Product Reviews

MAC Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation

Average Customer Rating:
3.741 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (85 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
10
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 star
16
Customer Reviews for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Review 1 for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Use the right tools
Date:May 8, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Moisturizing, Buildable
To be honest, at first I wasn't a huge fan of this foundation. I tried the 130 brush, the 159 duo, the 190 all with prep and prime radiance underneath. Then I tried the Oval 6 brush with a tapping motion just like the one of the videos that was recently released on the MAC website. The finish and application with this brush is fantastic. The artist also recommends using the 138 contour brush with a powder and tapping motion to set. I highly recommend trying this, although I recommend using the mineralize pressed powder to finish/set rather than the studio care blend as recommended in the video, unless you want a more matte/less luminous set, then use the care blend. The Oval 6 is great, but I also have to recommend from trying several different avenues to try to make this foundation work, the 182 short or some call kabuki brush. With a powder or studio fix, this brush is fantastic but I thought I would try out the liquid. Well let me tell you, the finish with this foundation is perfection. Blend this foundation in well with the 182 and you will be amazed, blends perfectly and sets more nicely than with any other brush I have ever tried. Dust lightly with pressed mineralize powder using the 150 or 138 with a light tapping motion or dust to your liking. I find this foundation somewhat long wearing but since I have discovered using the 182, I haven't been using the natural radiance prep and prime for some reason, so I'm sure with wearing the prep and prime, the foundation will be very long wearing. Really give this foundation a try, it's different for everyone's skin, but try this application before giving up on it! It's honestly my favorite foundation now and photographs beautifully.
+16points
18of 20found this review helpful.
michelle2134
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Review 2 for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Even, Fresh, Glowing Skin*
Date:May 21, 2014
Tags: Moisturizing, Buildable, dry skin normal skin glowing finish
This foundation is lovely! Not for anyone who doesn't like a fresh, dewy, hydrated finish. It says it all in the name. Light-Medium coverage that looks very natural. Very smooth texture that really does make the skin look "Revitalized" as Mac states. I feel like normal to oily skin can also use this but be mindful that you don't have to use much underneath this in terms of hydrators. I have normal to oily skin and the only thing I wear under this is a light hydrating toner or facial mist like Fix+ I can completely skip moisturizer with this foundation and it looks great! This acts somewhat like a BB cream with the combination of sun protection, hydration and other skin benefits in a very lush texture. I assume with the recent increase in shades it is doing well. I Hope this foundation has a very long run with Mac. It truly is a staple for anyone with dry skin or anyone who loves a glow to the skin.
Perfect!
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Mikey
Location: Toronto
Review 3 for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Dewey finish!!!!
Date:February 25, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Moisturizing, Buildable, dry skin, dewey finish
I don't understand how some people cannot like this product. They have to understand that this lives off a very dewey finish. You face is not going to be matte by using this product. I personally love it. I would only used this product on dry skin people, so their faces won't be so flakey. Again, everyone can use this product but if you have very dry skin or looking for a dewey finish. I personally love it.
+39points
42of 45found this review helpful.
Marylovecast
Location: riverside, ca.
Review 4 for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Beautiful!
Date:May 25, 2013
Tags: Long wearing, Moisturizing, Buildable, normal/combination/dry skin
I had always used the original formula of the Mineralize Satinfinish foundation, and was extremely upset when it was discontinued. I purchased this Mineralize Moisture Foundation and at first was sceptical. It has a completely different formula and consistency, and the finish is A LOT more dewy in appearance. I have used this for about 2 weeks now to get used to it and I LOVE IT. It is a beautiful foundation which settles nicely on the skin, and looks great alone for a full moisturised look, or set with a Skinfinish Natural powder for a complete look. Easy to apply with a brush, or a slightly dampened sponge. Covers imperfections well and evens out skintone nicely. My new favourite!
+43points
45of 47found this review helpful.
JennaH
Location: New Zealand
Review 5 for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
GLOWING FINISH
Date:April 5, 2014
Tags: Moisturizing, Buildable, dewy look
I bought this stuff wanting an even more dewy finish than my studio sculpt. IT delivers that!. I find that you really need to buy the brush suggested which is the 130. any other brush or beauty blender WILL NOT work. I had to splurge for the 42 dollar brush so I give it four stars there because of the purchase of the brush. The coverage says its not full but I find that it hides my blemishes really well and when its all set and done it has such a glowy almost highlighting affect to my cheekbones(which I have high cheekbones for perfect contouring anyway) it deff needs to be lightly set as it can transfer a bit. staying power I would say is about 10 hours. Make sure if you get it where your eyelid is set it with a powder as it can feel slick. IF you have OILY SKIN this is NOT for you!!!! you can cocktail with studio fix fluid and this to make less dewy! or dab studio fix in places for more coverage if you would like. Overall will repurchase again!!!
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
FloridaGirl
Location: Mighigan
Review 6 for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Wonderful Foundation---my new 'gotta have.'
