Product Reviews

MAC Opulash Optimum Black

Average Customer Rating:
3.714 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews for Opulash Optimum Black
Review 1 for Opulash Optimum Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
All I ever wanted
Date:July 1, 2013
Tags: Volumizing/Curls
This is the best mascara I have ever used. I love the long, thick brush and applicator. It brushes on smoothly, no clumps. I have long lashes, on the straighter side, but this mascara brings out the curves. It does get a bit dried out a bit sooner than I would like, which is why I am only giving it 4 stars, but it is a great product overall. It definitely does last 15 hours on my lashes without smudging or flaking. Love it!
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
KrisTH
Location: IL
Review 2 for Opulash Optimum Black
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
not worth the money
Date:August 7, 2014
Tags: Defining
I have very long lashes and while the product went on okay, I would have flakes of mascara that would fall on my cheeks throughout the day resulting in speckles of black on my face, or streaks of black (if wiped off) which would then result in me rubbing my face to get the streaks off, and removing some of my makeup.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
lipsticklove13
Location: philly
Review 3 for Opulash Optimum Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Amazing!
Date:January 2, 2012
Tags: Defining, Dramatic, Volumizing/Curls, Lengthening
I recently switched from Opulash regular to this and I am blown away...drama, no flakes, volume, no smudges...everything I need is here.
+13points
15of 17found this review helpful.
verybecca
Location: Brooklyn
Review 4 for Opulash Optimum Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
♥♥♥♥♥♥♥!!
Date:September 4, 2012
Tags: Defining, Dramatic, Volumizing/Curls, Lengthening, Natural
Love This! Very Buildable, Minimal Flaking, Clumps If You Put Too Much On, But It Can Really Thicken Your Lashes If You Put It On Right!
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
LanaLyn
Location: Toledo, OH
Review 5 for Opulash Optimum Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Serious black
Date:September 14, 2011
Tags: lengthening and defining lashes
Optimum Black is a *very* good mascara, though not quite perfect.
True to its name, it is an intense, rich black. The large brush takes some getting used to, but the mascara goes on smoothly, lengthens nicely, holds a curl beautifully, and doesn't clump or look heavy. Best of all, it stays all day, without giving me the dreaded "panda eyes," even on my very oily skin.
There is some minimal flaking, but not for hours. Optimum Black doesn't impart much volume, but over Prep + Prime Lash, it gives me long "fluttery" dark lashes, which I love.
I'm so glad this is permanent!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
CNo64
Location: Texas, U.S.A.
Review 6 for Opulash Optimum Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Black, but Big Brush
Date:December 27, 2011
Tags: Volumizing/Curls, Dramatic
Being the first MAC mascara I've ever purchased, I was skeptical when I used it for the first time. I'm extremely satisfied with it- the black is very intense, and gives great volume. It also comes off with ease, yet stays for the whole day. The only downside was the brush, it seems too big, so it's hard to get your lashes near your tear duct. Other than that, I love it.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
macmascara
Review 7 for Opulash Optimum Black
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Too smudgy
Date:November 12, 2012
Very black, but smeared too much.
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Anonymous
Location: Vienna, VA
Review 8 for Opulash Optimum Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Wonderful Mascara
Date:November 21, 2012
Tags: Volumizing/Curls
I don't know how new this mascara is, but it is great. It does what it says it does and does not smudge all day. I have rather nice lashes, and this mascara thickens and curls and looks so nice and natural. I love it, hope it stays around!
Marie
Edison, New Jersey
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Nettie
Location: New Jersey
Review 9 for Opulash Optimum Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
LOVE IT!!!!
Date:September 21, 2011
Tags: volume dark lashes
I was a little skeptical of trying a new mascara since Im picky about mascaras to begin with. But when I ran out of my usual brand, I decided to try this one at the urging of a friend.
I am so glad I did!!! it is INTENSELY black, goes on easily, and I ADORE the long wand!!!! The end is thicker than most normal mascaras, but That is one of the reasons I love it. My lashes are super thick and long, so the larger tip makes it easier to apply in a few swipes. And it is a wire tip so you can bend it. I am replacing my usual mascara with this one!!! Definitely recommend you buy it!!!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
rita0317
Location: FL
Review 10 for Opulash Optimum Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Does what it says...
Date:August 20, 2012
Tags: Volumizing/Curls, Defining, Natural
I buy this product regularly as it lasts 12+ hours and under difficult conditions. It does not flake or run and goes on quick, easy, and looks great with minimal effort.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
JustMe
Location: Over here
Review 11 for Opulash Optimum Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Amazing in every way
Date:October 20, 2011
Tags: Volumizing/Curls, Lengthening, special events, everyday, Waterproof
I wanted to try this out before my wedding to see if it could hold up under all of the pressures of the day. It surpassed my expectations: grueling trips to the gym, long hours at work, tears (some serious tears), hiking expeditions, and traveling all over the country. It never budged. My eyelashes are on the sparse side and blonde, but with this mascara, they look amazing, thick, long, and black. I don't have enough room to rave about this. I'm now a devoted, one-mascara kind of girl.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
GirlbytheSea
Location: California
Review 12 for Opulash Optimum Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
AMAZING
Date:October 1, 2011
Tags: Lengthening, volumizing, thickening lashes
I just ran out of a mascara and was in need of a new one. I was already ordering things off the MAC website and decided to get this mascara based on the ad for it. I am so happy I chose to get it! My lashes are long but this mascara makes them so much thicker and longer! The black is an intense pure black :) I love this mascara! My only complaint is that the wand is so big it gets on my eyelids but that I just rub off w/ a q-tip and its no big deal :D
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
amazedcustomer
Review 13 for Opulash Optimum Black
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Not a Fav
Date:July 5, 2012
dries out too fast for me. brush is too think.
cant love everything!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Butnessa
Location: Santa barbara
Review 14 for Opulash Optimum Black
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Fat Brush!!
Date:September 23, 2011
Tags: women who have longer lashes
The brush was to fat for my lashes!!! I gave it to my daughter who has longer lashes!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
VLPT
Location: Texas