Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation

Average Customer Rating:
4.601 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (296 reviews)
5 stars
227
4 stars
41
3 stars
15
2 stars
5
1 star
8
Customer Reviews for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Review 1 for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Airbrushed finish
Date:January 17, 2014
Tags: setting liquid foundation long-wearing
I just purchased this product and I love it! I have dry skin so i use a liquid foundation. However, i use this powder foundation to set it all over and it looks so airbrushed! I didnt experience any "cakeyness" by layering the two. Although you might if your liquid foundation is full coverage and heavy. It just makes my skin look flawless.
+13points
14of 15found this review helpful.
kellybeich
Review 2 for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Good Powder! Love it!!
Date:July 12, 2013
Tags: Long wearing, Oil control
This is a fantastic powder! One of the best I've ever tried. It's light and lasts all day for me. I have really sensitive combination acne-prone skin and this does NOT break me out AT ALL! I've heard others complain that it does and it really just depends on your skin. Some will take it and some won't but my skin is really thin and sensitive and this doesn't cause it any issues. It also controls my oily complexion well too and keeps my face matte and shine-less all day, but looking natural at the same time. The only thing I'm not too happy with about this is that the coverage is light to medium. It's not as heavy as it claims. It will not cover large blemishes or freckles. My shade is in NC35 which fits it perfectly but I guess if you want good coverage you'd have to get it a shade darker for it to cover well. It's also not that buildable. Therefore this doesn't seem like much of a foundation but as a light powder it's phenomenal. Great for those who wants light & natural looking coverage. Thanks MAC!
+35points
38of 41found this review helpful.
Julayye
Location: Maryland
Review 3 for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great for lazy days, summer, and oily MAC lovers!
Date:May 24, 2012
Tags: Long wearing, Oil control, Buildable, oily skin, coverage lovers, lazy days
I love this stuff! If I ever have a day where I can't stand to put on liquid foundation because I'm just too tired or not in the mood, my Studio Fix powder comes to the rescue. I'll moisturize, prime, apply concealer, and then finish off my whole face with this powder. It makes me look flawless!
The coverage of this is something that you can only marvel at if you see it in-person or on your own skin. It's shocking how pigmented this product truly is. A little goes a long way, it blends beautifully, yet it sticks in place like a warrior. However, it can emphasize under-eye wrinkles, so use it sparingly in those areas.
NOTE: This powder looks much better after spritzing Fix+ on your face. It's POWDER, so obviously it's going to give a powdery finish. If you like coverage but not a powdery finish, definitely use some Fix+ to help you out. The two love each other!
I keep this in my pocket every day to use as a touch-up powder. I have very oily skin, and at the midpoint of my day, I'll blot my skin with a blotting sheet and then apply this powder to make sure my coverage isn't going anywhere. It works really well for this, and I couldn't imagine any other product to deliver the same results! Thank you MAC!♥
+26points
27of 28found this review helpful.
Anonymous
Location: Rochester, NY
Review 4 for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Long hours call for long-lasting
Date:July 24, 2012
Tags: Oil control, Long wearing, Buildable, for no-fuss gals of all ages and skin types
I'm a nurse, and work very long hours with no time to use the bathroom, let alone "touch up" my makeup. Since this is a powder plus foundation, all I use underneath it is a light moisturizer and apply this for all day coverage that will last through a 12-14 hour shift no problem. I have been using this product for over 15 years now, and am more in love with it now than ever before. In my teens it gave me a flawless face for an uneven skin tone, in my 20's, it diffused the light to hide imperfections and blemishes. Now in my 30's it soften's those fine lines starting to appear and my large, overworked pores are practically invisible. The sun damage surfacing as well as the occasional blemish are completely gone, leaving a smooth, flawless finish and gorgeously even skintone. My 67 year old mother has also been using this for about 10 years now and she always looks flawless. It always does such a good job on her aging skin and never looks heavy or "made-up".
My skin changes with the seasons, and with age. I've gone from oily to dry and back again a hundred times over with problem issues in between, and this stuff always meets and exceeds the challenges I throw at it. It works for summer or winter, in that respect the only thing that changes with the season is my moisturizer. I have tried others like Studio Tech and Mineralize, and always come back to this.
One thing that people should know, it's what you put underneath this makeup that can make it or break it. If your skin is dry, you need a heavier moistuizer anyway and should be exfoliating. Do this, and this product will never "flake" on you. If your skin is oily, you need a sheer, oil-controlling moisturizer or prep for your skin.
This is the best coverage I have found that looks natural and never cakey. I use the sponge that comes with it for an easy, every day, all-over application. But for more buildable coverage, use a brush, I love the 187 brush for this. For softer more sheer coverage, use the 167 brush.
+110points
114of 118found this review helpful.
kissmy6
Location: Southern California
Review 5 for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Great Stuff!
