Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Lip Pencil

Average Customer Rating:
4.536 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (138 reviews)
5 stars
102
4 stars
22
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
4
Customer Reviews for Lip Pencil
Review 1 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Stone is back?!?!?! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU
Date:July 12, 2014
Tags: Precision Tip, Non - feathering, Defining, makes lips appear fuller and more natural
I came on the site today to reorder a lipstick that had run low, and decided to check my "Favorites" list to see if there was anything there that I needed. And lo and behold an old friend reappeared - Stone lip pencil. I thought I must be seeing things. But no, it's there. And it's not marked as a limited edition.
Since it was discontinued several years ago, I've searched high and low for a replacement. But nothing was ever quite right. For the last year I had to use an EYE LINER to try and copy the color. Yes, an eye liner. I became desperate.
This was the perfect color for me to line my lips. It magically seemed to make my lips seem fuller (probably since it seems to almost mimics a very light shadow - thus giving the allusion of fuller lips). It also tones down brighter shades and turns pinks and nudes into colors that seem natural, healthy and beautiful. Some people may be turned off because it is described as grey muted taupe. But it is a truly natural looking color. Just not as yellow or orange as most "natural" or "beige" liners tend to be.
I ordered the maximum number that I was allowed with the largest smile on my face. PLEASE, PLEASE NEVER DISCONTINUE THIS AGAIN.
+83points
88of 93found this review helpful.
Corkie
Location: New York
Review 2 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
FAAAAAVORRRRIIIIITESSSS
Date:January 15, 2015
Tags: Bold Color, Defining
MAC has the best color selection of most things, especially lip pencils.
I LOVE Soar and Whirl even before Kylie Jenner, SO DONT DISCONTINUE IT! Keep em coming!!
I also love Oak, Stripdown, and Cork! The staying power for all of these is pretty great, and they are all so beautiful!
+19points
19of 19found this review helpful.
lyzzerp
Location: san diego
Review 3 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Excellent quality product
Date:November 19, 2014
I have three of the Mac pencils. I have naked, soar and whirl. I Love these lip pencils. They make my lips more full. Make my lipstick look neat and clean . Worth every penny.
+14points
15of 16found this review helpful.
Kate2917
Location: New York
Review 4 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Best liner ever
Date:December 7, 2013
Tags: Non - feathering, Defining
Vino is my favorite lip liner of all time! I initially used it to tone down my mac red lipstick for my NW45 skin tone. Now I use it to add dimension to various matte lipsticks and to help my lip color last longer. I also own it in cork, chestnut, & currant but vino is always my go-to. I've tried to find cheaper dupes but none of them can compare in color payoff, consistency, & longevity. Awesome lip pencil!
+36points
37of 38found this review helpful.
Sweetcocoadiva
Location: DMV area
Review 5 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Obsession
Date:December 25, 2013
Tags: tracing the lips eyeliner eyeshadow
Mac lipliners are awesome! The color selection is very versatile and the colors are rich and pigment and so easy to work with making them a must have for any makeup junkie!!!
+21points
21of 21found this review helpful.
lizzylovesmacmakeup
Location: CA
Review 6 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Love all my Mac lip pencils
Date:December 17, 2014
Tags: Precision Tip, Non - feathering, Defining
This review is for burgundy which looks amazing paired with dubonnet. Couldn't be happier!! You need a lip pencil with your red lipsticks to keep those edges clean!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Kate2917
Location: New York
Review 7 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Great match for several dark lip colors
Date:January 23, 2014
Tags: Precision Tip, Non - feathering, Defining, Bold Color
Nightmoth is a beautiful, very deep reddish-plum color perfect for pairing with many different dark lipstick shades. Very versatile!
+32points
36of 40found this review helpful.
PriestessLolo
Location: Duluth, GA
Review 8 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Excellent lip pencil !
Date:November 4, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Defining
I bought this lip pencil in Whirl and Spice. I have never tried mac lip pencils before and was a bit skeptical at first. But I decided to purchase them the other day and these pencils are seriously amazing. They glide on smoothly and last quite long. They need to be reapplied every five hours if used without primers. They fade away evenly and do not leave off streaky. Keep in mind that they are matte finish and are drying- but nothing a good lip balm cannot fix. I am very impressed with these lip pencils. For anyone who's interested, Spice is more of a dark brownish pink color while whirl is a medium brown. Love them!
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
SDLP
Location: NY.C
Review 9 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Love it!
Date:May 10, 2015
Tags: Non - feathering, Defining
I got the half red, and it goes on easily and the color is great for me since I have darker lips. It blends well with whatever shade of lipstick I use and does well defining my lips. I also have Mahogany which is a deeper red, makes any color more intense.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
wheresalice
Location: Bay Area
Review 10 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
My one and Only Lip Pencil
Date:May 7, 2015
Tags: Precision Tip, Non - feathering, Defining, Bold Color, all skin type
Love it!! There is no other lip pencil in the market for me like my Vino. It is simply beautiful and long lasting. I even use it all over my lips with a lip gloss on top.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
iwodamiorie
Location: Toronto, Canada
Review 11 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Love these lip liners...
