Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Eye Brows

Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (160 reviews)
5 stars
106
4 stars
26
3 stars
16
2 stars
6
1 star
6
Customer Reviews for Eye Brows
Review 1 for Eye Brows
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Fling is perfect except for...
Date:July 22, 2013
Tags: Fills, Natural looking, Defining, brows
I have tried NUMEROUS brow pencils, powders, shadows, you name it, for my blonde eye brows and everything I've tried for dirty blondes is just too yellow or orange. This is the only color I have found that is actually a true blonde's eyebrow color. It is a lovely natural looking taupe and because the tip is so small, you can really get in there and shape your brows beautifully with it. I love this pencil. And when I wear it I get complements on my eye brows. I get told that I have the most perfect eye brows anyone has seen. My brows without liner are very thin and light on their own, so for people to say stuff like this tells you how awesome this pencil is.
NOW... the real bummer about this product --- and MAC I hope you read our reviews --- is it does not last for more than 3 weeks tops. That is ridiculous. I have to keep driving a half hour to the mall once a month to buy more of this. I'm not rich enough to buy a case of these things. I really wish MAC would recreate this pencil and make it last longer.
Other drawback... you cannot tell when you're about to run out. You just run out one day and it could happen mid brow, and when it does, you're hosed. So I always have to keep a spare on hand.
I've tried using Omega (eye shadow) for my brows, which is recommended for blondes. It is too dark for me and goes on too yellow. It doesn't look natural or half as good as this pencil does.
+139points
142of 145found this review helpful.
IownTOOmuchMAC
Location: Sacramento, CA
Review 2 for Eye Brows
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Nice product, but doesn't last long.
Date:July 3, 2014
Tags: Fills, Defining, Natural looking
I have been trying to find the perfect eyebrow pencil and the perfect color for my jet black hair. I used to use this pencil in Stud and Spike, but it was too dark for my liking. I wanted something a little more natural so I went with Lingering. The color is nice and the handling of this product is great, however the product doesn't last very long with regards to how much use you can get out of it. I just reordered this product after having only used my last pencil for one month exactly -- my last purchase was 6/4/14.
A couple of years ago, when I first bought this pencil, it lasted nearly 3 months until I had to reorder another one. I stopped using the product to try other pencils. April of this year, I decided to purchase this pencil again, only to have it run out after a month. This is the third time I'm ordering this product within the last 3-4 months. I really hope MAC can somehow find a way to extend the life of their pencils, because shelling out $16 every month is a little unnecessary. You get what you pay for as far as quality, but it would also be nice if it matched the quantity.
+19points
21of 23found this review helpful.
Liana
Review 3 for Eye Brows
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Eyebrow Pencil: You have to know how to use it
Date:May 17, 2014
Tags: Fills, Natural looking, Defining
The eyebrow pencil is great, but only if you use it in a certain way: you have to twist up only a very tiny amount and (this is important) apply it with the pencil perpendicular to your face. If you twist up too much or try to apply it with the pencil at a slanted angle to your face, the way you do with an ordinary pencil, the product will snap off. I wasted most of my first purchase that way.
+44points
46of 48found this review helpful.
Kathie
Location: Virginia
Review 4 for Eye Brows
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
MAC Spiked Eye Crayon
Date:January 18, 2014
I love the look it gives, but I hate the quality of the dispenser. Most of mine broke and crumpled. I used it only 3 times. Would love it in another form.
+53points
57of 61found this review helpful.
Emme
Location: St. Louis, MO
Review 5 for Eye Brows
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Hard to use
Date:August 25, 2013
Tags: Fills, Natural looking, color great for blondes
This is for older folks to read: This product is very skinny and hard to hold on to. It is difficult to twist to make the product come up, and hard to see how much product is above the tube because it's such a tiny amount. I took mine back to the MAC store in KC, MO, and they were able to twist it up without problem, so I ended up looking like an idiot. I still had a hard time twisting at home. I tried to get the level up to where I could see it to use it and I over twisted and got to much above the tip--and you can't rewind it. I went to stroke it on my brow and the piece of product broke off and hit the floor--there went $3 worth of product probably, no more than comes in the tube. I have to twist up several times when applying the pencil and the plastic rubs on my brows and is uncomfortable--mostly because I can't allow more than 1mm of product out at a time or it breaks off. I love the look of the color Fling on my brows as it is so natural and not to red or brown as I've found with other colors. This price is ridiculous for no more product than you get. I tried to take it back to the MAC shop at Dillard's which is closer to my home, and they said they couldn't take a return on a product bought at a MAC store. Very frustrating. I'd rather have a pencil than deal with this skinny tube.
