Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Lipstick

Average Customer Rating:
4.631 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (1,447 reviews)
5 stars
1,130
4 stars
212
3 stars
32
2 stars
34
1 star
39
Customer Reviews for Lipstick
Review 1 for Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
The Matte Lip collection
Date:October 17, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color, Creamy, Color true
I absolutely love Style in Sepia, Pander me and Living Legend.
This matte formula is amazing. It is moisturizing even after couple of hour wear, which is rare for matte lipstick. It works like butter on lips. Full coverage long lasting lipstick.
Styled in Sepia is very unusual color but works great with light to medium skin tone. For deep skin tones, it could work with the help of lipliner or lip mix. NC42 or above, it needs help to do justice with your overall complexion. with the slight alteration gives great results. Such as different lip liner or lip mix. Deeper skin, if you are looking for very unusual shade only then go for it otherwise you can pass on to this one.
Pander me is gorgeous on medium to darker skin tones, especially medium- deep skin tone between NC38 to NC45. It looks nice dark peachy on lips and teeth look whiter in it. On lighter skin it goes little strong and looks more orange peachy. On deeper skin tones NC45 or above it looks light peachy and more pinkish.
Living Legend is a deep plump is a gorgeous vampy shade. In the picture it looks more purple plump like deep saturated version of Heroine but in tube it looks like strong wine burgundy. It looks amazing on overall all skin tones from light to deep skin tones.
+93points
120of 147found this review helpful.
SanBen
Location: California
Review 2 for Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Shade: Ruby Woo
I'll never buy any other lipstick.
Date:December 22, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color, Color true
After a month of thinking about ordering a MAC lipstick in Ruby Woo, I finally did it. Also my first ever MAC purchase. I normally cannot wear lipstick because I have very dry, and texturized lips (lots of lines or peeling when I wear lipstick) but I have finally found a lipstick that I can wear without looking like I'm wearing goopy children's lipstick. The color is great, it goes on smooth and actually improves the texture of my lips. I was fearful because it was a Matte one, but it's great. The next one I buy will probably be a darker red.
+55points
62of 69found this review helpful.
NewMACLova
Location: WISCO
Review 3 for Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Shade: Ruby Woo
Out of the mouths of babes
Date:October 12, 2013
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color
A friend recently purchased Ruby Woo for me and I loved it so much, I bought another red, Russian Red, both incredible, beautiful, and what I call retro red. The red my mom wore back in the 1940's Glam Days. I was grocery shopping this past Friday and a little girl around 3 or 4 told me she LOVED MY LIPSTICK. I was wearing Ruby Woo. Her mom and I laughed, and then she said, "your lips are cute". That little girl made my day. I am almost 52 and recently lost my beautiful mother in death at the age of 91, making me feel much older than I am. She lived with my husband and I for many years and we are incredibly sad and lost without her. Any little thing I can do to perk my mood is worth it, and this lipstick and that little girl's comment did more for me than I can explain. I have also tried MAC's foundation and eye liner, and must say, this is the best makeup I have used in a very long time. I love the matte, smooth finish, that each product provides, yet great bold color for those of us not afraid to ramp it up a bit without looking like trash. Thank you for great products and great service.
+831points
893of 955found this review helpful.
Lizy
Location: NOrthumberland PA
Review 4 for Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Absolutely Worth the Hype!
Date:December 22, 2012
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color, Creamy, Color true, lips
To sum it up shortly: A great way to wear a bold color without being usual. I was worried that MAC lipsticks weren't worth the hype- after all, you can't find some psuedo-beauty obsessive that doesn't worship them- but they're honestly the best lipstick I've ever tried. Vegas Volt is a hot, orangey coral that also leans pretty strongly to the pink. It wasn't my first choice (I intended to buy Dubonnet or Lady Danger) but my local MAC counter was sold out of both and, feeling rather rushed with all the other people ambling around swatching random things, I picked the first lipstick that I could remember putting on my list of shades to consider ordering. Be warned: The department store lighting is deceiving- the color looked much more like a pinky creamsicle orange color- but it's beautiful nonetheless. Because I'm fair with rather rosy cheeks this color turns quite orange on me but I would warn people with darker skin tones (or those with tans) that this could either wash you out or look like the orange equivalent of baby pink. Beings that I don't ever need to wear blush I haven't tried this on my cheeks, but just from blending this on my hand it seems like it would be a wonderful coral blush when used lightly. All in all, a wonderful lipstick formula (though it can be a bit drying on the insides of the lips, but what lipstick isn't?) and a wonderful color. Can't wait to order the rest of the shades I wanted!
+39points
57of 75found this review helpful.
tulip77
Review 5 for Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Shade: Ruby Woo
Money well spent !
