Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Prep + Prime Skin Smoother

Average Customer Rating:
4.282 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Reviews for Prep + Prime Skin Smoother
Review 1 for Prep + Prime Skin Smoother
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Simply the best!
Date:November 2, 2013
Tags: dry and also mature skin.
I have used several primers over the years , adapting to various stages of my skins' needs, and whereas I have had pretty good results overall, this compact formulation is the best I have ever used. I must say I was a bit put out when I got home to realize the MAC sales lady had sold me a product that was essentially for filling in fine lines and at smoothing mature skin, but I had been impressed with its performance when she put it on. So this 62 year old( who still thinks she's 22) bit the bullet and got over my age issue.
I must say, it is simply the best primer I have ever used. It really does fill in fine lines, smooths the skin so that there is a perfect canvas upon which to apply foundation. My finished look is indeed flawless, smooth, the skin any 22 year old would be proud of! Please make this product permanent, Mac! Just in case,I'm buying a second lot, to have available. Please don't forget that us older gals still use make up products intended for younger girls, and we need the skin to go with them so we do not look like "mutton dressed as lamb"! We need the help so we can continue to use your wonderful foundations and color cosmetics! Keep up the good work!
+95points
97of 99found this review helpful.
Clionamac1
Location: Buffalo NY
Review 2 for Prep + Prime Skin Smoother
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Skeptical at first
Date:May 17, 2013
Tags: skin prep, Oil control, minimizes pores
I brought this on the recommendation of one of the MAC consultants. Initially I wasn't convinced this would work for me. I have extremely oily skin and it felt very heavy on my skin when the consultant applied it. The next day I incorporated it into my everyday makeup routine and I have to say this is one of my favorite products! In addition to oily skin I have large pores, they usually go hand in hand. This product decreases my pores, creates a smooth canvas for my foundation and keeps the oil at bay for a longer amount of time. This will be added to my must haves! I so hope it's never discontinued.
+62points
63of 64found this review helpful.
antish
Review 3 for Prep + Prime Skin Smoother
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Heaven in a compact!
Date:December 6, 2013
Tags: long wear, Oil control, problem skin
This product was highly recommended to me by one of the M.A.C experts that work at Macy's. I have large pores, oily skin, and have suffered with terrible acne for as long as I can remember. So I finally got around to buying it and paired with M.A.C's Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation, it's absolutely amazing! My skin looks smooth, beautiful, flawless, and evenly toned. It's literally, heaven in a compact.
+14points
14of 14found this review helpful.
Sylvii
Location: Uvalde, TX
Review 4 for Prep + Prime Skin Smoother
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
MAC make this permanent! im in love!!
Date:April 8, 2012
Tags: skin smoothing mattifying evens skin tone
I love the prep and prime line and this is one of my new favorites! I bought it on a whim after one of the girls at mac put some on me. I was impressed at how smooth, soft and matte it made my skin. I'm a freelance makeup artist so I'm always on the lookout for a good foundation primer-but this is more than that. I used it on a client yesterday and it was truly like magic. It not only smoothed out her skin, it made it appear more even as well-I didn't even have to use foundation or concealer after just a little powder and her skin looked flawless! I'm sold on this product and hope mac makes this permanent. Just in case tho, I'm gonna pick up another for when I finish this one. Highly recommend!
+34points
34of 34found this review helpful.
lizzylovesmacmakeup
Location: CA
Review 5 for Prep + Prime Skin Smoother
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Best Primer for Dry, Mature Skin
Date:September 28, 2012
Tags: dry skin, fills fine lines, is velvety smooth, makeup looks great
I have tried many primers through the years and always felt they were geared for oilier skin types. This primer is awesome for dry skin!!! Another incredible benefit, it helps make the fine lines under the eyes disappear! No more creasing with any concealer!
Please MAC don't ever discontinue this primer for us gals with maturer skin!!!
+36points
37of 38found this review helpful.
