Product Reviews

MAC 150 Large Powder Brush

Average Customer Rating:
3.348 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Reviews for 150 Large Powder Brush
Review 1 for 150 Large Powder Brush
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Perpetual SHEDDER
Date:October 12, 2013
Tags: All over application
This brush would be an absolutely amazing brush if it did not shed SO much. I've had this brush now for 10 months and from day one it shed. I thought perhaps it would stop shedding after a few uses, however, that was not the case. After 10 months, it is still shedding and just seems to be getting worse. Unfortunately, I have stopped using it and bought another brand. Sorry MAC, you've failed on this one. Would love a replacement to see if it were just a defective brush I received.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
LovelyDiva
Location: Florida
Review 2 for 150 Large Powder Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love!
Date:November 3, 2013
Tags: powder/ setting foundation
I absolutely love! Has sheded on me a few times(Nothing major) just like real hair; feels a little rough when it needs to be washed, once it's cleaned it goes back to its shape and softness
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
JOJOLUV21
Location: Tampa Fl
Review 3 for 150 Large Powder Brush
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Good Brush
Date:October 20, 2013
Tags: Blending, All over application
I've had this brush for almost 10 years and the bristles are still full and shiny like the first day I got it. The logo and the brush number are almost faded.I do not wear makeup often (on average, once every two weeks), but whenever I do, I reach for this brush. This is a great brush for all over application. I use it to set my foundation with a studio fix powder foundation and I am left with airbrushed complexion.. I use to use it for blush however, because of its size and because I have a small face, I find that other smaller brushes are better. I will sometimes use this brush to apply bronzer and to blend all the shades together. If you are in a pinch and this is the only brush you have, you can use it to highlight and contour but again, there are better brushes out there for both of those things. This brush sheds every time I use it. After almost 10 years of use, it still sheds. If you don't mind occasional black hair on your face (you can brush it off easily) I would recommend this brush to anyone who is just starting with their brush collection. I
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Lekki
Location: Boston
Review 4 for 150 Large Powder Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great for setting foundation
Date:December 20, 2013
Tags: setting powder
My brush shed for the first couple of months, but after a handful of washings, the shedding has stopped completely. Picks up and applies products perfectly.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
WeRunLA
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Review 5 for 150 Large Powder Brush
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Sheds Consistently
Date:February 28, 2012
Tags: getting hair all over your face
I've owned this brush for several months and it still has not stopped shedding. It is such a pain. I tried to return it but the store required the original receipt. They also claimed that my complaint was unusual, which is not true, as can be evidenced with the online reviews. They instructed me to clean it (again), brush it, condition it...treat it like real hair. REALLY?! NONE of my other brushes require this much maintenance, and I actually tried ALL the things they suggested, and it still sheds all over my face. The store also said that I may have gotten a brush in a bad/defective lot. OK, if this is the case, and I brought in my brush and proved the shedding, why don't they just take it back or exchange it for me? Frustrating!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
pupl0ver
Location: Santa Monica
Review 6 for 150 Large Powder Brush
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great Brush, But Has Some Downers.
Date:August 26, 2012
Tags: Blending, All over application
This Brush is great for Face & Body Powder applications and touch-ups, but it's a pain in the booty to clean! Geez, I bought this yesterday and made the mistake of cleaning it to soon. Seriously, you have to be very careful cleaning it or this brush will shed and look terrible.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
RetroViolette
Location: California
Review 7 for 150 Large Powder Brush
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
It's ok.
Date:February 15, 2012
Tags: Contouring, All over application, Blending
The brush sheds. I've had for a couple of months and it's lasted since. But it still sheds. It's a great brush for pressed powder but I don't like having to clean up the bristles off of the sink each time I use it.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
macguy
Review 8 for 150 Large Powder Brush
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
GREAT BRUSH, but
Date:May 27, 2012
Tags: Blending, All over application
I love this brush, but lately I noticed that the brissels have been breaking into tiny little pieces and they end up getting stuck into my face. Also this brush is kind of rash on the skin and since it has been breaking out the brissels, it sound that it will get even worse since one bristles will be shorter than other and naturally more spike.
I have no idea why this is happening. I clean my brushes thoroughly about every three uses with a antibacterial soup. Maybe the soup is not doing good for the brushes. I owned almost all MAC brushes and this is the only one I have a problem.
