Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Lipstick

Average Customer Rating:
4.634 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (1,175 reviews)
5 stars
917
4 stars
173
3 stars
27
2 stars
29
1 star
29
Customer Reviews for Lipstick
Review 1 for Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Shade: Ruby Woo
Out of the mouths of babes
Date:October 12, 2013
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color
A friend recently purchased Ruby Woo for me and I loved it so much, I bought another red, Russian Red, both incredible, beautiful, and what I call retro red. The red my mom wore back in the 1940's Glam Days. I was grocery shopping this past Friday and a little girl around 3 or 4 told me she LOVED MY LIPSTICK. I was wearing Ruby Woo. Her mom and I laughed, and then she said, "your lips are cute". That little girl made my day. I am almost 52 and recently lost my beautiful mother in death at the age of 91, making me feel much older than I am. She lived with my husband and I for many years and we are incredibly sad and lost without her. Any little thing I can do to perk my mood is worth it, and this lipstick and that little girl's comment did more for me than I can explain. I have also tried MAC's foundation and eye liner, and must say, this is the best makeup I have used in a very long time. I love the matte, smooth finish, that each product provides, yet great bold color for those of us not afraid to ramp it up a bit without looking like trash. Thank you for great products and great service.
+539points
581of 623found this review helpful.
Lizy
Location: NOrthumberland PA
Review 2 for Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Keep coming back for more!
Date:April 1, 2014
Tags: Creamy, Color true
I love Mac lipsticks. I have tried different brands but I really enjoy the texture and pigments from Mac so I keep coming back. I seem to gravitate towards cremesheens (for the texture and ease of applying) and lustres (a bit more sheer and glossy) but there are great ones in every type. I would definitely recommend trying these lipsticks if you're thinking about it, I don't think you'l regret it. If the colors seem a bit overwhelming, try a more neutral (like your lip color) at first and then explore once you feel more comfortable.
+66points
78of 90found this review helpful.
pingpongjp
Location: Oregon
Review 3 for Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
HEROINE: Stayed all day
Date:January 19, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Color true, Long wearing, making a statement
I wore this color (Heroine) for the first time while walking around French Quarter in New Orleans. I applied it around 9 in the morning and it stayed until 5 or 6 pm. In that time, I had a glass of wine, some other things to drink and A CHEESE BURGER WITH FRIES and it stayed THE WHOLE TIME. Only until the evening did I need to touch up the color. I was super impressed with how the color stays on the lips. I got a bunch of compliments and people seemed to do a double-take of my lips because they were so bright and colorful.
+154points
171of 188found this review helpful.
KatHab
Location: New Jersey
Review 4 for Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Absolutely Worth the Hype!
Date:December 22, 2012
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color, Creamy, Color true, lips
To sum it up shortly: A great way to wear a bold color without being usual. I was worried that MAC lipsticks weren't worth the hype- after all, you can't find some psuedo-beauty obsessive that doesn't worship them- but they're honestly the best lipstick I've ever tried. Vegas Volt is a hot, orangey coral that also leans pretty strongly to the pink. It wasn't my first choice (I intended to buy Dubonnet or Lady Danger) but my local MAC counter was sold out of both and, feeling rather rushed with all the other people ambling around swatching random things, I picked the first lipstick that I could remember putting on my list of shades to consider ordering. Be warned: The department store lighting is deceiving- the color looked much more like a pinky creamsicle orange color- but it's beautiful nonetheless. Because I'm fair with rather rosy cheeks this color turns quite orange on me but I would warn people with darker skin tones (or those with tans) that this could either wash you out or look like the orange equivalent of baby pink. Beings that I don't ever need to wear blush I haven't tried this on my cheeks, but just from blending this on my hand it seems like it would be a wonderful coral blush when used lightly. All in all, a wonderful lipstick formula (though it can be a bit drying on the insides of the lips, but what lipstick isn't?) and a wonderful color. Can't wait to order the rest of the shades I wanted!
+20points
28of 36found this review helpful.
tulip77
Review 5 for Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Shade: Rebel
In Love With Rebel
Date:February 7, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color, Creamy, Color true, anytime
I love the Rebel. It was my first MAC purchase ever! And it has me addicted. I was always scared of wearing lipstick because I am a dark skinned African American woman but I just pair my rebel with my currant lip liner and I LOVE it! I am no longer scared of lipstick needles to say.
+91points
102of 113found this review helpful.
NewMacLover818
Location: S.T.L.
Review 6 for Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Shade: Angel
Angel OBSESSED
Date:July 29, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Creamy
Angel is the PERFECT nude with a touch of pink. It is literally to die for. I love how creamy and longlasting it is and I get complimented on it all the time.
