Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation

Average Customer Rating:
4.601 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (296 reviews)
5 stars
227
4 stars
41
3 stars
15
2 stars
5
1 star
8
Customer Reviews for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Review 1 for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Almost 10 years
Date:September 30, 2012
Tags: Long wearing, Oil control, Buildable, Full Coverage
I've been wearing this powder for about 10 years now and I will never use anything else. It's the best! I love that I only have to buy this once a year. I use a brush to apply and for $27 I get an entire year's worth of powder foundation!
+17points
17of 17found this review helpful.
AndieO
Review 2 for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Best Powder/Foundation on the Market
Date:October 3, 2010
Tags: Oil control, Long wearing, Buildable, foundation or to set foundation
Absolutely love this product. Have tried many powder/foundation combinations over the years and the Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation is by far the best. I use this as a foundation when I want light to medium coverage. When I need more coverage, I use this to set my foundation. I live in Mississippi where the humidity is very high during the summer and this product stays on and doesn't melt off your face. It also gives you a flawless finish.
I also struggle with adult acne and find it doesn't clog my pores as other products have. One of my BFFs recommended this product to me a year ago and I would highly recommend it especially to anyone living in the South.
+13points
13of 13found this review helpful.
Megan38
Location: Mississippi
Review 3 for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Best foundation powder ever.
Date:May 29, 2012
Tags: Long wearing, Oil control, Buildable
I always used the studio fix liquid foundation.. but wanted something lighter for my skin. My friend recommended the studio fix powder foundation - the exact same thing I was using but in powder form. I finally went out and bought the powder and was actually really surprised how well it worked. I always associate powders with not staying on for a long period of time and not giving enough coverage, but this was the complete opposite. I also have an oily t-zone and it works great for that too. I would definitely recommend it to anyone to asks me. Thank MAC!
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
bethlavigne
Location: canada
Review 4 for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Best Thing Ever
Date:August 19, 2011
Tags: Oil control, Long wearing, Buildable, first time users
I am a dark african american woman and I love this product. I have alot of dark spots on my face and the powder covers it right up. It last all day for me and several hours in the hot richmond sun. i have an oily t zone and it really helps control my skin from becoming shiny. I rarely feel the need to touch up at most I will touch up once every 6 hours. This product works amazing when used with the prep and prime primer. The only down side that is also an upside is that it doesn't wash off easily
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
ebonyundergrad
Location: Richmond
Review 5 for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Date:November 11, 2012
Tags: Oil control, Long wearing, Buildable
My dermatologist recommended this powder to me. My skin is very sensitive and ance prone. I have never found a better product for my skin. I will no longer use a heavy liquid foundation on my face. This powder gives the perfect amount of coverage without looking caky or heavy and it helps to control the oil on my skin throughout the day. I get so many compliments on my skin and it looks so much healthier. I love this product!
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
doll
Location: Boise
Review 6 for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
A Great Product!
Date:February 26, 2012
Tags: Moisturizing, Long wearing, Oil control, Buildable, light coverage, medium coverage, maximum coverage
I am a young African American female and my skin is very oily especially in the t-zone area. I tried numerous brands of foundation and nothing seemed to work. This foundation is great! I also use the MAC Oil Control underneath this foundation and the MAC Pressed Blot Powder over top. These three products work together great! I would recommend this to anybody!
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
JazzyBlue
Location: Delaware
Review 7 for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
This stuff is AMAZING!!!!
Date:February 12, 2012
Tags: Long wearing, Buildable
I need a full coverage foundation, due to having keratosis pilaris on my face. For those of you who do not know what that is, it is patches of dry,red bumpy skin. Usually occuring on upper arms and thighs. Unfortunetly, I was also blessed with it on my face - UGH!!! So, as you can imagine I need a lot of coverage. I had been using mineral powder foundation for the past 5 years or so, and was getting tired of it leaving a powder mess in my bathroom, as well as it seemed to become very drying - leaving my skin flaky looking after a few hours of wear. I tried the Studio Fix fluid foundation and did like that, however really did not like having to use a liquid foundation. So, I thought I would give this a try. Quite honestly, I didn't think it would provide the coverage I needed. Boy, was I wrong! This stuff is absouletly AMAZING! It gives me the full coverage I need and it is the lightest foundation I have EVER worn. I don't even feel as though I have make up on. Which considering the the amount of layering I do (prep + prime neutrilize and Studio Fix conceler under the foundation), is an accomplishment in itself. Thank you MAC for making a truly FULL coverage foundation that leaves a matte natural look, without it looking like I have any foundation on at all. I do also want to point out two other very important things I found with this foundation. First off, if you are already using a different MAC foundation, do not assume you wear the same shade in this foundation. I was wearing NC15 in the Studio Fix fluid, however in this foundation that same shade was way to pale for me. I found that NW20 was the shade I needed with this foundation. And lastly, this foundation is a buildable foundation. So, if you are looking for something that is light to medium coverage, this is perfect for that as well. It is a very buildable foundation. You can use as little or as much as you want to achieve the coverage you are looking for. DO NOT hesitate - BUY this foundation. You will LOVE it!!
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
love2shopchic
Location: WI
Review 8 for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
UNREAL
Date:October 4, 2011
Tags: coverage
This foundation powder is the only foundation I will use. I am a huge makeup snob, and I am absolutley OBSESSED with this product. I use it as a foundation under my bronzer and makes my face look great. I dip my powder brush in a little water, and it turns to a light liquid foundation, offering extra coverage. Buy a shade lighter than your skin. BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
maggieg
Location: chicago
Review 9 for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Great Stuff!