Ihraracerkim
Location: PA
Review 6 for Prep + Prime Skin Smoother
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Works With My Oily Skin
Date:December 7, 2012
Tags: covering pores smoothes your skin, smoothes your skin
I've basically tried all of the Mac primers and had little to no success. So I decided to give the Prep & Prime Skin Smoother a try. At first, I was a little apprehensive because of some of the reviews. I have oily skin and I was afraid it would "slide off" as some other reviewers said. So I decided to moisturize my face first with the Mac Oil Control Lotion before applying the primer. I didn't apply much lotion and I waited at least 5 minutes or so before I applied the primer. And I must say that my make-up remained on my face all day and my face didn't look or feel oily. I even received a compliment from my sister. She was amazed at how smooth my face looked. I can't speak for others but so far it works for me & my oily skin. I will continue to use it.
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
Mimilee
Location: Chicago
Review 7 for Prep + Prime Skin Smoother
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
My new favorite primer
Date:June 19, 2012
Tags: flawless finish, combo skin, holds up in humid weather
I bought this on a whim because I had run out of the other face primer I used to use, but I am now sold on this product as I love how this smooths out my face. I have combo skin and live in the humid south and so I am tough on makeup and this works great. I no longer feel like half of my makeup has melted off by the end of the day.
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
kcleone
Location: Alabama
Review 8 for Prep + Prime Skin Smoother
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
Best Yet! So smooth!
Date:December 25, 2013
Tags: all skin types
I LOVE how this primer feels. It really improves the final product. I would give it 5 stars, except I don't think you get much product for the price. Even still, it is worth it!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Helene
Location: Miami
Review 9 for Prep + Prime Skin Smoother
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
The best face primer
Date:May 27, 2014
Tags: priming the face
This primer is my go to primer for all skin types. Its velvety smooth finish is the absolute best and works well with all foundations. A must have for all makeup kits. PLEASE DO NOT DISCONTINUE!!! :-) Thank you
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
LovurofBeauty
Location: Milford, CT
Review 10 for Prep + Prime Skin Smoother
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Good line fille. Purchased on line.
Date:December 12, 2013
Tags: fine lines
Really like this. It doesn't make lines go away, but certainly softens them .Very easy to use. Just apply with fingertips.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Devine
Location: California
Review 11 for Prep + Prime Skin Smoother
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
awesome product!!
Date:October 27, 2013
Tags: oilier skin
i was skeptical about whether or not this would make a difference but wow! it really does make my skin feel and look smoother! it keeps my oily skin looking great almost all day and i live in the south where it is hot!! i apply it with my fingers kind of sparingly, after my moisturizer and then proceed with match master foundation. really loving this and see myself always buying it!! oh and as someone else mentioned, it really does hide those fine lines around your eyes and helps my under eye concealer not crease!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
nailgirl
Location: south carolina
Review 12 for Prep + Prime Skin Smoother
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Awesome Matte Finish!
Date:April 22, 2014
Tags: oily/combination skin
The Prep & Prime Skin Smoother is by far the best! I have super oily skin and I have tried other products to prime my skin before the foundation application and the end result was horrible leaving my skin like my foundation just melted off. This product not only holds the foundation in place but it leaves it having a soft matte finish which is totally what I am looking for. A little goes a long way. If you have large pores pat the product into the pores and don't apply foundation until the primer is completely dry. I wait normally about 7 minutes and then apply the foundation. MAC please do not discontinue this product.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
thislilbirdie
Location: Fresno, CA
Review 13 for Prep + Prime Skin Smoother
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
So glad I did!
Date:January 15, 2013
Tags: all skin types
After adding this product to my cart I read the reviews and thought for sure I would be giving it to a friend. I have VERY oily skin and have been also using retin-a now for about 3.5 months. Instantly after applying this product my face felt smooth and it finally made feel like maybe my retin-a was doing something. I kept waiting for my makeup to slide off like some reviews posted, but it never happened. Instead my makeup stays on all day and provides a silky finish to my face!! I also recieved a compliment on my skin at work the other day (something I haven't heard in a very very long time). I use this on top of the moisture calm cream, but I let the cream settle in for a bit while I do my eye makeup. Then apply a small amount of this smoother all over with my fingers. I don't apply powder to set makeup anymore, because I don't have to! Bravo MAC, I'm sold!
