, and I am glad that I did!! My t-zone is a problem area for me, as it gets oily fast. I wash my face morning and night with frequent oil blotting sheets during the day... Since using this lotion, my face literally remains matte from the morning when I first apply it, until I wash my face before bed. I will never go without this lotion again. Thank you MAC!!
+14points
16of 18found this review helpful.
Dara
Location: Grand Terrace, CA
Review 2 for Oil Control Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Smooth, Balanced, Baby-Soft Skin
Date:January 8, 2014
Tags: Non-Oily, Lightweight, Absorbs quickly, normal-to-oily, oily, combination, humidity
This is one of my favorite moisturizers, and not just for oily skin. It absorbs super quickly, leaves no film or residue behind, and makes my skin feel very soft and smooth. I love that it balances out my combination-oily skin so that I don't get as shiny in my t-zone but I still feel hydration on the outer parts of my face. I use this as my daytime moisturizer and I can start applying my primer and foundation immediately after it. Three pumps is the perfect amount for my whole face.
+26points
27of 28found this review helpful.
Arm06j
Location: Miami
Review 3 for Oil Control Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
love this product
Date:September 14, 2011
Tags: Non-Oily, oil control.
am i the only one who noticed you can buy two of the travel size for $30 and get (total) 2fl oz.. or you could buy reg size for $30 and get 1.7fl oz.. i think i'm reading that right.. the better deal is buying the two? if i'm wrong, someone correct me.
this product does what it says, i have super oily skin.. and it controls it all day.. love it, won't live without it.
+62points
64of 66found this review helpful.
j0annarae
Location: Arkansas
Review 4 for Oil Control Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Shine be gone
Date:March 10, 2013
Tags: Non-Oily, Lightweight, Absorbs quickly, oily skin, acne-prone skin
i love love love this moisturizer. I'm extremely oily and wth mostmoisturizers ive tried they have either burned my face, or have just not worked. without this lotion my makeup gets shiny and comes right off.
Since i've gotten this lotion ive noticed a huge difference in my face when i have makeup on. my face says matte longer and im able to go through the day without worrying about powdering my face.
+26points
27of 28found this review helpful.
MakeupMorgan
Location: Rochester, NY
Review 5 for Oil Control Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love the oil control
Date:August 13, 2012
Tags: Hydrating, Non-Oily, Lightweight, Absorbs quickly, dry skin
I got this to wear because when I moved to SoCal, my make-up decided to move too... down my face, in the heat.
I put this on in the morning (I nix the moisturizer when I'm using this product), my make-up stays where I put it, all through the day. It doesn't matter what you throw at it, running around at work, on errands, running after the kids. Layer what you will over it, it stays. Foundation, powder, blush, bronzer... it all sticks.
Having sensitive skin, prone to breakouts and redness (i'm over 30), this puts a stop to the embarrassing moments when the make-up starts to slide and blemishes bloom.
If I were on a desert island, these would be one of the things I'd bring.
+19points
23of 27found this review helpful.
Lexington
Location: SD
Review 6 for Oil Control Lotion
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Oil No More
Date:February 28, 2012
Tags: Non-Oily, Lightweight, moisturizing face
So I bought this moisturizer because I lost the one I normally use and I was getting ready to go out of town. Normally I have oily skin in my t-zone and sometimes my cheeks but that is now a thing of the past. This product is remarkable because I have tried so many different products and i figured there was nothing I could do about the oiliness. My skin looks so natural and I am so pleased. And know when I get home I dont feel like my face is weighed down because I still have make-up on... I would suggest at least trying it. Please keep in mind I live in the humidity of Houston, TX.
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
KeshaB
Location: Houston, TX
Review 7 for Oil Control Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Finally!!
Date:April 7, 2011
Tags: Non-Oily, Oil control
I am a 44 year old who has had to deal with VERY oily skin all my life. I have looked high and low for something that controlled the oil even a little bit. I have used this product for years and, to be honest, I dont care if it was $100 I would find a way to get it. This is the BEST product on the market for oil control.....Thanks Mac
+12points
13of 14found this review helpful.
Laurieb0311
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Review 8 for Oil Control Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
BEST Oil Control Product I Have Used!
Date:June 8, 2012
Tags: Non-Oily, Lightweight, Absorbs quickly, controlling oil, great makeup base
This is hands-down the BEST Oil-Control product I have ever used! I get very oily in my T-Zone and would normally have a really shiny face about two hours after I had applied my make-up. I ordered this product and have only been using in for three days but it WORKS! I can go at least six hours without any powder touch-ups.
My skin is very sensitive and breaks out easily but I have not noticed any acne flair-ups.
This product is lightweight, absorbs quickly, perfect for oily skin. I will DEFINITELY be re-purchasing!!
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Becky0417
Review 9 for Oil Control Lotion
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Noticed no difference.
Date:September 27, 2012
Tags: Lightweight, Absorbs quickly
I have very oily skin and was hoping this lotion would be 'the one'. Nope. The lotion is very light and feels good on my skin but no oil control and that's what I need the most.
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Tlynne
Location: Cincinnati
Review 10 for Oil Control Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Hooked on this!
