Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Brush Cleanser

Average Customer Rating:
4.562 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (89 reviews)
5 stars
63
4 stars
18
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Reviews for Brush Cleanser
Review 1 for Brush Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
A Must Have
Date:January 8, 2014
Tags: Easy to use, Effective, mac brushes
If you own MAC brushes or really just any brushes you must get this brush cleanser. I use it once a week and mix a little with some warm water in a glass and let my brushes soak for about 5 minutes and then rinse them off and lay flat to dry. It keeps my brushes in great shape and looking brand new!
+49points
51of 53found this review helpful.
honeymoosh
Review 2 for Brush Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
A MUST HAVE
Date:January 23, 2014
Tags: Easy to use, Travel friendly, Effective, deep cleansing, brush cleansing, cleaning on the go
I decided to make my first MAC purchase and I bought 2 of the brush cleanser. I had used previously other brand but this cleanser is AMAZING. It doesn't take a lot to take all of the makeup off the brushes even the most difficult ones (tapered brush used for cream contouring). I would recommend it to everyone. As soon as I received my package I washed ALL of my 50 brushes and it didn't take more than 1/5 of a bottle. It was a deep cleansing that I did but I can now clean my brushes on the go when doing my makeup or someone else. I'm doing wedding this spring and summer and you can be sure I'll have it with me. I replaced the cap with a spray one but it did not bother me because I prefer to spray.
+15points
16of 17found this review helpful.
amakeupaddict
Location: Canada
Review 3 for Brush Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Worth every penny
Date:June 17, 2012
Tags: Easy to use, Effective, deep cleaning, spot cleaning
I was washing my brushes with some baby shampoo, but that was not cutting it. Left too much residue and just did not rinse my mac, sigma, be, and sheercover brushes clean. So once my local mac restocked this (after being out of stock), I made the splurge. It is definitely worth it. It does clean the brushes to nearly new, and disinfects them. I only use my brushes on myself, but I am acne prone, so it is good to know that my brushes are washed clean.
Two ways I use this: deep clean (once weekly) and spot cleaning (after each use)
To deep clean I dampen my brushes, always tilting so the brush head is facing down (never letting water seep into the ferrule). Then I take a small amount of cleaner and swirl my brush into it and work up a lather. Lastly, I rinse the brush clean and gently squeeze out the excess water.
Spot cleaning: dampen a small portion (a couple drops will do) of a paper towel or kleenex, and swirl the recently used (not dampened) brush gently into the towel.
Good buy, will be repurchasing for life.
+48points
49of 50found this review helpful.
Angeli
Location: Houston
Review 4 for Brush Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
My only go to Brush Cleanser.
Date:March 20, 2013
Tags: Travel friendly, Easy to use, Effective, lathers soapy quick wash quick drying
I used to wash my brushes with baby shampoo or natural hand soap. I'm so glad I gave this brush cleanser a shot. This brush cleanser is so light and lathers really well. It says it helps shorten drying time, and I have experienced it!
My routine is rinsing my brush under warm water, squeeze a few drops of this pink cleanser and start sweeping my brush. I could't believe how soapy it got. It cleanse my brushes really well and it dries very quickly. My brushes seems to last longer, so soft and ready for application.
+26points
27of 28found this review helpful.
Lils
Location: Los Angeles, CA.
Review 5 for Brush Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Fave Brush Cleaner
Date:February 13, 2011
Tags: Easy to use, Effective, cleaning brushes
I love that this brush cleaner rinses clean and doesn't leave a heavy scent. I prefer this pour spout so that I can control the amount I need and get deep into the brush bristles on bigger thicker brushes.
+17points
17of 17found this review helpful.
Linds
Location: CA
Review 6 for Brush Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Best cleanser, hands down!
Date:July 9, 2014
Tags: Easy to use, Effective, cleaning makeup brushes
I have been using this cleanser for years and it is by far the best one on the market. I pour a small amount into a little bowl, along with a small amount of warm water. I then dampen my brushes and dip the tip of each one into the solution and clean them using my brush cleaning glove. It works up a nice lather and rinses clean. A little bit goes a long way but I usually buy 2 bottles at a time.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Kisha542
Location: Philadelphia
Review 7 for Brush Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Ah-Ma-Zing!
Date:July 8, 2014
Tags: Travel friendly, Easy to use, Effective, brush cleaning
My search is over. I've tried every method of brush cleaning there is. all are just way too much work. the olive oil, baby wash, baby shampoo has got to go. This brush cleaner works fast and leaves my brushes fluffy and smelling great. Great buy. will purchase forever.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
unique
Location: redlands,ca
Review 8 for Brush Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
problem with bottle?
Date:September 7, 2010
Tags: brushes
just buy your own SPRAY bottle and empty contents into it, voila! now you're not wasting product!
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
Krystal
Location: NH
Review 9 for Brush Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love the scent!
Date:September 23, 2013
Tags: Easy to use, Travel friendly, Effective
I have gotten brush shampoos that have done a deeper clean. but this is my favorite if i am on the go or am doing a quick touch up. container is great for just putting a little in a bowl.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
summerLMT
Location: nashville, tn
Review 10 for Brush Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
brush cleaner
Date:May 14, 2014
Tags: Easy to use, Effective
This is the only brush cleaner I've ever used. I use it for spot cleaning my brushes after every use and also as my weekly cleansing solution. It works good with cleansing all the makeup off my brushes, except for my eyeliner brushes. I usually have to go back with eye makeup remover after cleansing with this brush cleanser. Sometimes it takes a few washes to thoroughly clean my foundation and concealer brushes, but it depends on how dense the brush is and how much product is caked inside/on the brushes. I've purchased this product twice and will continue to repurchase unless I hear of something that knocks this cleanser out of the ballpark! It fits my needs alright.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
mheartsmakeup92
Location: Wisconsin
Review 11 for Brush Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Takes too much product to clean
Date:October 9, 2011
Takes multiple washes with this in order to get brushes clean, does not work well on emollient products like concealer and foundation. Have tried other cleaners that work much better.
