Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Cream Colour Base

Average Customer Rating:
4.525 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews for Cream Colour Base
Review 1 for Cream Colour Base
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Cream Colour Base Pearl
Date:April 9, 2015
Tags: Highly pigmented, Blendable, face and body
As I have oily skin and love matte foundations, I was looking for a product to add dimension to my face without being dewy/greasy. I have a few other big brand highlighters, which are wonderful, but contain too much shimmer for daytime wear. I purchased Pearl based on lovely online photos and Youtube videos. When I received the product, I was surprised by how small the product actually is, and was beginning to regret my purchase -- especially after I swatched it and noticed obvious shimmer. However, when I tapped some (okay, maybe a lot) on the top of my cheeks and down my nose bridge, and blended it out with a damp Beauty Blender sponge, it imparted such a beautiful natural glow and sheen without shimmer, that I was completely sold.
The best part is that it does not make my skin look dewy or oily -- it adds a bit of dimension to the face to keep matte foundations from looking too flat. I have medium-tan skin that tans very easily (NC40-NC43), and the color looks extremely natural on my skin tone, despite seeming like an icy white/golden color in the pan. I have seen it used on the eyelids and body, but for now I simply relegate it to my cheeks and nose; though I may try other methods during the summer.
My advice, though, is that if you are seeking a noticeable, yet subtle glow, build up coverage and blend it out vigorously with a blending sponge.
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
AnimeFan
Review 2 for Cream Colour Base
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Pearl Cream Color Base
Date:January 29, 2015
Tags: Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant, Highlighting
I have the cream color base in Pearl and it is amazing. I really debated between Luna and Pearl. I ended up going with Pearl because it was more beige where Luna was more white. I use this for Highlighting on the cheeks, cupid's bow and underneath the eyebrows. This is so versatile you can use it sheer or build it up and its never cakey. I love using this for conturing you can also use a powder on top of it as well. The finish is truly pearlescent and not glittery/sparkly like a lot of highlighters out there. Its a must have for me.
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
MissDoll
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Review 3 for Cream Colour Base
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love this creme base
Date:July 15, 2014
Tags: Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant, everyday
Just received this. Wanted Shell, but read about Hush. Very glad I got this. It is a bit hard at first but your fingers warm it up. It's very light and sheer on the skin, and as I had read, blending is everything. It's real dewy alone, and it really helps hold blush and it seems like you don't need as much blush, and you still retain the glow with blush on top. I will be using this alone and with blush. Ii's a very light peachy/gold and not overdone. You don't need a whole lot. It really does a great job as a highlighter and glow. I am over 55 and wanted something soft, which this is. I do need at least a sheer foundation on first, but it works great for a light not over done look. You can also build it to make more pronounced. I love it and will still order Shell when it's back in stock. Just the perfect glow! This will also be great in the winter when dry skin comes back for a perfect glow. It is NOT sticky either, which I have a few creme blushes that your hair sticks to. This is also a perfect multi purpose. Great on lips! This is a 5 star!
+31points
34of 37found this review helpful.
JAZZZ
Location: Denver
Review 4 for Cream Colour Base
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
IMPROPER COPPER IS PROPER!!
Date:January 22, 2013
Tags: Highly pigmented, Blendable, Highlighting
For women of color and anyone else! I stress women of color because I am and I like to be of whatever help I can be. Often when I read reviews, I like to know what complexion the reviewer is because all make-up colors do not look good on all complexions. I am NW45. Anyhoo, Improper Copper is a GREAT product!! You really can not see the goldish undertones of this on the picture online or the swatch. It is absolutely gorgeous and it can be worn as a highlighter on the cheeks, bridge of nose, and forehead to give an all over, natural glow to your face! I use the #188 brush for this. I HIGHLY recommend it! I have found another product that MAC makes that I can not live without! LOL Now, I am going to order more colors!
+104points
106of 108found this review helpful.
SexyLexie
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Review 5 for Cream Colour Base
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Luma Cream Colour Base
Date:March 4, 2014
Tags: Blendable
The Luma colour base is very smooth. I use it to highlight when contouring. It comes off very smooth and really ties things together. I use brush 168 with this product for an airbrushed effect. I was searching for a product that wasn't too pigmented and wasn't too obvious. for me, this product is exactly that. Hope this helps ;)
+20points
21of 22found this review helpful.