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
JuJuBee
Location: Santa Rosa
Review 14 for Prep + Prime Skin Smoother
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Foundation Stays put!!!
Date:May 14, 2012
Tags: oily combo skin, helping foundation last throughout the day
I am a flight attendant with combo skin. I love this product!!! Usually at the end of my day- flying around my skin is an oil slick..But now I apply the primer on my face with clean finger tips and then apply my liquid foundation over it using a press/ blot/ stippling technique. I try not to smear the foundation into the primer but rather place it on top. After, I set with powder and voilà! Love this stuff!
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
KkLaRue
Location: USA
Review 15 for Prep + Prime Skin Smoother
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Amazing Results
Date:September 17, 2012
Tags: oily skin, filling blemish marks
I was a bit concerned about my foundation sliding off my face because this made my face so super smooth but it stayed put. I was even happier with the way it makes my face look with no makeup on at all. Def a must have in your make up bag!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
MYA1174
Location: Hoover ,Alabama
Review 16 for Prep + Prime Skin Smoother
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Prep & Prime Skin Smoother
Date:July 4, 2014
Tags: setting makeup, keeping oil at bay, makes makeup look air-brused
Very pleased with this product. Did what the description said it would. It is going to be a staple for me. Will purchase again.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Lucygirl
Location: Illinois
Review 17 for Prep + Prime Skin Smoother
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Amazing product! must have!
Date:April 9, 2012
Tags: oily skin males
I'm a male that shaves everyday and the regular Prep+Prime Primers don't really give me a smooth finish that I desire but the skin smoother really smooth out the areas where i shaved and everywhere else! i bought two compacts just in case they aren't permanent! You should definitely try this product especially if you have oily skin this really controls the oils! just give it a try if you don't like it then return it! you have nothing to lose ;]
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
ferniebby
Location: azusa, cali
Review 18 for Prep + Prime Skin Smoother
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Disappointed
Date:April 25, 2012
Tags: people without oily skin
I do have oily skin and although the product does provide a smooth finish to apply foundation my skin became extremely oily. Within a few hours my makeup looks terrible. I love mac products but this just doesn't work foe me. I will continue to use another product line primer which doesn't make my face oily. Love the compact but so.....disappointed with the product!
+6points
8of 10found this review helpful.
KatP
Location: Brentwood
Review 19 for Prep + Prime Skin Smoother
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Not What I Expected
Date:July 17, 2012
Tags: smoothing skin
I really wanted to love this product but was sadly disappointed when I first tried it out. I was very satisfied with the look and the fact that this product is very compact. But when I acutlly applied this onto my face, it felt really smooth on my skin, *which was GREAT!. After appling my base (Concealor, Foundation and Powder) onto my face it appeared to be naturally flawless. However, the downfall for me was that it made my already oily skin appear ever more OILY than usual . I tried to give the product another chance, but unfortuantly it was same outcome as before. I will be returning this product for MAC Oil Control lotion instead.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Anonymous
Location: GA
Review 20 for Prep + Prime Skin Smoother
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Works with OILY SKIN!
Date:July 31, 2012
Tags: helping foundation last longer, foundation goes on smoother
I've only had this for a week or so but it has become my new FAVORITE! I love how smoothly it goes on my face and how it allows me to use less foundation. I have oily skin and was not sure if this would be a product that would be good for me but it is working very well and has not made my skin oilier at all. I use it with my fingers, some may not like that idea but I only need a little bit and it covers my whole face. It is only for me so I have no problem in appling it that way. I see this as something I will buy again for sure.
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Carly2u
Location: Phila,Pa.
1-20 of 39 reviews