Date:July 30, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color, daytime look to nighttime look
I am not one to spend more than four dollars on a stick of lipstick but when my daughter showed me your Herione lipstick and let me try it I was hooked. Then she told me the price and a felt a little faint . I then convinced myself to treat myself to two of your lipsticks Herione and Ruby Woo and I must admit that this is truly money well spent. I also love how as the day goes on that the lipstick slowly fades out it is gorgeous and I donot have to keep reapplying throughout the day like I have to with the less expensive brand of lipstick that I had brought.
+125points
142of 159found this review helpful.
Kartoni7
Location: Bronx, NY
Review 6 for Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
HEROINE: Stayed all day
Date:January 19, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Color true, Long wearing, making a statement
I wore this color (Heroine) for the first time while walking around French Quarter in New Orleans. I applied it around 9 in the morning and it stayed until 5 or 6 pm. In that time, I had a glass of wine, some other things to drink and A CHEESE BURGER WITH FRIES and it stayed THE WHOLE TIME. Only until the evening did I need to touch up the color. I was super impressed with how the color stays on the lips. I got a bunch of compliments and people seemed to do a double-take of my lips because they were so bright and colorful.
+252points
278of 304found this review helpful.
KatHab
Location: New Jersey
Review 7 for Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Shade: Rebel
In Love With Rebel
Date:February 7, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color, Creamy, Color true, anytime
I love the Rebel. It was my first MAC purchase ever! And it has me addicted. I was always scared of wearing lipstick because I am a dark skinned African American woman but I just pair my rebel with my currant lip liner and I LOVE it! I am no longer scared of lipstick needles to say.
+131points
143of 155found this review helpful.
NewMacLover818
Location: S.T.L.
Review 8 for Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Shade: Diva
Love, Love, Love thier Matte lipsticks!!!
Date:July 13, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color, Creamy, Color true, everyday wear and evening wear
When I first found out about MAC I was a little skeptical about purchasing the lipsticks because of the price (I was like $15 for a lipstick, you're crazy!) But when I finally ordered my lipstick in Diva I totally understood why the price. The lipstick goes on really smooth although it is a matte and it doesn't dry my lips out as all. The color also stays on for hours despite me eating and drinking throughout the day; plus the smell of the lipstick is so delicious, it makes you want to eat it lol. All in all MAC has made me a valued customer for sure and I will continue shopping from them
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
vannahb20
Location: texas
Review 9 for Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Shade: Angel
Angel OBSESSED
Date:July 29, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Creamy
Angel is the PERFECT nude with a touch of pink. It is literally to die for. I love how creamy and longlasting it is and I get complimented on it all the time.
Buy this and you wont regret it. I think my next lipstick purchase will be Snob because it's pretty close in color with a little edge. And of course getting another Angel. Ah, it's to die for. MAC knows lipsticks.
-M
+15points
16of 17found this review helpful.
Madeline
Location: Houston
Review 10 for Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Keep coming back for more!
Date:April 1, 2014
Tags: Creamy, Color true
I love Mac lipsticks. I have tried different brands but I really enjoy the texture and pigments from Mac so I keep coming back. I seem to gravitate towards cremesheens (for the texture and ease of applying) and lustres (a bit more sheer and glossy) but there are great ones in every type. I would definitely recommend trying these lipsticks if you're thinking about it, I don't think you'l regret it. If the colors seem a bit overwhelming, try a more neutral (like your lip color) at first and then explore once you feel more comfortable.
+77points
94of 111found this review helpful.
pingpongjp
Location: Oregon
Review 11 for Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Shade: Brave Red
Looks great on
Date:December 17, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color, Creamy, Color true, daily use or nighttime
a Mac reprentative (Brandy) recommended several Reds for my fair complexion. I had tried ruby woo and it just wasn't the color for me. I am in love with all of the Reds that she recommended! This review is for Brave red. It's a beautiful color and I am so happy that I used the online chat and had such a helpful rep that day.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Kate2917
Location: New York
Review 12 for Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
PLEASE BRING BACK SOME OLD FAVOURITES
Date:January 29, 2015
Tags: Bold Color, Creamy, Color true, Long wearing, lips
I LOVE MAC LIPSTICKS FOR THEIR AMAZING TEXTURE AND UNIQUE SHADES..PLEASE BRING BACK SOME OLD FAVOURITES LIKE PARTY PARROT AND TOYING AROUND..PLEASE....
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
ritika
Location: India
Review 13 for Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Shade: Girl About Town
One is NOT Enough
Date:March 4, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color, Creamy, Color true, anyone who like lipstick
First, I want to start off by saying that I have about four of these colors and will briefly comment on all four of them, but before that, for a point of reference, I am medium brown with yellow undertones.
1) Girl About Town is an intense bluish fuchsia. It goes on smoothly and feel great on my lips. It lasts a long time, even after eating, but not all day. However, for whatever reason, I'd put some on right before going to bed and woke up with it the next morning and it had only faded a little bit(especially after brushing teeth).
