Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Lip Pencil

Average Customer Rating:
4.524 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (82 reviews)
5 stars
61
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Reviews for Lip Pencil
Review 1 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Best liner ever
Date:December 7, 2013
Tags: Non - feathering, Defining
Vino is my favorite lip liner of all time! I initially used it to tone down my mac red lipstick for my NW45 skin tone. Now I use it to add dimension to various matte lipsticks and to help my lip color last longer. I also own it in cork, chestnut, & currant but vino is always my go-to. I've tried to find cheaper dupes but none of them can compare in color payoff, consistency, & longevity. Awesome lip pencil!
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
Sweetcocoadiva
Location: DMV area
Review 2 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Lip Pencil in "Stone"
Date:February 6, 2014
Tags: Precision Tip, Non - feathering, Defining, making lips appear larger, contouring and shading of lips, neutralizing certain shades of lipstick, all over lip color
Stone color is exactly as described, a muted grayish taupe brown with a tiny hint of purple to neutralize reds, it mimics the exact shade of the shadow my lips cast so it's very easy to make them appear larger if lined properly and subtly (I have a light beige complexion)
This color can be dark and intense or subtle and light depending on the intensity of application and whether you apply it on very dry lips or slightly moisturized by a lip conditioner.
Stone is a perfect liner shade for the lipgloss color Spite.
One of my favorite ways to use it is by carefully contouring and shading the corners of my lips after I've applied Mac lip conditioner.. a super quick and natural looking trick that will make your lips look plump and sexy.
This is the first time I find a perfectly muted neutral shade for my lips that doesn't scream redish or orangy tones! it even looks great all over the lip as a matte lipstick, what more can you ask from a lip liner?
Please never discontinue this multitasking beautiful shade! such a shame is not sold in stores.
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
LauraC
Location: Miami, FL
Review 3 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Obsession
Date:December 25, 2013
Tags: tracing the lips eyeliner eyeshadow
Mac lipliners are awesome! The color selection is very versatile and the colors are rich and pigment and so easy to work with making them a must have for any makeup junkie!!!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
lizzylovesmacmakeup
Location: CA
Review 4 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Great match for several dark lip colors
Date:January 23, 2014
Tags: Precision Tip, Non - feathering, Defining, Bold Color
Nightmoth is a beautiful, very deep reddish-plum color perfect for pairing with many different dark lipstick shades. Very versatile!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
PriestessLolo
Location: Duluth, GA
Review 5 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love Magenta!
Date:December 17, 2013
Tags: Precision Tip, Non - feathering, Defining, Bold Color, pink and purple lipsticks
I got the shade Magenta, what I see as a vibrant, pinky purple color, to wear with my Up the Amp, Heroine, Show Orchid, and sometimes Girl About Town. It goes on really easy, no tugging, very creamy, and highly pigmented. It adds nice depth, and a vibrant feel to any pink or purple shade of lipstick. A must have in your lip liner collection.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Prettygirlmo
Location: Utah
Review 6 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Draw for urself!
Date:December 27, 2013
This pencil is perfect! I am very glad to buy it as a present for my sister! We bought neutral color just to make lips a litle bit bigger and clear. It has been done without probs!
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
firstwriter
Review 7 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Absolute favorite!
Date:February 18, 2014
Tags: Precision Tip, Defining
I can't count how many years I have been using the Chestnut lip pencil. It is the perfect shade to line almost any lip color that I have tried.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Kesha
Location: Evergreen AL
Review 8 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
LOVE!
Date:August 29, 2010
Tags: Bold Color, Precision Tip, Non - feathering, Defining, darker skintones
You can't go wrong with these lip pencils!
I own 2: Brick (this is all I use over chapstick to achieve red lips — no gloss or lipstick) and Chestnut (I use this under lighter nude lipsticks)
Skintone: NW45 - NW50
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Krys88
Location: Orlando, FL
Review 9 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
I Love It!
Date:December 27, 2012
Tags: Precision Tip, Non - feathering, Defining, Bold Color, lining and shading the lips
There are many MAC lip pencils that deserve recognition on this site, but I have to speak on the Cherry lip liner. Cherry is a very versatile red pencil that can be used with just about all the MAC red colored lipsticks. Being a red lipstick hound, I have tried just about every red lipstick and red lip liner pencil combination there is. I always come back to Cherry. I forgot my lipstick in another purse one time and used my Cherry lip pencil to cover my entire lip area and almost every woman in the room wanted to know what brand/shade of red lipstick was I wearing. They were shocked to know that a lip liner pencil packed that much of a punch in color payoff. If you love the classic red lips like I do, get a Cherry lip pencil to help make your lips pop!
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Adrienne
Location: Houston, Texas
Review 10 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
INVEST IN IT.