Date:September 17, 2014
Tags: Non-Oily, Lightweight, Absorbs quickly
I have always used Murad oil control with SPF lotion for my face because I put on foundation and about 3-4 hours later it's so oily and I have to blot. With this literally about 7 hours later I noticed a slight dewy ness to my foundation but not the nasty greasy look! I'm so in love with this! I'm hooked! Definitely worth the money!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
AvaFun88
Location: College Station
Review 11 for Oil Control Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Money is Worth it!
Date:February 26, 2013
Tags: Non-Oily, Lightweight, Absorbs quickly, control oil build-up, control shine
I have oily skin. This product works! It stops my oil production on the face and it leaves a soft matte feel after it dries/absorbs into the skin. Never over dries to a flaky feel, I use it during winter and my skin is perfectly fine. When applying; the texture feels light lotion; not thick nor greasy. You don't notice a smell at all! I would recommend this for oily skin and combination - apply on oily areas. I am on my second bottle. It's prefect to apply after a wash, then prime, and your makeup afterwards. No shine all day; might have a hint of dewy around the evening. You can always use a finish powder to matte it. I luv luv LOVE this product! It saved me from embarrassments of shine. Product last me around 4 - 6 months (depend on usages). My money is worth it!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
iluv2makeup
Location: San Diego, CA
Review 12 for Oil Control Lotion
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
It's pretty good.
Date:April 26, 2013
Tags: Lightweight
Brought this about a week ago and it's been working so far...okay. My skin is very oily and when I apply it, it goes on smooth, absorbs great. But only after a few hours the shine starts to be noticeable. It's a good oil absorber but not for long wear use.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Toya
Location: Baltimore
Review 13 for Oil Control Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great Product
Date:April 25, 2011
Tags: Non-Oily, Lightweight, Absorbs quickly
This lotion has improved my skin tone after only a few days of use. Amazing!!! I had the most uneven blotchy skin tone. Not anymore! It also helps my makeup to stay matte throughout the day. I'm so happy with my purchase!!!
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Marissa
Location: Austin, TX
Review 14 for Oil Control Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Saved My Skin!
Date:September 16, 2013
Tags: Hydrating, Non-Oily, Skin brightening, Lightweight, Absorbs quickly
Love this product. I have extremely oily skin and after just a few days of using my New Oil Control Lotion along with my Mineralize Foundation and my Skin Base Primer I could already see the difference in my skin.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
ortizA10
Location: New Orleans
Review 15 for Oil Control Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
oil control
Date:July 22, 2014
I am in love with this stuff. Working in the restaurant industry it's hard to find makeup and products that don't slide off your face by three in the afternoon. But this keeps makeup in it's place.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
SuperSamiWho
Location: Murfreesboro
Review 16 for Oil Control Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Amazing
Date:July 3, 2011
Tags: Hydrating, Non-Oily, Skin brightening, Lightweight, Absorbs quickly
I went to the MAC store a few days ago and I asked the lady at the counter what she would recommend because I had no idea what I wanted. She asked me what my skin type was and I said oily in some spots and dry in others. Well she put this on my skin and it didn't feel cakey. I love this and I use it every day now. It really helps with oily AND DRY skin (:
It's also actually clearing up my acne too!
Will continue to purchase this!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
kristennnn
Location: tennessee
Review 17 for Oil Control Lotion
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Not for me :(
Date:September 10, 2011
I have extremely oily skin and this product just doesn’t seem to cut it with controlling the oil but it does have a great scent and serves as a good moisturizer but that’s about all.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
NW45girl
Location: Virginia
Review 18 for Oil Control Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Got Oil?
Date:January 31, 2011
Tags: Non-Oily, Lightweight, Absorbs quickly, oily skin/oily t-zone
This lotion is a must have if you have oily skin! I have super oily skin that is prone to breakouts. This helps control a majority of my oil.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
AshMRo
Location: San Diego
Review 19 for Oil Control Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great for Combo/Oily Skin
Date:March 20, 2013
Tags: Hydrating, Non-Oily, Skin brightening, Lightweight, Absorbs quickly, prepping before primer
I have combo/oily skin and this works like a miracle. It helps control my oily skin and hydrates the rest of my face. It doesn't make my face tight or dry and of course doesn't make my face greasy. It's very lightweight and absorbs quickly, it works great under primer as well. :)
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Lils
Location: Los Angeles, CA.
Review 20 for Oil Control Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Just what I needed
Date:August 17, 2011
Tags: Hydrating, Non-Oily, Lightweight, Absorbs quickly, prepping face for make up application
Like alot of people I have super oily skin, that makes wearing makeup somewhat challenging. I would change foundation types and try primers and powders and setting techniques that still left me shiny and greasy by 3pm. When I went to buy a new foundation I was discussing my issues with the Mac Consultant and she told me something that I thought didn't make any sense; my skin is oily cause it's super dry. WHAT? If my skin was super dry then all of this oil production should take care of it. Or so I thought. She asked me what moisturizer I used and I admitted none. She said I needed to moisturize because my skin was over compensating with oil production. And to think I had been using a toner trying to get rid of the oil. She sold me the oil control lotion and I was somewhat skeptical. PLUS it's 30 bucks for what seems to be a small bottle. But it works! I have less oily skin, my make up isn't wiping off on everything and creasing. Thumbs up!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
SantaMaria
Location: Columbus
1-20 of 57 reviews