Product Reviews

MAC Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm Compact SPF 30

Average Customer Rating:
3.571 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Reviews for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm Compact SPF 30
Review 1 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm Compact SPF 30
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
My Holy Grail Product
Date:August 7, 2013
Tags: dry skin, sensitive skin, rosacea coverage, humidity
I've been a MAC girl for a while, and I've bought some pretty amazing products. This product, however, is not amazing. It's beyond amazing - it's my Holy Grail of makeup products.
I live in Florida. It's hot, it's humid, and for some reason (maybe the cost...) buildings just don't seem to run the air as cool as I'd like. My makeup is put on at about 5:30 am, and I expect it to hold up until about 6 pm. I have rosacea, I'm outside quite a bit, and my face has a tendency to flare up and my makeup literally melts off of my face.
I purchased this product and all of that changed.
I bought the 130 brush to buff it on under my Studio Fix Fluid Foundation, and I set it with translucent powder. My makeup lasts ALL DAY.
Not only does it last all day, I've Disney-tested it three times. Each time the temperature has been in the high 90s, the humidity has made my hair look like the Lion King, and it's rained twice - my hair may require a hat to cover it, but my makeup has looked fantastic!
Don't ever stop making this product. For my dry, sensitive, rosacea-plagued skin it is PERFECT. I feel like my makeup finally looks as good as the girls' makeup at the MAC counters!
+74points
76of 78found this review helpful.
Ouisa
Location: Florida
Review 2 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm Compact SPF 30
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love!
Date:January 20, 2014
Tags: prepping, priming, foundation
I am in love with this product! It smooth's my skin, helps lengthen the life of my makeup and it covers up the redness in my skin! It's amazing! One small problem I have with it however is that it doesn't last very long. I've had primers before from other companies that lasted me six or seven months, this one however usually lasts me about three or four, but I love it so much more than any other I've ever tried and that's saying something! It's lifespan isn't a huge issue for me, and is probably more sanitary that the product isn't still being used after the four month mark but it is a little aggravating. I do however use this product everyday, so if that's not the case for you then it probably wont be a problem. This product is amazing though! I can't rave enough. At first I thought it was a little drying like my skin felt like it had a thick layer on it, then once I learned how to apply it evenly and thinly it was perfect! I've never used a pressed BB cream so I was a little lost at first. I find using the Mac 130 brush instead of the sponge helps a lot! I just love how this primer works just like an amazing primer with smoothing and prepping skin, but also gives you the coverage of a sheer foundation! So if you use this with a foundation and a tinted powder you will have full coverage. otherwise you can use this with just a tinted powder and have a medium coverage look or as I have many times just use this when you are in a hurry! I highly suggest this product!
+13points
17of 21found this review helpful.
HannahMcD
Location: Columbia, SC
Review 3 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm Compact SPF 30
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love and Hate Relationship
Date:April 3, 2014
Tags: dry skin, primer, all day wear
I have a love and hate relationship with this product. I love that this product covers the minor rosacea on my nose and the extra moisture it gives my skin. It feels like i have nothing at all. But I have noticed that it changes the color of my foundation (whenever I add some for a more full coverage). Alone it looks like my skin, but when I add my foundation it gives me a gray contrast, if that makes sense. Maybe I'm doing something wrong. Needless to say, I love it, just hate that it changes the color of my foundation.
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
muribe89
Review 4 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm Compact SPF 30
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Awesome Primer!!
Date:August 15, 2013
This does work well with my oily t-zone. I used as a primer under my Studio Tech in NW43. I was matched with Dark Plus. Perfect match. I had a flawless beautiful look. My make up looked professionally done. I used a MAC duo fiber brush to apply. I couldn't stop looking in every mirror that I passed to admire how great my skin looked:).
+15points
16of 17found this review helpful.
midwestmama
Location: Brooklyn Park, MN
Review 5 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm Compact SPF 30
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
BB Balm Compact
Date:August 16, 2013
Tags: face, Natural looking, light weight, cream consistency
After reading the reviews I read online, made me a little hesitant to try it. I bought this product without doing any research or trying it on in the store. I was looking for something light I can wear on those days when I don't want to wear my pro long wear foundation. Well guess what, this did the trick. I put this on, with my bronzer and powder and it looks so natural and light. The perfect go to product. I also love how there is a SPF of 30.I love love love this product. First BB balm product. Will buy again once I run out.
