Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Pro Palette Large / Duo

Average Customer Rating:
4.025 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
15
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
1
Customer Reviews for Pro Palette Large / Duo
Review 1 for Pro Palette Large / Duo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
I love it, and I will buy this over any palette
Date:October 11, 2013
Tags: Portable, Convenient, Multiple combinations, any use
I saw a couple reviews that said that is was heavier and thicker without any extra space from before.. However that is actually not the case. Palette's before this could only hold 15 eyeshadows with the insert in and they were only one sided but the new designed palette is double sided it has room for two inserts which means 30 shadows in 1 case. Of course it is heavier and bulkier.. its double the palettes the mac had before. I think it is sleek and it has a very sturdy magnet that holds the case shut as well as a magnet in the case that holds the eyeshadows in even without the inserts. I love this and I am ordering a couple more right now for eye shadows that I bought that arent even mac shadows. I travel with this case and have never had one broken eye shadow. This case is sturdy sleek and functional I highly recommend it over any other palette such as Z palettes or Unii palettes.
+54points
56of 58found this review helpful.
RachelCampana
Location: California
Review 2 for Pro Palette Large / Duo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great
Date:April 16, 2014
Tags: Portable, Convenient, Multiple combinations, blushes, eyeshadows
I think this is perfect if you use refill pans with the inserts. Non of my shadows or blushes fall out and it is a much nicer looking palette than the previous. I purchased after the price reduction and I look forward to filling it up so I can purchase another one. Nice job MAC!
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
dlm1113
Location: Delaware
Review 3 for Pro Palette Large / Duo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Simple fix...
Date:May 25, 2013
Tags: Convenient, Multiple combinations, Portable
This palette is a pretty awesome concept and addition to my collection. For those of you concerned about the strength of the magnet, here are a few considerations:
The "magnetic strength" is not a function of the palette itself, but rather of the magent used to adhere the product to the palette. Should you be concerned about the shifting of products without the divider, attach a stronger magnet to your product. Easy Fix. More product in the palette without the dividers... and safe for travel.
Having issues with getting the plastic divider to the other side of palette, attach a vibrant ribbon of some sort (or whatever you prefer) to aid in the process.
Hope this helps for those interested in the product and assessing the potential pros/cons.
With a little additional research for any science junkies out there, research how to change the strength of a magnet. You would be surprised. ;-)
+22points
23of 24found this review helpful.
Seahawks
Location: Wilmington, NC
Review 4 for Pro Palette Large / Duo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love this pro Palette!!!
Date:February 17, 2014
Tags: Convenient
I purchased this palette with the idea of storing my eye shadows on one side and blushes on the other. So I purchased the duo palette with one eye shadow and on blush insert. But as I began to transfer my makeup I realized the half which I allotted for my eye shadow was full and unless I stopped purchasing eye shadows (which isn’t going to happen) I would need more space. So I will be purchasing a single pro palette (for my blushes) and an eye shadow insert to convert my duo palette to eye shadow storage.
So about the duo palette… I was little dummed out that the lid was not clear, but once I took a look at the design of the palette I was fine. It holds 30 eye shadows and the clear divider in the middle is ingenious. Although this palette is bulkier that the previous version, I do like the design and store capability much better.
All-N-all, I really like this palette, Thank you MAC!!!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Truqueen84
Location: St.Petersburg, Fl
Review 5 for Pro Palette Large / Duo
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
No added convenience nor versatility...
Date:March 4, 2013
Tags: pretty to look at, sturdy seems well made, fine for home use not for travel
I'm not terribly happy about the redesign of the custom palettes in general. The large duo palette is no exception.
The new design is considerably thicker and heavier without offering any additional storage space. Though nice to look at and possibly sturdier, the new palettes have removable pop out trays that add unnecessary bulk. They aren't exactly easy to pop out either. On the smaller 4 eyeshadow palette you would simply push down on two corners and the tray pops out. For the large palette you would need to push much harder (I push down on the top corners) and even then you need to pry part of the tray out. You would need to go through this trouble every time you want to customize your palette and remove a shadow.
