Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Paints

Average Customer Rating:
4.71 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews for Paints
Review 1 for Paints
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Absolutely the best prep that I've ever used
Date:March 27, 2011
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant, either as a base for eyeshadow or by itself.
MAC Paints are the envy of every other cosmetics company and the easiest way to place color on the eye - whether you use just Paints for your look or you use them as a base for other colors. I've had looks last up to 18 hours with this product and they still looked good. They work for a variety of complexions - from very light to very dark. My friend (milk chocolate-complected) and I (light medium) tried these on one evening and we both looked fabulous, with the darker ones looking better on her and the lighter better on me. A word to the wise, though, a little goes a long way. The good news about that is that they last and don't dry out like Paint Pots can.
Every once in awhile, I'll hear a rumor that these will be discontinued and it makes me both sad and nervous. I wish that MAC would consider using them more. They last a long time, but don't dry out; they look good on a variety of people and they're worth the money.
To avoid the inevitable little spurt of Paint that can pop out when you open one for the first time, squeeze from the sides near the bottom of the tube right before you open the product and open your tube s-l-o-w-l-y.
+16points
16of 16found this review helpful.
c2keri
Location: Atlanta, GA
Review 2 for Paints
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Love it!
Date:January 31, 2014
Tags: Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant
A few years ago, I didn't even know "paints" existed until a MAC artist placed it on me before adding eye shadow. I've been using it ever since. I am still pleased with how well it goes on (nice and creamy). On work days, it's my base before putting on eye shadow. It makes the colors pop and stay on all day. On weekends, I will wear it alone for a nice neutral shimmer. A must have. Will change the way you see your eye shadow!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
AHenry
Location: Texas
Review 3 for Paints
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Get this on you!
Date:February 19, 2012
Tags: Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant, oily skin, bold looks, a quick day look
I am a former MAC artist, returned to art school for costume design. Skip primers, potions and liquids promising to anchor your shadow down- There is NOTHING like MAC pigments packed onto "Bare Canvas" Paints eyeshadow. I use this on everyone- men, women, old, young... it is literally like a second skin for the lid, regardless of skin type. I have super oily skin... and it is the only thing that will keep a bold eye where I put it. The ultimate secret weapon to a long-last, color-true look. GET IT ON YOU!
+22points
22of 22found this review helpful.
Anonymous
Location: Seattle, WA
Review 4 for Paints
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Excellent Base
Date:August 25, 2010
Tags: Highly pigmented, Crease resistant, eyeshadow base cream shadow
I love these as an eyeshadow base. It gives eyeshadows an intense look and this is excellent to stop shadow from creasing and making it last all day. I have oily lids and this stuff keeps my eye makeup in place all day. It can also be used alone as an eyeshadow, it does dry matte.
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
Blaze
Location: Inglewood, CA
Review 5 for Paints
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Great Eyeshadow Primer
Date:September 30, 2010
Tags: Blendable, eye shadow primer
I have a fair to light medium skin tone and I use the "bare canvas" shade as an eye shadow primer. It really helps keep my eye shadow from fading during the day. When I'm running late for work and skip using the product under my eye shadow, I can see the difference mid-day, because my shadow is fading.
It's a little light for me for just a shadow, but would probably work if you wanted a more natural look. You also should only use a tiny, tiny amount, because it blends really well and if you use too much it gets caked together.
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
Lee25
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Review 6 for Paints
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Best Primer I've Ever Used.
Date:September 23, 2013
Tags: Blendable, Crease resistant, oily lids
I would give this product a total slam dunk rating of 5 if it came in a plastic squeeze tube. The metal packaging causes WAY too much product to be dispensed. I dab my brush on the open tube to try to prevent this. Such a great product for people with oily lids. It really needs updated packaging.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Christine62
Location: Norfolk, VA
Review 7 for Paints
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Shadow stays put!!!!
Date:April 26, 2012
Tags: Blendable, Crease resistant, shadow primer
I bought "Bare Canvas" based on a previous review by another MAC Pro who recommended it for a shadow primer and I TOTALLY agree!!! I use my ring finger and lightly pat it around the eye area. It dries quickly and my shadow stays put!!! The color is VERY sheer...almost a nudey, with a slightly irridescent pinkish tone...brightens the eye area too if worn on it's own.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Tanmouse
Location: La Jolla, CA
Review 8 for Paints
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great Product
Date:January 27, 2012
Tags: Crease resistant, eye primer
I have been using the bamboom paint for years - great product for eyeshadow primer however during the summer months I have to use a secondary primer with the paint because it creases with the heat, overall its a great product that I will always keep with my MAC collection
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
colormesoftly
Location: New York
Review 9 for Paints
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
The MUST HAVE mac product!!
Date:November 27, 2011
Tags: Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant, shadow base
This is the ONLY product ( longlasting primers, potions, concealers, bases you name I have tried it) that keeps my shadow from creasing, melting, or just disappearing. Love it!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
ravenwidow
Location: MI
Review 10 for Paints
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Love this !!