2) Craving seems kinda brownish, pinkish, but the description says plum or something. They might be right, I am slightly colorblind, but this is another one that feels good on the lips. Since it is not as bright as the Girl, it doesn't last as long, but it lasts long enough for me. Gets me through an 1hr 15 min class without reapplication(and believe me, I continuously rub my lips together when I know something is on them).
3)Bombshell is probably my second favorite lipstick(besides Viva Glam) and it is a light pinkish, coralish thing with some gold or something. Point is, it makes you feel like a bombshell. Looks great with a smoky eye or any dramatic eye. Doesn't last as long because it is not a matte or an amplified, but it is very beautiful and I wouldn't trade it for anything
4)All Fired Up is a matte pink. It is probably a reddish pink with maybe some blue in there. Just look at the description. It is very bright and loud and is a good option for someone who wants a nice retro matte look but doesn't want to stick with red. It doesn't feel good on the lips because it is very dry and even hard to spread sometimes, but just put some lip balm on or something. It lasts a long time. And just like Girl, neither make my teeth look yellow. Must be that good old blue hue.
And as with all my Mac lipsticks, when the color fades, it fades smoothly and nicely and is not at all awkward. It just looks like you put a little tint in your lips and not like your lipstick is fading.
+33points
38of 43found this review helpful.
whom
Location: Texas
Review 14 for Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Mehr Lipstick Review (five stars)
Date:September 15, 2014
Tags: Creamy, Color true, Long wearing
This review is about Mehr lipstick. This is a perfect nude lipstick for Indian skin. Even, if you are more on the lighter or darker spectrum of shade, it still will compliment your skin tone. This color is one of the hand picks of Indian makeup artists. I have so many clients ask me for a nude/ light pink or lighter shade lipstick and I always recommended my trusty Mehr. If you are between the shade of NC40 to NC45 then this is a must have color.
For all others,
Great lipstick over all, one of my all time faves. It is a beautiful pink with blue undertone lipstick, very universal.
P.S. you can always modify colors with lipliner or Mac color mix and get your personal shade.
+10points
12of 14found this review helpful.
SanBen
Location: California
Review 15 for Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Shade: Ruby Woo
Kiss of death
Date:January 7, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color, Color true, everything, classic look, casual, night on the town, date night, wedding
you cant go wrong with this beautiful extremely stunning matte red that's sure to knock em dead each and every time i wasn't a red lipstick kinda girl myself cause i didn't think it looked good on me but ruby got me feeling woo with this one i feel amazing
+16points
16of 16found this review helpful.
Nani143MAC
Location: Mooresville,NC
Review 16 for Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
PLEASE PLEASE KEEP THIS LIPSTICK - D*** GLAMOROUS
Date:November 13, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Color true, Long wearing, anytime
I have NEVER received as many compliments on a lipstick as I have when I wore D*** GLAMOROUS for the first time. Literally every person that saw my face was like WOW that looks amazing. Please keep this one....too good not to.
+9points
12of 15found this review helpful.
roxstarrunner
Location: South Florida
Review 17 for Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Shade: Ruby Woo
MATTE collections
Date:November 19, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color, Color true, everyday use
the matte lipsticks are absolutely perfect i love how they hug my lips and stay on all day. For added benefit use a lip liner and make sure to scrub the lips as it can be drying. if it becomes too dry then add a little chapstick. my only complain is ruby woo, it is very matte and drying and it cracks after a while so i will not be getting that one again but all my lipsticks i love them. I am african american shade brown and i own flat out fabulous, rebel, ruby woo, diva, media, pure heroine, heroine, cyber, living legend, fashion revival and smoked purple. THEY ALL LOOK GREAT on my skin tone. i tend to stay away from the lighter pinks but i am contemplating getting brave next.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Rosalie
Location: CT
Review 18 for Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Creme D'Nude
Date:October 10, 2014
My favorite nude lip color of all time is Creme D'Nude. Perfect in the summer and winter. I have fair cool toned skin and this never washes me out or looks muddy.
+9points
11of 13found this review helpful.
Kittie
Location: US
Review 19 for Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Shade: Candy Yum-Yum
Looks great!
Date:January 17, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color, Color true, tan and medium skin complexion
I was kinda scared this Candy Yum Yum lipstick was going to look crazy on me but it ended up looking awesome!!! Its my favorite lipstick from Mac right now... The only thing is very pigmented so for to remove it you will need a good makeup remover.
+51points
59of 67found this review helpful.
Anachka
Location: brooklyn
Review 20 for Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Shade: Russian Red
I LOVE IT!!!!
Date:February 27, 2015
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color
I LOVE BOLD MATTE LIPS AND THIS IS BY FAR MY FAVORITE! IT GLIDES ON AND LASTS ALL DAY.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
CHINADOLL24
Location: MARYLAND
1-20 of 1,419 reviews