Product Reviews

MAC 116 Blush Brush

Average Customer Rating:
3.954 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews for 116 Blush Brush
Review 1 for 116 Blush Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
This was my first MAC brush almost 20 years ago
Date:June 8, 2014
Tags: blush application
This was my first MAC brush purchase when I was 18 and had my first job ... and I still have it and use it everyday! By far, it will always be a sentimental favorite. The bristles never fell out, and I wash my brushes on a regular basis, every 2-3 weeks. The brush has kept its shape and the ferrule has never detached from the handle, really depends on how you care for them. I keep them in a MAC roll after I apply my make-up in the morning and carry the small short handle editions that are cheaper in my purse for touch ups during the day. Can't love this brush more, its withstanding the test of time. Highly Recommend.
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
CristyV
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Review 2 for 116 Blush Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
HG brush
Date:April 9, 2014
Tags: Contouring, Highlighting, Blending, blush, really pigmented blushes, mineral skin finish, mineral blush, bronzer
I adore this brush, its great for blush, contour, highlighting, and bronzers. Usually i use the 168 for all of that, but i decided to try this one out. SO glad i did! Its perfect for the mineral products, and for really pigmented blushes you need a light hand with. All around, i recommend this brush. It is smaller than the typical brushes i would go for, but i have more control where i put the color with this one. bigger isn't always better!!! Sometimes precision is key. I have not seen any shedding with this one. In my experience MAC brushes are the best i have tried. I will keep buying them and when i need to replace this i will re-buy!!!! highly recommend.
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
JuiceyJay
Location: Seattle, wa
Review 3 for 116 Blush Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Superb Blush- Bronzer- Highlighter- Contour
Date:October 15, 2010
Tags: Contouring, Highlighting, Blending, blush
When I opened this brush i though it looked small for a blush brush.
Little did I know that this is the best brush I have owned for blush! The shape and hardware are of the highest quality, and there is ZERO hair loss.
It always picks up the perfect amount of color and it goes on flawless every time. I have used many brushes over the years and there is none like this. You can lightly feather your cheeks or apply a beautiful bold blush with slight pressure and it never looks fake or "too placed" = WOW
If you are debating on getting this or not, definitely go with it. ONE ONE MY BEST BEAUTY INVESTEMENTS.
Have a beautiful day -
+15points
15of 15found this review helpful.
Angelwings1075
Location: South Texas
Review 4 for 116 Blush Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Best Blush brush
Date:April 7, 2011
Tags: All over application, Highlighting, Blending
I purchased this about 2 years ago and let me just say its the best investment that i made in blush brushes because it deposits the right amount of color and it lets you add more without looking over done, i saw someone write its not a good brush, thats because they dont know how to use, it i say let the pros at mac show you as they did myself and i dont use any other brush but the 116 brush its worth the money you will never have to buy another one and its also use to apply the mineralized natural skin finish.
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
mrsc
Location: alabama
Review 5 for 116 Blush Brush
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Date:April 16, 2012
Tags: Blending, Contouring, Highlighting
I really like the way this brush applies product - it blends really nicely as well. However, the shedding with this brush is more than I've experienced with other MAC brushes, and I feel like the quality just isn't as high as some of the others.
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
ohwowatomic
Location: Dallas
Review 6 for 116 Blush Brush
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
ok
Date:February 18, 2013
Tags: Contouring, blushes
I love this brush for blush application but every time I use it 3-4 strands sheds. I was kind of disappointed the fact that I've heard mac's brushes are great but I'm still keeping it until all of the hair is gone. haha
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
jcastro
Location: hawaii
Review 7 for 116 Blush Brush
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Date:April 19, 2013
Tags: Highlighting
i was very excited about this brush but I was diappointed when I got it, it's a bit small for what I expected and it sheds a lot. I washed it as soon as I got it and tried to soften the bristles and ended with hairs all over the place. Also I would have expected it to be a little bigger, it has too little bristles compared to other brushed for the same purpose (that are much cheaper). Overall I'm not very happy with it
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
monito7835
Location: Argentina
Review 8 for 116 Blush Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
116 blush brush
Date:October 1, 2013
Tags: blush
I recently bought this brush, and I do not think it has enough ratings. It deserves way more. Great Blush Brush with an even application!
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Jeniffer
Location: Houston, Texas.
Review 9 for 116 Blush Brush
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
MAKES ME BLUSH!