+11points
12of 13found this review helpful.
DNaturaleArtist
Location: Pa
Review 12 for Brush Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Outstanding!!
Date:August 6, 2012
Tags: Travel friendly, Easy to use, Effective
I have been using this cleaner for many years. I have tried other less expensive ones, however they do not clean anywhere near as well as the MAC brush cleaner. I have owned my MAC make up brushes for years. And thanks to this cleaner, they are all like brand new. I pour this cleaner into a small container, add a touch of water & then let my brushes soak for a few minutes. I then rub the brushes in the palm of my hand (with a touch of cleaner of course), rinse very well & set up right to dry. Love love love this cleaner.
+9points
10of 11found this review helpful.
KellyMZ
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Review 13 for Brush Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
LoveLoveLove
Date:November 11, 2012
Tags: Easy to use, Travel friendly, Effective, extends brush life
I kid you not, I have 3 brushes that are 6 years old and look brand new because of this product. It's gentle, its effective and keeps the bristles moisturized and groomed. Stick a little bit of product in a plate, swirl the brush around in it, rinse and dry. Your brushes will look brand new and feel just as soft as the day you bought them.
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
AlexandraMarie
Location: Florida
Review 14 for Brush Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Good for a Quick Clean!
Date:July 7, 2011
Tags: Easy to use, Effective
I am extremely satisfied with MAC brush cleaner. I feel like this brush cleaner is great for a quick clean between switching colors, and my brushes always smell clean and feel clean when I use them.
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
theautspot90
Location: Vermont
Review 15 for Brush Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
The BEST brush cleanser
Date:July 23, 2014
Tags: Effective
I have to admit at first, I was a little iffy on buying this because my skin is so sensitive especially since it has a perfume smell to it, but I wanted to try it. It is absolutely amazing! I used to use warm water to clean my brushes but that became too difficult, nor did it take out all the makeup. With this the makeup comes right off. So I would definitely recommend to anyone!!!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Titi
Location: Garland, TX
Review 16 for Brush Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
RARELY DO I CLEAN BRUSHES BUT...
Date:March 9, 2013
Tags: Travel friendly, Easy to use, Effective, removing make-up from/ cleansing brushes, conditioning bristles on brushes, lengthening lifespan of brushes, disinfecting bacteria build up from use over time, high quality brushes for sure-don't waste on else!, me!, you! seriously! you!
When I do! I DO! And this is the stuff I use. Sure, there are the in-between spritz and go cleaners out there, but when I REALLY want my brushes not only clean, but the bristles nice and capable of drying back to their shape/size/color [IKR!] I gotta use this stuff. It is like a mask/deep cleansing/ once a month deep conditioning treatment for my brushes! LOL. I mean, those things are touching my face, right? They BETTER be clean!
**TIP! [For the lazy, A.K.A. ME!]: Never seem to find the time to actually bust out the pink bottle and away ya go? Well, how many times a WEEK even do you take a bath? Even if it's just to shave your legs? Take your brushes, throw them in the tub [stay with me now], swish them around in the water a bit while you relax. Have a towel or old shirt around you could care less about [hello bro bro's favorite night shirt EVERY NIGHT fav!] and wipe off excess make-up. Use cleanser as instructed like on the side of the tub. When finished, for rinsing, toss the brushes back into the tub. Careful when drying them off to keep their shape, being careful not to lose bristles or bend in a way that goes against the fibers natural layout. Contour shape, place in toothbrush holders, or straight up in a cup; let air dry 'til morning and GO!
***Didn't say I was the most 'efficient' tip giver... :/
ANYWAYS FIVE STARS HECK YES!
-6points
3of 12found this review helpful.
VivaValleyVivA
Location: Chicago, IL
Review 17 for Brush Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Date:August 25, 2010
Tags: cleaning your brushes.
i like this brush cleaner. However, i wish the top of the bottle came with a spray and not a cap. Because,when you pour it out to much of the product is being wasted. I just feel if it came with a spray cap it would last longer.
+7points
8of 9found this review helpful.
Shar
Location: New York
Review 18 for Brush Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Magic
Date:March 18, 2013
Tags: Easy to use, Effective
This item instantly cleans brushes. My favorite part is that it also cleans bacteria from brushes. I use it for all of my brushes (liquid foundation, powder, concealer, blush). The only downside is that it does run out quickly.
+4points
6of 8found this review helpful.
jc27
Review 19 for Brush Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Okay
Date:September 10, 2013
Tags: Travel friendly, Easy to use
The product goes a long way if you attach a spray pump to it. You can save a lot more product. It removes makeup from your brushes pretty well for a quick color change but I don't see any deep cleaning. My foundation brushes still end up stained and I am forced to buy cleansing oil to lift the stains out. I am a little disappointed honestly.
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Kerby
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Review 20 for Brush Cleanser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great brush cleaner
Date:June 10, 2011
Tags: Travel friendly, Easy to use, Effective, quick cleaning
I love this for lightly cleaning brushes quickly. I pour it into a spray bottle, and after I'm done applying my makeup, I spray some of the cleaner onto a tissue and rub the brushes around on the tissue until they're pretty much clean, and they come out soft and dry within a minute. This method doesn't completely clean my brushes, but cleans them enough for me to reuse them until I deep clean them once a week (I'll soak my brushes in water and baby shampoo). Other brush cleaners I've tried haven't worked as well as this one, and it works for all my brushes.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
sara267
Location: CO
1-20 of 89 reviews