Product Reviews

MAC Mineralize Moisture SPF 15 Foundation

Average Customer Rating:
3.836 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (110 reviews)
5 stars
62
4 stars
14
3 stars
7
2 stars
8
1 star
19
Customer Reviews for Mineralize Moisture SPF 15 Foundation
Review 1 for Mineralize Moisture SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
♥The Love of My Life♥
Date:February 9, 2015
Tags: Long wearing, Moisturizing, Buildable
With my very fair skin tone, I find it so hard to find a foundation that perfectly matches me... But this is it! Though it's definitely moisturizing, I always apply moisturizer and primer first, and it glides on like a dream. It looks just like my natural skin, but perfectly even and flawless. Here recently, I've tried a few new foundations, and returned them because they just don't compare. I have dry-normal skin (very dry in the winter), and it doesn't stick to my dry patches when I have them, though I'd still recommend exfoliating. It's dewy, but it's not reflective. Even if I find other foundations that I like, this will forever be a constant in my makeup collection. If you're on the fence about it, try it out! The fact that it has a pump is amazing- the only somewhat negative comment that I have about it is that I feel there should be more shades for the always lovely women/men/people of color.~ ♥
Tip: Pro-longwear concealer in a few shades (3-4) lighter than your usual color is (always) wonderful for highlighting your under eye, etc.,but with this foundation I just love it all the more. It creates a perfect look that I'd reccomend to anyone. (Though I can only get one shade lighter than mine.) ♥
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
Veda
Location: Kentucky
Review 2 for Mineralize Moisture SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Even, Fresh, Glowing Skin*
Date:May 21, 2014
Tags: Moisturizing, Buildable, dry skin normal skin glowing finish
This foundation is lovely! Not for anyone who doesn't like a fresh, dewy, hydrated finish. It says it all in the name. Light-Medium coverage that looks very natural. Very smooth texture that really does make the skin look "Revitalized" as Mac states. I feel like normal to oily skin can also use this but be mindful that you don't have to use much underneath this in terms of hydrators. I have normal to oily skin and the only thing I wear under this is a light hydrating toner or facial mist like Fix+ I can completely skip moisturizer with this foundation and it looks great! This acts somewhat like a BB cream with the combination of sun protection, hydration and other skin benefits in a very lush texture. I assume with the recent increase in shades it is doing well. I Hope this foundation has a very long run with Mac. It truly is a staple for anyone with dry skin or anyone who loves a glow to the skin.
Perfect!
+45points
48of 51found this review helpful.
Mikey
Location: Toronto
Review 3 for Mineralize Moisture SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Best Foundation Ever
Date:November 19, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Moisturizing
Im usually a Studio Fix Fluid kinda of girl. I been using it for years, but I have been wanting to try something different so i decided to to go with this and I must say Im IN LOVE with this foundation. BEST FOUNDATION EVER!!! I'm never going back to Studio Fix. I PRAY that they don't ever discontinue this product. I'm going back to purchase another one tomorrow just as a backup. it stays on face very well!
+12points
13of 14found this review helpful.
Ronni
Location: Louisiana
Review 4 for Mineralize Moisture SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Skin in a bottle! Sheer natural glow!!!
Date:January 24, 2015
Tags: Moisturizing, Oil control, Long wearing, Buildable, sheer builable coverage, soft glow/natural finish
I have been looking for a dewy foundation that gives me a great finish and also covers some of my previous acne scars for the past year and non of them beat this foundation! I have been wearing it for a week and it gives me the most beauty glow. I have dry skin and this acts as a moisturizer as well. I asked my friends and family what they thought about my foundation and they were shocked because they didn't think I was wearing any!! I do use a primer with it which extends the wear for another 3-5 hours. It looks even better if I use the MAC oil control lotion. I know I just said that I have dry skin but this oil control lotion works very well it is extremely hydrating without getting a super greasy look. My other favorite thing about this foundation is that it has absolutely no scent. I love Mac foundations but sometimes they can have a very funky smell and this one has none at all. It doesn't break me out at all and it has SPF 15. I can say with full confidence that this is my favorite Mac foundation so far I highly recommend you go and get a sample and try it out for yourself.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Rizzygoround
Location: California
Review 5 for Mineralize Moisture SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Dewey finish!!!!
Date:February 25, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Moisturizing, Buildable, dry skin, dewey finish
I don't understand how some people cannot like this product. They have to understand that this lives off a very dewey finish. You face is not going to be matte by using this product. I personally love it. I would only used this product on dry skin people, so their faces won't be so flakey. Again, everyone can use this product but if you have very dry skin or looking for a dewey finish. I personally love it.
+74points
79of 84found this review helpful.
Marylovecast
Location: riverside, ca.
Review 6 for Mineralize Moisture SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
I love it
Date:August 24, 2014
Tags: combination/oily skin
I am shade NW45 and I have combination/oily skin so its really hard to find a foundation that doesn't liquify in five seconds, I love this line, I actually started with the studio tech and I didn't like that one so much, I was almost ready to give up on MAC foundations, but then I purchased this and I love it sooo much, it goes on smooth, I don't need full coverage but it is buildable in my opinion, and I didn't experience any break outs or skin irritation, so yeah I love it...