Date:January 13, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Oil control
I started using this foundation about a year ago and now i can't find a better product than this one. It is great for oily skin and lasts all day. You get the perfect coverage for your face without looking cakey. I love it and recommend it 100%
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Bekah89
Location: Nogales, AZ
Review 6 for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Almost 10 years
Date:September 30, 2012
Tags: Long wearing, Oil control, Buildable, Full Coverage
I've been wearing this powder for about 10 years now and I will never use anything else. It's the best! I love that I only have to buy this once a year. I use a brush to apply and for $27 I get an entire year's worth of powder foundation!
+16points
16of 16found this review helpful.
AndieO
Review 7 for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
My go to Foundation
Date:March 11, 2012
Tags: Oil control, Buildable
Im a young African American woman and I use this foundation in the shade C6. I tried NC previously when I was matched at the MAC counter by a makeup artist but the NC undertone was way too orange for my skin . My skins undertone is more of a pure golden yellow with no red. At first I didn't think MAC had a foundation color for me since I went to several counters and was recommended the NC each time but after a few hours wear it always turned orange on me. I was elated when a friend told me about the C color range. I went to the store asked specifically to be matched in the C range and even the makeup artist commented how perfect it was for me. C6 is a awesome match for me. I also love the powder formula as my skin tends to be oily this does a good job of controlling oil. My skin looks flawless I get quite a few compliments on how "flawless" my skin is while wearing this. I gave this foundation a five because it is the most perfect foundation I have found for me and believe me I have tried so many.
+27points
30of 33found this review helpful.
Charni
Location: Maryland
Review 8 for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
What good hasn't been said already?
Date:November 23, 2012
Tags: Long wearing, Buildable
Nothing about this product is bad. Well, maybe they could double the amount and take out the useless sponge. Seriously, don't use that thing more than once. The oil and dirt on your face will get trapped on that sponge, and you'll be rubbing it back into your face whenever you use it. It also builds up on the powder and makes that gross, dried, glossy thing on top of the powder (actually I'm not sure if MAC products even do that, I know drugstore ones do though). Get a brush, or a bag of clean applicators. Worth it.
Another possible con for me: I have a very oily t-zone, and this does nothing for it. I just have to use a blotting sheet and touch up with this. It isn't really a big deal since nothing ever works for my t-zone anyway, so I feel no need to deduct a point. Also, this wasn't made for a specific skin-type, so I have no expectations as far as oil control & moisturizing go.
Love this!
+19points
22of 25found this review helpful.
nic0leka
Location: CA
Review 9 for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Awesome
Date:January 19, 2014
Tags: coverage light feel
Love this powder/foundation mix. Really nice coverage without the bulky feel of separate foundation and powder. Great flawless look on the skin. Very natural. It's my go to...won't buy anything else!
+4points
8of 12found this review helpful.
AdsMom
Location: Ohio
Review 10 for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Date:January 27, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Oil control, Buildable
I have always loved this product, quick and easy application with a great amount of coverage, most bang for your buck, long wearing and lasting, does not cake but you must wear blush or some sort of highlighter because it does leave your face looking a bit dull due to the great coverage
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
Berna
Location: Colorado Springs
Review 11 for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
WOW LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT
Date:April 6, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Oil control, Buildable
This makes my skin look flawless and actually adds a hint of color not making me look pasty pale! It doesn't feel heavy, just right! It last all day and I never have to re-apply! My skin is sensitive so it doesn't make me break out either.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
hrmmelissa
Location: jacksonville
Review 12 for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Best Powder/Foundation on the Market
Date:October 3, 2010
Tags: Oil control, Long wearing, Buildable, foundation or to set foundation
Absolutely love this product. Have tried many powder/foundation combinations over the years and the Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation is by far the best. I use this as a foundation when I want light to medium coverage. When I need more coverage, I use this to set my foundation. I live in Mississippi where the humidity is very high during the summer and this product stays on and doesn't melt off your face. It also gives you a flawless finish.
I also struggle with adult acne and find it doesn't clog my pores as other products have. One of my BFFs recommended this product to me a year ago and I would highly recommend it especially to anyone living in the South.
+13points
13of 13found this review helpful.
Megan38
Location: Mississippi
Review 13 for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Porcelain Skin!
Date:March 12, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Oil control, Buildable, everyday, coverage, flawless skin
My mom has always judged me for wearing makeup and having the cake face (from drugstore makeup) and once I put this powder on she said "wow, you look like a porcelain doll! your skin is flawless!" and it just melted my heart because she never says anything positive about me. This powder is a foundation! do not apply tooooo much otherwise it will cake. I love this and will continue to repurchase.
Also, alot of people say the sponge is worthless when in actuality it covered my pores better than a brush! I say keep it and do not toss! it is a useful little sponge :)
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
MaggieHelena
Location: San Diego
Review 14 for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Best foundation powder ever.
