Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC 286 Duo Fibre Tapered Blending Brush

Average Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for 286 Duo Fibre Tapered Blending Brush
Review 1 for 286 Duo Fibre Tapered Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Perfect finish.
Date:December 22, 2013
Tags: Blending, Shading, Applying
I normally work eyes with a couple of 217 and a 219 to apply and blend the product, either if it is cream or powder, but was in desperate need of a brush to soften the edges of the eye shadow to make that transition between one color and the other as soft and as natural as possible, so decided to get a big fluffy brush. Instead they recommended me this brush and I must say that is the perfect tool for the job. Not just for the task I wanted it for, but to apply product, specially when all I want is a veil of color on the lids. If I decide I want it stronger, you can build it up, working the product till completing your 'perfection' point. Also, since is tapered, allows you to reach the inner corners of the socket line with no problems, making the whole proces swift and flawless.
I think I would like it to be denser, but then I really don't know if that would affect the performance of the brush.
And absolute must. I'm glad it was recommended to me at the store.
+9points
10of 11found this review helpful.
AndreaFK
Location: USA
Review 2 for 286 Duo Fibre Tapered Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
The BEST
Date:January 3, 2012
Tags: Blending, Shading
Its great for blending!! This is waay better than the 224 because is a little more dense!! Is great like concealer or like blending eyeshadow in the crease! Also is perfect to apply color in he crease! This is my favourite blending brush I TOTALLY RECOMENDED!!!!
+21points
23of 25found this review helpful.
TheBBnators
Review 3 for 286 Duo Fibre Tapered Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
My Holly Grail Blending Brush
Date:July 20, 2012
Tags: Blending, blending or applying & smoking out shadows., marrying eyeshadow colors
I absolutely love this brush. I tried the 222 & 217. I have a very small eyelid area to work with so the 222 is no good for my eyelid or outer corner. The shadows blends all over the place because of small eyelid area. I had to return it. The 217 bristles, on the hand, are too harsh for my senstive lid. It actually irritates my skin if use it too much. I own it but have to be careul not to overuse it when I blend my shadows. That's just me. The 286, however, is so perfect. The first i used it when I got home I knew that it'll be a forever relationship!!!
It is so soft & blends like a dream it makes it so easy & effortless. Plus, it gives me so much precision that I am so impress. My shadows now no longer blends all over the place, if I don't want them to. I can sheer out my shadows so perfectly or really intensify & smoke out my out corner to the intensity I want by keep layering the colors & blending with the 286. It's amazing. I plan on buying a 2nd one. Everyone needs a 286. Try it & test it out for a bit. You won't be able to live without it!
286 is my dream come true blending brush. I love it.
+11points
14of 17found this review helpful.
Love286
Location: Toronto
Review 4 for 286 Duo Fibre Tapered Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Works great with concealer
Date:July 23, 2012
Tags: Blending, concealer
Love this brush for blending liquid concealer. I use it with pro longwear concealer and it blends beautifully under the eyes and on spots and blemishes. Definitely a must to have in my kit.
+10points
11of 12found this review helpful.
YMKham
Location: Tampa, FL
Review 5 for 286 Duo Fibre Tapered Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
The BEST eye brush!
Date:November 4, 2012
Tags: Blending, Shading, Applying
I bought the 286 brush on a whim, as I have about a dozen MAC eye brushes. It sat in my brush roll for a while.I recently began using it and OMG, this has become my go-to brush for putting color on the crease of the eye. It blends sooo much better than the 217 without color fall out into the face and with using very little shadow. I haven't tried it with pigment yet, but imagine it will perform just as well. All you need is this and the 239 for packing or foiling color on the lid. The best $31 I ever spent!
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Student4Life
Location: SoFla
Review 6 for 286 Duo Fibre Tapered Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
My Go to Brush for almost everything
Date:October 4, 2012
Tags: Blending, Shading, blending creamy & liquid products.
I absolutely love this brush and cannot get enough of them...(I currently have 3 of them). I use this brush for all things cream or liquid. I use it to blend my cream products in the eye area. I use it to apply paintpots, concealer, cream color bases, etc...The dual fibres smooth the products out flawlessly and effortlessly.
I highly recommend this brush!!!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
GinaAve
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Review 7 for 286 Duo Fibre Tapered Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great for concealer application!
Date:September 21, 2012
Tags: Blending, Applying, applying and blending concealer
I have used this brush on several of my clients. It works wonders! You get the coverage needed in the tights spots where fingers just can't get. When you don't want to use your fingers, this brush will do the trick. The duo fibers are great for concealer coverage. Awesome tool!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Alayna
Location: Chicago, Il
Review 8 for 286 Duo Fibre Tapered Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Great brush
Date:March 9, 2014
Tags: Blending, Shading, Applying, the crease
I ordered this brush and I was super disappointed that when it arrived it had been squished flat by the rest of my order :( I have been trying to work it back to its original shape (which we all know is next to impossible) but I have used it in my crease with my new eye shadows and I do love it, the brush itself is great! I just wish whoever was packing the orders was more careful.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Proartistkate
Review 9 for 286 Duo Fibre Tapered Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Top Notch
Date:December 21, 2012
Tags: Blending
Amazing brush that blends creams or powders. I love useing it in my crease to build color from a wash to high impact. its a wonderful shape for multi uses. i'll def be adding a second to my collection.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
JMAC
Location: Vallley, AL
Review 10 for 286 Duo Fibre Tapered Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Essential Brush
Date:April 18, 2014
Tags: Blending
I didn't plan on buying a brush the last time I was at a MAC store, but I tried on some shadow that needed some blending. I grabbed this one from a salesperson and it worked better than the 224 I have at home. Definitely a must-have in your kit.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Tennis29
Location: Washington, DC
Review 11 for 286 Duo Fibre Tapered Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Ok
Date:April 4, 2014
Decent blending brush, not the best but it gets the job done
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
SamSandy
Review 12 for 286 Duo Fibre Tapered Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
question
Date:May 17, 2013
Tags: Blending
i bought this brush at nordstrom and when i compare it to my other MAC brushes its much shorter and the end of the handle comes to a point as well as it says china rather than japan on the handle and the silver part up top it smooth rather than ridged. Is this how the brush is so posed to be? i do adore this brush but it seems so different from every other MAC brush
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
courtlovesgucci
Location: pittsburgh PA
Review 13 for 286 Duo Fibre Tapered Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Date:September 18, 2013
Tags: Applying
Love this brush for apply my crease color!!
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
CSLONE
Review 14 for 286 Duo Fibre Tapered Blending Brush
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Just ok
Date:April 1, 2012
The brush handle was lighter than some of my older MAC brushes. It was a little too big for my eyes but this is a good concealer brush.
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Ericka82
Location: GA