Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC 224 Tapered Blending Brush

Average Customer Rating:
4.59 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews for 224 Tapered Blending Brush
Review 1 for 224 Tapered Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Everyday Go-To
Date:August 14, 2013
Tags: Blending, Applying, blending & applying
This is the very 1st brush that I start with every single day. It fluffs the transition color all over my lid, then I use it over any applied color to buff out edges. It fades shadow out so nicely that the untrained eye wouldn't be able to guess how I put my shadow on or how many different shades I've used. IF YOU ONLY BUY ONE EYE BRUSH, THIS IS THE ONE TO GET. I never go one day without using it. I hope that helps someone.
+13points
13of 13found this review helpful.
Dawnna
Location: Chicago
Review 2 for 224 Tapered Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Best for blending
Date:April 2, 2013
Tags: Blending
I have both the 217 and this 224 but the 224 is far superior for blending. The diffused color look I achieve with this brush in less time is beautiful and has taken my skills to another level. While I still use my 217 for applying color or mixing two shades, I would not want to be without the 224 blending brush to finish the overall look. And if I had to choose only one, it would be the 224 hands down. It is the one essential brush everyone should have in their bag.
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
RobinD
Location: Lubbock
Review 3 for 224 Tapered Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Date:August 19, 2010
Tags: Blending
This brush deserves more than a 5!! It's amazing at blending all products and awesome for those who want to achieve that smokey look but arent sure how to. With this brush youre able to apply a light amount of shadow to creases or a heavy amount depending on your style. This is by far my FAVORITE mac brush and a must have in any make-up kit!
+15points
16of 17found this review helpful.
Jena
Location: New Orleans, La
Review 4 for 224 Tapered Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
SUPER DISAPPOINTED !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Date:February 19, 2012
I didn't even get to use this yet, and when I just purchased it I wanted to spot clean this and when suddenly ALL of the hair started to come off I freaked out. I don't know if I can invest in something this pricey and have this result
+13points
15of 17found this review helpful.
Pauliiinex3
Review 5 for 224 Tapered Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great blending brush
Date:December 3, 2010
Tags: Blending
I love this brush! It does an amazing job at blending in more natural colors. Since it is so large I wouldn't necessarily use this with a bold color (like say electric eel) because it would spread the color out too far! I primarily use this brush to clean up color between a clients crease & brown bone....Works wonders!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
AshleyB
Location: California
Review 6 for 224 Tapered Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
So glad I finally took the plunge!
Date:August 28, 2014
Tags: Blending
I have been skeptical for a long time about paying top dollar for tools, but after purchasing this baby and taking her for a spin I do understand why its so important to have good tools! I am not lacking in make up skills but this just took them to a new level! .. As well as making blending look so beautiful and professional. I am sooo happy I finally did this.. I want more!!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
SabrinaTheViking
Location: Clearwater Beach, FL
Review 7 for 224 Tapered Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
OHEMGEE
Date:November 18, 2010
Tags: Blending
SO I took a cosmetics class aside from my cosmetology and there was this guy at my school who I thought was amazing when it came to blending! Like every time he did makeup on a client my jaw would drop, I even made him do my Mom's makeup for her wedding cause he was so talented, anyways I asked him what his technique was and he responded "GO TO MAC AND GET A 224 BRUSH!" so I was thinking that there was no way that a brush could improve anyone's blending skills like that, I was wrong >.<
This brush is God's gift for makeup artist! It makes blending a million times more perfect.
I have had other blending brushes in the past and they literally remove all the eyeshadow and leave ugly streak marks on the lid. I use this brush every single day and it is completely worth $29.00!
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Anonymous
Location: San Diego
Review 8 for 224 Tapered Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
great brush!!
Date:October 14, 2011
Tags: Blending, Shading, Applying
This is a must have brush! i not only use it for blending my eyeshadow, but use it to blend my concealer, contour and highlight! I highly recommend this to everyone! <3
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
NancyB
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Review 9 for 224 Tapered Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Perfect Blender
Date:February 25, 2014
Tags: Blending, everyeone, neutral lovers
I love this brush. It gives the soft blendable effect that my 217 has never given me. Great for making soft transitions in the crease.