Date:May 29, 2012
Tags: Long wearing, Oil control, Buildable
I always used the studio fix liquid foundation.. but wanted something lighter for my skin. My friend recommended the studio fix powder foundation - the exact same thing I was using but in powder form. I finally went out and bought the powder and was actually really surprised how well it worked. I always associate powders with not staying on for a long period of time and not giving enough coverage, but this was the complete opposite. I also have an oily t-zone and it works great for that too. I would definitely recommend it to anyone to asks me. Thank MAC!
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
bethlavigne
Location: canada
Review 15 for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Date:November 11, 2012
Tags: Oil control, Long wearing, Buildable
My dermatologist recommended this powder to me. My skin is very sensitive and ance prone. I have never found a better product for my skin. I will no longer use a heavy liquid foundation on my face. This powder gives the perfect amount of coverage without looking caky or heavy and it helps to control the oil on my skin throughout the day. I get so many compliments on my skin and it looks so much healthier. I love this product!
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
doll
Location: Boise
Review 16 for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Best Thing Ever
Date:August 19, 2011
Tags: Oil control, Long wearing, Buildable, first time users
I am a dark african american woman and I love this product. I have alot of dark spots on my face and the powder covers it right up. It last all day for me and several hours in the hot richmond sun. i have an oily t zone and it really helps control my skin from becoming shiny. I rarely feel the need to touch up at most I will touch up once every 6 hours. This product works amazing when used with the prep and prime primer. The only down side that is also an upside is that it doesn't wash off easily
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
ebonyundergrad
Location: Richmond
Review 17 for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
love it
Date:May 16, 2013
Tags: Long wearing, Oil control, Buildable
its awesome as a powder after foundation but not by itsself i dont know if im not using it the correct way but i am satisfied using it as a pressed powder not a powder foundation love it and totally recommend it
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Heidi87
Review 18 for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
coming back to this!
Date:January 9, 2013
Tags: Oil control
I bought this Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation a year ago just to try out after I got tired of the cakey look that the Studio Tech gave and the shiny look that Mineralize foundation made. Then I switched other brands that started out as nice but as I used it for some time, it seems that its no longer working. Until I remember I still have this Studio Fix in my cosmetic bag that I haven't used for a while. I put it on and then I realized what a fool I was for switching and forgetting this one. Studio Fix doesn't look heavy but gives you a good coverage, it's very casual and good for everyday work. The only slight problem I have with this is that since it's part powder, you gotta make sure that your face is well moisturized or else you will see some flaking as what powder usually does.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
sweetD
Location: Texas
Review 19 for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
A Great Product!
Date:February 26, 2012
Tags: Moisturizing, Long wearing, Oil control, Buildable, light coverage, medium coverage, maximum coverage
I am a young African American female and my skin is very oily especially in the t-zone area. I tried numerous brands of foundation and nothing seemed to work. This foundation is great! I also use the MAC Oil Control underneath this foundation and the MAC Pressed Blot Powder over top. These three products work together great! I would recommend this to anybody!
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
JazzyBlue
Location: Delaware
Review 20 for Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
This stuff is AMAZING!!!!
Date:February 12, 2012
Tags: Long wearing, Buildable
I need a full coverage foundation, due to having keratosis pilaris on my face. For those of you who do not know what that is, it is patches of dry,red bumpy skin. Usually occuring on upper arms and thighs. Unfortunetly, I was also blessed with it on my face - UGH!!! So, as you can imagine I need a lot of coverage. I had been using mineral powder foundation for the past 5 years or so, and was getting tired of it leaving a powder mess in my bathroom, as well as it seemed to become very drying - leaving my skin flaky looking after a few hours of wear. I tried the Studio Fix fluid foundation and did like that, however really did not like having to use a liquid foundation. So, I thought I would give this a try. Quite honestly, I didn't think it would provide the coverage I needed. Boy, was I wrong! This stuff is absouletly AMAZING! It gives me the full coverage I need and it is the lightest foundation I have EVER worn. I don't even feel as though I have make up on. Which considering the the amount of layering I do (prep + prime neutrilize and Studio Fix conceler under the foundation), is an accomplishment in itself. Thank you MAC for making a truly FULL coverage foundation that leaves a matte natural look, without it looking like I have any foundation on at all. I do also want to point out two other very important things I found with this foundation. First off, if you are already using a different MAC foundation, do not assume you wear the same shade in this foundation. I was wearing NC15 in the Studio Fix fluid, however in this foundation that same shade was way to pale for me. I found that NW20 was the shade I needed with this foundation. And lastly, this foundation is a buildable foundation. So, if you are looking for something that is light to medium coverage, this is perfect for that as well. It is a very buildable foundation. You can use as little or as much as you want to achieve the coverage you are looking for. DO NOT hesitate - BUY this foundation. You will LOVE it!!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
love2shopchic
Location: WI
1-20 of 295 reviews