Buy this and you wont regret it. I think my next lipstick purchase will be Snob because it's pretty close in color with a little edge. And of course getting another Angel. Ah, it's to die for. MAC knows lipsticks.
-M
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Madeline
Location: Houston
Review 7 for Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Shade: Girl About Town
One is NOT Enough
Date:March 4, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color, Creamy, Color true, anyone who like lipstick
First, I want to start off by saying that I have about four of these colors and will briefly comment on all four of them, but before that, for a point of reference, I am medium brown with yellow undertones.
1) Girl About Town is an intense bluish fuchsia. It goes on smoothly and feel great on my lips. It lasts a long time, even after eating, but not all day. However, for whatever reason, I'd put some on right before going to bed and woke up with it the next morning and it had only faded a little bit(especially after brushing teeth).
2) Craving seems kinda brownish, pinkish, but the description says plum or something. They might be right, I am slightly colorblind, but this is another one that feels good on the lips. Since it is not as bright as the Girl, it doesn't last as long, but it lasts long enough for me. Gets me through an 1hr 15 min class without reapplication(and believe me, I continuously rub my lips together when I know something is on them).
3)Bombshell is probably my second favorite lipstick(besides Viva Glam) and it is a light pinkish, coralish thing with some gold or something. Point is, it makes you feel like a bombshell. Looks great with a smoky eye or any dramatic eye. Doesn't last as long because it is not a matte or an amplified, but it is very beautiful and I wouldn't trade it for anything
4)All Fired Up is a matte pink. It is probably a reddish pink with maybe some blue in there. Just look at the description. It is very bright and loud and is a good option for someone who wants a nice retro matte look but doesn't want to stick with red. It doesn't feel good on the lips because it is very dry and even hard to spread sometimes, but just put some lip balm on or something. It lasts a long time. And just like Girl, neither make my teeth look yellow. Must be that good old blue hue.
And as with all my Mac lipsticks, when the color fades, it fades smoothly and nicely and is not at all awkward. It just looks like you put a little tint in your lips and not like your lipstick is fading.
+21points
24of 27found this review helpful.
whom
Location: Texas
Review 8 for Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Shade: Ruby Woo
Money well spent !
Date:July 30, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color, daytime look to nighttime look
I am not one to spend more than four dollars on a stick of lipstick but when my daughter showed me your Herione lipstick and let me try it I was hooked. Then she told me the price and a felt a little faint . I then convinced myself to treat myself to two of your lipsticks Herione and Ruby Woo and I must admit that this is truly money well spent. I also love how as the day goes on that the lipstick slowly fades out it is gorgeous and I donot have to keep reapplying throughout the day like I have to with the less expensive brand of lipstick that I had brought.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Kartoni7
Location: Bronx, NY
Review 9 for Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Shade: Candy Yum-Yum
Candy Yum Yum
Date:May 19, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color, Color true
I finally gave Candy Yum Yum a try. I like it. I have noticed that not everyone can rock it. To be honest, Candy Yum Yum isn't a color that I can rock everyday like most. This lipstick is one that I would have to wear every once in a while when I want a bold of color. However, it does go well with my skin color. Glad I tried it out. It is really pretty!
+10points
11of 12found this review helpful.
Lindz
Location: Texas
Review 10 for Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Shade: Candy Yum-Yum
Looks great!
Date:January 17, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color, Color true, tan and medium skin complexion
I was kinda scared this Candy Yum Yum lipstick was going to look crazy on me but it ended up looking awesome!!! Its my favorite lipstick from Mac right now... The only thing is very pigmented so for to remove it you will need a good makeup remover.
+48points
55of 62found this review helpful.
Anachka
Location: brooklyn
Review 11 for Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Shade: Please Me
Love!!!
Date:February 7, 2014
Tags: Bold Color, Long wearing, everyday
I have a ton of Mac lipsticks because they're simply the best! Please Me is my absolute favorite one right now. I was actually looking for something a little more nude (it's slightly more pink) but I fell in love. I prefer the Matte or Retro-Matte lipsticks because I find they last the longest. I'll usually pair it with the lip primer to add moisture because like most pigmented lipsticks, they're a tad bit drying. Please Me seems to be less drying than the other mattes I own. I'm so in love. It is my go to lipstick on simpler make-up days now! Anyone questioning this Mac lipstick should give it a try!
+12points
13of 14found this review helpful.
Kristal
Location: Houston, Tx
Review 12 for Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Shade: Hang-up
Amazing!