+25points
36of 47found this review helpful.
AngieW
Location: Arkansas
Review 6 for Eye Brows
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great Product, DOES NOT LAST LONG!!!
Date:April 14, 2014
Tags: Fills, Defining, Natural looking, brows
Like many others here I will agree that the product is great. Better than shadow and doesn't leave your brows too waxy or spotty, BUUUUUT...the pencil lasts 3 weeks TOPS!!! And i only use it for the bottom of my brow then fill in with shadow. When they demonstrate on you the artists tell you to push against your brow line, well, when doing that, the pencil breaks. it's VERY WEAK. which depletes your supply even faster. and the last review was right...you can be right in the middle of your brows!!! I REALLY HOPE MAC READS THESE REVIEW AND MAKES CHANGES. I have been a loyal MAC customer since high school and spending $30+ a month on half of my brow regimen is not appealing and won't last long. it's way cheaper to carry around an eye shadow and brush and not much more cumbersome. PLEASE CHANGE THE QUANTITY AND/OR PRICE!!!!
+8points
9of 10found this review helpful.
LaurenF6
Location: Los Angeles
Review 7 for Eye Brows
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Breaks
Date:July 30, 2014
Tags: Defining, Natural looking, brows
This pencil just breaks every single time, Id pull it out just a tiny bit enough for me to pencil in and it crumbles. In my opinion the worst MAC product ive ever used. I can't believe we dont hear more about this. They really need to fix it.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
lopezj920
Location: Los Angeles
Review 8 for Eye Brows
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Don't think about it...buy it!
Date:October 3, 2011
Tags: Fills, Natural looking, anyone who needs brows
It might sound silly to describe a make up product as life changing but I am going to!
My sparse brows have been a HUGE confidence killer for me. After I had enough of products that made them look obviously fake (no matter what I tried it didn't matter) I was recommended this product (in Lingering). Wow, they look real - I kid you not! I feel fantastic and haven't stopped smiling. This product has made a big difference and I couldn't be more pleased.
I am a total MAC convert.
+70points
72of 74found this review helpful.
Violet
Location: NZ
Review 9 for Eye Brows
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
best brow pencil ever!
Date:December 28, 2013
Tags: Fills, Defining, Natural looking
I have been using this pencil in spiked for 8 years!! Once I discovered it, I haven't used anything else for my brows. So easy to use and self sharpening. I've gone back and forth with Mac and other favorite makeup brands with eyeshadow, lipsticks, foundation, etc, but I've only used this pencil for my brows. I'm an NC 25, hazel eyes, dark brunette and its is the perfect shade for my brows which are a soft black shade. Dark enough to fill them in but not so dark that they look like I did it with a Sharpie. I always keep at least one spare, because as another reviewer rightly noted, you don't really know when you're about to run out. But to me, it's worth it. Let's put it this way, I lived overseas for three years, and had my dad ship me several of these at a time because I refused to try anything else.
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Nami
Location: pinehurst, nc
Review 10 for Eye Brows
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Not sure how this pencils overall rating is 4.5
Date:January 24, 2014
This pencil does not last long at all, and while you are applying, it will break off or crumble on you which is just a total waste. Searching for a new brow pencil because this one blows!
Every single pencil Ive had broke off or crumbled while using it! :(
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
WindyRN
Review 11 for Eye Brows
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Doesn't last long at all
Date:February 10, 2014
Tags: Fills, Defining, Natural looking, dark brows
I love this pencil but for $16 it should last much longer. Plus it doesn't let you know at all when you are about to run out. I'm looking for another product because this is just not cutting it.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Neisha
Location: Louisville, KY
Review 12 for Eye Brows
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
THE BEST FOR BROWS!!!!
Date:January 19, 2011
Tags: Fills, Natural looking, Defining
I've tried a bunch of products for my eyebrows. I've tried powders from various brands, pencils, eye shadows, ect. and this is the BESSSSSTTTT product I've found. The color matches me perfectly. I have dark brown hair and very dark brows and I ended up getting the color "spiked," my mom has been using this product for a very long time as well and loves it! Unlike most powders that run with any bit of sweat this pencil stays put and looks super natural.