Date:May 28, 2014
Tags: Moisturizing, Buildable, colour, finish
I have a few faves in foundation, but as the seasons began to change,I noticed I was getting a bit of a tan ( not much but enough for the need to have my foundation a tad on the deeper shade). I looked, tested and didn't like other lines. I discovered this new formulation, and the shade is perfect and so is the satiny finish. I love it. now I have to decide whether to make a lighter shade my 'new' gotta have winter foundation.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
SkyCat
Location: New Jersey
Review 7 for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
Great for dry and acne-prone skin!
Date:December 3, 2013
Tags: Moisturizing, Buildable
I kinda felt sorry for this foundation when I saw those negative reviews. I guess it is not for everyone. I wanna summarize my very happy experience with it as following,
1. I have this sensitive, dehydrated, yet at the same time very acne-prone skin. Plus, I live in the desert, the worst place for our woman skin I guess. This one works out beautifully for me. I'm a makeup rookie so might not be the pro of foundations, but I've tried many of them I've heard good things about out there because I really got this hard time dealing with my issue-stuffed skin since I moved to the desert. They may have worked great for others, but I kept getting this flaky caky look, especially at the very dry areas, even after I used all the good primers. But not this one. It moisturizes incredibly!
2. It looks very natural while providing relatively decent coverage considering its
lightness. Shade-wise, I don't have much complaint. I'm an NC25 and this one fits me perfectly. Actually I like the texture of Matchmaster very
well but I can't find the right shade for me with that one.
3. It can be the one providing a look closest to the "flawless" among all the foundations I've tried. You can't notice it settled in the line or something as long as you find the right shade.
4. The problems: It does wear off through the day. It does break me out one or two. And I, like others, did find it somewhat hard to blend with brush. However I don't have much complaint about those things either, given that it has been so hard for me to find a right foundation for my dry skin, that all the foundations somehow break me out at first (maybe my skin has this "learning curve"...), and that I can use my fingers to do the "last blend" which works great.Hopefully this summary helps. One more point: it might not be for everyone but if it is for you it is terrific! So go see if you like it in the local store and it may surprise you as it did to me.
+16points
23of 30found this review helpful.
Lavenderstory
Location: AZ
Review 8 for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
The Bottle
Date:February 10, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Moisturizing, Buildable, compliments
Love the formula itself and have for years now, however this new bottle design is a complete hassle. It doesn't reflect use IE you cannot tell when you're due for a refill until you've completely run out and are in a bind. Also, I feel a lot of the product itself is being wasted as it sticks to the bottle.. Back to the drawing board?
+11points
17of 23found this review helpful.
Jsam
Location: Vancouver
Review 9 for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Disappointed :(
Date:March 22, 2013
Tags: the driest skin known to man.
I was really excited to get this today and try it out! But.....there was two MAJOR problems I had with this. 1) I'm an NC45 in everything MAC offers basically so I figured hey, why not on this one too? Big mistake. Like another reviewer had put, the colors are so off. Usually NC45 is perfect for me because it has a yellow tint to it which is my skin tone in a nutshell. I'm brown skinned, but very yellow as the undertone. When I put this foundation on, it was reddish! It was so odd. 2) The longevity of it. By the end of the day the foundation was literally melting off of my skin....in 40 degree weather. When I had Studio Fix it never did that. This foundation is definitely not for everyone.
+21points
25of 29found this review helpful.
pineapples403
Location: Texas
Review 10 for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Not what I expected
Date:October 28, 2013
Tags: Moisturizing
I have been using Mac Pro Longwear foundation for years so I was excited to try this new product. I have dry skin in the winter time so I thought it would be perfect for me. It did the job of keeping my face moisturized and glowing however it never felt like it would set. When ever I touched my face it would streak off even after two coats of setting powder. I love the light creamy feeling of the foundation when I apply it I just wish I would stay on.
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
s21wag
Review 11 for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Not For Sensitive Skin
Date:July 13, 2014
I went into the MAC store to see what was new a few weeks ago. I noticed that the makeup artist looked gorgeous and asked to try the product she was wearing, which turned out to be the Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation. I told her that my skin was prone to breakouts and she reassured me that the product was non-comedogenic. I've been using it for about 5 weeks now and low and behold, I look like a teenage girl going through puberty all over again with the amount of pimples collecting on my face.
I *HIGHLY RECOMMEND PEOPLE WITH SENSITIVE SKIN NOT TO PURCHASE THIS PRODUCT*. Avoid it like the plague!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
frenchtexan
Location: Paris, France
Review 12 for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Thank You MAC!
Date:March 31, 2013
Tags: Long wearing, Moisturizing, Oil control, Buildable, everyday everynight and looking glamourous!
Mac Thank you for bringing the Mineralize foundation back. I was totally lost without you. I recently purchased the NC50 foundation two days ago. I am completly satified with my purchased. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!!!!
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
missjjrmb
Location: Houston, TX
Review 13 for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
I am disappointed!
