Product Reviews

MAC Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation

Average Customer Rating:
3.832 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (101 reviews)
5 stars
56
4 stars
14
3 stars
6
2 stars
8
1 star
17
Customer Reviews for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Review 1 for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Even, Fresh, Glowing Skin*
Date:May 21, 2014
Tags: Moisturizing, Buildable, dry skin normal skin glowing finish
This foundation is lovely! Not for anyone who doesn't like a fresh, dewy, hydrated finish. It says it all in the name. Light-Medium coverage that looks very natural. Very smooth texture that really does make the skin look "Revitalized" as Mac states. I feel like normal to oily skin can also use this but be mindful that you don't have to use much underneath this in terms of hydrators. I have normal to oily skin and the only thing I wear under this is a light hydrating toner or facial mist like Fix+ I can completely skip moisturizer with this foundation and it looks great! This acts somewhat like a BB cream with the combination of sun protection, hydration and other skin benefits in a very lush texture. I assume with the recent increase in shades it is doing well. I Hope this foundation has a very long run with Mac. It truly is a staple for anyone with dry skin or anyone who loves a glow to the skin.
Perfect!
+26points
27of 28found this review helpful.
Mikey
Location: Toronto
Review 2 for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Dewey finish!!!!
Date:February 25, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Moisturizing, Buildable, dry skin, dewey finish
I don't understand how some people cannot like this product. They have to understand that this lives off a very dewey finish. You face is not going to be matte by using this product. I personally love it. I would only used this product on dry skin people, so their faces won't be so flakey. Again, everyone can use this product but if you have very dry skin or looking for a dewey finish. I personally love it.
+50points
54of 58found this review helpful.
Marylovecast
Location: riverside, ca.
Review 3 for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Use the right tools
Date:May 8, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Moisturizing, Buildable
To be honest, at first I wasn't a huge fan of this foundation. I tried the 130 brush, the 159 duo, the 190 all with prep and prime radiance underneath. Then I tried the Oval 6 brush with a tapping motion just like the one of the videos that was recently released on the MAC website. The finish and application with this brush is fantastic. The artist also recommends using the 138 contour brush with a powder and tapping motion to set. I highly recommend trying this, although I recommend using the mineralize pressed powder to finish/set rather than the studio care blend as recommended in the video, unless you want a more matte/less luminous set, then use the care blend. The Oval 6 is great, but I also have to recommend from trying several different avenues to try to make this foundation work, the 182 short or some call kabuki brush. With a powder or studio fix, this brush is fantastic but I thought I would try out the liquid. Well let me tell you, the finish with this foundation is perfection. Blend this foundation in well with the 182 and you will be amazed, blends perfectly and sets more nicely than with any other brush I have ever tried. Dust lightly with pressed mineralize powder using the 150 or 138 with a light tapping motion or dust to your liking. I find this foundation somewhat long wearing but since I have discovered using the 182, I haven't been using the natural radiance prep and prime for some reason, so I'm sure with wearing the prep and prime, the foundation will be very long wearing. Really give this foundation a try, it's different for everyone's skin, but try this application before giving up on it! It's honestly my favorite foundation now and photographs beautifully.
+21points
27of 33found this review helpful.
michelle2134
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Review 4 for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Beautiful!
Date:May 25, 2013
Tags: Long wearing, Moisturizing, Buildable, normal/combination/dry skin
I had always used the original formula of the Mineralize Satinfinish foundation, and was extremely upset when it was discontinued. I purchased this Mineralize Moisture Foundation and at first was sceptical. It has a completely different formula and consistency, and the finish is A LOT more dewy in appearance. I have used this for about 2 weeks now to get used to it and I LOVE IT. It is a beautiful foundation which settles nicely on the skin, and looks great alone for a full moisturised look, or set with a Skinfinish Natural powder for a complete look. Easy to apply with a brush, or a slightly dampened sponge. Covers imperfections well and evens out skintone nicely. My new favourite!
+49points
53of 57found this review helpful.
JennaH
Location: New Zealand
Review 5 for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
GLOWING FINISH
Date:April 5, 2014
Tags: Moisturizing, Buildable, dewy look
I bought this stuff wanting an even more dewy finish than my studio sculpt. IT delivers that!. I find that you really need to buy the brush suggested which is the 130. any other brush or beauty blender WILL NOT work. I had to splurge for the 42 dollar brush so I give it four stars there because of the purchase of the brush. The coverage says its not full but I find that it hides my blemishes really well and when its all set and done it has such a glowy almost highlighting affect to my cheekbones(which I have high cheekbones for perfect contouring anyway) it deff needs to be lightly set as it can transfer a bit. staying power I would say is about 10 hours. Make sure if you get it where your eyelid is set it with a powder as it can feel slick. IF you have OILY SKIN this is NOT for you!!!! you can cocktail with studio fix fluid and this to make less dewy! or dab studio fix in places for more coverage if you would like. Overall will repurchase again!!!
