Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Lip Pencil

Average Customer Rating:
4.555 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (110 reviews)
5 stars
82
4 stars
17
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Reviews for Lip Pencil
Review 1 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Stone is back?!?!?! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU
Date:July 12, 2014
Tags: Precision Tip, Non - feathering, Defining, makes lips appear fuller and more natural
I came on the site today to reorder a lipstick that had run low, and decided to check my "Favorites" list to see if there was anything there that I needed. And lo and behold an old friend reappeared - Stone lip pencil. I thought I must be seeing things. But no, it's there. And it's not marked as a limited edition.
Since it was discontinued several years ago, I've searched high and low for a replacement. But nothing was ever quite right. For the last year I had to use an EYE LINER to try and copy the color. Yes, an eye liner. I became desperate.
This was the perfect color for me to line my lips. It magically seemed to make my lips seem fuller (probably since it seems to almost mimics a very light shadow - thus giving the allusion of fuller lips). It also tones down brighter shades and turns pinks and nudes into colors that seem natural, healthy and beautiful. Some people may be turned off because it is described as grey muted taupe. But it is a truly natural looking color. Just not as yellow or orange as most "natural" or "beige" liners tend to be.
I ordered the maximum number that I was allowed with the largest smile on my face. PLEASE, PLEASE NEVER DISCONTINUE THIS AGAIN.
+28points
30of 32found this review helpful.
Corkie
Location: New York
Review 2 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Best liner ever
Date:December 7, 2013
Tags: Non - feathering, Defining
Vino is my favorite lip liner of all time! I initially used it to tone down my mac red lipstick for my NW45 skin tone. Now I use it to add dimension to various matte lipsticks and to help my lip color last longer. I also own it in cork, chestnut, & currant but vino is always my go-to. I've tried to find cheaper dupes but none of them can compare in color payoff, consistency, & longevity. Awesome lip pencil!
+25points
25of 25found this review helpful.
Sweetcocoadiva
Location: DMV area
Review 3 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Obsession
Date:December 25, 2013
Tags: tracing the lips eyeliner eyeshadow
Mac lipliners are awesome! The color selection is very versatile and the colors are rich and pigment and so easy to work with making them a must have for any makeup junkie!!!
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
lizzylovesmacmakeup
Location: CA
Review 4 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Great match for several dark lip colors
Date:January 23, 2014
Tags: Precision Tip, Non - feathering, Defining, Bold Color
Nightmoth is a beautiful, very deep reddish-plum color perfect for pairing with many different dark lipstick shades. Very versatile!
+21points
24of 27found this review helpful.
PriestessLolo
Location: Duluth, GA
Review 5 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
I Love It!
Date:December 27, 2012
Tags: Precision Tip, Non - feathering, Defining, Bold Color, lining and shading the lips
There are many MAC lip pencils that deserve recognition on this site, but I have to speak on the Cherry lip liner. Cherry is a very versatile red pencil that can be used with just about all the MAC red colored lipsticks. Being a red lipstick hound, I have tried just about every red lipstick and red lip liner pencil combination there is. I always come back to Cherry. I forgot my lipstick in another purse one time and used my Cherry lip pencil to cover my entire lip area and almost every woman in the room wanted to know what brand/shade of red lipstick was I wearing. They were shocked to know that a lip liner pencil packed that much of a punch in color payoff. If you love the classic red lips like I do, get a Cherry lip pencil to help make your lips pop!
+9points
10of 11found this review helpful.
Adrienne
Location: Houston, Texas
Review 6 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Love!
Date:September 17, 2014
Tags: Precision Tip, Defining, Bold Color
I love this lip liner although I rarely ever use lip liners, I've been noticing the trend of fuller lips that are well filled in so I decided I would like to try it. I'm glad I did be used this lip liner is so light, and goes well with my skin tone! Love it!
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
AvaFun88
Location: College Station
Review 7 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
LOVE!
Date:August 29, 2010
Tags: Bold Color, Precision Tip, Non - feathering, Defining, darker skintones
You can't go wrong with these lip pencils!
I own 2: Brick (this is all I use over chapstick to achieve red lips — no gloss or lipstick) and Chestnut (I use this under lighter nude lipsticks)
Skintone: NW45 - NW50
+10points
11of 12found this review helpful.
Krys88
Location: Orlando, FL
Review 8 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Lip Pencil in "Stone"
Date:February 6, 2014
Tags: Precision Tip, Non - feathering, Defining, making lips appear larger, contouring and shading of lips, neutralizing certain shades of lipstick, all over lip color
Stone color is exactly as described, a muted grayish taupe brown with a tiny hint of purple to neutralize reds, it mimics the exact shade of the shadow my lips cast so it's very easy to make them appear larger if lined properly and subtly (I have a light beige complexion)
This color can be dark and intense or subtle and light depending on the intensity of application and whether you apply it on very dry lips or slightly moisturized by a lip conditioner.
Stone is a perfect liner shade for the lipgloss color Spite.
One of my favorite ways to use it is by carefully contouring and shading the corners of my lips after I've applied Mac lip conditioner.. a super quick and natural looking trick that will make your lips look plump and sexy.
