Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Lip Pencil

Average Customer Rating:
4.52 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (100 reviews)
5 stars
73
4 stars
16
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Reviews for Lip Pencil
Review 1 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Stone is back?!?!?! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU
Date:July 12, 2014
Tags: Precision Tip, Non - feathering, Defining, makes lips appear fuller and more natural
I came on the site today to reorder a lipstick that had run low, and decided to check my "Favorites" list to see if there was anything there that I needed. And lo and behold an old friend reappeared - Stone lip pencil. I thought I must be seeing things. But no, it's there. And it's not marked as a limited edition.
Since it was discontinued several years ago, I've searched high and low for a replacement. But nothing was ever quite right. For the last year I had to use an EYE LINER to try and copy the color. Yes, an eye liner. I became desperate.
This was the perfect color for me to line my lips. It magically seemed to make my lips seem fuller (probably since it seems to almost mimics a very light shadow - thus giving the allusion of fuller lips). It also tones down brighter shades and turns pinks and nudes into colors that seem natural, healthy and beautiful. Some people may be turned off because it is described as grey muted taupe. But it is a truly natural looking color. Just not as yellow or orange as most "natural" or "beige" liners tend to be.
I ordered the maximum number that I was allowed with the largest smile on my face. PLEASE, PLEASE NEVER DISCONTINUE THIS AGAIN.
+13points
14of 15found this review helpful.
Corkie
Location: New York
Review 2 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Best liner ever
Date:December 7, 2013
Tags: Non - feathering, Defining
Vino is my favorite lip liner of all time! I initially used it to tone down my mac red lipstick for my NW45 skin tone. Now I use it to add dimension to various matte lipsticks and to help my lip color last longer. I also own it in cork, chestnut, & currant but vino is always my go-to. I've tried to find cheaper dupes but none of them can compare in color payoff, consistency, & longevity. Awesome lip pencil!
+21points
21of 21found this review helpful.
Sweetcocoadiva
Location: DMV area
Review 3 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Obsession
Date:December 25, 2013
Tags: tracing the lips eyeliner eyeshadow
Mac lipliners are awesome! The color selection is very versatile and the colors are rich and pigment and so easy to work with making them a must have for any makeup junkie!!!
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
lizzylovesmacmakeup
Location: CA
Review 4 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Great match for several dark lip colors
Date:January 23, 2014
Tags: Precision Tip, Non - feathering, Defining, Bold Color
Nightmoth is a beautiful, very deep reddish-plum color perfect for pairing with many different dark lipstick shades. Very versatile!
+10points
11of 12found this review helpful.
PriestessLolo
Location: Duluth, GA
Review 5 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Lip Pencil in "Stone"
Date:February 6, 2014
Tags: Precision Tip, Non - feathering, Defining, making lips appear larger, contouring and shading of lips, neutralizing certain shades of lipstick, all over lip color
Stone color is exactly as described, a muted grayish taupe brown with a tiny hint of purple to neutralize reds, it mimics the exact shade of the shadow my lips cast so it's very easy to make them appear larger if lined properly and subtly (I have a light beige complexion)
This color can be dark and intense or subtle and light depending on the intensity of application and whether you apply it on very dry lips or slightly moisturized by a lip conditioner.
Stone is a perfect liner shade for the lipgloss color Spite.
One of my favorite ways to use it is by carefully contouring and shading the corners of my lips after I've applied Mac lip conditioner.. a super quick and natural looking trick that will make your lips look plump and sexy.
This is the first time I find a perfectly muted neutral shade for my lips that doesn't scream redish or orangy tones! it even looks great all over the lip as a matte lipstick, what more can you ask from a lip liner?
Please never discontinue this multitasking beautiful shade! such a shame is not sold in stores.
+3points
6of 9found this review helpful.
LauraC
Location: Miami, FL
Review 6 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
I Love It!
Date:December 27, 2012
Tags: Precision Tip, Non - feathering, Defining, Bold Color, lining and shading the lips
There are many MAC lip pencils that deserve recognition on this site, but I have to speak on the Cherry lip liner. Cherry is a very versatile red pencil that can be used with just about all the MAC red colored lipsticks. Being a red lipstick hound, I have tried just about every red lipstick and red lip liner pencil combination there is. I always come back to Cherry. I forgot my lipstick in another purse one time and used my Cherry lip pencil to cover my entire lip area and almost every woman in the room wanted to know what brand/shade of red lipstick was I wearing. They were shocked to know that a lip liner pencil packed that much of a punch in color payoff. If you love the classic red lips like I do, get a Cherry lip pencil to help make your lips pop!
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Adrienne
Location: Houston, Texas
Review 7 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Love!
Date:September 17, 2014
Tags: Precision Tip, Defining, Bold Color
I love this lip liner although I rarely ever use lip liners, I've been noticing the trend of fuller lips that are well filled in so I decided I would like to try it. I'm glad I did be used this lip liner is so light, and goes well with my skin tone! Love it!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
AvaFun88
Location: College Station
Review 8 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
LOVE!
Date:August 29, 2010
Tags: Bold Color, Precision Tip, Non - feathering, Defining, darker skintones
You can't go wrong with these lip pencils!
I own 2: Brick (this is all I use over chapstick to achieve red lips — no gloss or lipstick) and Chestnut (I use this under lighter nude lipsticks)
Skintone: NW45 - NW50
+8points
9of 10found this review helpful.
