Product Reviews

MAC 150 Large Powder Brush

Average Customer Rating:
3.115 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
7
Customer Reviews for 150 Large Powder Brush
Review 1 for 150 Large Powder Brush
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Perpetual SHEDDER
Date:October 12, 2013
Tags: All over application
This brush would be an absolutely amazing brush if it did not shed SO much. I've had this brush now for 10 months and from day one it shed. I thought perhaps it would stop shedding after a few uses, however, that was not the case. After 10 months, it is still shedding and just seems to be getting worse. Unfortunately, I have stopped using it and bought another brand. Sorry MAC, you've failed on this one. Would love a replacement to see if it were just a defective brush I received.
+13points
13of 13found this review helpful.
LovelyDiva
Location: Florida
Review 2 for 150 Large Powder Brush
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Sheds Consistently
Date:February 28, 2012
Tags: getting hair all over your face
I've owned this brush for several months and it still has not stopped shedding. It is such a pain. I tried to return it but the store required the original receipt. They also claimed that my complaint was unusual, which is not true, as can be evidenced with the online reviews. They instructed me to clean it (again), brush it, condition it...treat it like real hair. REALLY?! NONE of my other brushes require this much maintenance, and I actually tried ALL the things they suggested, and it still sheds all over my face. The store also said that I may have gotten a brush in a bad/defective lot. OK, if this is the case, and I brought in my brush and proved the shedding, why don't they just take it back or exchange it for me? Frustrating!
+16points
16of 16found this review helpful.
pupl0ver
Location: Santa Monica
Review 3 for 150 Large Powder Brush
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Not happy
Date:June 3, 2014
I would expect way more from a $42.00 brush. It sheds like crazy...worse than $10 brushes I have. I will not buy another M.A.C brush after this experience.
Don't waste your money!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Rdafoe
Review 4 for 150 Large Powder Brush
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Looks great; sheds like a dollar store brush.
Date:August 9, 2014
I came in looking for a big luxurious powder brush; the 150 looked perfect! It was my first time buying a mac brush and I'm never wasting my money on another one again. It sheds all over my face!!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
SandraTaylor
Location: Oregon
Review 5 for 150 Large Powder Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love!
Date:November 3, 2013
Tags: powder/ setting foundation
I absolutely love! Has sheded on me a few times(Nothing major) just like real hair; feels a little rough when it needs to be washed, once it's cleaned it goes back to its shape and softness
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
JOJOLUV21
Location: Tampa Fl
Review 6 for 150 Large Powder Brush
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Good Brush
Date:October 20, 2013
Tags: Blending, All over application
I've had this brush for almost 10 years and the bristles are still full and shiny like the first day I got it. The logo and the brush number are almost faded.I do not wear makeup often (on average, once every two weeks), but whenever I do, I reach for this brush. This is a great brush for all over application. I use it to set my foundation with a studio fix powder foundation and I am left with airbrushed complexion.. I use to use it for blush however, because of its size and because I have a small face, I find that other smaller brushes are better. I will sometimes use this brush to apply bronzer and to blend all the shades together. If you are in a pinch and this is the only brush you have, you can use it to highlight and contour but again, there are better brushes out there for both of those things. This brush sheds every time I use it. After almost 10 years of use, it still sheds. If you don't mind occasional black hair on your face (you can brush it off easily) I would recommend this brush to anyone who is just starting with their brush collection. I
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Lekki
Location: Boston
Review 7 for 150 Large Powder Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great for setting foundation
Date:December 20, 2013
Tags: setting powder
My brush shed for the first couple of months, but after a handful of washings, the shedding has stopped completely. Picks up and applies products perfectly.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
WeRunLA
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Review 8 for 150 Large Powder Brush
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Sheds worse than my cat
Date:February 15, 2015
Tags: All over application
Considering this brush cost me around $50 I expected MUCH more, especially from this brand. Right from the start it had breakage and shed all over my face. Breakage/shedding is why I threw out my previous brush (from another brand). I bought a MAC brush hoping to avoid picking fibers off my face... with no luck. Very disappointed. Minus the constant shedding, it does apply my loose powder well.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Chicky24
Location: Sudbury
Review 9 for 150 Large Powder Brush
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Not Worth the Money
Date:December 1, 2012
Tags: All over application
This brush is very frustrating. It's very big, which I like, and the brush isn't stiff, which I love, but it sheds! I have black hairs all over my face after I'm done using it. I splurged to get a nice brush and this wasn't what I got. Not worth it.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Lindsey123
Location: Franklin, TN
Review 10 for 150 Large Powder Brush
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Sheds Like Crazy
Date:September 17, 2012
Tags: All over application
At first I really loved this brush, but it has been shedding since day 1. I held on to it hoping that the shedding would eventually stop (once all the loose bristles shook out), but 3 months laster it is STILL shedding all over my face. For the price, I am severely disapointed and will be buying another brand of powder brush.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Heatm26
Location: Panama City
Review 11 for 150 Large Powder Brush
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great Brush, But Has Some Downers.