The one thing I would recamend to others would be having a powder to blot during the second half of the day. Other than that, there are no flaws to this BB balm.
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
snowbunny
Location: san jose
Review 6 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm Compact SPF 30
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
BROKE OUT
Date:February 2, 2014
I went to a counter looking to restock on my Studio Finish concealer, but was urged to try this product that would not only conceal my flaws, but also "treat" and "take care" of my skin.
SKIN BACKGROUND: Asian, combination, mild acne + acne prone, redness, scarring.
I prefer to wear light makeup, and as little as possible. I don't except nor want 100% coverage, just something to hide a few imperfections.
The coverage of this product was great. I used a recommended brush for application, and a little bit of this product went a long way in regard to my desired coverage.
HOWEVER, I have some dry patches (despite moisturizer) where the BB cream eventually settled into the lines -- yuck. Then, I noticed a bunch of small breakouts (around my nose, on my nose, and chin....areas I normally use more product because of redness.)
I took a week break after my first application to let my pimples heal. Then I tried the BB cream again. Same problem erupted and now I'm letting my pimples heal again.
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
kberlynguyen
Location: Gaithersburg
Review 7 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm Compact SPF 30
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Colors
Date:December 24, 2012
Tags: priming
I love this product so much! I use it underneath y studio sculpt and it lasts so long and the coverage is great! I recommended it to a friend and she was disappointed with the color choices too(she is African-american). But, she got the darkest shade(which is still pretty light) and you can't even tell! Any women who are concerned with the light shades, the B cream IS semi-translucent, and if you use it you will be AMAZED at the results:)
+13points
15of 17found this review helpful.
SnowBunny96
Location: Arlington, VA
Review 8 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm Compact SPF 30
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Not for combination/oily skin
Date:September 2, 2013
Tags: dry skin
It might be a great product for dryer complexions, but I have combination skin and it makes my skin oilier than normal. Purchased it after a MAC artist put it on my skin at the store to minimize my redness, but after a few hours my cheeks looked so oily. Only recommended for dryer skin.
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Saraiah
Location: Puerto Rico
Review 9 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm Compact SPF 30
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
BEST primer... AND replaces foundation!
Date:August 12, 2014
Tags: all skin types, dry skin, mild rosacea, lines and wrinkles, covering skin flaws
I'm in my mid-40's and was looking for something to cover the mild rosacea on my forehead and nose, without looking cakey and/or making under-eye wrinkles look more pronounced. This product delivers! I normally use Mineralize Foundation (in NC30) and purchased this in Medium, based on a Makeup Artist's recommendation at Mac Store. I still use both items interchangeably based on my mood and what I'll be doing.
However, I've noticed that the Beauty Balm stays on LONGER (fresher) than my Mineralize Foundation, and the color matches a tad bit better as well, PLUS it has higher SPF (30 v. 15). It makes my face look a bit more matte than the Mineralize Foundation, which would normally be a deterrent for me (I have dry areas on my face), except that it doesn't look cakey or fill-in my lines unattractively.
I still love my Mineralize Foundation (it gives me a more dewy finish with great coverage), but genuinely love both products! I normally use this with my Mineralize concealer, and Prep+Prime CC Colour Correcting Compact Powder (in Yellow), and powder blush-- and my skin looks FLAWLESS. I highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
LolaCalifornia
Location: Southern California
Review 10 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm Compact SPF 30
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Broader Color Spectrum Neglected
Date:November 8, 2012
The darker and deeper tones are neglected yet again.....tsk tsk MAC.
+13points
17of 21found this review helpful.
GiGiNC44
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Review 11 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm Compact SPF 30
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Only 3 shades???
Date:November 13, 2012
Tags: light skin tones
I have always applauded MAC for its wide range of colors and shades and the thoroughness with which the company usually manages to include every skin color of the "rainbow." Well, it seems that anyone with darker skin who wants to purchase the BB Compact has been left out. Why are there only 3 *very light* shades available for the BB cream and BB compact? Not cool, MAC. Not cool.