This is the first time I find a perfectly muted neutral shade for my lips that doesn't scream redish or orangy tones! it even looks great all over the lip as a matte lipstick, what more can you ask from a lip liner?
Please never discontinue this multitasking beautiful shade! such a shame is not sold in stores.
+3points
6of 9found this review helpful.
LauraC
Location: Miami, FL
Review 9 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Cork goes with everything...
Date:August 15, 2014
Tags: Defining, Bold Color
Cork has definitely become my go to lip color whether it be for a nude lip, a light pink lip, darkening up my red lip a bit, or just on its own with a lipglass to go over it. I wish the longevity of this lip pencil would be a little better as it seems to wear off pretty easily - about 2-3 hours of uninterrupted by eating wear, but I suppose that's where MAC's prolongwear lip pencils come into play!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
shevaladiva
Location: NY
Review 10 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Excellent quality product
Date:November 19, 2014
I have three of the Mac pencils. I have naked, soar and whirl. I Love these lip pencils. They make my lips more full. Make my lipstick look neat and clean . Worth every penny.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Kate2917
Location: New York
Review 11 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Plum Lip liner
Date:November 13, 2014
Tags: Non - feathering, Defining, Bold Color
LOVE LOVE LOVE the color! My skin tone is like a caramel brown/some yellow and was not sure how it would look. I truly love it and I think I should stock up on this beautiful rich color lip liner. You can go light plum to darkest plum for night. I chew on my lips and even after I lined and filled in and chewed (haha) the color still stayed on. I scrub my lips first then put vaseline on , wipe gently then put a light coat of concealer on then line and fill in.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
PinkiePattie
Location: Vegas
Review 12 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Excellent lip pencil !
Date:November 4, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Defining
I bought this lip pencil in Whirl and Spice. I have never tried mac lip pencils before and was a bit skeptical at first. But I decided to purchase them the other day and these pencils are seriously amazing. They glide on smoothly and last quite long. They need to be reapplied every five hours if used without primers. They fade away evenly and do not leave off streaky. Keep in mind that they are matte finish and are drying- but nothing a good lip balm cannot fix. I am very impressed with these lip pencils. For anyone who's interested, Spice is more of a dark brownish pink color while whirl is a medium brown. Love them!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
SDLP
Location: NY.C
Review 13 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Confussing
Date:August 10, 2011
Tags: Precision Tip, Defining, Bold Color, everyday under lipstick
I love this MAC's lip pencils but i wish they were a little less confusing! I feel that MAC as a company should try a little harder to match the lip pencils with the lip stick.
I own 12 MAC lip pencils and over 15 lip sticks and I can't seem to match any of them up together! Now besides from that the pigmentation is very good and lasts all day! My one bad thing to say about them is that are a little drying on the lips.
over all very good
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Corrinn
Location: Virginia
Review 14 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Good
Date:October 30, 2014
Tags: Precision Tip, Non - feathering, Defining, Bold Color
I have light-medium asian skin (nw 20) and I was afraid this would be too dark for me, but it's not, it's the perfect red colour. I wore this last night to a masquerade ball and felt beautiful. Will definitely repurchase, it's the only red pencil I need.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Rowena
Location: Guam
Review 15 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Date:October 27, 2014
Tags: Non - feathering, Defining, Bold Color
I got the lip liner in currant to try to use it with the cyber lipstick. they don't work well together but work great as separate products
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
catr
Location: massachusetts
Review 16 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Love it!
Date:October 20, 2014
Tags: Defining
I got this lip pencil in whirl and it is the perfect beginners color for lip lining. It is this perfect natural looking shade that if applied properly can really help make your lips look super full.
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Sammarie
Location: Philadelphia
Review 17 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love it
Date:October 22, 2014
Tags: Defining, Bold Color, adding definition to your lips
I love this lip pencil..I use this lip pencil all the time..
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
happychick
Location: Dallas
Review 18 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Lovely, Long Lasting, The Perfect Liner
Date:September 24, 2010
This is my favorite lip pencil, I have whirl, soar, and will soon have boldly bare when it is delivered today. The liner is very easy to apply, and glides on smooth. These colors are so versatile, and you can play them up or down. With pressure you can achieve a bold line or soft focus. Each pencil matches multiple MAC lipsticks and glosses, it just depends on how you feel about color each day! If you are thinking about purchasing one of these pencils, DEFINITELY do so, you will be pleased!
Beautiful Day-
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Angelwings1075
Location: South Texas
Review 19 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Lip liner & lipstick
Date:September 22, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, lips
I get so frustrated trying to find a lip color that brings out my eyes but doesn't make me look sallow. The other problem is that with olive skin, green eyes & blond hair pastels are not in the books for me & I wear dark colors 99% of the time. I find that Mac lip liners are the BEST for lining & filling in lips as a "lipstick" that stays put all day. They have the best & widest color range as well. I've tried others only to be disappointed, I've learned my lesson, I stay with Mac & with their recycling program, they stay with me!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Vikka
Location: St. Paul
Review 20 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Perfect Color
Date:September 23, 2014
Tags: Precision Tip, Non - feathering, Defining, putting under lipstick - great base color
Love it - It's the perfect color. I wear it under my lipsticks for longlasting color. GREAT Lipliner.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
VRCAMPB
Location: Louisiana
1-20 of 109 reviews