Krys88
Location: Orlando, FL
Review 9 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Super peeeerrrrffff
Date:September 5, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Precision Tip, Non - feathering, Defining
Dark Purple pencil, perfectly matte for the liner of any lipstick! I use it for my ruby woo & it makes the lipstick pop just right. I also used it on my rebel lipstick & made me love the lipstick a LOT more cause it was a mistake that i even bought it but! ANYWAYS, its great lol.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Anonymous
Review 10 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Cork goes with everything...
Date:August 15, 2014
Tags: Defining, Bold Color
Cork has definitely become my go to lip color whether it be for a nude lip, a light pink lip, darkening up my red lip a bit, or just on its own with a lipglass to go over it. I wish the longevity of this lip pencil would be a little better as it seems to wear off pretty easily - about 2-3 hours of uninterrupted by eating wear, but I suppose that's where MAC's prolongwear lip pencils come into play!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
shevaladiva
Location: NY
Review 11 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
love
Date:August 12, 2014
Tags: everything
This lip liner is amazing makes reds look so sultry.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
alixxxaaron
Location: california
Review 12 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
love
Date:August 12, 2014
Tags: everything
This lip liner is amazing makes reds look so sultry.
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
alixxxaaron
Location: california
Review 13 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Confussing
Date:August 10, 2011
Tags: Precision Tip, Defining, Bold Color, everyday under lipstick
I love this MAC's lip pencils but i wish they were a little less confusing! I feel that MAC as a company should try a little harder to match the lip pencils with the lip stick.
I own 12 MAC lip pencils and over 15 lip sticks and I can't seem to match any of them up together! Now besides from that the pigmentation is very good and lasts all day! My one bad thing to say about them is that are a little drying on the lips.
over all very good
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Corrinn
Location: Virginia
Review 14 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
INVEST IN IT.
Date:March 8, 2014
Tags: Defining, lining lips
Oh my goodness, this lip pencil is AMAZINGGGGGG. I absolutely love it! It's the first lip pencil I ever purchased from MAC (to pair with Cyber), and let me tell you guys...there's no such thing as depth or definition to your dark lip without it. I was thinking to myself, "$16 for this?!?" (I'm in college), but as soon as I used it the first time, I wondered why I hadn't sooner! Like I said, it looks amazing with Cyber, but I've also paired it with deep reds and even light pinks to brighten them up a bit. I've worn it alone, too, though it doesn't seem to last as long that way. It glides on extremely smooth as well. In love! Will be purchasing again!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
wcinnabun
Location: Atlanta, GA/Williamstown, MA
Review 15 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Draw for urself!
Date:December 27, 2013
This pencil is perfect! I am very glad to buy it as a present for my sister! We bought neutral color just to make lips a litle bit bigger and clear. It has been done without probs!
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
firstwriter
Review 16 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
In Synch
Date:June 11, 2014
Tags: Precision Tip, Non - feathering, Bold Color, pairing with nude glosses
Just rec'd In Synch this morning and thought it far too light for me at first,even though it makes a bold statement. Still, I applied it over a bit of balm (it is a bit dry), then used it with every lip gloss and/or lipstick in my arsenal and boy! what a great summer colour. It looks great with a nude gloss over top and will subtly change any colour you wear under or over it. Alone or in conjunction with another product -it's a dreamy colour! I'm normally a 'red' person and stepping out in this 'bright a pale pink' scared me at first, but after pairing it with other colours, I could not be more pleased. Summer has indeed arrived! My skin is 'olive' and when applied to my hand, I did notice a hint of 'peach' (maybe it was the light), but tomorrow I'm off to find a perfect peach shade to pair with In Synch. This colour can take darker shades as well - it just brings the darker shade down a notch or two and you then have a brand new lip colour - love it! Don't let the bubble-bum appearance fool you - there are a million possibilities in this stick.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Leda
Location: Vancouver
Review 17 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Absolute favorite!
Date:February 18, 2014
Tags: Precision Tip, Defining
I can't count how many years I have been using the Chestnut lip pencil. It is the perfect shade to line almost any lip color that I have tried.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Kesha
Location: Evergreen AL
Review 18 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
bring back heroine lip pencil
Date:July 10, 2014
Love MAC Lip pencils. That's the only brand I'll use. Please bring back heroine lip pencil. It's a must have. Yall have 4 purple lip sticks & no lip pencils. What am I supposed to do when I run out?
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Lati
Location: macon, ga
Review 19 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Best Neutral Ever
Date:July 7, 2014
Tags: Precision Tip, Non - feathering, Defining, Bold Color, lips
This has to be my all time favorite lip color, personally and for my clients. Everyone loves it. It fits so many lipstick colors and it is even better to wear all on its own.. so beautiful!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Angelicaliann
Location: New York, NY
Review 20 for Lip Pencil
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Perfect lips
Date:October 25, 2010
Tags: Bold Color, Precision Tip, Non - feathering, Defining
This lip pencil is so easy to apply. It goes on super smooth and lasts throughout my day! I usually line my lips with this pencil, fill in lightly (for daytime) and then use a lip glass for a nice daytime look. Or if i'm going out for the night, just using a little more pressure I am able to get a bolder lip then go a little heavier with the lip glass for a sexy night look. Either way, my husband says my lips look super kissable!!!!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
RIAllie1976
Location: Cranston, RI
1-20 of 99 reviews