Date:March 8, 2014
Tags: Defining, lining lips
Oh my goodness, this lip pencil is AMAZINGGGGGG. I absolutely love it! It's the first lip pencil I ever purchased from MAC (to pair with Cyber), and let me tell you guys...there's no such thing as depth or definition to your dark lip without it. I was thinking to myself, "$16 for this?!?" (I'm in college), but as soon as I used it the first time, I wondered why I hadn't sooner! Like I said, it looks amazing with Cyber, but I've also paired it with deep reds and even light pinks to brighten them up a bit. I've worn it alone, too, though it doesn't seem to last as long that way. It glides on extremely smooth as well. In love! Will be purchasing again!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
wcinnabun
Location: Atlanta, GA/Williamstown, MA
Review 11 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Cherry
Date:January 2, 2014
Tags: Precision Tip, Non - feathering, Defining, Bold Color, blue-red lipsticks
I am very impressed with these lip pencils. I normally go for retractable ones because they are creamy, easier to apply, etc. Lip pencils usually drag, aren't very pigmented, and don't apply well to hydrated lips. However, these are really pigmented, easy to apply without dragging, actually work well over lip balm, very long lasting, and sharpen to a nice point. I recently got Magenta and LOVED it, so I had to go out and buy another, so I chose Cherry. It looks a lot like Ruby Woo in pencil form, so it works well with blue based reds such as, Ruby Woo, Russian Red, Mac Red, and even Viva Glam 1 to make it brighter. They are totally worth the money you pay, and are the best lip pencils I've ever tried. They can also be used as an all over lipstick, and you can never go wrong with a multi-use product. You MUST try these!!
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Prettygirlmo
Location: Utah
Review 12 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Confussing
Date:August 10, 2011
Tags: Precision Tip, Defining, Bold Color, everyday under lipstick
I love this MAC's lip pencils but i wish they were a little less confusing! I feel that MAC as a company should try a little harder to match the lip pencils with the lip stick.
I own 12 MAC lip pencils and over 15 lip sticks and I can't seem to match any of them up together! Now besides from that the pigmentation is very good and lasts all day! My one bad thing to say about them is that are a little drying on the lips.
over all very good
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Corrinn
Location: Virginia
Review 13 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Magenta
Date:March 3, 2014
Looks purple online but it is really pink
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Linequeen
Review 14 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
<3 it!
Date:February 21, 2013
Tags: Precision Tip, Non - feathering, Defining, Bold Color
I have subculture and spice. Subculture BARELY shows up, I wouldn't repurchase but it goes good with the nude lip or with any pink lipstick. Spice I am in love with! I even wear it on it's own or just line my lips and go. I blend it in of course but I love the color. Can go with a dark nude lip or brown lipstick. I wouldn't go red, that's for sure. I would probably repurchase the spice if I don't find a dupe.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Kimichanga
Location: CA
Review 15 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
wonderful!
Date:November 2, 2011
Tags: Precision Tip, Non - feathering, Defining
I bought Subculture and it looks like a dusty, more neutral pink. I wear it underneath my lipstick to help keep my lipstick on longer and it does the job!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
christabel
Location: Athens, GA
Review 16 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Perfect lips
Date:October 25, 2010
Tags: Bold Color, Precision Tip, Non - feathering, Defining
This lip pencil is so easy to apply. It goes on super smooth and lasts throughout my day! I usually line my lips with this pencil, fill in lightly (for daytime) and then use a lip glass for a nice daytime look. Or if i'm going out for the night, just using a little more pressure I am able to get a bolder lip then go a little heavier with the lip glass for a sexy night look. Either way, my husband says my lips look super kissable!!!!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
RIAllie1976
Location: Cranston, RI
Review 17 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Subculture
Date:January 17, 2014
Tags: Defining
Not a fan of the color at all. Extremely light , lighter than my own lip color. Returned.
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
KDWOOD
Location: North Carolina
Review 18 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Chicory
Date:January 14, 2014
Tags: Non - feathering
I purchased chicory and it was a little too orangey for me so I will use it for layering it was creamy and stayed putt
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Catlady50
Location: Ohio
Review 19 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Not for me
Date:June 5, 2013
Tags: Defining, don't recommend
Not long lasting. For the price, you can very well get a less expensive that will do the same. Definition is great because you can sharpen. Color is bold but it will feather and it will fade along with your lip stick or even before.
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
MrsG31
Location: NJ
Review 20 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
beet lip pencil
Date:December 12, 2013
Tags: Defining
It's a nice pencil, but, too bright for my taste. I thought it would go well with del rio, but it didn't. Next time I'll try burgundy.
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
DuBuiGiGi
Location: Slidell, LA
1-20 of 82 reviews