Date:June 28, 2011
Tags: Bold Color, Blendable, Crease resistant
I purchased the bam boom paint...absolutely love it. I will go back and purchase another one. loved the texture and everyones reveiw was helpful. It goes on nice and is great for when you have no time for full make up its the perfect for a quick look.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
CookieMom
Location: Philadelphia
Review 11 for Paints
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Awesome everyday cream shadow
Date:December 19, 2010
Tags: Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant
I have been wearing this product in bamboo for the last 3 years and it is great for a on the go clean eye makeup look. When you dont have time to do your makeup, or want a nice simple clean eye look this is the perfect product to use.The color intensity is buildable,and easy to clean up. You can also use this product as a eyeshadow base. A DEFINATE MUST HAVE !!!!!!!!!!!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Sisi
Location: Baltimore
Review 12 for Paints
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Awesome product!
Date:November 28, 2010
Tags: Crease resistant
I've been using MAC Paints for 9 years now. They are the best eyeshadow base/primer there is, plus you can wear these on their own, if you like. MAC used to make all different colors of paints, but now they're just in the neutral colors. I am still loyal to the paints because of how well they work. They never crease on me, and I have very oily eyelids.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
LizW
Location: FL
Review 13 for Paints
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great Stuff!
Date:December 14, 2012
Tags: Crease resistant, everyday wear, base
I know this is supposed to be a primer or base and definitely helps eye shadow colors pop whilst keeping shadows in place all day without creasing, but I use Stilife on its own as an eye shadow everyday on my medium/olive skin!
This goes a long way and usually lasts me well over a year and every time i go back to buy it I always pray they have not discontinued the product.
This is a make up bag staple for me and highly recommend it!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Munira
Location: St Louis, MO
Review 14 for Paints
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Love it!
Date:November 11, 2013
Tags: Blendable, Crease resistant, oily eyelids
I have never used MAC products before, but after having issues with my eye makeup, I was desperate to try something new. I have oily eyelids and my makeup would completely melt off throughout the day. I spoke to a MAC rep and they suggested using the Paints. It arrived right on schedule and I have been in love with it ever since!! I was surprised of how small the tube was but you only use a very tiny amount so it does last a long time. I am looking forward to trying other products as I am VERY pleased with this one!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Diana1304
Location: Virginia
Review 15 for Paints
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
STAPLE MUST HAVE!
Date:April 9, 2011
Tags: Crease resistant
I love Paints the are a STAPLE MUST HAVE!! I personally love bare canvas. People who are NEW to makeup have a hard time with this product because it dries faster but it holds eye shadow amazingly! So if you want shocking pigment, flawless color that wont move or have greasy eye lids this is a must have.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Kmiller
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Review 16 for Paints
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Perfect under shadows!
Date:November 20, 2013
Tags: Crease resistant, under eye shadows
I have used this product under my eye shadows for years. It gives a neutral base and since it's a cream, gives the shadow something to hold on to.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Yaya2007
Location: Clovis, CA
Review 17 for Paints
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
NEVER stop making this!
Date:November 5, 2013
Tags: Blendable, Crease resistant
The mac paint's are MAC original. Although they've done away with some fabulous shades, they still sell basic neutral shades. I hope they NEVER stop making this product.
A little goes a very long way, apply and blend quickly, it dries quick and doesn't BUDGE! For this reason, it is a staple in my pro kit and personal beauty arsenal. Love. Love. Love. this product.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
PROMACMAMA
Location: eastcoastusa
Review 18 for Paints
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Paint
Date:February 13, 2013
Tags: Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant, eyes, cheeks
I love the paint that I received granted that the bamboom color was a little more plane brown rather than having a pinkish tint to it. But other than that I love them. Very smooth and covers good.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Danielle0136
Location: Ohio
Review 19 for Paints
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
They're awesome!
Date:January 23, 2013
Tags: Blendable
Love it! I have Sublime Nature and it's perfect for a simple, natural eye with a little finishing powder dusted over it to set. For night I like to use it with charcoal brown eyeshadow in the crease, thick brows and black lip mix. Looks great alone but can support a bold look, I plan on buying many more of these!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
meghanw
Location: California
Review 20 for Paints
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Untitled = Perfection
Date:July 5, 2012
This creates a perfect base, helps shadows pop, and holds shadows in place all day without a crease in sight. I have tried several, but Untitled is my favorite. It's described as shimmer, but the shimmer it's extremely subtle (unlike Stilife, for example, which has noticeable shimmer); the color, to me, is not as much grey as mauve and is almost neutral on my fair skin. I love Untitled as the base for a grey or purple smokey eye. It also is perfect with a little Phloof! highlight for a light, not-too-shimmery eye.
I use Untitled almost every day. With that said, one tube will last me almost a year, and it doesn't dry out. I definitely prefer the tube to the Paint Pot. Yes, when you first get it, some extra product will squeeze out, but it's really not a big deal and you will still have plenty left!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
kc916
1-20 of 38 reviews