Date:January 11, 2013
Tags: Contouring, Highlighting, blushing and contouring
I like this brush. I'm not crazy about it, but it is ok and I am glad that I purchased it. I use it for blush, but sometimes it seems to almost pick up too much color...if that makes sense. I can always soften my blush with my setting powder, but sometimes it places too much color. Overall....it's a MAC brush and I will keep it. I noticed that some reviews said that the brush was shedding. I noticed only slight shedding with mine. Bottom line. Recommended.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
SexyLexie
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Review 10 for 116 Blush Brush
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Sheds!
Date:January 24, 2013
I've used this three times and each time at least one strand is left on my face. Given this I have no idea how long this will last. Not a fan.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Lily11
Review 11 for 116 Blush Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Proven performer
Date:August 16, 2014
I have had this brush for over 14 years and it still looks and performs like the day I bought it.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Pigasus718
Location: Kentucky
Review 12 for 116 Blush Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Perfect Blush Brush
Date:August 11, 2014
Love this blush brush. Powder blush goes on super smooth and evenly and does not need to be blended/buffed separately. I read the reviews about shedding but have not had any issues with that at all.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Alv425
Location: Fairfield, CT
Review 13 for 116 Blush Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Date:July 9, 2012
Tags: All over application, blush
Excellent brush for powder blush and contour application, as well as blending edges and depositing very targeted face powders.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Daniel89
Review 14 for 116 Blush Brush
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
not impressed
Date:November 26, 2011
i was not impressed with this brush for a couple of reasons.
I bought this to use with my almost creamy bronzer or even my loose powder. I wanted to decide which one after i physically got the brush.
When i got the brush i noticed that it doesn't feel very high quality nor soft.
It was scratchy and rough.
I tried using it on my creamy bronzer and found that it doesn't apply it on my face evenly... nor picks it up evenly either.
i tired using it on my loose powder even and that was a failure as well. It isnt able to evenly pick up the loose powder.
I am also disappointed because this brush also sheds a little more than the other mac brushes i have. it doesn't shed as badly as the 150 i got along with this brush but definitely alot more than any others. It sheds about 3-8 bristles per use. (where as all my other brushes except this and the 150 they have maybe shed about 5 bristles in about 1 YEAR of daily use.)
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
sbranco
Location: Virginia
Review 15 for 116 Blush Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
A must have!
Date:December 19, 2012
Tags: Contouring, Highlighting
This is a must have for any artist. Perfect size for any contour, works well with fine powders.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
HairbyLibby
Location: Fremont, CA
Review 16 for 116 Blush Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
116 blush brush
Date:June 5, 2012
amazing brush for blush. easy application with the colors and the size of the brush makes it easy to blend out/contour the cheek color well. because of its awesome density, you can also apply pressed or loose powders to areas of the face where you want a heavier application that what the 134 brush would give.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
lexiD
Review 17 for 116 Blush Brush
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Don't waste money
Date:May 27, 2012
Bought this brush based on a MAC video for foundation application. It really sheds fibers all over the face which stick and are difficult to pluck off. It leaves a somewhat streaky application and with the shedding it probably won't last long.
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
swimmom
Location: DENVER
Review 18 for 116 Blush Brush
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Contouring
Date:January 3, 2012
Tags: Blending, Contouring
I use this brush for contouring my cheekbones. I don't wear blush, so I don't know how well his brush would work for that purpose, however, for contouring it works really well. It doesn't pick up alot of product and it's great for blending. I'm satisfied with this brush. The quality is wonderful. Its not very soft, but not rough either and it retains its shape really well after washing.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
LovelyLioness
Location: NYC
Review 19 for 116 Blush Brush
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Not my go-to blush brush
Date:November 10, 2010
Tags: Contouring
I wanted to love this brush, I did. But, I just am not impressed with its application. I feel that because of its smaller size and density it picks up too much product and/or concentrates too much blush in places where I do not want it to be concentrated. I prefer my brush #129 to this brush because the 129 seems to diffuse color better. This brush may be a good option for contouring, however, I have not tried it for that yet. Thanks!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
tesahelena
Location: Bay Area, CA
Review 20 for 116 Blush Brush
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Ok
Date:March 10, 2012
Tags: Contouring, Highlighting
I liked this brush the first few times i used it. Then it started shedding. Good for highlighting and contouring since it picks up a lot of the product. Not sure i would buy it again.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Gigi
Location: New York
1-20 of 22 reviews