Date:August 26, 2012
Tags: Blending, All over application
This Brush is great for Face & Body Powder applications and touch-ups, but it's a pain in the booty to clean! Geez, I bought this yesterday and made the mistake of cleaning it to soon. Seriously, you have to be very careful cleaning it or this brush will shed and look terrible.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
RetroViolette
Location: California
Review 12 for 150 Large Powder Brush
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Good... but sheds
Date:March 5, 2012
Tags: All over application, powder application
I bought this brush about a year ago and while I adore it for applying my bronzer or finishing powder, it sheds so bad. It's even worse while I'm cleaning it or the first couple times I use it after it's been cleaned and has dried. The reason I BOUGHT this almost 50 dollar brush was because I was sick of buying cheaper ones and having my face covered in brush hair.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Jmmar
Review 13 for 150 Large Powder Brush
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
It's ok.
Date:February 15, 2012
Tags: Contouring, All over application, Blending
The brush sheds. I've had for a couple of months and it's lasted since. But it still sheds. It's a great brush for pressed powder but I don't like having to clean up the bristles off of the sink each time I use it.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
macguy
Review 14 for 150 Large Powder Brush
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
really dissappointed
Date:November 26, 2011
Tags: All over application, powder
i read alot of the reviews saying that this brush doesn't shed... when i got mine I immediately noticed that it doesn't seem as high quality as my other mac brushes. I decided after chatting with a mac rep to give it a try anyway.
I have recently switched over to loose powder from pressed powder and the buffing brush (which i absolutely love) is a bit too large to use which is why I bought this brush.
I have used it for about a week now and each use the brush sheds about 10-15 bristles. Many are left on my face for me to hand pick off and many fall onto the sink.
Maybe i just happened to get a not so great batch of it but I am extremely disappointed.
I expected a bit of a scratchy feeling since at least one other person mentioned it in their review but I didn't know it would feel so cheap too... It's worse than the cheap brushes I used in the past. :(
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
sbranco
Location: Virginia
Review 15 for 150 Large Powder Brush
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Horrible
Date:October 3, 2012
Tags: the garbage
I own (and love) several Mac brushes but by far this is the worst one! This brush is very hard and rough on my face, it also sheds like crazy! I do not recommend this brush. Te Sigma F30 is a much better option.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Anyae
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Review 16 for 150 Large Powder Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Date:August 26, 2010
Tags: All over application, powder and blush
This is a nice, full brush with a nice, long handle on it. Super soft and holds the powder well. It is perfect for setting pressed powder and applying blush. Because it's nicely round and full, it's not for contouring. Best cleaned with the MAC Brush Cleaner but my regular facial cleanser or baby liquid soap works just as nice. I still use the MAC cleaner every now and then (for major cleaning) and I use the baby soap for daily maintenance. It was wonderful for me when I had just started wearing and experimenting more with make-up. Truly a staple!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
AbiOD
Location: CA
Review 17 for 150 Large Powder Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
AMAZING!!!
Date:December 7, 2010
Tags: Blending, All over application, powder product applications
Brush 150 is soooo awesome. It does not shed nor has lost its shape after cleaning. It is one of the most versitile brushes in the MAC line. If you are serious about your make up this brush is a must have. The price is expensive for a brush, but it is worth every penny. A friend of mine recommeded this brush to me as she has had her's going on 3 years strong and the brush still looks and applying product like new. This brush is a worthy investment if you are make up hound like me.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Adrienne
Location: Houston, Texas
Review 18 for 150 Large Powder Brush
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
A little scratchy but good
Date:February 10, 2011
Tags: All over application, Blending, setting
i like how it just dusts on powder but it's a little scratchy and that's the only thing, it's very light and blends well and goes right under the eyes for even coverage so i like it and use it everyday. If u have sensitive skin and would irritate ur skin then i would recommend the 134 instead which i will be getting soon for my collection. Overrall, i like this brush and use it everyday to set my foundation
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Daisy
Location: las vegas, nevada
Review 19 for 150 Large Powder Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Date:July 9, 2012
Tags: powder
Great large generic powder brush for applying loose and pressed setting powders and foundations
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Daniel89
Location: Long island, ny
Review 20 for 150 Large Powder Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Date:February 23, 2012
Tags: All over application, Blending
i purchased this mac #150 powder brush around, 1 month ago and i love it!!! it does shed a little but not like other people say! maybe they are using it wrong?too rough?but i just have to say i love it!!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
missoviedo08
Location: ontario
1-20 of 26 reviews