Date:January 13, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Oil control
I started using this foundation about a year ago and now i can't find a better product than this one. It is great for oily skin and lasts all day. You get the perfect coverage for your face without looking cakey. I love it and recommend it 100%
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Bekah89
Location: Nogales, AZ
Review 10 for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Works Wonders for Very Oily Skin!!!
Date:March 28, 2011
Tags: Oil control, Long wearing, Buildable, medium coverage very oily skin
I am an African American female with very oily skin. I've tried Studio Fix Fluid but it is way too greasy. Today I went to my local MAC counter and tried on the Studio Fix powder. My color is NW43 and it looks great on my skin; it doesn't make my face look dry or ashy. The powder stayed on my skin until I washed it off, 7 hours later. When I was at the counter I also had some eyeshadow put on (Deep Truth) and it was long lasting, even without a primer. This powder is now my foundation staple.
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
KeMoJa
Location: Atlanta, GA
Review 11 for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Not for very oily skin
Date:May 10, 2011
Tags: Buildable, dry skin
I read the reviews after I made my purchase and I would have to say that I agree with some of the people who stated that this is really not for very oily skin. It looks good upon initial application but as the day goes on, it starts to look "cakey."
I do like the fact that it is buildable and does give good coverage. . .maybe in the winter because on my oily skin, it does not stand up to the humidity of the south.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
BBprin
Location: South Carolina
Review 12 for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
My Favorite Powder
Date:December 11, 2012
Tags: Long wearing, everyone, clean look
I have used this powder for years. It provides a great amount of coverage and will hide my pores. For a strong foundation use a kabuki brush to apply. For a light more natural look then use the provided sponge or a standard powder brush.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Kerby
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Review 13 for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
coming back to this!
Date:January 9, 2013
Tags: Oil control
I bought this Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation a year ago just to try out after I got tired of the cakey look that the Studio Tech gave and the shiny look that Mineralize foundation made. Then I switched other brands that started out as nice but as I used it for some time, it seems that its no longer working. Until I remember I still have this Studio Fix in my cosmetic bag that I haven't used for a while. I put it on and then I realized what a fool I was for switching and forgetting this one. Studio Fix doesn't look heavy but gives you a good coverage, it's very casual and good for everyday work. The only slight problem I have with this is that since it's part powder, you gotta make sure that your face is well moisturized or else you will see some flaking as what powder usually does.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
sweetD
Location: Texas
Review 14 for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
love it
Date:May 16, 2013
Tags: Long wearing, Oil control, Buildable
its awesome as a powder after foundation but not by itsself i dont know if im not using it the correct way but i am satisfied using it as a pressed powder not a powder foundation love it and totally recommend it
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Heidi87
Review 15 for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Good at first...
Date:March 14, 2011
Studio fix goes on well and the color matches AT FIRST, but it eventually OXIDIZES and turns orangey on my skin. Not attractive at all. I'm not sure if I need to buy a new primer or what but it's just more money out of my pocket.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
lauren95678
Location: ca
Review 16 for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Wonderful stuff!
Date:September 9, 2011
Tags: Long wearing, Oil control, Buildable, oily skin
I am almost 38 years old, have fair skin and mildy oil skin. I tend to run warm so I can't do foundations because I feel like they melt onto my face. I love this powder! It has great coverage but feels light at the same time. It absorbs oil and a little goes a long way. I use Fix + spray over it so it doesn't look so "powdery". If you have fine lines under your eyes, just go lighter there with the powder. This is where Fix + helps though too because it gives you a "moist" look without looking oily. SO, for me this powder & Fix + are a great combo. Thanks MAC!!
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
KaraG
Location: Virginia
Review 17 for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Great Coverage
Date:February 16, 2012
Tags: Oil control, Long wearing, Buildable, coverage even tone
I have medium brown, oily skin with blemishes. I was skeptical at first but this product definately covers all of my blemishes and is not cakey. It’s very light as if you are not wearing any makeup at all. Blends good with my skin and provides me with an even tone. Finally, something that works!!
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
antioch116
Location: Ca
Review 18 for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Disappointed
Date:October 12, 2011
I saved up to purchase this product, after reading that it is excellent for oily skin. It lasts for an hour and then i have to touch up and feel I end up with too much on my face. I use the M.A.C select cover-up concealer, but do not feel they conceal and hide my blemishes and under eye circles well. I'm a student and M.A.C products are expensive. I expected a bit more.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thas
Review 19 for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
AMAZING!!!!
Date:January 1, 2011
Tags: Oil control, Long wearing, Buildable
This is the best powder foundation I have ever used! I wanted something that covered well but didnt feel heavy and would last all day. This is perfect! I do wish I would have got a lighter shade but it still looks very natural. I have acne scars that can be hard to cover up but this does a great job!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
PrettyMomma
Location: Tennessee
Review 20 for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
BEST FOUNDATION + POWDER
Date:June 17, 2011
Tags: Moisturizing, Oil control, Long wearing, Buildable
I have been using MAC Studio Fix for over 10 years! I absolutely love it! MAC has so much variety of colors to choose from. I have Combination Oily Skin and this works best for me because it is a mixture of both. For some reason foundation doesn't stay on well and powder itself doesn't cover enough. This is the BEST. I can build on coverage or lightly dust it on my face with a powder brush. If you haven't tried this, give it a shot and you will fall in loVe :)
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Lils
Location: Los Angeles, CA.
1-20 of 295 reviews