Date:July 19, 2013
Tags: super dry skin
MAC! I am a MAC lover but I am very disappointed with this new product. I loved the previous Mineralizer. I really need you to bring it back.. This new product is greasy, it does not wear well and it does not last on my skin. I am breaking up with this product... Please bring back the old mineralizer foundation.
+9points
12of 15found this review helpful.
Foxxy
Location: Dallas
Review 14 for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Sorry Mac, but not good!
Date:April 15, 2013
I bought this because I was told it would be great for my dry/normal skin and also it was about $10 cheaper then the foundation I was using before, but this foundation looks horrible on my skin. Not sure why but it doesn't blend well(I've used 3 different brushes), it highlights my pores and dry patches on my face, and it makes my face feel greasy. I really really wanted to love this! I even tried applying it by itself, with moisturizer AND primer underneath and just moisturizer and just primer underneath and every way looks the same! the color nw20 is perfect for my skin, but guess I'll have to try a different MAC foundation!
+7points
8of 9found this review helpful.
kk89
Location: biloxi, ms
Review 15 for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Mac Mineralize Moisture Foundation
Date:June 16, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Moisturizing, dry skin
This is the best foundation that I have ever used. It is very creamy and great for me as I have dry skin.. It last all day.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Texasribs
Location: Texas
Review 16 for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Love it!
Date:May 30, 2014
Tags: Moisturizing, Long wearing, Buildable, dry/normal skin
This is my first foundation from Mac. I've been using drugstore foundation for the past 10 years ever since I started wearing makeup. This is definitely worth the price since it works so well, and will last me a very long time (I'm not an everyday wearer). I have mostly dry/normal skin, and I'm a redhead with a lot of freckles. It is hard to find a foundation in the drugstore that matches my skin tone AND is meant for dry skin. Usually even the lightest shade in drugstore products can be too dark for me, and I'm an NC15… My struggle with drugstore foundation is what lead me to my nearest MAC store to get shade matched about two weeks ago. I do get a little oily in the T-zone area because I live in Texas and it's really hot, so I tend to sweat as I'm putting my makeup on. Heck, you sweat if you just lay there not moving a muscle in the summertime. Anyway, I apply the foundation with a flat brush so I get the coverage I want and can build if necessary, especially where my cheeks tend to be rather rosy and slightly ruddy. I don't like it too heavy because I don't want my freckles to disappear, or change color, which so far hasn't been a problem. I use the foundation with the Mineralize Skin Finish Natural in Light Plus, which helps with the oil control. I love the dewy finish. It isn't overly matte/caky with the powder, and definitely isn't oily/greasy looking, which I've had trouble with when it comes to liquid drugstore foundations. Also, I like that it has an SPF in it because I am so fair. AND my last foundation did not have a pump, which wasted so much product, so I'm also happy about the pump. Overall, I feel like it applies for a flawless and beautiful finish.
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
sxyginger13
Location: San Antonio, TX
Review 17 for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
I love it
Date:August 24, 2014
Tags: combination/oily skin
I am shade NW45 and I have combination/oily skin so its really hard to find a foundation that doesn't liquify in five seconds, I love this line, I actually started with the studio tech and I didn't like that one so much, I was almost ready to give up on MAC foundations, but then I purchased this and I love it sooo much, it goes on smooth, I don't need full coverage but it is buildable in my opinion, and I didn't experience any break outs or skin irritation, so yeah I love it...
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
DntCallMeCindy
Location: Dallas, Texas
Review 18 for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Perfect for my sensitive and dry skin
Date:August 26, 2014
Tags: skin protection
It leaves my face smoother and softer than before applying it (w. prep+prime base visage and mineralize powder on top). I love the dewy finish and that it has SPF. I can't imagine using anything else
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
vegancat
Location: Portland, OR
Review 19 for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Disappointment
Date:February 22, 2014
Tags: Long wearing
I do not like this foundation. I prefer the old mineralize moisture better. It looked more natural and the sparkle was a plus. I think the old kind should be brought back. It was my favorite, MAC almost lost me as a customer just for discontinuing that product. This product is a median coverage. Terrible product for the winter time.
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Lala22
Location: michigan
Review 20 for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Disappointing!
Date:April 3, 2014
Tags: Moisturizing
I usually would use studio fix. I read the description of this product and it sounded nice. I am 38 with dry combination skin. I have age spots and wanted something that is good for my skin type and needs. I read the mixed reviews and decided to take a chance. Today is day two of using the product. I am completely disappointed in my choice! The coverage seems uneven and it settles in the lines. It does not stay on or sit well on the skin and I'm convinced it is clogging my pores! (Dry skin, spots, fine lines- BAD!). I used the prep and prime transparent finish powder on top (in the hopes of setting the foundation). The powder did not make much difference. At least with the studio fix it covered the age spots and did not create zits.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
fluffycatluv
Location: Orange County California
1-20 of 85 reviews