+13points
14of 15found this review helpful.
DntCallMeCindy
Location: Dallas, Texas
Review 7 for Mineralize Moisture SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Use the right tools
Date:May 8, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Moisturizing, Buildable
To be honest, at first I wasn't a huge fan of this foundation. I tried the 130 brush, the 159 duo, the 190 all with prep and prime radiance underneath. Then I tried the Oval 6 brush with a tapping motion just like the one of the videos that was recently released on the MAC website. The finish and application with this brush is fantastic. The artist also recommends using the 138 contour brush with a powder and tapping motion to set. I highly recommend trying this, although I recommend using the mineralize pressed powder to finish/set rather than the studio care blend as recommended in the video, unless you want a more matte/less luminous set, then use the care blend. The Oval 6 is great, but I also have to recommend from trying several different avenues to try to make this foundation work, the 182 short or some call kabuki brush. With a powder or studio fix, this brush is fantastic but I thought I would try out the liquid. Well let me tell you, the finish with this foundation is perfection. Blend this foundation in well with the 182 and you will be amazed, blends perfectly and sets more nicely than with any other brush I have ever tried. Dust lightly with pressed mineralize powder using the 150 or 138 with a light tapping motion or dust to your liking. I find this foundation somewhat long wearing but since I have discovered using the 182, I haven't been using the natural radiance prep and prime for some reason, so I'm sure with wearing the prep and prime, the foundation will be very long wearing. Really give this foundation a try, it's different for everyone's skin, but try this application before giving up on it! It's honestly my favorite foundation now and photographs beautifully.
+30points
39of 48found this review helpful.
michelle2134
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Review 8 for Mineralize Moisture SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
great for older women
Date:November 14, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Moisturizing, Oil control, Buildable, older women, fine lines, large pores
I have tried several of the different formulas from MAC and I have to say that this formula really does make a difference in hiding the fine lines and pores in older women. I love the fact that it does not settle into creases but seems to float on top. I recently ran out of this and had a little bit left in my studio sculpt bottle. I noticed a big difference when I applied that, as I could notice the pores and some fine lines. I love how the mineralized goes on nicely and doesn't feel heavy or greasy yet gives great all-day coverage. It also does not dry out my skin.
+8points
10of 12found this review helpful.
tunisianswife
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Review 9 for Mineralize Moisture SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Beautiful!
Date:May 25, 2013
Tags: Long wearing, Moisturizing, Buildable, normal/combination/dry skin
I had always used the original formula of the Mineralize Satinfinish foundation, and was extremely upset when it was discontinued. I purchased this Mineralize Moisture Foundation and at first was sceptical. It has a completely different formula and consistency, and the finish is A LOT more dewy in appearance. I have used this for about 2 weeks now to get used to it and I LOVE IT. It is a beautiful foundation which settles nicely on the skin, and looks great alone for a full moisturised look, or set with a Skinfinish Natural powder for a complete look. Easy to apply with a brush, or a slightly dampened sponge. Covers imperfections well and evens out skintone nicely. My new favourite!
+56points
60of 64found this review helpful.
JennaH
Location: New Zealand
Review 10 for Mineralize Moisture SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Loving this!!
Date:November 8, 2014
Tags: dry skin, normal skin
Great for my dry skin, hydrating. Dewy when used alone, less so once set with a powder. Evens out my skintone flawlessly. Much better coverage than Bare Minerals Bareskin.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
PattiAnn
Location: Michigan
Review 11 for Mineralize Moisture SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
GLOWING FINISH
Date:April 5, 2014
Tags: Moisturizing, Buildable, dewy look
I bought this stuff wanting an even more dewy finish than my studio sculpt. IT delivers that!. I find that you really need to buy the brush suggested which is the 130. any other brush or beauty blender WILL NOT work. I had to splurge for the 42 dollar brush so I give it four stars there because of the purchase of the brush. The coverage says its not full but I find that it hides my blemishes really well and when its all set and done it has such a glowy almost highlighting affect to my cheekbones(which I have high cheekbones for perfect contouring anyway) it deff needs to be lightly set as it can transfer a bit. staying power I would say is about 10 hours. Make sure if you get it where your eyelid is set it with a powder as it can feel slick. IF you have OILY SKIN this is NOT for you!!!! you can cocktail with studio fix fluid and this to make less dewy! or dab studio fix in places for more coverage if you would like. Overall will repurchase again!!!
+10points
12of 14found this review helpful.
FloridaGirl
Location: Mighigan
Review 12 for Mineralize Moisture SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
JUST AWFUL!
Date:February 8, 2015
I thought I would give this foundation a chance. However, it was streaky no matter how i applied it and seemed to never completely set. I ended up just washing it off and using my other foundation.
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
taenikeel
Review 13 for Mineralize Moisture SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
Great for dry and acne-prone skin!
