Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at MacCosmetics.

MAC Lightful Softening Lotion

Average Customer Rating:
4.824 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Lightful Softening Lotion
Review 1 for Lightful Softening Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Absolutely Love this Product
Date:January 7, 2014
Tags: Hydrating, Non-Oily, Skin brightening, Lightweight, Absorbs quickly, brightness and moisturizing
I was a bit skeptical about ordering this Softening Lotion. The first time I used it I was hooked! My pores are small again and my skin looks radiant instead of dried up deep lines and wrinkles. I have been using it about three months and see a drastic difference!
+49points
49of 49found this review helpful.
Cyndal
Location: Hemet, CA
Review 2 for Lightful Softening Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love it!
Date:January 23, 2014
Tags: Hydrating, Skin brightening, Lightweight, Absorbs quickly
I purchased this product based on the reviews. I'm glad I did. I've been looking for a product that will hydrate and get rid of the dullness that I have been seeing in my skin lately, especially during these cold winter months. I'm on week 2 of using it and after the first week I noticed a change. I feel like the dark spots on my face have diminished and my skin looks healthier. I use MAC for all of my makeup and never knew this was a type of product they sold. I am going to start buying other moisture products from the Lightful line since I am very pleased with this one.
+49points
52of 55found this review helpful.
KilasKorner
Location: Auburn, MA
Review 3 for Lightful Softening Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Hidden secret!
Date:February 4, 2014
Tags: Hydrating, Skin brightening, Lightweight, Absorbs quickly
The lightful collection is serious skin care. I love the softening lotion especially. I have a hard time finding products that really improve my skin but this is my secret weapon against dullness and dryness and milia on my chin. In 3 years I haven't found anything that compares.
+50points
54of 58found this review helpful.
1macdoutG
Location: Ohio
Review 4 for Lightful Softening Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love this!
Date:March 24, 2014
Tags: Hydrating, Non-Oily, Skin brightening, Lightweight, Absorbs quickly
This is a wonderful product. In addition to softening my skin, I also use it to transform my Studio Fix Fluid foundations into a sheer veil when I want a less made-up look. This product is clear and mixes easily with Studio Fix Foundations without changing the color. It leaves my skin feeling soft and moisturized. My skin is combination type.This product gives my skin a healthy glow without an oily appearance. It absorbs very quickly.
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
AvrileenParis
Location: New York
Review 5 for Lightful Softening Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Favorite From the Lightful collection!
Date:September 8, 2012
Tags: sensitive skin, mature, combination-dry side of normal, tired pick me up, dewy glow
I must say that the "Softening Lotion" was a genius name for a toner/lotion. Think of it as a hybrid of the two...it appears and sounds as a toner would, but acts like both a lotion and a toner. I would put it on a cotton ball and treat it as a toner. As you put it on, it makes your skin feel super soft, smooth, and radiant. It almost made my pores look smaller and cleaner. Sometimes, I wouldn't even bother putting on a 2nd lotion because it was just that moisturizing. My skin is both sensitive and combination. So, I felt it was a great to be able to have the best of both worlds. Going to buy again.
+86points
90of 94found this review helpful.
SilverEyeFox
Location: Fresno, CA
Review 6 for Lightful Softening Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great Product
Date:November 19, 2013
Tags: Hydrating, Skin brightening, Lightweight, mature skin
Softening Lotions have been around a long time. Several high end lines have carried them for years. They are toners that hydrate and moisturize versus alcohol based astringents and fresheners that are meant to absorb oil and tighten pores. So I wasn't at all expecting a "lotion" consistency. However, because I had been used to using slightly alcohol based toners, this took some getting used to. And now I'm hooked! I adore this lotion so much so that I think I use too much (and I don't use it twice a day, I alternate it with my regular toner). I wish they would offer it in a travel size. It feels incredible going on and really brightens and hydrates my skin. It feels like a luxury product for half the price.
+15points
16of 17found this review helpful.
LookingGoodFor50
Location: North Carolina
Review 7 for Lightful Softening Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
In love with this...
Date:January 23, 2013
Tags: Hydrating, Non-Oily, Skin brightening, Lightweight, Absorbs quickly, toner
I've been using this for a little less than a week and I am absolutely AMAZED at how my skin has improved. I have recommended this to all of my friends. On the first use, my skin felt so soft and smooth and it actually lightened up some of the dark spots I have. I am planning on purchasing the rest of the lightful products ASAP
+24points
25of 26found this review helpful.
Kasey
Location: Pasadena, MD
Review 8 for Lightful Softening Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Quite refreshing, but not a lotion
Date:March 18, 2012
Like the previous reviewer, I was surprised when I received my "lotion" and it turned out to be more of like a toner. However, this is not negative in my opinion. I put it on after I cleanse in the shower, and just before my nightly moisturizing regimen. I just pour some onto a cotton ball and wipe across my entire face and neck. I use it in the morning only if I am not wearing makeup (this is for no particular reason, just a quirk I have gotten used to). After two weeks of using this I can definitely see a difference in the texture of my skin. It's much softer and seems to take in moisturizer better.
