Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Brush Cleanser

Average Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (104 reviews)
5 stars
71
4 stars
24
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
1
Customer Reviews for Brush Cleanser
Review 1 for Brush Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
A Must Have
Date:January 8, 2014
Tags: Easy to use, Effective, mac brushes
If you own MAC brushes or really just any brushes you must get this brush cleanser. I use it once a week and mix a little with some warm water in a glass and let my brushes soak for about 5 minutes and then rinse them off and lay flat to dry. It keeps my brushes in great shape and looking brand new!
+98points
101of 104found this review helpful.
honeymoosh
Review 2 for Brush Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
A MUST HAVE
Date:January 23, 2014
Tags: Easy to use, Travel friendly, Effective, deep cleansing, brush cleansing, cleaning on the go
I decided to make my first MAC purchase and I bought 2 of the brush cleanser. I had used previously other brand but this cleanser is AMAZING. It doesn't take a lot to take all of the makeup off the brushes even the most difficult ones (tapered brush used for cream contouring). I would recommend it to everyone. As soon as I received my package I washed ALL of my 50 brushes and it didn't take more than 1/5 of a bottle. It was a deep cleansing that I did but I can now clean my brushes on the go when doing my makeup or someone else. I'm doing wedding this spring and summer and you can be sure I'll have it with me. I replaced the cap with a spray one but it did not bother me because I prefer to spray.
+33points
34of 35found this review helpful.
amakeupaddict
Location: Canada
Review 3 for Brush Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Worth every penny
Date:June 17, 2012
Tags: Easy to use, Effective, deep cleaning, spot cleaning
I was washing my brushes with some baby shampoo, but that was not cutting it. Left too much residue and just did not rinse my mac, sigma, be, and sheercover brushes clean. So once my local mac restocked this (after being out of stock), I made the splurge. It is definitely worth it. It does clean the brushes to nearly new, and disinfects them. I only use my brushes on myself, but I am acne prone, so it is good to know that my brushes are washed clean.
Two ways I use this: deep clean (once weekly) and spot cleaning (after each use)
To deep clean I dampen my brushes, always tilting so the brush head is facing down (never letting water seep into the ferrule). Then I take a small amount of cleaner and swirl my brush into it and work up a lather. Lastly, I rinse the brush clean and gently squeeze out the excess water.
Spot cleaning: dampen a small portion (a couple drops will do) of a paper towel or kleenex, and swirl the recently used (not dampened) brush gently into the towel.
Good buy, will be repurchasing for life.
+90points
94of 98found this review helpful.
Angeli
Location: Houston
Review 4 for Brush Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
My only go to Brush Cleanser.
Date:March 20, 2013
Tags: Travel friendly, Easy to use, Effective, lathers soapy quick wash quick drying
I used to wash my brushes with baby shampoo or natural hand soap. I'm so glad I gave this brush cleanser a shot. This brush cleanser is so light and lathers really well. It says it helps shorten drying time, and I have experienced it!
My routine is rinsing my brush under warm water, squeeze a few drops of this pink cleanser and start sweeping my brush. I could't believe how soapy it got. It cleanse my brushes really well and it dries very quickly. My brushes seems to last longer, so soft and ready for application.
+48points
49of 50found this review helpful.
Lils
Location: Los Angeles, CA.
Review 5 for Brush Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Fave Brush Cleaner
Date:February 13, 2011
Tags: Easy to use, Effective, cleaning brushes
I love that this brush cleaner rinses clean and doesn't leave a heavy scent. I prefer this pour spout so that I can control the amount I need and get deep into the brush bristles on bigger thicker brushes.
+17points
17of 17found this review helpful.
Linds
Location: CA
Review 6 for Brush Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Ah-Ma-Zing!
Date:July 8, 2014
Tags: Travel friendly, Easy to use, Effective, brush cleaning
My search is over. I've tried every method of brush cleaning there is. all are just way too much work. the olive oil, baby wash, baby shampoo has got to go. This brush cleaner works fast and leaves my brushes fluffy and smelling great. Great buy. will purchase forever.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
unique
Location: redlands,ca
Review 7 for Brush Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
LoveLoveLove
Date:November 11, 2012
Tags: Easy to use, Travel friendly, Effective, extends brush life
I kid you not, I have 3 brushes that are 6 years old and look brand new because of this product. It's gentle, its effective and keeps the bristles moisturized and groomed. Stick a little bit of product in a plate, swirl the brush around in it, rinse and dry. Your brushes will look brand new and feel just as soft as the day you bought them.
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
AlexandraMarie
Location: Florida
Review 8 for Brush Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Outstanding!!
Date:August 6, 2012
Tags: Travel friendly, Easy to use, Effective
I have been using this cleaner for many years. I have tried other less expensive ones, however they do not clean anywhere near as well as the MAC brush cleaner. I have owned my MAC make up brushes for years. And thanks to this cleaner, they are all like brand new. I pour this cleaner into a small container, add a touch of water & then let my brushes soak for a few minutes. I then rub the brushes in the palm of my hand (with a touch of cleaner of course), rinse very well & set up right to dry. Love love love this cleaner.
+11points
12of 13found this review helpful.
