Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator

Average Customer Rating:
4.761 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Review 1 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
LOVE THIS!!!
Date:August 27, 2013
Tags: Gentle, Creamy, Effective, exfoliating cleansing
This is an AWSOME exfoliator!! I am all about skincare first....makeup second. I try different skincare products alll the time from department stores; drug stores; online, etc; however, I have to be careful because I have sensitive skin. I usually only purchase makeup from MAC but I went to the MAC store with my daughter and she purchased the ash exfoliator, so of course I tried it and LOOOOOVED it. I will be purchasing my own very soon.
I use to work in the cosmetic/skincare industry for over ten years; one company I worked for sold pharmaceutical grade skincare products including an exfoliator and I thought it was the best. I have been converted, I will be using MAC's ash exfoliator from now on....DON'T CHANGE THE FORMULA.
It leaves my skin feeling so smooth, soft, supple and polished; like I just had a facial. I'm over 40 and it makes me look younger.....I keep looking in the mirror :D
GREAT PRODUCE MAC!
+62points
63of 64found this review helpful.
Melrose
Location: King of Prussia, PA
Review 2 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Date:February 23, 2014
Tags: Refreshing, Effective
HANDS DOWN BEST EXFOLIATOR EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This product seriously leaves your skin feeling like you just had a mini facial, brightens and energizes instantly. after the first use there's a noticeable difference in skins appearance.i have exclusively used MAC products for the last 5+yrs but this is seriously the best and most impressive product ive ever purchased!!!!!!!!!!!
+16points
16of 16found this review helpful.
loohoo
Location: maine
Review 3 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
I Love this stuff
Date:January 19, 2014
Tags: Effective
Volcanic ash exfoliator makes my skin feel so soft and smooth. I Love it!!!
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Jessi2380
Location: Pasadena
Review 4 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Makes skin baby soft and clear
Date:July 29, 2014
Tags: Gentle, Foaming, Creamy, Refreshing, Effective
This makes me feel like I have entirely brand new skin, or like I got back the skin I was born with as a baby. It really softens, clears, and brightens the skin, and improves the look of pores. After I use this, I just want to sit there and enjoy the feeling of perfect skin without applying anything else. This product belongs in the cosmetics Hall of Fame, if there were such a thing
+5points
7of 9found this review helpful.
Peachy
Location: Atlanta
Review 5 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
FANTASTIC
Date:April 30, 2013
Tags: Refreshing, Effective
I love this exfoliater more than life itself, it's a heavy duty scrub that gets rid of all the gunk below skins surface and leaves your skin with a glow, not an instant one, but one that develops since it removes a layer of skin! Don't use this more than 3 times a week unless you have heavy acne and oil problems, or else it could potentially dry your skin. It leaves you feeling refereshed and like you got new skin! Works best after your wash your face with the Cleanse off oil and soap and water. Do not apply straight on to your fully made up face, it doesn't cut as deep into skin's pores if you decide to do that!
+32points
37of 42found this review helpful.
Mctransie
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Review 6 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
MAKE THIS PERMANENT!!!!!!! Pretty please?
Date:August 6, 2012
Tags: Gentle, Foaming, Refreshing, Effective, everyone!, acne prone skin, dry flaky skin, oily skin
I have been obsessed with this product ever since its first release. I had sun poisoning and my skin was peeling REALLY badly. I went into Mac to see if they had a good heavy cream (which they did and it was wonderful) but they recommended this exfoliator too. I was desperate so I bought what i found out later was the last jar. Had I known how limited it was I wouldn't have used it on my whole body. But it WORKED MIRACLES!! Ever since that first jar I stop EVERY time I pass a Mac counter to ask about this product. Every two and a half years or so is UNACCEPTABLE for such an amazing product! I use it nearly every day when I have it. My acne prone combination skin clears up and balances out within three uses. I swear I even see an improvement on my old acne scars. If you can't or won't make it permanent can you at least bring it around once a year? Pretty pretty please? :)
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
Chriss
Location: Charlotte, NC
Review 7 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
AAH-MAZING!
Date:October 2, 2013
Tags: Refreshing, Effective
Originally, I asked for a sample of the volcanic ash exfoliator at the MAC counter. Took it home and tried it..... and went back the next day for the full-size product. It has a clean, earthy (nature-ish) scent, which is actually nice in the mornings when you're washing your face. The product looks a little gross when you use it, like dirty, but it worked wonders for me. This scrub left my skin soft and pleasant feeling, and moisturizer and makeup went on more evenly. It seemed that my face glowed.... but that was probably due to how clean it got from like one use of this. Great product overall!!!
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
purplediamonds
Location: LA
Review 8 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
GREAT
Date:June 5, 2014
Tags: Effective
leaves my skin smooth .. love love love
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
phanieramirez
Location: Stockton
Review 9 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
I LOVE THIS!
Date:August 16, 2012
Tags: Gentle, Foaming, Refreshing, Effective, a refreshing clean feeling for all skin types!
I bought this on a whim, knowing the benefits of natural cleansers and trusting in MAC's reputation in spectacular products. This exceeded my expectations by far - so much so that I purchased 2 more bottles as back up when I learned that this not a permanent product in their line. I have normal/oily skin with a few blemishes here and there and I also have senstive skin. This was not only an effective product, it left my skin feeling refreshed and clean like no other exfoliator I have ever experienced in my life.