+21points
23of 25found this review helpful.
JillC88
Location: Cambridge, MA
Review 9 for Lightful Softening Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
A-M-A-Z-I-N-G
Date:March 14, 2014
Tags: Hydrating, Non-Oily, Skin brightening, Lightweight, Absorbs quickly, hydration
Ok... where was i when this came out? I bought one immediately because of reviews... i am so amazed with how a bit more radiant my skin has become, soft.. hydrated.. i was suffering from dry skin from my old face wash (which also evened out my skin) then i ordered this and i am wowed. i am so happy with this purchase. i will be ordering the cleanser now.. i think it only makes sense!
Thank you!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
DeeLishisFaces
Location: Amherst MA
Review 10 for Lightful Softening Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Awesome!
Date:November 18, 2012
A lot of women don't understand that a softening lotion is NOT supposed to be a lotion texture. It is formulated exactly how it is supposed to be. I love it because I am extremely dry and I need all the extra hydration I can get before I use my moisturizer!
+9points
10of 11found this review helpful.
MACuser1
Review 11 for Lightful Softening Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Miracle!
Date:December 4, 2014
Tags: Hydrating, Non-Oily, Skin brightening, Lightweight, Absorbs quickly, acne/reddness/flakes/moisture/texture
I received a sample of this, and used a few times. I had several red irritated acne spots that I had poked at and used too much acne cream on and they were angry and extremely red and flaking and made my entire face look horrible (acne/milia/rosacea) I used this (its like a toner I don't know why its called a lotion) and my skin started to HEAL before my eyes it seemed! Can't wait to get back to the store and purchase the full-size product.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
craycraymomma
Location: Tx
Review 12 for Lightful Softening Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
I hope they never discontinue this!
Date:August 6, 2014
Tags: Hydrating, Non-Oily, Skin brightening, Lightweight, Absorbs quickly
I've been using this product daily for about 2 weeks now, and even since the first use I knew I would want to use this for the rest of my life. It is seriously that good. It has made my ultra-dry skin plump and radiant, and my pours have almost vanished. I've had numerous comments about how great my skin looks lately, and it just feels so pampered and nourished. Love it!!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Bunzerelli
Location: WA
Review 13 for Lightful Softening Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
AAAMMMMAAAAZING!!!!
Date:September 11, 2014
Tags: Non-Oily, Skin brightening, Absorbs quickly, oily blemish prone skin dark marks.
This lotion is awesome....I saw a remarkable difference on my skin, instantly!!! I'm a NC50 and very oily so I use this once a day at night and moisturize.... And I am very happy, no negative skin reactions. It feels cleansed but not stripped.
I plant to purchase the whole system!!!! YAY to MAC for this magic in a bottle!!!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Divinities
Location: Atlanta
Review 14 for Lightful Softening Lotion
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Not lotion in texture!
Date:March 2, 2012
Tags: dry skin
This is the first time I've used the lotion in this line. I had been quite pleased with the cream and the face wash, so when the reformulated products came out I was eager to try the other products in this line. BEWARE-- the texture of this is very thin like water-- not at all like a lotion. And when I inquired about this, I was told that it was to be used before applying another moisturizer for extra hydration. I'm willing to keep it because I don't want to pay for the shipping back, but if something is labeled as a lotion I expect it to be thicker than water! I'm giving it 3 out of 5 because I love the product and it does moisturize, but in my opinion it should not be labeled as a lotion.
-1point
17of 35found this review helpful.
Frizzle
Location: DC area
Review 15 for Lightful Softening Lotion
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
More like a toner
Date:September 20, 2013
Tags: Non-Oily, Skin brightening, Lightweight, Absorbs quickly, all skin types
After reading other reviews, I decided to give this softening lotion a try. I took another's suggestion and poured the bottle into a plastic spray bottle. I spray 2 pumps into my palm, rub and smooth on my face. I honestly can't tell if it really makes my skin lighter and softer; maybe I need to use it longer. But I do like the way it feels, so will keep using it. Too early to tell if I'll order more when I run out.
-1point
3of 7found this review helpful.
Glamgram
Review 16 for Lightful Softening Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
So Soft
Date:April 19, 2014
Tags: softening
My face feels amazing. I love this product. Can't wait to see in 6 months how much lighter my dark spots get.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Lottie
Review 17 for Lightful Softening Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Date:July 29, 2013
Tags: Hydrating, Skin brightening, Lightweight, dry/combination skin
This product is super refreshing, and is very calming to the skin. You can feel the moisture sinking into your skin and removing the excess germs on your face. I have combination skin, and this product works extremely well for those dryer areas. Amazing!!
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
makeupchique91
Location: louisiana