I love all my MAC brushes my favorites are the 217, 168, 239,and 227 they are amazing and well worth the investment. With MAC brushes you need only a few to accomplish a a great look. The thing is: once you have a MAC brush you get all of them. MAC brushes are the best tools to help me highlight my best features. I love them and I recommend this brushes.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Claudete
Location: Ann Arbor - Michigan
Review 9 for 150 Large Powder Brush
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Not Worth the Money
Date:December 1, 2012
Tags: All over application
This brush is very frustrating. It's very big, which I like, and the brush isn't stiff, which I love, but it sheds! I have black hairs all over my face after I'm done using it. I splurged to get a nice brush and this wasn't what I got. Not worth it.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Lindsey123
Location: Franklin, TN
Review 10 for 150 Large Powder Brush
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Sheds Like Crazy
Date:September 17, 2012
Tags: All over application
At first I really loved this brush, but it has been shedding since day 1. I held on to it hoping that the shedding would eventually stop (once all the loose bristles shook out), but 3 months laster it is STILL shedding all over my face. For the price, I am severely disapointed and will be buying another brand of powder brush.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Heatm26
Location: Panama City
Review 11 for 150 Large Powder Brush
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Horrible
Date:October 3, 2012
Tags: the garbage
I own (and love) several Mac brushes but by far this is the worst one! This brush is very hard and rough on my face, it also sheds like crazy! I do not recommend this brush. Te Sigma F30 is a much better option.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Anyae
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Review 12 for 150 Large Powder Brush
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
really dissappointed
Date:November 26, 2011
Tags: All over application, powder
i read alot of the reviews saying that this brush doesn't shed... when i got mine I immediately noticed that it doesn't seem as high quality as my other mac brushes. I decided after chatting with a mac rep to give it a try anyway.
I have recently switched over to loose powder from pressed powder and the buffing brush (which i absolutely love) is a bit too large to use which is why I bought this brush.
I have used it for about a week now and each use the brush sheds about 10-15 bristles. Many are left on my face for me to hand pick off and many fall onto the sink.
Maybe i just happened to get a not so great batch of it but I am extremely disappointed.
I expected a bit of a scratchy feeling since at least one other person mentioned it in their review but I didn't know it would feel so cheap too... It's worse than the cheap brushes I used in the past. :(
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
sbranco
Location: Virginia
Review 13 for 150 Large Powder Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Best powder brush
Date:February 26, 2011
Tags: Blending, Contouring, All over application, Highlighting, all over face and blush
I like this brush, Actually I will try collect all mac brushes and the reason why is because i love MAC is my favorite makeup. They have the best quality makeup brushes and lanst long time if you takecare of them I got most of them in my collection I resently bought this brush cause i like to put it all over my face and under my eyes and also have 182 kabuki and I use it when ever i feel like it. Thats why I have them all to rotete and use them as I feel. I just want it to said that I love it and I will buy all my makeup brushes from mac because of their quality, Love MAC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
-3points
1of 5found this review helpful.
Luly
Location: Arizona
Review 14 for 150 Large Powder Brush
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
PERFECT FOR BLOT POWDER!!
Date:September 12, 2012
Tags: All over application
LOVE THIS BRUSH IT DOES A WONDERFUL JOB WITH APPLYING MY BLOT POWDER BY MAC.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
TKNY45
Location: NYC
Review 15 for 150 Large Powder Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Date:July 9, 2012
Tags: powder
Great large generic powder brush for applying loose and pressed setting powders and foundations
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Daniel89
Location: Long island, ny
Review 16 for 150 Large Powder Brush
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Good... but sheds
Date:March 5, 2012
Tags: All over application, powder application
I bought this brush about a year ago and while I adore it for applying my bronzer or finishing powder, it sheds so bad. It's even worse while I'm cleaning it or the first couple times I use it after it's been cleaned and has dried. The reason I BOUGHT this almost 50 dollar brush was because I was sick of buying cheaper ones and having my face covered in brush hair.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Jmmar
Review 17 for 150 Large Powder Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Date:February 23, 2012
Tags: All over application, Blending
i purchased this mac #150 powder brush around, 1 month ago and i love it!!! it does shed a little but not like other people say! maybe they are using it wrong?too rough?but i just have to say i love it!!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
missoviedo08
Location: ontario
Review 18 for 150 Large Powder Brush
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Didn't Like it
Date:January 8, 2012
Tags: nothing
I love round, big fluffy, dense brushes and this one wasn't!!! I wasn't round it was like flat so i could hardly use it for powder, i could maybe use it for blush but i had another mac brush (187) i use for blush!! I was so disappointed!!!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
PINKsinger101
Review 19 for 150 Large Powder Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Date:August 26, 2010
Tags: All over application, powder and blush
This is a nice, full brush with a nice, long handle on it. Super soft and holds the powder well. It is perfect for setting pressed powder and applying blush. Because it's nicely round and full, it's not for contouring. Best cleaned with the MAC Brush Cleaner but my regular facial cleanser or baby liquid soap works just as nice. I still use the MAC cleaner every now and then (for major cleaning) and I use the baby soap for daily maintenance. It was wonderful for me when I had just started wearing and experimenting more with make-up. Truly a staple!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
AbiOD
Location: CA
Review 20 for 150 Large Powder Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
AMAZING!!!
Date:December 7, 2010
Tags: Blending, All over application, powder product applications
Brush 150 is soooo awesome. It does not shed nor has lost its shape after cleaning. It is one of the most versitile brushes in the MAC line. If you are serious about your make up this brush is a must have. The price is expensive for a brush, but it is worth every penny. A friend of mine recommeded this brush to me as she has had her's going on 3 years strong and the brush still looks and applying product like new. This brush is a worthy investment if you are make up hound like me.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Adrienne
Location: Houston, Texas
1-20 of 23 reviews