KellyMZ
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Review 9 for Brush Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Tried others always go back to MAC
Date:October 2, 2014
Tags: Easy to use, Effective, spot cleaning/fast fix
Great product! I've tried others but they don't seem to get the job done like this cleanser. I only buy this brush cleanser for inbetween shampooing. This is meant to spot clean/disinfect brushes since people should shampoo their brushes twice a month tops. I use this cleanser every 3 days, since I have acne prone/oily skin. I also love how you can recycle these for "back to mac"! I wish Mac would use a spray bottle instead, so it wastes a lot less product.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
YoBaby
Location: Bay Area, California
Review 10 for Brush Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
problem with bottle?
Date:September 7, 2010
Tags: brushes
just buy your own SPRAY bottle and empty contents into it, voila! now you're not wasting product!
+11points
12of 13found this review helpful.
Krystal
Location: NH
Review 11 for Brush Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Takes too much product to clean
Date:October 9, 2011
Takes multiple washes with this in order to get brushes clean, does not work well on emollient products like concealer and foundation. Have tried other cleaners that work much better.
+13points
15of 17found this review helpful.
DNaturaleArtist
Location: Pa
Review 12 for Brush Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
brush cleaner
Date:May 14, 2014
Tags: Easy to use, Effective
This is the only brush cleaner I've ever used. I use it for spot cleaning my brushes after every use and also as my weekly cleansing solution. It works good with cleansing all the makeup off my brushes, except for my eyeliner brushes. I usually have to go back with eye makeup remover after cleansing with this brush cleanser. Sometimes it takes a few washes to thoroughly clean my foundation and concealer brushes, but it depends on how dense the brush is and how much product is caked inside/on the brushes. I've purchased this product twice and will continue to repurchase unless I hear of something that knocks this cleanser out of the ballpark! It fits my needs alright.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
mheartsmakeup92
Location: Wisconsin
Review 13 for Brush Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Date:August 25, 2010
Tags: cleaning your brushes.
i like this brush cleaner. However, i wish the top of the bottle came with a spray and not a cap. Because,when you pour it out to much of the product is being wasted. I just feel if it came with a spray cap it would last longer.
+10points
11of 12found this review helpful.
Shar
Location: New York
Review 14 for Brush Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
best cleaner!
Date:March 25, 2015
Tags: Easy to use, Travel friendly, Effective, cleaning brushes
This is hands down the best brush cleanser. It is not scented, its purple in color so you can easily see how much product youre using. It easily removes the heaviest build up. I recommend dipping your brushes in a cup of warm water to get the bristles wet first, and then dipping them in another cup mixed with the cleanser and a little warm water and swirl the bristles around, and then dab/swirl them on a paper towel (like spot cleaning) until it runs clean.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
dezarae
Review 15 for Brush Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
THE BEST BRUSH CLEANER
Date:March 21, 2015
Tags: Easy to use, Travel friendly, Effective, cleaning mac brushes
This is by far the BEST brush cleaner to use when cleaning your brushes. I've been using this for so many years!!!! I just wished it would last a full month. It so worth the price.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
beauty143
Location: San Francisco
Review 16 for Brush Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
The BEST brush cleanser
Date:July 23, 2014
Tags: Effective
I have to admit at first, I was a little iffy on buying this because my skin is so sensitive especially since it has a perfume smell to it, but I wanted to try it. It is absolutely amazing! I used to use warm water to clean my brushes but that became too difficult, nor did it take out all the makeup. With this the makeup comes right off. So I would definitely recommend to anyone!!!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Titi
Location: Garland, TX
Review 17 for Brush Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love the scent!
Date:September 23, 2013
Tags: Easy to use, Travel friendly, Effective
I have gotten brush shampoos that have done a deeper clean. but this is my favorite if i am on the go or am doing a quick touch up. container is great for just putting a little in a bowl.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
summerLMT
Location: nashville, tn
Review 18 for Brush Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Best Brush Cleaner Out There!
Date:December 12, 2012
Tags: Easy to use, Travel friendly, Effective, cleaning brushes properly, disinfecting brushes, keeping the brushes looking new, keeps brushes soft and managable, leaving a wonderful smell
This is probably the most frequently purchased product from MAC that I own and LOVE. As a make-up artist.. I am frequently cleaning my brushes with baby shampoo and drying them with brush guards. However, my normal method takes a lot of time for the brushes to dry. With this MAC (upside down or it'll loosen the barrel) brush cleanser I put half of this fluid and half water into a small petrie dish and swirl my brushes into it. Afterwards, I swipe them back and forth in a little towel until they're semi dry and clean and then put them into my brush guards to maintain their shape. Within 30-45 minutes they're squeaky clean, disinfected, and ready for use! The smell is so faint and actually smells good to me.
P.S my brushes are 5+ years old and they look brand new!
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Sonia1986
Location: Cerritos, California
Review 19 for Brush Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Great product
Date:March 3, 2015
Tags: Easy to use, Effective
I purchase this product a few months ago and the first thing I did was tested it and it worked great! The pigments ran out perfectly, my brushes were like brand new. In my opinion the MAC brush cleanser is great for daily use, but if you want to clean them even deeper, some baby shampoo+warm water+ this product can do some magic.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Nats
Location: Venezuela
Review 20 for Brush Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Best brush cleanser
Date:February 28, 2015
Tags: spot cleaning
I love this brush cleanser !! Especially for spot cleansing!! Gets my brushes nice & clean plus fast drying since it contains alcohol!! Must have!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Chinitaaabebe
1-20 of 103 reviews