Also the cover on the large duo palettes are not clear so you would have to open to figure out what's in it or label the outside. Many people just use without the trays and I think I'll eventually do the same once I purchase adhesive magnetic strips from the hobby store. Overall I wouldn't recommend this product as there aren't many added benefits nor versatility to using this palette over two large single blush/shadow palettes. the duo palette functions no differently from two large palettes glued together. It feels like a brick and the sharp corners and weight are not joys to handle.
I wish they would've just improved on the old design rather than revamping it. It would have been nice to see different sized trays for this palette that maybe fit together like puzzle pieces locking together..(like the ability to fit 2 blushes and maybe 8 eyeshadows on one side and brushes on the other)..then it truly would be a customizable palette different from the ones they already have.
+17points
20of 23found this review helpful.
Red18
Location: San Francisco
Review 6 for Pro Palette Large / Duo
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Nice change for the $$
Date:January 14, 2014
Tags: Portable, Convenient
I like it way better than the old packaging. Add the inserts to make it look a little more sleek. Glad I didn't purchase when they were $25. I got this, one blush insert and one shadow insert all for the price of $12....almost a quarter of the old price. It is a little challenging to remove the pans but I figured out a way to do this without dumping the whole tray. Just need to push down on 2 corners of the inserts and the other end comes up allowing you to remove. I just wish there was space to put the names underneath each pan. Yeah...it's always something isn't it. :-)
+8points
10of 12found this review helpful.
dlm1113
Location: Delaware
Review 7 for Pro Palette Large / Duo
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
......uuummm
Date:February 1, 2014
Tags: Portable, Convenient, Multiple combinations
This was my first palette from MAC so when i seen the prices drop ! I dropped my card and bought this! At first i was happy that i bought the DUO i mean why not...GO BIG OR GO HOME! well i think i over thinked this and i kinda don't like it...i should of bought the single one. Other then that im pleased because i have one side with eye shadows and i carry some of my brushes and primer on the other side so i wont have to carry too much. I dont know i guess versatile. I rather get the single one so i can know which colors to use. But over all pretty GOOD.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Jesszkah
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Review 8 for Pro Palette Large / Duo
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love MAC, this is not my Fave
Date:May 28, 2014
Tags: Multiple combinations
It is well built and I appreciate that it holds more product, but I am not a huge fan for a couple reasons.
1.The center clear piece is sometimes difficult to move because it sits flush with whatever side it's on, and getting a grip to move it to the other side, even with nails, is hard.
2.Now that the Pro Palette Large/Single has a clear top, I don't like that you cannot easily see what is in the palette. I find it easier when I can see which palette I am picking up, instead of opening each one or labeling each one.
3.Also, because it is double sided, there is always a side that faces down when opening it, so many times one or two pans fall out and it gets annoying quick!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
MarisAddiction
Location: Charlotte, NC
Review 9 for Pro Palette Large / Duo
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Not Impressed
Date:March 12, 2013
Tags: storage space
I have been holding out on writing this because i didn't want to make any rush decisions on it . I am going to start with the negative , The magnet on the bottom of this palette i would think would have been a bit stronger then its predecessor that is not the case . With out the insert the palette dose not hold the pro pan's well and then end up flipped on to the clear lid and braking . Makes it near impossible to travel like that . Now for the clear lid if you don't have long nails its unbelievable difficult to open/flip to the other side. when your working the last thing you want is to be slowed down by something like this . Its annoying .
Now the palette its self is made very well , very sturdy and the storage space is wonderful i love having that many shadows in spot and clearly visible . The hinges are good and and smooth when opening .
I really want to love this palette but i am sorry to so its a bit of a miss for me since i will have to dish out more money to try to fix the poor magnate problem .
+5points
7of 9found this review helpful.
MelissaJ
Location: Delray Beach , Florida
Review 10 for Pro Palette Large / Duo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Eyeshadows
Date:April 21, 2014
Tags: Portable, Convenient, Multiple combinations
I use this Palette for my eyeshadows. I like the look of it and it holds a ton of shadows and they are all their when creating a look. Most of them at least. Very convenient.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
chelseaesparza
Location: California
Review 11 for Pro Palette Large / Duo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
What Issues?
Date:April 21, 2013
I don't understand the issues people are having with this. I just bought it without inserts and fit 25 eyeshadows in it on one side. The magnet seems really strong.