DaveyXRated
Location: New London
Review 6 for Cream Colour Base
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Pearl
Date:June 11, 2011
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant, cheek highlight
Pearl is a great color to use as both an eye-shadow base as well as a cheek highlight. I use my MAC 130 to buff it in to my clients cheekbones, and it has a spectacular glow. I recommend this product highly if you have acne, or any sort of bumpy skin, as opposed to MAC Mineralize Skinfinish, only because that has more of a glittery sheen, whereas Pearl has a smooth sheer finish while still adding that luminescent glow.
+43points
45of 47found this review helpful.
Cagedcorpse
Location: San Francisco
Review 7 for Cream Colour Base
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Best highlighter EVER.
Date:February 10, 2012
Tags: Blendable, Crease resistant, Highlighting
Recently, I discovered the magic of highlighting---it really is a great way to play up your features and add depth to your face. I've been on the hunt for that perfect highlighting product to claim a spot in my everchanging makeup bag.... and guess what?! I found it. Pearl is the perfect natural highlight. It really adds a little glow where you need it! I also love Shell as a kind of blush. It's just wonderful! If you're debating on whether or not to buy these, buy one RIGHT NOW. Just do it. No regrets :) The only reason I gave this product four stars, not five, is because I wish they came just a wee bit bigger. But no real complaints. The product's amazing, the longevity of it is amazing. Just buy the dang thing!
+22points
23of 24found this review helpful.
iHeartPaintPots
Review 8 for Cream Colour Base
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Fabulousity to the T!!!
Date:April 24, 2011
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant, cheeks lips eyes
I recently ordered the cream colour base in Rich Coral and Dusk. I must say, the Rich Coral is absolutely GORGEOUS! What a beautiful shade! I use a brush to apply it to the cheekbones after my foundation and powder, and I've never seen my cheeks glow the way they do when I use this ccb! I also love the dewey, fresh faced, summery look it gives me! I've also used a little bit under my foundation just to kind of give it a, "glow from below" I like to call it :)" feel. It really is a stunning shade on a medium or olive complexion! It also looks fantastic and someone with cooler tones in their skin, as I tried it on one of my Bridal Trials this past week. She's got a lighter complexion with cool undertones, but she's also some gold in her eyes so she's got the best of both worlds, and after I airbrushed her I applied a touch of this to her cheeks with my brush. All I can say is WOW! Her hazel eyes were SPARKLING and her skin was just RADIATING! I've also used a touch of this on my lips, before some Creme D' Nude, and then topped it off with Like Venus and HOLY SPRING-EY nectar lips!
I also purchased the dusk to use as a contouring shade, and I have to say I wasn't too crazy about it :/ First I used it over my foundation and before my powder, and I feel like my skin looked "dirty". Then I tried foundation, powder, then ccb and again I got that not so pretty look! LoL Maybe I'm not using it correctly, or perhaps I need a different shade to contour, so if anyone has any suggestions, shoot them right over :)
+9points
12of 15found this review helpful.
NathalieM
Location: NORTH JERSEY
Review 9 for Cream Colour Base
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Beautiful
Date:March 7, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Blendable, Highly pigmented, Luminous, Long wearing
The color Luna is a perfect for someone who wants a more neutral highlight--it doesn't lean yellow, pink, or beige. I've been loving it both as a cheekbone and inner corner highlight. It's very pigmented, and gives the most beautiful, luminous glow to the face without looking greasy, shiny, or oily at all. It's also extremely easy to apply--with either a brush or your fingers. Even though it is a cream product, it's SUPER easy to blend and lasts all day without fading or smearing. This is definitely my new favorite highlighter :)
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Grace507
Location: Boston, MA
Review 10 for Cream Colour Base
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Cream Color Base
Date:July 4, 2014
Tags: Highly pigmented, Blendable, higlighter
I purchased the color "pearl". Outstanding when used as a highlighter. Very realistic color on cheekbones and under eyebrow. Great staying power.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Lucygirl
Location: Illinois
Review 11 for Cream Colour Base
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Amazing Highlighter
Date:January 7, 2014
Tags: Highly pigmented, Blendable
I just recently went all out at the mac counter. i have only had a few mac products before so i decided to go out and splurge on an entire make up collection including foundation, concealer blushes and bronzers. I saw this as i was checking out and picked it up with out trying it. BEST DECISION EVER! this is probably my favorite piece of make up that i own its beautiful. i cant even begin to tell you how many compliments i get on a daily basis on how glow-y my skin looks. it gives it that perfect amount of shine with out making it look oily. its super dewy and i will be buying this for the rest of my life i can promise you that mac!