+8points
9of 10found this review helpful.
FloridaGirl
Location: Mighigan
Review 6 for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Disappointing!
Date:April 3, 2014
Tags: Moisturizing
I usually would use studio fix. I read the description of this product and it sounded nice. I am 38 with dry combination skin. I have age spots and wanted something that is good for my skin type and needs. I read the mixed reviews and decided to take a chance. Today is day two of using the product. I am completely disappointed in my choice! The coverage seems uneven and it settles in the lines. It does not stay on or sit well on the skin and I'm convinced it is clogging my pores! (Dry skin, spots, fine lines- BAD!). I used the prep and prime transparent finish powder on top (in the hopes of setting the foundation). The powder did not make much difference. At least with the studio fix it covered the age spots and did not create zits.
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
fluffycatluv
Location: Orange County California
Review 7 for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
Great for dry and acne-prone skin!
Date:December 3, 2013
Tags: Moisturizing, Buildable
I kinda felt sorry for this foundation when I saw those negative reviews. I guess it is not for everyone. I wanna summarize my very happy experience with it as following,
1. I have this sensitive, dehydrated, yet at the same time very acne-prone skin. Plus, I live in the desert, the worst place for our woman skin I guess. This one works out beautifully for me. I'm a makeup rookie so might not be the pro of foundations, but I've tried many of them I've heard good things about out there because I really got this hard time dealing with my issue-stuffed skin since I moved to the desert. They may have worked great for others, but I kept getting this flaky caky look, especially at the very dry areas, even after I used all the good primers. But not this one. It moisturizes incredibly!
2. It looks very natural while providing relatively decent coverage considering its
lightness. Shade-wise, I don't have much complaint. I'm an NC25 and this one fits me perfectly. Actually I like the texture of Matchmaster very
well but I can't find the right shade for me with that one.
3. It can be the one providing a look closest to the "flawless" among all the foundations I've tried. You can't notice it settled in the line or something as long as you find the right shade.
4. The problems: It does wear off through the day. It does break me out one or two. And I, like others, did find it somewhat hard to blend with brush. However I don't have much complaint about those things either, given that it has been so hard for me to find a right foundation for my dry skin, that all the foundations somehow break me out at first (maybe my skin has this "learning curve"...), and that I can use my fingers to do the "last blend" which works great.Hopefully this summary helps. One more point: it might not be for everyone but if it is for you it is terrific! So go see if you like it in the local store and it may surprise you as it did to me.
+18points
25of 32found this review helpful.
Lavenderstory
Location: AZ
Review 8 for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Wonderful Foundation---my new 'gotta have.'
Date:May 28, 2014
Tags: Moisturizing, Buildable, colour, finish
I have a few faves in foundation, but as the seasons began to change,I noticed I was getting a bit of a tan ( not much but enough for the need to have my foundation a tad on the deeper shade). I looked, tested and didn't like other lines. I discovered this new formulation, and the shade is perfect and so is the satiny finish. I love it. now I have to decide whether to make a lighter shade my 'new' gotta have winter foundation.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
SkyCat
Location: New Jersey
Review 9 for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
I love it
Date:August 24, 2014
Tags: combination/oily skin
I am shade NW45 and I have combination/oily skin so its really hard to find a foundation that doesn't liquify in five seconds, I love this line, I actually started with the studio tech and I didn't like that one so much, I was almost ready to give up on MAC foundations, but then I purchased this and I love it sooo much, it goes on smooth, I don't need full coverage but it is buildable in my opinion, and I didn't experience any break outs or skin irritation, so yeah I love it...
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
DntCallMeCindy
Location: Dallas, Texas
Review 10 for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Disappointed :(
Date:March 22, 2013
Tags: the driest skin known to man.
I was really excited to get this today and try it out! But.....there was two MAJOR problems I had with this. 1) I'm an NC45 in everything MAC offers basically so I figured hey, why not on this one too? Big mistake. Like another reviewer had put, the colors are so off. Usually NC45 is perfect for me because it has a yellow tint to it which is my skin tone in a nutshell. I'm brown skinned, but very yellow as the undertone. When I put this foundation on, it was reddish! It was so odd. 2) The longevity of it. By the end of the day the foundation was literally melting off of my skin....in 40 degree weather. When I had Studio Fix it never did that. This foundation is definitely not for everyone.