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
rrw124
Review 12 for Pro Palette Large / Duo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Perfect Palette
Date:July 11, 2014
Tags: Portable, Convenient, Multiple combinations
I adore this palette. You can pop out the clear divider to hold domed products with the use of magnets. This is a better price and sturdier than other palettes on the market.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Lovette
Location: North America
Review 13 for Pro Palette Large / Duo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Love my new palette
Date:March 9, 2014
Tags: Portable, Convenient, Multiple combinations, shadowes and blushes
Simply love my new MAC palette!!!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Akhan
Location: Bolingbrook
Review 14 for Pro Palette Large / Duo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
A Kit Must Have
Date:December 7, 2013
Tags: Portable, Convenient, Multiple combinations, inserts
Easy to change out inserts. Light weight. The divider in the middle keeps all the colors separate, a life saver if one of your powders happen to crumble. i love it.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Nayah
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Review 15 for Pro Palette Large / Duo
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
The old one was way better...
Date:April 22, 2013
I wanted to love this palette...but it fell short of my expectations. I find it very large and bulky, not to mention heavy. It is so darn sharp, I feel I could either use it as a weapon or severely hurt myself should I ever drop it, dear God, I hope I don't, for I think the whole thing would also shatter. I love how sleek the older palettes were and wish they would come back :(
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Mammaof3
Location: Georgia
Review 16 for Pro Palette Large / Duo
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Sturdy, yet hard to remove inserts
Date:February 15, 2013
Tags: Portable, Convenient, Multiple combinations
The palette definitely feels strong and sturdy, but also heavier than anticipated, especially when filled with 2 empty eyeshadow inserts. My issue has more to do with the difficulty of using the palette and inserts together. I had to Live Chat with a MAC rep (thanks again!) to figure out how to remove the eyeshadow inserts from the palette. She suggested squeezing the hinged side, and I still had to grab between the slots to pull it out. I haven't filled the inserts with shadows yet, but I HIGHLY recommend arranging them to your liking BEFORE adding the insert to your palette. I worry what a hassle it will be to remove a filled insert when the time comes.
MAC needs to develop an easier way to remove the inserts. Someone who reviewed the blush insert suggested leaving one slot empty so as not to run the risk of ruining one of your colors- but then it defeats the purpose of having so many slots. Or try using it without the inserts at all. If anyone has found an easier way to remove inserts, please share.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Sunshinex3
Location: CA
Review 17 for Pro Palette Large / Duo
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Almost prefect
Date:June 26, 2013
This palette is perfect for organizing your MAC singles. I wish there was a clear cover for both sides, but it's not a big deal. Depotted items may cause you a little grief if you don't use a good magnet (they may drop out or move easier than the refills which have a better magnet on them). The thickness takes a little getting used to but that's a preference thing and not a huge deal!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
ButterflyEyes
Location: Georgia
Review 18 for Pro Palette Large / Duo
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love seeing 30 at once, dislike the bulk.
Date:February 25, 2014
Tags: Portable, Convenient, Multiple combinations, everyone
Great concept, I can see 30 of my shadows at once!!! BUT, the palette seems bulky in comparison to the slimmer old one. Even if I stack two of the old ones together they are still slimmer than this one. Awkward to hold in hand and apply. Difficult to open one handed. The magnets are not strong enough to really hold the shadows in place, and once the shadows are in place it is difficult to get them out for name or mobility reasons.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
TheStyleChronicles
Location: Houston, Texas
Review 19 for Pro Palette Large / Duo
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great Deal
Date:February 28, 2014
Tags: Convenient, Multiple combinations, Portable
I like this very much.. I would like for MAC to make a bigger 1. I wish the top of it was clear so you can see into before you opened it.
but it makes my kit very neat plus its cute. it worth the buy.. buy it!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Dinokisses
Location: DMV
Review 20 for Pro Palette Large / Duo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
nice palette!
Date:February 13, 2013
Tags: Convenient, Multiple combinations, Portable, storage and organization
I have both the single and the Duo and I like them both. It can hold up to 48 eyeshadows without the inserts. If you have a sizable amount of shadows, this palette can help you organize them and have them all in one place. When it is closed, you cannnot see through it unlike the single palette; so I am not sure how helpful it would be for Pro makeup artists other than the number of shadows they can store in one place. But overall, I love it for what i need to use it for.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
nene2012
Location: Texas
1-20 of 40 reviews