Product Reviews

MAC Liquid Eye Liner

Average Customer Rating:
3.531 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
8
3 stars
6
2 stars
8
1 star
7
Customer Reviews for Liquid Eye Liner
Review 1 for Liquid Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Disappointed
Date:July 15, 2014
Almost every claim mac made about this eyeliner is false. First, the color isn't bold, and you have to apply several times to even see it on your eyelid. The applicator was difficult to use so it takes forever to do just one eye. Finally, you can easily remove the eyeliner by just wiping your eye with your finger while flakes go everywhere. The only good thing about this product was the shape of the applicator made it very easy to draw the wings, but that's really it. I'm going exchange it for the liquidlast liner to see if that works any better.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
emeliz
Location: Houston
Review 2 for Liquid Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
not long-lasting
Date:March 10, 2014
Tags: Smudgeable
This eyeliner has an easy application tip. However, I find that the formula does not stay! Immmediately when I apply it, and it dries, I can easily smudge it off with my finger. This leaves flakes under my eye that i don't want. Its disappointing to pay this much for an unsatisfying product. I had high hopes because it was from a well known company.
+11points
12of 13found this review helpful.
Ktran
Review 3 for Liquid Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Meh/Okay
Date:January 18, 2013
Tags: Bold Color
Let me say that the only REALLY good thing about this product is the bold color. This product smudges, is not waterproof, and is NOT long wearing.
I was so excited on buying my first MAC liquid liner. I always used the MAC technakohl pencil eye liner and that worked fine, but I wanted more of a bold/darker look. I was quite disappointed the first day I wore it. I used it throughout the day and saw that it has kind of faded. The next day I made sure to cover the line as much as possible, but it still faded. Oh and it does smudge if you rub your eyes. For the first 3-4 hours it would look great! After that, the line would slowly fade with each hour that passes by.
Overall it is OKAY. I just wished it lasted longer. On the brighter side, it is easily washed out!
+14points
14of 14found this review helpful.
Meggy
Location: Houston
Review 4 for Liquid Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Date:November 1, 2010
Tags: Bold Color
I like the applicator but this eyeliner smudges, flakes and isn't waterproof. I have "asian" eyes and within a few hours of wearing it it smudges under my eye. Giving me racoon eyes. By the end of the day it's flaked off in patches all over my face. Thinking of trying the liquidlast liner I put some on my hand at the store and it stayed put all day even after I washed my hands with soap. Not too crazy about how thick of a line it makes.
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
Anonymous
Review 5 for Liquid Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Bad
Date:November 20, 2013
Wasn't very happy. It wasn't dark enough and it smeared all over my eyelid very quickly
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Chintiaa
Review 6 for Liquid Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
IT DOESN'T GET BETTER THAN THIS!!!
Date:January 1, 2014
Tags: Waterproof, Long wearing, Bold Color, everyone
I've tried them all and this is the very best. I love how the brush glides on so evenly every time. The line is always perfect and soaked in black eyeliner for even color distribution with one stroke.,I would love to spend less but it's just not worth the savings. I'm really spoiled/hooked with this fabulous eyeliner.
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Sofia
Review 7 for Liquid Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great in theory
Date:June 4, 2014
Tags: Bold Color
This eyeliner is great in theory. I purchased this one after finally getting sick of buying the Penultamate Eye Liner once a month due to it drying out so quickly. However, this one smudges EVERY SINGLE DAY. I can't make it past noon without looking like a raccoon. I'm going to try the LiquidLast liner and hope for better results, otherwise I might have to take my eyeliner needs elsewhere.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
SamanthaMarie
Location: San Diego
Review 8 for Liquid Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Pre good I guess
Date:January 2, 2014
Tags: non-athletes
The eyeliner is a really nice, bold black colour and I was able to create a lot of versatile looks with it. However, it runs with even the slightest contact with tears, sweat, rain or other liquids.
