Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC 242 Shader Brush

Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for 242 Shader Brush
Review 1 for 242 Shader Brush
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Multi-use for powder or cream product
Date:August 30, 2010
Tags: Applying
Uses:
- to apply cream products to the eye such as MAC Paint pot as a shadow (base).
- to apply a highlight shade to the tear duct or inner third of the eyelid.
- to apply a shimmery shade to the middle of the eyelid to reflect light (repeat in a "patting" fashion to achieve desired effect).
This brush is useful for liberal application of product to the eye that will be blended in a later step. Its square shape does not lend itself to precise application.
+31points
31of 31found this review helpful.
banhbaocheeks
Location: SF Bay Area, California
Review 2 for 242 Shader Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
The perfect all purpose brush!!
Date:June 15, 2012
Tags: Blending, Lining, Shading, Applying, concealer
I found my new BFF brush!!!
When I received this as a gift one year, I thought it was mainly used for concealer and I do not use any, it just sat around unused forever.
Then one day, when my 239 was a bit too scratchy(for some reason my 239 tends to get a bit too scratchy... if I don't keep it super clean with my MAC Brush Shampoo) So I remembered how soft and yet firm it was and decided to use it for packing shadows on my lids/browbone highlight ......then Bam! I totally fell in luv.
This is now my go to now all in one brush because.........
-it is so soft and yet firm enough for concealer and shadow application
-really picks up shadows very well
- packs them on evenly
-if I am in a hurry I can just use the soft feathery firm edge to blend my outer crease line perfectly into my brow bone highlight
-the thinner edge can be used for applying liner if needed
This really is an awesome brush......I just can't say enough good things about it!
Get one ;)
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
MrsLeonidas
Location: INDY
Review 3 for 242 Shader Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Date:July 10, 2012
Tags: Applying
Multipurpose. Great at applying liquid or cream concealers to the face, cream eye shadows, powder eye shadows.
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Daniel89
Location: Long island, ny
Review 4 for 242 Shader Brush
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
I love this brush!
Date:June 3, 2011
Tags: Shading, Applying
I have two of these brushes: one for concealer and one for eye shadow. It is great for concealer but I am beyond thrilled with how it handles eye shadow.
+7points
8of 9found this review helpful.
ChristinaDBP
Location: Pflugerville, TX
Review 5 for 242 Shader Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Amazing
Date:January 30, 2011
Tags: Blending, Shading, Applying
This brush is perfect for one of those eye shadow experiment days when you have nothing to do. It is one of the softest brushes I've ever bought and has great quality too. Also, the fact that it can be used for concealer is a plus.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Makeupgirl3636
Review 6 for 242 Shader Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Works Perfectly
Date:November 1, 2011
Tags: Lining, Shading, Applying
I'm in love with this brush! Since I can't find my 266 small angle brush to line my eyes, I use this brush to do the work for me. The bristles are soft and easy to clean, unlike the 266 angle brush, which is another plus for me. When I add on eyeliner to my waterline or above/below my lids, I use this brush in my Carbon eye shadow to pat it dry and give it a finished look so I can go out without my makeup running!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Jayy
Location: New York
Review 7 for 242 Shader Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
LOVE IT
Date:May 8, 2011
Tags: Shading, Applying, anyone who needs an all in one brush
This was my first MAC eye brush and I used it for all types of shadow for a year before I got any other eye brush. This is the ultimate multi-purpose brush. Its a great buy for anyone who uses shadow
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
JANC
Review 8 for 242 Shader Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Very versatile
Date:September 5, 2012
Tags: Blending, Lining, Shading, Applying
This brush is one of many uses and I think that I have discovered all of them. I initially purchased to apply concealer to my brow, but was surprised to learn that it can also be used to apply shadow, it shades well, use it for under eye concealer, and it blends so smoothly.
Get it, it's definitely a must, worth the price because of it's versatility.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Brooksnana
Location: North Little Rock, AR
Review 9 for 242 Shader Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Date:February 27, 2012
Tags: Blending, Applying
Love this brush
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Jeanie
Location: Jeanie
Review 10 for 242 Shader Brush
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
just okay
Date:February 15, 2013
Tags: Shading
i prefer more natural brushes vs synthetics
does it's job though
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
fashiongirl
Location: NC