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Steph0690
Location: Miami
Review 13 for Eye Brows
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Brilliant
Date:June 25, 2011
Tags: Fills, Natural looking, Defining
As someone with naturally black hair, I had trouble finding a quality brow product in such a dark shade. Velvetone is not too dark and definitely not brown which is VERY important when you're a raven-haired girl. I'm only 31 but my eyebrows have thinned a bit and even fallen out at the ends on my left brow. Powder just wasn't cutting it and looked so sloppy. I wanted something that looked natural for filling in sparse areas as well as drawing in the missing part. The first time I used it, my eyes really popped, and with a little more practice, they'll look perfect. MAC Eye Brows makes it so easy to draw perfect straight lines. You will not look like you used a sharpie marker on your face. 5 STARS!!
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Ariane
Location: Texas
Review 14 for Eye Brows
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Hmm...
Date:April 7, 2014
Tags: Fills
Don't really care for this product. I'm sure there are better products out there that are cheaper. Purchased in shade Stud, works great for people with pitch black hair. Texture is okay, not the most blendable of eyebrow products I've use.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Jayjaybooboo
Location: Idaho
Review 15 for Eye Brows
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Breakage!
Date:June 21, 2014
I have used this brow pencil in the Lingering shade for several years and like it for its ability to allow precision application of color. However, I have experienced a recurring, frustrating and costly problem with tip breakage, even though I have only a small amount of pencil tip exposed and am careful about the amount of pressure I apply. I lose easily half of every pencil I purchase to tip breakage. My tolerance is running low. MAC must do something to strengthen the pencil without altering its good qualities to keep me as a customer!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
BeeGee
Review 16 for Eye Brows
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
not impressed
Date:December 30, 2013
fills in great, great color ect but the product breaks off WAY too easily. I'm considering sending it back.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
hope
Location: oregon
Review 17 for Eye Brows
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Cannot live without it
Date:March 14, 2014
Tags: Fills, Defining, Natural looking
I have very very sparse, blonde eyebrows, and using this completely transforms my look, and is very visually appealing. I've never been able to find an eyebrow filler that works as well as this one does. Such a great product. I just wish they'd come in bigger sizes because they run out fairly quickly and you can't really tell when you're going to run out, until you do.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
shanxmichelle
Location: Salt Lake City
Review 18 for Eye Brows
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
replacement for velvetone
Date:December 28, 2012
Tags: Fills, Natural looking, Defining, all your brow needs
For everyone who is looking for a replacement color for Velvetone, Stud is it! I was very disappointed when they discontinued Velvetone, but with the advice of Mac beauty consultant I purchased the color Stud. It's a great replacement color, it's not as dark as Velvetone but pretty close. No one at work even noticed the change of color.
I have a unique eye brow problem....I don't have any, they are tattooed on and after applying my make up I need to color them in so they show. This particular eye brow pencil is the only one that goes on smooth and make my brows look natural. Plus I can make my brows as thin or fat as I want. This is the best brow pencil on the market by far!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
catclws
Location: PA
Review 19 for Eye Brows
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Amazing
Date:May 29, 2014
Tags: Fills, Defining, Natural looking, eyebrows
I was hesitant to purchase this for a long time. I am so glad I decided to try it. It matches very well and looks very natural when used with a light hand. I love it.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
CassieTV
Location: Temple Hills, MD
Review 20 for Eye Brows
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
LOVE!
Date:July 28, 2014
Tags: Fills, Defining, Natural looking, eyebrows
I love this eyebrow pencil. It is the best eyebrow pencil that I have tried since I have been doing makeup. The thin tip makes the color deposit and the strokes look more natural. The color is buildable and there is one for every hair color. Major plus! However, there are two major cons to this pencil. 1) The price is pretty steep just for an eyebrow pencil. $16 is double what most eyebrow pencils cost nowadays. (2) You do not know when the pencil is running out. Literally, after about a couple weeks, you can turn it up for another click and that's it. And it usually happens while I am in the middle of doing my brows. I use a pencil everyday for added thickness and to fill in sparse areas. So with this pencil I have about, maybe, 3 weeks. I mean it's kind of ridiculous. Almost $20 dollars for one item and it doesn't even last a month (depending on how often you do your eyebrows). I really love this pencil and hopefully you all drop the price down soon and maybe change the packaging so you can tell when it will run out.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Louise
Location: VA
1-20 of 159 reviews