Product Reviews

MAC 129 Powder/Blush Brush

Average Customer Rating:
3.621 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Reviews for 129 Powder/Blush Brush
Review 1 for 129 Powder/Blush Brush
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Date:February 20, 2012
so when i first bought it i was really excited for this brush and because it was mac i thought it would shed. i went home tried it out and found out it sheds a lot i would have a bunch of the black bristles covering my face. very disappointing. i tried washing it and still same thing happens.
+27points
27of 27found this review helpful.
anlili
Review 2 for 129 Powder/Blush Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
The Perfect All Purpose Brush
Date:September 16, 2010
Tags: All over application, Highlighting, Blending, powder makeup
This brush is awesome for picking up any type of powder very well.
My blushes always glide on smoothly with this one. Its never too heavy or fake looking....it really places the PERFECT amount each and every time!
The most I have to swipe is twice and that is for my sheer ones.
I can actually use each side of this brush for each cheek.
As, it is slightly flattened and tapered on each side.
I also, use this for my mineral powders and of course my HG Studio Fix Powder. This brush never leaves a chalky appearance and covers each pore flawlessly.
At first, I was worried by the hairs not being very soft like. I thought that this was going to be super soft. Well, its not a "super" soft brush.
But, it is not coarse one either....by any means! It is soft and fluffy! It has the perfect feel for allowing the hairs to pick up and applying any powder smoothly... where you want it...and blends it out nicely... each time! Yay!
Now, I want you to know that you will probably lose some hairs at first. I did lose some too... with the first few washings and usage. I was extremely concerned and I did a lot of research and blogging about it. Though, after studying.....I read and have found that is to be expected with any real haired brush.(This was many years ago when I was very new to brushes)
Now,I can happily say that it has never shed since back then! I've had it for over 3 years and its very full and looks brand new! I always use MACs brush shampoo or baby shampoo... like only once a week or so. I just wipe very very softly between each dark color. Too many washings can harm your brushes. .
I want you all to remember, that MAC brushes are made with quality genuine hairs. So, they are not going to be extremely soft... like a synthetic hair brush. Which I personally find that the synthetic face brushes really do not pick up a perfect amount each time nor do they place my products as smoothly and naturally looking.... like my genuine haired MAC brushes.
These are our tools. They are just like the tools men buy and collect, that have a lifetime guarantee, from a store in the mall.
Well, these will last forever too!(if cared for properly) And will do the job right.... the first and every single time! IMO, they are worth every cent!
+16points
16of 16found this review helpful.
MrsLeonidas
Location: INDY
Review 3 for 129 Powder/Blush Brush
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
it's OKAY
Date:February 26, 2013
Tags: Contouring, All over application, Highlighting, Blending, blush/powder
This brush is beautiful, but it has it's flaws.
PRO:
applies my powder well (flawless appearance), picks up powder, prefect size for powder/blush applicator
CON:
It sheds! Sheds! And never ending sheds! It's on my face, my clothes, & every where else. It's not a lot but it's enough to notice. It happens every use of the brush.
Overall:
I don't regret buying it. I use it everyday. But it's not worth your thirty-five dollars. Will, I ever buy this brush again, No! I do not recommend it.
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
iluv2makeup
Location: San Diego, CA
Review 4 for 129 Powder/Blush Brush
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Good brush
Date:April 13, 2014
Tags: Contouring, Highlighting
I really liked this brush because it is so soft and does a great job of distributing my bronzer evenly. The only problem, and kind of a big let down for me, is that every time I use it I end up with a bunch of hairs from the brush all over me. I have to pick them of my face, boobs and clothes. I would think it would stay together a bit better.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Nicci
Review 5 for 129 Powder/Blush Brush
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Not happy
Date:January 19, 2011
Tags: All over application
I'm new to the brush world but I know better that a high end brush shouldn't leave fibers on your face. It is a perfect size and it covers perfectly but I hate that I have to pull of black fibers off my face after I apply my power.
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Unsatisfied
Location: Georgia
Review 6 for 129 Powder/Blush Brush
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Sheds, Sheds, Sheds
Date:May 16, 2013
Tags: Blending, All over application
I like the way that the brush feels on my face and the blending of powder on my face but it sheds all the time. It will not stop shedding no matter what I do. I even called the MAC counter to ask for any suggestions and they told me that one day it will settle. It is now going on a month and it continues to shed everyday.