Date:January 28, 2015
Tags: Precision Tip, Non - feathering, Defining, Bold Color
I've used these lip liners for years! WAY before Kylie Jenner. I bought Soar because my all time favorite Whirl is sold out. It's a nice color...BUT please get whirl back in stock.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Nicole82
Location: Carson, CA
Review 12 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great Lip Pencil
Date:September 22, 2014
Tags: Non - feathering, Defining, lip lining
As usual these lip pencils deliver. I have been using them for over ten years and have had no issues with them. Good quality.
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Michylaka
Location: Rockledge, Florida
Review 13 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Obsessed with Dervish
Date:January 1, 2015
Tags: Precision Tip, Non - feathering, Defining, everyday use special occasions
Apparently the nude lip thing is very in right now, thanks to Kylie Jenner, so many of the standard rosy-nude shades were sold out. I got some help from the sales associate looking for an alternative to Spice, which is too brown for my lips (they're naturally a bit more rosy-colored). She showed me Dervish and it's perfect! Almost exactly matches the color of my lips. I could wear it plain but I needed it to layer under stronger colors to act as a base. I did just that with Ruby Woo lipstick for NYE and it lasted all night! Dervish is not part of my daily makeup rotation. Great consistency and color, easy to apply, love it.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
JenDT
Location: Sacramento, CA
Review 14 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
I Love It!
Date:December 27, 2012
Tags: Precision Tip, Non - feathering, Defining, Bold Color, lining and shading the lips
There are many MAC lip pencils that deserve recognition on this site, but I have to speak on the Cherry lip liner. Cherry is a very versatile red pencil that can be used with just about all the MAC red colored lipsticks. Being a red lipstick hound, I have tried just about every red lipstick and red lip liner pencil combination there is. I always come back to Cherry. I forgot my lipstick in another purse one time and used my Cherry lip pencil to cover my entire lip area and almost every woman in the room wanted to know what brand/shade of red lipstick was I wearing. They were shocked to know that a lip liner pencil packed that much of a punch in color payoff. If you love the classic red lips like I do, get a Cherry lip pencil to help make your lips pop!
+10points
11of 12found this review helpful.
Adrienne
Location: Houston, Texas
Review 15 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
LOVE!
Date:August 29, 2010
Tags: Bold Color, Precision Tip, Non - feathering, Defining, darker skintones
You can't go wrong with these lip pencils!
I own 2: Brick (this is all I use over chapstick to achieve red lips — no gloss or lipstick) and Chestnut (I use this under lighter nude lipsticks)
Skintone: NW45 - NW50
+13points
14of 15found this review helpful.
Krys88
Location: Orlando, FL
Review 16 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Lip Pencil in "Stone"
Date:February 6, 2014
Tags: Precision Tip, Non - feathering, Defining, making lips appear larger, contouring and shading of lips, neutralizing certain shades of lipstick, all over lip color
Stone color is exactly as described, a muted grayish taupe brown with a tiny hint of purple to neutralize reds, it mimics the exact shade of the shadow my lips cast so it's very easy to make them appear larger if lined properly and subtly (I have a light beige complexion)
This color can be dark and intense or subtle and light depending on the intensity of application and whether you apply it on very dry lips or slightly moisturized by a lip conditioner.
Stone is a perfect liner shade for the lipgloss color Spite.
One of my favorite ways to use it is by carefully contouring and shading the corners of my lips after I've applied Mac lip conditioner.. a super quick and natural looking trick that will make your lips look plump and sexy.
This is the first time I find a perfectly muted neutral shade for my lips that doesn't scream redish or orangy tones! it even looks great all over the lip as a matte lipstick, what more can you ask from a lip liner?
Please never discontinue this multitasking beautiful shade! such a shame is not sold in stores.
+5points
8of 11found this review helpful.
LauraC
Location: Miami, FL
Review 17 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
stripdown lip pencil
Date:April 16, 2015
Tags: Defining
Love the lip pencil. I think it is a perfect nude look and a matte finished. I love it because it blends with my natural lip color and it defines my lips.
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
caliT
Location: el monte
Review 18 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Lovely, Long Lasting, The Perfect Liner
Date:September 24, 2010
This is my favorite lip pencil, I have whirl, soar, and will soon have boldly bare when it is delivered today. The liner is very easy to apply, and glides on smooth. These colors are so versatile, and you can play them up or down. With pressure you can achieve a bold line or soft focus. Each pencil matches multiple MAC lipsticks and glosses, it just depends on how you feel about color each day! If you are thinking about purchasing one of these pencils, DEFINITELY do so, you will be pleased!
Beautiful Day-
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Angelwings1075
Location: South Texas
Review 19 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Nice
Date:May 20, 2015
Tags: Precision Tip, Defining
Decent lip liner.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Honey17
Location: New Orleans, LA
Review 20 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
The best Lip Pencil ever
Date:January 17, 2015
Tags: Bold Color, Non - feathering, Defining
I've used MAC since 1989 and while I don't prefer many of their products the lip pencils (basic, sharpening type) are the best! Easy to apply fantastic staying power, and fabulous range of colors. If you know anything about makeup artistry, they teach you how to not just apply color, but blend it, and these are literally a required product for a beautiful lippie.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
SissyO
Location: Haymarket VA
1-20 of 137 reviews