+8points
16of 24found this review helpful.
Jessiejayy
Location: Connecticut
Review 12 for Cream Colour Base
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Best.product.ever.
Date:December 17, 2012
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant
I have been using Shell for as long as I can remember. I use it alone. I use is as a base/primer for eyeshadow. I use it for a little glimmer on my cheeks or lips. This is the best MAC product I have ever owned... And I have gone through a ton of MAC makeup.
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
ARgirl86
Location: Arkansas
Review 13 for Cream Colour Base
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Pearl Highlight
Date:March 29, 2014
Tags: Highly pigmented
I love pearl highlight! I use it on my cheekbones, browbones and cupids bow. I gave 4 out of 5 simply because it is harder to blend but by dabbing it lightly onto your face you can avoid looking a bit too highlighted and crazy! Pearl is a beautiful shade too!
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
FullTTimeGal
Review 14 for Cream Colour Base
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
I love it.
Date:October 4, 2010
Tags: Blendable, cheeks
I have the cream colour base in pearl :) My wonderful M.A.C artist Mary showed me it, she just put it on the top of my cheekbones and it gave me a beautiful highlight and gives my face a glowing, beautiful look. I apply it with my finger and just blend it a little, and it will last me forever because a little goes a long way!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
BrittyBou
Location: Seattle
Review 15 for Cream Colour Base
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
i am in love....
Date:October 4, 2010
Tags: Bold Color, Highly pigmented, Blendable, Crease resistant, dry skin and tan skin
this is so soft and great for dry skin.........i have Virgin Isle Vivid bright coral (Cream) as i am NC 40 and its a dark color its suits me perfectly.....................
thanks mac
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
shru
Location: Fairfax
Review 16 for Cream Colour Base
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Date:August 29, 2010
Tags: Blendable, darker skintones
These are excellent. I own Improper Copper.
I'm not sure why Improper Copper is not recommended for use on the eye area. That's mainly where I use and it looks great!
Without a primer, these will crease.
I've also found it best to apply and blend with your finger.
Skintone: NW45 - NW50
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Krys88
Location: Orlando, FL
Review 17 for Cream Colour Base
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Natural highlight
Date:February 5, 2012
Tags: Blendable
I bought this in the color Pearl. I have been trying to find a product to use as a highlight that looks natural. This is it. When applied with a light hand on cheekbones this gives the perfect, natural highlight I have been looking for. What makes it even better is it doesn't have a glitter look at all ( I don't care for glitter ) This looks like a natural healthy glow! Wish I would have purchased this sooner.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
september
Location: NY
Review 18 for Cream Colour Base
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
LOVE LUNA!
Date:February 9, 2012
Tags: Blendable, highlight
For that "Kim K or Nikki M" highlight use "Luna Cream Colour Base" Apply when you are adding your blush and/or bronzer. Once I apply this product Under my eyes/ high cheek bone area and under the jaw line where you would like highlight with bronzer. Then I spray FIX + on my brush and blend blend blend, it gives you this glow that is so amazing. Keep in mind I use all cream products when i apply this.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
LipstickLinette
Location: San Diego, CA
Review 19 for Cream Colour Base
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Cannot Live Without
Date:September 26, 2012
Tags: Blendable
This stuff is so amazing. I have it in Pearl, and it is the perfect highlighter.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Christuhknee
Review 20 for Cream Colour Base
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Bring Back Fabulush!
Date:June 27, 2012
Tags: Bold Color, i use this to highlight and set lipstick
I couldn't believe it when I signed on to order another Fabulush and it isn't available! Yikes!!! What is a girl to do when she loses one of her main makeup essentials!!
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
MontanaGirl
Location: Montana
1-20 of 59 reviews