Date:July 29, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color, Creamy, Color true, everything, night, day, casual
This is the first MAC lipstick I have ever bought, and it was not a mistake. I bought it in Hang-Up, and it is such a breath taking color. It goes on super smooth, keeps my lips hydrated and doesn't feather at all. I have gotten a million compliments on this color, and everyone loves it. It works great with my work uniform, and then it looks awesome when I have days off. I will definitely be buying this lipstick again.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Jesslyn
Location: Maryland
Review 13 for Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Shade: Russian Red
Russian Red!
Date:December 17, 2013
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color, Creamy, Color true, everyone
RR is the best, red lipstick created! I have really dry lips, so mattes can be hard to wear, but not this one. To me it is a creamier matte, that doesn't get too dry, and has great staying power. On my pigmented lips its not too warm or cool, its just neutral (but just enough blue to make your teeth look really white). It's not too bright or too dark, just a classic, beautiful red. Other favorites are: Snob, Pink Nouveau, Rebel, Up the Amp, Myth, Girl About Town, Captive, and the newly permanent Heroine! Yay!!
+38points
50of 62found this review helpful.
Prettygirlmo
Location: Utah
Review 14 for Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Shade: Candy Yum-Yum
Candy yum yum!!
Date:March 24, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color, Creamy, Color true
I love this color. this is my favorite next to nyx shocking pink. This compliments my skin so well. The color is vibrant perfect spring summer lip color. but i will wear it year round. You must have smooth lips if not this will look bad! I use the lip primer with this so this will not dry out my lips. IF i use without a primer my lips become dry. but beautiful color. Do not hesitate to buy. My favorite mac product!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Aubee
Location: Aubee
Review 15 for Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Shade: Candy Yum-Yum
In Love With Candy Yum Yum
Date:January 23, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color, Creamy, Color true, rocking a bold lip, those who aren't afraid of bright colors
I ordered this lipstick online since I had heard so many people rave about it. I absolutely love it! It is super bright, but I find that it works well with my medium skin tone, brown eyes and dark hair. I feel like a pin-up girl in this shade, and it looks awesome with a cat-eye. Definitely a great purchase for those ladies who love to rock a bold and bright lip. It was also so easy to apply! I don't have a steady hand, and I had no bleeding with this lipstick. Finally, I have flawless lipstick !! :-)
+9points
10of 11found this review helpful.
msudoll211
Location: Somewhere in the South
Review 16 for Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Shade: Candy Yum-Yum
Candy Yum Yum - Attention grabber!
Date:August 5, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color, Color true, high impact, attention grabbing
Love this bright bright almost fluro pink. I like blue toned pink lip colors and Candy Yum Yum delivers. The Matt formula is more comfortable to wear than I thought (I’d heard it was harsh and drying, but not for me) I get a lot of compliments and attention when I wear this color - it looks nice with my Blond hair and blue eyes. The only reason I gave it a four is that while it is long wearing it can settle in lip lines and look a bit gloopy on the inner lip, but blotting and reapplying fixes that.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
EveNZ
Location: New Zealand
Review 17 for Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Shade: Russian Red
Perfect bold lipstick!
Date:August 5, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color
I walked into MAC looking for a bold red and Fabrizio, a MAC artist, immediately suggested this color. I was hesitant to try it because of my skin complexion but it matched perfectly! I absolutely love wearing it and it lasts all day!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Debbiekristel
Location: Boston, MA
Review 18 for Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Longlasting!
Date:February 13, 2011
Tags: Long wearing, everyday
I bought the color myth and I have been loving it ever since. The color is very gorgeous and even after eating a hot dog and drinking a soda the lipstick looked fresh. Its also very creamy and easy to put on and fix.
+51points
54of 57found this review helpful.
Nikol
Location: New York
Review 19 for Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Shade: Ruby Woo
Kiss of death
Date:January 7, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Bold Color, Color true, everything, classic look, casual, night on the town, date night, wedding
you cant go wrong with this beautiful extremely stunning matte red that's sure to knock em dead each and every time i wasn't a red lipstick kinda girl myself cause i didn't think it looked good on me but ruby got me feeling woo with this one i feel amazing
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Nani143MAC
Location: Mooresville,NC
Review 20 for Lipstick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Shade: Lady Danger
Lady Danger
Date:March 24, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Color true, all!
Love the shade "Lady Danger" I purchased. It goes on very beautifully with a matte finish and pairs great with a MAC lip liner. The only con is that if you don't lay it down after chapstick, concealer, etc. it dries out your lip and peeling happens very quickly.
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
mindylou
1-20 of 1,160 reviews