+22points
28of 34found this review helpful.
pineapples403
Location: Texas
Review 11 for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Not what I expected
Date:October 28, 2013
Tags: Moisturizing
I have been using Mac Pro Longwear foundation for years so I was excited to try this new product. I have dry skin in the winter time so I thought it would be perfect for me. It did the job of keeping my face moisturized and glowing however it never felt like it would set. When ever I touched my face it would streak off even after two coats of setting powder. I love the light creamy feeling of the foundation when I apply it I just wish I would stay on.
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
s21wag
Review 12 for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Mixed Feelings
Date:October 25, 2014
Tags: dry skin
I went to the MAC Counter in Macys and the artist matched me NC44 in this foundation. I kinda like this foundation but there are a few problems 1) It is too red on me, my natural color is more of a yellow tone 2) There is not enough color selection, if I go up or down im still going to be WAY off. Besides those reasons, I like the foundation. It feels good on my skin considering that I have sensitive and dry skin. I dont see the dewy or greasy effect that everybody is talking about. There is some transfer when you do touch your skin while wearing the product. Ughh i want to love this product so much but just not a great color match. And MAC barely make foundations that are lightweight and for dry skin.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Sheree
Location: MD
Review 13 for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Loving this!!
Date:November 8, 2014
Tags: dry skin, normal skin
Great for my dry skin, hydrating. Dewy when used alone, less so once set with a powder. Evens out my skintone flawlessly. Much better coverage than Bare Minerals Bareskin.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
PattiAnn
Location: Michigan
Review 14 for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
The Bottle
Date:February 10, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Moisturizing, Buildable, compliments
Love the formula itself and have for years now, however this new bottle design is a complete hassle. It doesn't reflect use IE you cannot tell when you're due for a refill until you've completely run out and are in a bind. Also, I feel a lot of the product itself is being wasted as it sticks to the bottle.. Back to the drawing board?
+11points
18of 25found this review helpful.
Jsam
Location: Vancouver
Review 15 for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Thank You MAC!
Date:March 31, 2013
Tags: Long wearing, Moisturizing, Oil control, Buildable, everyday everynight and looking glamourous!
Mac Thank you for bringing the Mineralize foundation back. I was totally lost without you. I recently purchased the NC50 foundation two days ago. I am completly satified with my purchased. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!!!!
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
missjjrmb
Location: Houston, TX
Review 16 for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
great for older women
Date:November 14, 2014
Tags: Long wearing, Moisturizing, Oil control, Buildable, older women, fine lines, large pores
I have tried several of the different formulas from MAC and I have to say that this formula really does make a difference in hiding the fine lines and pores in older women. I love the fact that it does not settle into creases but seems to float on top. I recently ran out of this and had a little bit left in my studio sculpt bottle. I noticed a big difference when I applied that, as I could notice the pores and some fine lines. I love how the mineralized goes on nicely and doesn't feel heavy or greasy yet gives great all-day coverage. It also does not dry out my skin.
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
tunisianswife
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Review 17 for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
I am disappointed!
Date:July 19, 2013
Tags: super dry skin
MAC! I am a MAC lover but I am very disappointed with this new product. I loved the previous Mineralizer. I really need you to bring it back.. This new product is greasy, it does not wear well and it does not last on my skin. I am breaking up with this product... Please bring back the old mineralizer foundation.
+9points
12of 15found this review helpful.
Foxxy
Location: Dallas
Review 18 for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
INCREDIBLE!!
Date:March 30, 2013
Tags: Moisturizing, Long wearing, Buildable, dry or combination
I love this foundation so much I'm tempted to buy a few more in case MAC decides to discontinue it.. I know it's new but that's how worried I am they will stop carrying it... I have EVERY high end foundation there is.. I was shocked at the finish and look of this foundation on my skin. It's glowing without being greasy, it makes your skin look flawless... I am in total love!!! Thanks MAC for knocking it out of the park with this one! XO
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Anonymous
Location: Houston, TX
Review 19 for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Sorry Mac, but not good!
Date:April 15, 2013
I bought this because I was told it would be great for my dry/normal skin and also it was about $10 cheaper then the foundation I was using before, but this foundation looks horrible on my skin. Not sure why but it doesn't blend well(I've used 3 different brushes), it highlights my pores and dry patches on my face, and it makes my face feel greasy. I really really wanted to love this! I even tried applying it by itself, with moisturizer AND primer underneath and just moisturizer and just primer underneath and every way looks the same! the color nw20 is perfect for my skin, but guess I'll have to try a different MAC foundation!
+6points
8of 10found this review helpful.
kk89
Location: biloxi, ms
Review 20 for Mineralize Moisture SPF15 Foundation
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Not for oily skin
Date:November 25, 2014
Tags: only for dry skin .
This have been one of my worst products by mac so far . But i do not blame mac. I blame myself Because , i have oily skin . But this does not , stay it just was not my favorite at all .
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
kyara
Location: Ga
1-20 of 101 reviews