Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Eye Kohl

Average Customer Rating:
4.324 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (71 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
13
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Reviews for Eye Kohl
Review 1 for Eye Kohl
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Goes the Distance
Date:September 25, 2013
Tags: Long wearing
I got this in white, as it was the only white eyeliner I've been able to find. I use this in my waterline to help brighten my eyes a bit. This stuff really goes the distance. i put it on at 8 AA and when i go to bed at 11 PM it's still on. You don't have to go over the area again and again to get it on nicely, I go over the waterline once or twice and it's bold. I've tried pretty much every liner out there and this is the one I'm sticking with.
+23points
24of 25found this review helpful.
VeraLynn
Location: New Jersey
Review 2 for Eye Kohl
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great eyeliner
Date:March 7, 2014
Tags: Waterproof, Long wearing, Bold Color, easy to apply, Creamy
I have this pencil in Costa Riche and it is fabulous! The color is beautiful, and the pencil is super easy to apply. No dragging, smudging, skipping, or any of that. It's dry enough not to smudge all over my lid throughout the day, but still creamy enough to apply smoothly. I gave 4 stars only because it fades a tiny bit throughout the day, but I still love it, and the fading is almost un-noticiable. Smolder and Teddy are next on my list :)
+10points
11of 12found this review helpful.
Grace507
Location: Boston, MA
Review 3 for Eye Kohl
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
The BEST
Date:March 2, 2013
Tags: Waterproof, Bold Color, Smudgeable, Long wearing
This is literally the only eye liner I will use. I've tried a countless number of eyeliners over the years and the Eye Kohl is my only eyeliner chioce. It goes on very smooth and it's very long lasting. Definitely invest in this!
+15points
15of 15found this review helpful.
Anonymous
Location: Long Island, New York
Review 4 for Eye Kohl
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
smug and transfer
Date:May 27, 2014
Tags: Bold Color
The consistency and glides on easily but this product is not for me. I have watery eyes and the liner stay about few minutes on my eyes and then starts transferring all over. It just doesn't stick to the skin. I have tried smolder and Teddy. Both colors have same issues. It just transfer like crazy on watery eyes. Since, smolder is every intense black shade. It makes it even worse to wear.
Anyways a great product but not for everybody.
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
SanBen
Location: California
Review 5 for Eye Kohl
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Smooth yet dry
Date:December 3, 2013
Tags: Long wearing, oily lids
I love this pencil because it's not as creamy as urban decay and yet it still is smooth and is more long lasting.
+9points
10of 11found this review helpful.
LilA1
Location: Washington, DC
Review 6 for Eye Kohl
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
I Love this pencil!
Date:December 5, 2014
Tags: Bold Color
I use the color, Tarnish to line the water-line of my eye. It's the only pencil that is creamy enough to line that area without pulling. I have hazel eyes and it brings out the green in my eyes.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Bets
Location: Valley Glen, CA
Review 7 for Eye Kohl
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Very Disappointing
Date:January 22, 2012
Tags: good color, lousy staying power.
This is the only M.A.C. product I have ever used that I feel does not come up to their usual standards. It is a bit firmer than I like, but the real problem is the lack of "staying power". I used the pencil in Stubborn Brown last night before I went out with friends. After one dance, the color had bled down under my eyes and between them, so that I looked like I had a black eye. Powerpoint pencils go on more easily and last longer without running. I do not recommend these.
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
CoopersMom
Location: Portland, OR
Review 8 for Eye Kohl
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Amazing !
Date:September 2, 2010
Tags: Waterproof, Bold Color, Long wearing
It's the best and it has the darkest color in an eyeliner that I've ever used. It doesn't rub off when I sweat and it stays dark and vibrant throughout the whole day! I'll never use a different eyeliner as long as I live :)
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Donnie
Location: Boston
Review 9 for Eye Kohl
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Not worth it
Date:October 11, 2012
Tags: nothing i'd use it for
I had been looking for a waterproof pencil for my waterline and was told this would work. It didn't. I am not a wearer of kohl pencils so I had no other use for it other than my waterline. I returned it and am waiting for a lipstick in exchange.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Yelley623
Location: NY
Review 10 for Eye Kohl
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Always considered my makeup necessity!