I would reccomend this to anyone....its fantastic!!!
Dear MAC, PLEASE MAKE THIS A PERMANENT OPTION IN YOUR LINE! I LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Shanneeepants
Location: West Chester, Pa
Review 10 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
AMAZING
Date:January 20, 2014
Tags: softens skin
worth the price!! It's exactly what I was looking for it takes out the after math of my mac matchmaster 3.0 foundation.it gives me that extra scrub I need after washing my face. I LOVE IT!!
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Mely
Location: Texas
Review 11 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Amazing!
Date:February 9, 2013
Tags: Refreshing, Effective
This product really works wonders. I purchased this earlier last week. Before going to bed i tried it out. I had a few breakouts and the next morning they were almost gone. After using this for a week my skin has become much clearer. I'm so glad it's permanent. This product is absolutely amazing!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Naty12
Location: Montreal
Review 12 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Worst product ever....
Date:February 20, 2013
Worst product I have ever purchased from MAC and I’ve been using their makeup for over 10 years. I bought this exfoliator because my skin had become a little drier than normal during the winter months. Not only did this do nothing for sloughing off dead skin, it also caused my face to break out like crazy. I've never had a reaction like this to anything and it has taken months of non-use for my skin to bounce back to normal. It is rare for me to even get a pimple let alone "breakout" so trust me when I say this product made my face a complete mess. For all those quick reviewers (i.e. people who review products right away without giving them a chance to see what they actually do) I also loved this product at first but be aware if your skin starts breaking out after the first few uses - it's probably not hormonal and it won’t get better no matter how much you like the smell and feel of the product itself. Speaking of which, this product is loaded with perfume. I don't know why MAC seems to be putting so much of it in their products lately. I returned this after using it for a month.
+5points
8of 11found this review helpful.
mMAC
Review 13 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
best exfoliator ever
Date:October 11, 2014
Tags: Gentle, Foaming, Creamy, Refreshing, Effective, exfoliating
love the scent, skin brightening, smooth skin. If I could get away with it, I'd use this everyday!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
mascarajunkie
Review 14 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Like Cleansing your face with ROCKS
Date:February 28, 2013
Tags: strong fragrance, black, scratchy, rough
I read all the reviews before purchasing this, but I have to say, I don't know WHO would EVER tag this as "gentle"???? It felt like cleansing my face with pumice stones. Very rough, very scratchy and kind of terrifying. It does look fairly entertaining when you put it on because it's like black facepaint, so there's that...
Hard to rinse off and has a strong fragrance also. Thinking this product is not a friend to anyone with sensitive skin in any way, and honestly I wouldn't recommend anyone use it on anything but their feet maybe. I can only imagine how horrible this would feel if your skin was already broken out. :::shudder:::
I will probably return it or save it for pedicures when my feet are really calloused from going barefoot in the summer.
Disappointing.
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
NinjaGlamour
Location: Midwest US
Review 15 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
LOVE
Date:August 6, 2012
Tags: Gentle, Foaming, Refreshing, Effective
I love this stuff. I have two back-ups. LOL Im actually gonna order a few more. :O)
It smells lovely, i love how it makes me skin feel. SOOOO soft. The only thing i dont like is that i can only use it twice a week :O)
Most times, i use it three times a week... I just love it SO much! Its lovely for dry skin.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
stevia
Location: texas
Review 16 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
I love it.
Date:June 13, 2013
Tags: Refreshing
This exfoliator is very good in my opinion. I have dead skin pealing from my nose and forehead area. I used this about 3 times and it gently removed ALL the dead skin from those areas. And the smell is nice too.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
ke3515
Location: Miami
Review 17 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
The BEST Exfoliator!
Date:September 9, 2014
Tags: Refreshing, Effective, exfoliation
I love this stuff! It leaves my skin so soft and clean. I absolutely LOVE how it smells. My skin feels polished afterwards.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
tmichelle
Location: atlanta
Review 18 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Pretty decent
Date:August 16, 2014
I am giving this a 3 out of 5 only because it has fragrance to it and I dont know if it really has that much volcanic ash in it due to the fact it isnt listed within the first three ingredients. I personally like the scent but if you have sensitive or dry skin you want to avoid any product with fragrance if possible. On the other hand it works nicely but I have used cheaper exfoliants that leave my skin feeling softer then this. I know theres alot of complaints about the sugar dissolving fast but I assume its so that you dont over exfoliate your skin. In my opinion the sugar last long enough.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
ashez
Location: Colorado
Review 19 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
BEST EXFOLIATOR!!!
Date:August 19, 2014
Tags: Gentle, Refreshing, Effective, everyone
This product is amazing. I tried it last night for the first time and I was so impressed with the results that I had to call all my friends to tell them about it. It left my skin so soft and smooth and just perfect. I cant wait to finish my sample to go buy some. Its worth the price.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Abreu
Location: Roosevelt field mall
Review 20 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
AMAZING!
Date:July 22, 2012
Tags: Gentle, Foaming, Refreshing, Effective
I have oily, sensitive, acne prone skin and was a little nervous about trying this out. I was pleasantly surprised that my face did not break out at all from using this product! My face felt so smooth and refreshed after using it and it has replaced the previous exfoliator in my regimen. If you are considering buying this product, DO IT! It sells out fast since MAC won't (for whatever crazy reason) make this permanent.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
NiecyL
Location: Texas
1-20 of 46 reviews