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
TheStyleChronicles
Location: Houston, Texas
Review 10 for 224 Tapered Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
I'm so glad I got this for my kit
Date:June 19, 2014
Tags: Blending
I suggest that all up and coming MUA's have this blending blush in their kit. It blends all the colors together well. I'm so glad that Invested into getting it for my kit. It is so worth the price!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Christalle1986
Location: Pelham
Review 11 for 224 Tapered Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Carve me a lid
Date:March 13, 2011
Tags: Blending, Shading, Applying, shadows & pigments!!
OK, ladies and gents! As we all know, not everyone is blessed to have a well defined lid. I am one of those people who have to carve out their lid from scratch. Yes, that means it's different each and every day. That's one nice thing. I can change my look up when I want to. I, however, would not be able to do so without this brush. This is the brush that I use daily to carve out my lid. I blend some color into the outer corner of my eye with this brush and really, I can do it all with this baby. It's a must have. It's long lasting and doesn't need to be DEEP cleaned all the time. Lots of times, cleaning it against a wipe is all you need. Of course, I do suggest cleaning it at least once a week if you use it as frequently as I do. I typically clean my brushes after every use...but that's just me. This brush is awesome and really gets the job done.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
MACnificent
Location: LA
Review 12 for 224 Tapered Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
MAC 224 brush
Date:May 29, 2014
Tags: blending in crease, Contouring, setting powder under eye area, applying color
I really like the brush for blending everything thing out in my crease from start to finish, but I will say it's harder to work with on smaller eyelids and that I wish it were a little softer. :-)
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
themakeupgal
Location: Washington State
Review 13 for 224 Tapered Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Perfect for blending and more!
Date:May 3, 2012
Tags: Blending, Shading, Applying
This is the last brush i use as I walk away from the mirror! It blends eye shadow and those weird lines that appear during eye shadow application, makes my smoky eyes look so much more blended than my 217 brush. It works for fixing clumps under the eyes too!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
dubdub38
Location: GA
Review 14 for 224 Tapered Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
You need to buy two!
Date:October 15, 2010
Tags: Blending, Shading, Applying, applying studio finish concealer to under eye area
I started using the 224 brush to blend out eyeshadow. I don't recommend it for shading the lid because it will give a sheer wash. I t's fluffy and it can shed at times, but nothing like too extreme. I also started to use this brush for applying concealer to my under eye area. A+ for this brush.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
carrlos
Location: Southern California
Review 15 for 224 Tapered Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
My Fav Brush Ever
Date:December 9, 2010
Tags: Blending
This was my very first MAC purchase and i am in love with it. I had it when i started a dance team and that was over 4 years ago and its still works great! i absolutely love it. Definitely worth the money.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
quellabella
Location: miami
Review 16 for 224 Tapered Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Awesome blending, but...
Date:January 2, 2014
Tags: Blending, Shading, Applying
It does an awesome job for blending, but the brush falls apart so easily!! The bristles started falling out the second I opened the package. It was so bad I thought about returning it, but when I used it, my mind was changed. It's the best blending brush I've used so far! It blends colors for the perfect smokey eye.
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Delaney
Location: Gainesville, VA
Review 17 for 224 Tapered Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
love it
Date:October 9, 2011
Tags: Blending
i just recently started having an interest in the mac brushes because from many reviews i have read a lot of good comments about it......the first mac brush that i ever bought was the mac 224 and the first day i used it i loved it.....evenn though it is a little expensive but it will last a quite long time i was so suprised and satified with the outlook that i got from this product
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Anonymous
Location: sacramento
Review 18 for 224 Tapered Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Cost too much to be shedding!
Date:March 9, 2014
Tags: precise crease application
I recently purchased this brush after hearing all the hype... When I received it I was so excited. However, it's shedding like crazy! From the day I opened it until now...disappointed
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Ahaa
Location: Tampa
Review 19 for 224 Tapered Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
224 brush
Date:July 19, 2012
Tags: Blending, Applying
Excellent blending brush!
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
yaya
Location: LA, CA
Review 20 for 224 Tapered Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love M.A.C brushes
Date:June 22, 2011
Tags: Blending, Lining, Shading, Applying, antone
I can't possibly rate all the brushes I use as I have well over 40 brushes. So I will say this, M.A.C brushes are the best out there bar none!!! They are super soft and blend colour awesomely. I absolutely treasure my brushes. Take care of them by washing them in the M.A.C brush cleanser and they will last a lifetime. Make up brushes are an absolute necessity for recreating the look your make up artist has created for you.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
awg36
Location: Killian, La
1-20 of 39 reviews