Date:January 18, 2012
Tags: Bold Color, Smudgeable, Long wearing
I love love love this eyeliner! I started with Smolder, but found it's too harsh for my coloring. (olive skin, brown eyes) So I switched to Teddy and it has been my go to eyeliner for over two years now! I recently went out on a limb and got Tarnish and Prunella and I'm so happy I did! I have to say Prunella may be my new favorite color. (sorry Teddy) I also liked how Tarnish brought the gold in my eyes. I'm quite happy with my purchases and will continue to stick with my new eyeliner "wardrobe" as the Mac consultant called it!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
TiffNav
Review 11 for Eye Kohl
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Game changer
Date:September 21, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color
I have stayed away from pencil liners for years opting for liquid. I think this has converted me back. Its creamy, smooth to apply, and stays put. I actually had fun doing my eye liner today and I got compliments on it to boot. Paired it with a vanilla allover shadow, texture in the crease/corner and a bit of mocha blush from another brand at the end to finish off the eye. Added a matte bronzer as blush and Per Vette to lips. Clean and classy LOVE!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Wils3
Location: Chicago
Review 12 for Eye Kohl
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Best liner over all!
Date:April 27, 2011
Tags: Bold Color, Smudgeable, dramatic eye liner looks
I love this eye kohl! It is smudgeable and though I find I have to set it to make it last, I can always get the perfect clean or smoked out line. It is perfect for so many looks!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
heartstrung
Location: campbell, ca
Review 13 for Eye Kohl
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Amazing product! One downside though.
Date:April 7, 2014
Tags: Smudgeable, Long wearing, Bold Color
Love this product! The only downside is that it smudges easily, but the shade Prunella goes wonderfully with my eyes. Would repurchase this product if a store were anywhere near me.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
NoelMichelle1
Location: Iowa
Review 14 for Eye Kohl
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Great product!!
Date:March 20, 2014
Tags: Smudgeable, Long wearing, Bold Color
I've tried many other eye liners and always get disappointed. MAC's eye kohl is great! It goes on smoothly, no skips or smears. AND the best is that it stays on all day. I have combination skin and the skin around my eyes tends to be oily making my eye makeup a smear-y mess by the end of the day. Not so with this product. The color is bold but not overwhelming. Does well with just mascara. Will definitely buy others.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
nyclady
Location: NYC
Review 15 for Eye Kohl
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Shimmery!
Date:September 12, 2014
Tags: Smudgeable
I bought this eye kohl pencil in Teddy after reading rave reviews of it online. I was disappointed. Way too shimmery and not a rich brown as was described. Light brown at best. Returned.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
nikchik
Review 16 for Eye Kohl
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
A Great Purchase
Date:August 18, 2014
Tags: Long wearing
I've just re-purchased the Teddy eye kohl, because I was so in love with it. I have fair to medium skin and black eye liner is just too dark. The Teddy is a perfect brown and I love the gold hues it has as well. It's also super easy to apply which I love and takes me no time in the morning.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
CaYo
Review 17 for Eye Kohl
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Limited Smudging
Date:May 25, 2012
Tags: Smudgeable, Long wearing
I have had the hardest time trying to find a lasting eyeliner for my lower waterline/lashline. I decided to try and go for a high end product and maybe it would be worth it... It totally was! This eyeliner has a limited amount of smudging and it last a good amount of the day. I was impressed and will repurchase!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Britster609
Review 18 for Eye Kohl
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Good
Date:August 1, 2014
I bought this today in store. Goes on smooth smudges easy and it's classic black. Not waterproof but once it sets it stays.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Kate77
Location: Florida
Review 19 for Eye Kohl
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Smolder
Date:September 6, 2010
Tags: Waterproof, Bold Color, Smudgeable, Long wearing
love this product!! i have some of their other liners, but smolder is my favorite!!!! it lasts all day...i wore it while at a muse concert. I was on the floor jumping up and down covered from head to toe in sweat and it didn't move! :) It does great to line the bottom inner lash line..i work 10 and 12 hours at a time at a hospital and sometimes even longer and i do have to apply at least once to my inner lash, but totally worth it. It lasts forever...don't consider just buy it now!!! You won't regret it :)
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
littleSarah
Location: utah
Review 20 for Eye Kohl
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
So-So
Date:January 21, 2011
Tags: Bold Color, Smudgeable, Long wearing, wearing under an eyeshadow
I love how creamy they glide on, and the colors are very pigmented. Im not sure if they are waterproof or not. I would say not because of how they come off so easily if not sealed with an eyeshadow.
I cant use them to line the top of my eye unless i set it with an eyeshadow or else it wears off and sticks to my crease (not a sexy look at all!)
I have the white and a green color. They were one of the first things I ever bought from mac and have hardly used them. I use the white often to highlight my inner corner, ill line below my eye & apply eye shadow colors (to make them more color-true) and lately i have been putting some on my eye lid on top of a layer of paint pot to make colors stand out more. I put streaks on and then blend with my finger until the color is evenly distributed. It works very well this way!
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
BarbB
Location: Arizona
1-20 of 71 reviews