Date:December 3, 2013
Tags: Moisturizing, Buildable
I kinda felt sorry for this foundation when I saw those negative reviews. I guess it is not for everyone. I wanna summarize my very happy experience with it as following,
1. I have this sensitive, dehydrated, yet at the same time very acne-prone skin. Plus, I live in the desert, the worst place for our woman skin I guess. This one works out beautifully for me. I'm a makeup rookie so might not be the pro of foundations, but I've tried many of them I've heard good things about out there because I really got this hard time dealing with my issue-stuffed skin since I moved to the desert. They may have worked great for others, but I kept getting this flaky caky look, especially at the very dry areas, even after I used all the good primers. But not this one. It moisturizes incredibly!
2. It looks very natural while providing relatively decent coverage considering its
lightness. Shade-wise, I don't have much complaint. I'm an NC25 and this one fits me perfectly. Actually I like the texture of Matchmaster very
well but I can't find the right shade for me with that one.
3. It can be the one providing a look closest to the "flawless" among all the foundations I've tried. You can't notice it settled in the line or something as long as you find the right shade.
4. The problems: It does wear off through the day. It does break me out one or two. And I, like others, did find it somewhat hard to blend with brush. However I don't have much complaint about those things either, given that it has been so hard for me to find a right foundation for my dry skin, that all the foundations somehow break me out at first (maybe my skin has this "learning curve"...), and that I can use my fingers to do the "last blend" which works great.Hopefully this summary helps. One more point: it might not be for everyone but if it is for you it is terrific! So go see if you like it in the local store and it may surprise you as it did to me.
+23points
30of 37found this review helpful.
Lavenderstory
Location: AZ
Review 14 for Mineralize Moisture SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Wonderful Foundation---my new 'gotta have.'
Date:May 28, 2014
Tags: Moisturizing, Buildable, colour, finish
I have a few faves in foundation, but as the seasons began to change,I noticed I was getting a bit of a tan ( not much but enough for the need to have my foundation a tad on the deeper shade). I looked, tested and didn't like other lines. I discovered this new formulation, and the shade is perfect and so is the satiny finish. I love it. now I have to decide whether to make a lighter shade my 'new' gotta have winter foundation.
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
SkyCat
Location: New Jersey
Review 15 for Mineralize Moisture SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Disappointed :(
Date:March 22, 2013
Tags: the driest skin known to man.
I was really excited to get this today and try it out! But.....there was two MAJOR problems I had with this. 1) I'm an NC45 in everything MAC offers basically so I figured hey, why not on this one too? Big mistake. Like another reviewer had put, the colors are so off. Usually NC45 is perfect for me because it has a yellow tint to it which is my skin tone in a nutshell. I'm brown skinned, but very yellow as the undertone. When I put this foundation on, it was reddish! It was so odd. 2) The longevity of it. By the end of the day the foundation was literally melting off of my skin....in 40 degree weather. When I had Studio Fix it never did that. This foundation is definitely not for everyone.
+22points
30of 38found this review helpful.
pineapples403
Location: Texas
Review 16 for Mineralize Moisture SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
terrible even for dry skin
Date:August 14, 2014
I have extremely dry skin so I thought this would be perfect for me. After only an hour or maybe less my face looked horrible. Super greasy looking or as if I wore my makeup in a sauna. It was creased everywhere and melting off my face. Such a disappointment.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
ashez
Location: Colorado
Review 17 for Mineralize Moisture SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Not For Sensitive Skin
Date:July 13, 2014
I went into the MAC store to see what was new a few weeks ago. I noticed that the makeup artist looked gorgeous and asked to try the product she was wearing, which turned out to be the Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation. I told her that my skin was prone to breakouts and she reassured me that the product was non-comedogenic. I've been using it for about 5 weeks now and low and behold, I look like a teenage girl going through puberty all over again with the amount of pimples collecting on my face.
I *HIGHLY RECOMMEND PEOPLE WITH SENSITIVE SKIN NOT TO PURCHASE THIS PRODUCT*. Avoid it like the plague!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
frenchtexan
Location: Paris, France
Review 18 for Mineralize Moisture SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love it!!
Date:September 26, 2014
Tags: dry skin
I really learned to love this foundation. It is perfect for dry skin. I was obsessed with Macs mineralized satin finish foundation. This foundation really gives that dewy finish.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
RositaStone
Location: Katy,TX
Review 19 for Mineralize Moisture SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
The Bottle
Date:February 10, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Moisturizing, Buildable, compliments
Love the formula itself and have for years now, however this new bottle design is a complete hassle. It doesn't reflect use IE you cannot tell when you're due for a refill until you've completely run out and are in a bind. Also, I feel a lot of the product itself is being wasted as it sticks to the bottle.. Back to the drawing board?
+11points
19of 27found this review helpful.
Jsam
Location: Vancouver
Review 20 for Mineralize Moisture SPF 15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Thank You MAC!
Date:March 31, 2013
Tags: Long wearing, Moisturizing, Oil control, Buildable, everyday everynight and looking glamourous!
Mac Thank you for bringing the Mineralize foundation back. I was totally lost without you. I recently purchased the NC50 foundation two days ago. I am completly satified with my purchased. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!!!!
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
missjjrmb
Location: Houston, TX
1-20 of 110 reviews