+12points
16of 20found this review helpful.
Kitten
Location: San Francisco
Review 12 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm Compact SPF 30
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Light Shade - BEST Primer with sunscreen ever!
Date:May 25, 2014
Tags: every day use - winter & summer!!
You could use this without any foundation - but I apply eiher Studio Tech or Mineralize Foundation on top -tthen I apply loose poweder - the color holds true all day even through my Jazzercise class!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
trainergirl
Location: Erie, Pa.
Review 13 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm Compact SPF 30
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
AWESOME product
Date:September 10, 2013
Tags: all skin types
I went to the local MAC Store to buy my regular Mineralize Foundation since I had run out... The salesperson showed me the Prep+Prime BB Beauty Balm Compact, explained its benefits and how it compares to the Mineralize Foundation, so I decided to give it a try. WOW. I love this product so much!! It really evens out my skin and makes it look flawless, with just a touch of Mineralize Skinfinish Powder on top. It's got everything I need-- in ONE product: SPF, primer and coverage. It doesn't feel as moisturizing as the Mineralize Foundation, but it doesn't make my skin look or feel dry and it stays on better. I love it and intend to keep using it!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
LolaCalifornia
Location: Southern California
Review 14 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm Compact SPF 30
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
My Favorite Product
Date:November 28, 2012
Tags: everyone
I use this as a primer or even a concealer/highlighter. It doesn't matter the skin tone, can be used alone or even as a base for liquid/powder foundation. Not to mention how smooth it makes the skin look. I have larger pores in some areas of the face and it hides them very well. Awesome product!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
theofficialpt
Location: Washington
Review 15 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm Compact SPF 30
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Date:August 5, 2013
It’s a touch dewy at first but dries down to a satiny soft finish.
makeup no makeup style
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
KASHA
Review 16 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm Compact SPF 30
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Prep & Prime to Perfection
Date:November 9, 2013
Tags: coverage, evening out your complexion, spf 30
This product really does what it says: primer and foundation in one smooth, luxuriously creamy, blendable formula. Apply with a sponge, or foundation brush (I prefer the brush). You can build your coverage full or light, whatever you may need that day, it's so versatile. Prep and Prime BB Beauty Balm evens out your complexion and is the perfect foundation for the rest of your MAC face. I highly recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Stacibar98
Location: Flower Mound, TX
Review 17 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm Compact SPF 30
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Great shortcut
Date:November 16, 2013
Tags: drier parts of face esp undereyes
I use this when I'm just not up for a foundation plus concealer plus powder routine. I can smooth this on with either my fingers or a sponge under my eye and around my nose and I'm good to go.A bit of powder does keep it around better.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
trainwreck54
Location: St. Louis MO
Review 18 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm Compact SPF 30
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Horrible Product All Around
Date:March 23, 2014
I originally bought this about half a year ago, because the shade Medium Plus matched my skin perfectly. Half a year later, the product has already oxidized, it clings to dry skin, and I can't seem to blend it in with a flat foundation brush, beauty blender, or stippling brush! It's ridiculous that a seemingly simple product requires so much effort. I have never dropped this product--not once!--and the top half broke off. $30 down the drain.
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
Sirrene
Location: San Jose
Review 19 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm Compact SPF 30
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Disappointed
Date:August 5, 2013
Tried & purchased Deep Dark BB @ Macy's MAC Counter. Product was beautiful in the store. However, when I looked in the mirror at home, I looked beige/tan! I returned the item today and the MAC Representative informed me that the colors were "very light". I'll stick with my Mineralize Skin Finish Natural in Deep Dark.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
MACFirst
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Review 20 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm Compact SPF 30
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Eh.
Date:March 6, 2013
I bought this because I really wanted to try a BB cream and I use MAC products regularly. From what I understand of BB creams they are supposed to make your skin look better. I haven't really seen much of an improvement in my skin tone or overall health of my skin. The coverage is decent but I have to put on the studio finish foundation over the primer.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
AXIDANDGLITTER
Location: Nashville
1-20 of 28 reviews