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Glamgoddess16
Location: Canada
Review 9 for Liquid Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Smudges
Date:November 21, 2011
Tags: Bold Color
The product is applied easily, and is well defined, but smudges easily throughout the day resulting in raccoon eyes! I've switched back to my drug store bought brand.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Anonymous
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Review 10 for Liquid Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
liquid eyeliner
Date:September 1, 2010
Tags: Bold Color, Long wearing, all the time
its really good! only eyeliner that didn't make my eye burn. :) and i love the brush!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Crys
Location: ventura
Review 11 for Liquid Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Messy lashes
Date:February 5, 2013
Tags: Bold Color, short wear
I tried this eye liner and i like the way it easily defines a sharp line but i dont like how you have to dip the brush, extra liquid is on the stem and when i do my top eye lids it rubs onto my eye lashes and creates little clumps its a small complain for such a good product but also very annoying for me if you have long lashes i would not recommend this product, i feel MAC has some better eye liner products.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
bonbonmay
Location: new zealand
Review 12 for Liquid Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Flake Free
Date:August 17, 2011
Tags: Smudgeable, Long wearing, Bold Color, drawing in thin to bold lines along lash line
This is the only eyeliner I use. I read all the other reviews about it flaking. I have been using it for probably 11+ years. The eyeliner does not flake unless you apply it to sparingly and then begin to layer to get a darker and bolder line. I dip and draw to get a bold dark line, making sure not to layer to avoid those flakes and when I want to soften it I use the 208 angle brush. It lasts forever so I buy 2 bottles a year. I throw one out after six months and use the other for the next six months to keep things fresh and clean, but if that isn't in your budget one bottle will last over a year.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
MrsMichael
Location: Tampa, FL
Review 13 for Liquid Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Can't live without.
Date:April 18, 2011
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color, everyday use !
I have used all the liquid liners, and after reading all the reviews, I am surprised this wasn't rated the best. I feel hands down this is my favorite liquid liner that mac provides. I love the brush, it gives you complete control, and i love that is it is also an easy product to remove. Liquid eyeliner is sometimes tricky, so if you make a mistake you need to be able to correct it, this product allows that, and doesn't comeoff when you don't want it to.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Indeesguise
Review 14 for Liquid Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Date:January 19, 2012
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color
Like how its quick and easy to apply
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Dena
Review 15 for Liquid Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Best Liquid Liner Ever!!!
Date:December 12, 2013
Best Liquid Liner Ever! I have very oily lids and I've tried so many liquid liners and none have worked, they would always smudge! and I decided to give this one a try &' I LOVE IT!! doesn't smudge!
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
JayyDee
Review 16 for Liquid Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
It's okay
Date:January 15, 2013
Tags: Long wearing
works as well as any drugstore brand.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
haleyb
Location: ms
Review 17 for Liquid Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Long Wear, Long Wait.
Date:December 9, 2010
Tags: Waterproof, Long wearing, Bold Color, every occasion
I used this eyeliner for a good chunk of last year and kept on convincing myself that I liked this product. But I just didn't end up liking it. I would apply it in the morning and it would take at least 6 minutes to dry, which was a hassle because it took a REALLY long time. I would often open my eyes after 4 minutes and it would get onto my upper lid because it was still not dry. I found the applicator harder to work with then my usual liquid eyeliners. Also, this product would not come off! If I forgot to take it off at night, it would be in perfect condition in the morning. Even after showering, this product would stick steadfastly to my eyelids. I did not have a very good experience with this eyeliner. Although the color was excellent, the formula was lacking. If you have time in the morning and want an über long-lasting eyeliner, I recommend this to you. Otherwise, steer clear of this product!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Bailey
Review 18 for Liquid Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
A little Disappointed :/
Date:June 25, 2012
This liner and I have some problems. It smudges. It fades. The only good thing about this liner is that when you wash your face, it comes out super easy.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Lauri
Location: Boston
Review 19 for Liquid Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Bold and longlasting
Date:January 21, 2011
Tags: Waterproof, Bold Color, Long wearing, dramatic eyelining
I bought this on recommendation from the MAC Rep. Originally, I wanted a pot of eyeliner but they were out of the black color. In the past I never like felt tip applicators like this because the eyeliner was a stain like consistency that was never dark enough. This is different it goes on as a liquid and dries with a pencil/powdery consistency. The black is BLACK and does not peel off/flake like I have experienced with other brands.
The only drawback is I can't get this to stay on my waterline....It's too wet for the liner to dry.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
SantaMaria
Location: Columbus
Review 20 for Liquid Eye Liner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Fantastically-FAVORITE- liner!
Date:May 15, 2011
Tags: Bold Color, Long wearing, everyday use...
I am the girl who will not leave her house without eyeliner on! I absolutely love this liquid eyeliner not only because it stays in place all day, or because it last me more than 4 months at a time, but because I love the applicator! Easiest way to create a thin or thicker line- I love it- glides on super smoothly! I have tried many other brands and O Lord, they either irritate, the applicator is flimsy and it peels off!
Best Liquid Eyeliner ever! In love!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Chilenita
Location: Los Angeles, CA
1-20 of 49 reviews