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
nikahh
Location: Charlotte, NC
Review 7 for 129 Powder/Blush Brush
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
shedder
Date:February 15, 2013
Tags: Contouring, a hairy face lol
omg i was suprised to see this brush sheds like a dog...truly disappointing for a mac product...i would not buy it agaiin =(
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
fashiongirl
Location: NC
Review 8 for 129 Powder/Blush Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Excellent for bronzer & blush
Date:October 15, 2014
Tags: Contouring, All over application
I came to the store initially intending to buy the 182 brush but was convinced by the sales associates to try this one instead (the 182 picks up a lot of product and while it's great for buffing & blending, it's not so great just for application). I'm so glad I did. The makeup artist modeled how to apply it and when I tried it at home, it worked beautifully. One side of the brush can be used for contouring bronzer (although not as good as an actual contour brush), and the other side can be used for applying & blending in blush. I love it! I mostly use it for applying bronzer all over b/c I prefer to use an actual contouring brush (the 168) for my pink blush. But this could be used either way. Very happy with this brush.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
eagle017
Location: Roseville, CA
Review 9 for 129 Powder/Blush Brush
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Fairwell brush
Date:November 7, 2011
Tags: Contouring, Highlighting
Had brush (smaller S size) for less than a year. Dont use brush very often, but when cleaning brush fell a part. Bristles came unattached and I couldn't put back together. I've had many other MAC brushes for years and this is the first time I've had this experience. Very shocked and disappointed! I really liked the brush until it prematurely and unexpectedly fell a part - hence lower rating.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Mmmm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Review 10 for 129 Powder/Blush Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Very very nice.
Date:October 4, 2010
Tags: Contouring, All over application, Highlighting, Blending
I bought this brush after using my friends 129, it's an absolutely gorgeous brush for blusher and bronzer, picks up colour really well and allows you to blend really well also great for applying powder, one of my favourite brushes.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
IrishGirl
Location: Ireland
Review 11 for 129 Powder/Blush Brush
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Not my favorite
Date:March 10, 2011
Tags: All over application
I normally love my mac brushes but this one sheds like crazy!! Not a good thing for 34 dollars.
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Mele
Location: dallastx
Review 12 for 129 Powder/Blush Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Staple!
Date:September 9, 2012
Tags: blush application
I have had this brush for nearly 15 years. Yes it does shed a little when you clean it, but I can honestly say this is one of the best beauty purchases I have ever made. I use this brush only for my blush application. I carry it with me everyday in my cosmetic bag, and have for years. Anything that lasts that long in my opinion and still does the trick is worth every penny. It's as good as the day I bought it!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Dash
Location: Philadelphia
Review 13 for 129 Powder/Blush Brush
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Ouch!
Date:March 26, 2013
No matter how much I condition this thing, it scratches. So uncomfortable to use. If you attempt to blend with it, it shifts foundation around/it's hard to apply product evenly with this.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Lovelychica
Review 14 for 129 Powder/Blush Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
It's a Multitasker.
Date:April 16, 2014
Tags: All over application, Highlighting, under eye application, good coverage application
This is my Holy Grail Blush brush. It applies my blush products amazingly and proportional. It can apply sheer or bold. I can also use this brush to highlight my cheekbones. the bridge of my nose etc. I also use this brush to set my translucent powder under my eye and sometimes use it all over my face. This brush just works well with any face powder.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Lunie
Location: New York
Review 15 for 129 Powder/Blush Brush
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Date:April 17, 2014
Tags: Contouring, All over application, Highlighting, Blending
I use this to apply my Blot powder, Mineralize powder, blush, or highlighter. I find it to be very useful, and I like having it in my collection.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
VeraLynn
Location: New Jersey
Review 16 for 129 Powder/Blush Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
great multi purpose brush
Date:October 9, 2011
Tags: Blending, Contouring, All over application
I love this brush. It feels amazing on your skin and I love how dense and thick the bristles are it gives a great finish. I use it mainly for putting my powder over foundation but its an awesome blush brush as well and always gives a good contour. I was slightly hesitant to purchase this brush given the price point but I'm glad I did. It makes my makeup look super flawless!!!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
lizzylovesmacmakeup
Location: CA
Review 17 for 129 Powder/Blush Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Multi-use brush
Date:August 29, 2010
This brush's shape makes it perfect for adding color to the apples of the cheeks, but it's also useful for applying powder to the face. Its smaller size makes it easier to control the application of powder, unlike a large powder brush.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
banhbaocheeks
Location: SF Bay Area, California
Review 18 for 129 Powder/Blush Brush
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
I Like it
Date:June 2, 2011
Tags: All over application, applying powder
It does shred a little to much but over all i love it i tried switching but i always end up going back. Just be careful washing it.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Olivia67
Location: New york
Review 19 for 129 Powder/Blush Brush
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Would be the *PERFECT* brush- if it didn't shed!
Date:June 26, 2013
Tags: Blending, powder application, blush application
I love this brush and use it every single day for powder application. I used to use it for blush, but found the MAC 116 is better for me when applying blush. My only complaint about this brush is the shedding. I have had mine for many years now, and the shedding has decreased- but it still lets out a few, small hairs every day. (Sometimes on my face, but mostly when cleaning.) I tried looking for a replacement powder brush that was shaped the same and didn't shed... but I searched in vain. Wasted money on other brands (high-end & low end), and all those other brushes turned out to be too soft, too hard, shedders, too big, too dense, or they smelled funny and leaked black dye when I washed them. ::sigh:: The 129 is as good as it gets, and I always came back to it!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
MsDi2u
Location: NJ
Review 20 for 129 Powder/Blush Brush
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
AVERAGE
Date:August 17, 2013
Tags: Highlighting
since, I owned all the Mac brushes, this one is one of the few of my least favorite brushes. I barely even reach to this brush for my clients. This brush might work great for starters or someone who wants to have less brushes for their personal use.
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
SanBen
Location: California
1-20 of 29 reviews