Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator

Average Customer Rating:
4.706 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Review 1 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
LOVE
Date:December 5, 2014
Tags: Gentle, Foaming, Refreshing, Effective
I have dry/normal skin with some rosacea. My skin is hard to please. I washed my face w/ the lightful cleanser and loved it. With a clean face I used the volcanic ash exfoliator. I left it on 2 mins. Before I used the volcanic ash, I had some acne on my face that hadn't surfaced yet or I had not seen yet. After using, my face was perfectly clean, soft and smooth AND (in a good way), it brought my acne to the surface from deep beneath the skin! I actually feel like the zips erupted like a *volcano* in a good way and I was able to clear them out and treat them with the Lightful Lotion (which is like a toner and I use with a cotton round). I decided if I got that good of results, I would do it again, just on the few zits. After the 2nd time (about 5 mins), the zits calmed down a bit. I cannot believe how well this works! I would rather it bring up a few rough deep zits than have them sit in there making my skin ugly. Also, I thought my nose piercing had closed in completely since I took the nose ring out nearly a year ago, and I have not seen a hole--until I used this product. I am grossed out to know that despite how many cleaners I have used and how well I clean my face everyday, that I have not unclogged my piercing hole until now (I have used many other exfoliators this year). I can always put foundation over it to cover it but I LOVE that this stuff unclogs my skin so I know what I'm dealing with, yet making it so healthy feeling and definitely not over-dried, like most exfoliants do. I LOVE this stuff
+17points
18of 19found this review helpful.
craycraymomma
Location: Tx
Review 2 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
LOVE THIS!!!
Date:August 27, 2013
Tags: Gentle, Creamy, Effective, exfoliating cleansing
This is an AWSOME exfoliator!! I am all about skincare first....makeup second. I try different skincare products alll the time from department stores; drug stores; online, etc; however, I have to be careful because I have sensitive skin. I usually only purchase makeup from MAC but I went to the MAC store with my daughter and she purchased the ash exfoliator, so of course I tried it and LOOOOOVED it. I will be purchasing my own very soon.
I use to work in the cosmetic/skincare industry for over ten years; one company I worked for sold pharmaceutical grade skincare products including an exfoliator and I thought it was the best. I have been converted, I will be using MAC's ash exfoliator from now on....DON'T CHANGE THE FORMULA.
It leaves my skin feeling so smooth, soft, supple and polished; like I just had a facial. I'm over 40 and it makes me look younger.....I keep looking in the mirror :D
GREAT PRODUCE MAC!
+84points
87of 90found this review helpful.
Melrose
Location: King of Prussia, PA
Review 3 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Date:February 23, 2014
Tags: Refreshing, Effective
HANDS DOWN BEST EXFOLIATOR EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This product seriously leaves your skin feeling like you just had a mini facial, brightens and energizes instantly. after the first use there's a noticeable difference in skins appearance.i have exclusively used MAC products for the last 5+yrs but this is seriously the best and most impressive product ive ever purchased!!!!!!!!!!!
+26points
26of 26found this review helpful.
loohoo
Location: maine
Review 4 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
MAKE THIS PERMANENT!!!!!!! Pretty please?
Date:August 6, 2012
Tags: Gentle, Foaming, Refreshing, Effective, everyone!, acne prone skin, dry flaky skin, oily skin
I have been obsessed with this product ever since its first release. I had sun poisoning and my skin was peeling REALLY badly. I went into Mac to see if they had a good heavy cream (which they did and it was wonderful) but they recommended this exfoliator too. I was desperate so I bought what i found out later was the last jar. Had I known how limited it was I wouldn't have used it on my whole body. But it WORKED MIRACLES!! Ever since that first jar I stop EVERY time I pass a Mac counter to ask about this product. Every two and a half years or so is UNACCEPTABLE for such an amazing product! I use it nearly every day when I have it. My acne prone combination skin clears up and balances out within three uses. I swear I even see an improvement on my old acne scars. If you can't or won't make it permanent can you at least bring it around once a year? Pretty pretty please? :)
+15points
15of 15found this review helpful.
Chriss
Location: Charlotte, NC
Review 5 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
FANTASTIC
Date:April 30, 2013
Tags: Refreshing, Effective
I love this exfoliater more than life itself, it's a heavy duty scrub that gets rid of all the gunk below skins surface and leaves your skin with a glow, not an instant one, but one that develops since it removes a layer of skin! Don't use this more than 3 times a week unless you have heavy acne and oil problems, or else it could potentially dry your skin. It leaves you feeling refereshed and like you got new skin! Works best after your wash your face with the Cleanse off oil and soap and water. Do not apply straight on to your fully made up face, it doesn't cut as deep into skin's pores if you decide to do that!
+36points
41of 46found this review helpful.
Mctransie
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Review 6 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
AAH-MAZING!
Date:October 2, 2013
Tags: Refreshing, Effective
Originally, I asked for a sample of the volcanic ash exfoliator at the MAC counter. Took it home and tried it..... and went back the next day for the full-size product. It has a clean, earthy (nature-ish) scent, which is actually nice in the mornings when you're washing your face. The product looks a little gross when you use it, like dirty, but it worked wonders for me. This scrub left my skin soft and pleasant feeling, and moisturizer and makeup went on more evenly. It seemed that my face glowed.... but that was probably due to how clean it got from like one use of this. Great product overall!!!
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
purplediamonds
Location: LA
Review 7 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
My favorite Item
Date:February 13, 2015
Tags: Effective, exfoliator
I bought this item a long time ago, ill say at least more then 6 months ago and I am barely running out. I love this exfoliator so much I had to leave it a review. You only need a tiny bit each time you use it. I exfoliate about 2-3 times a week after washing my face first and I leave it on for about 5 minutes the rise off with cold water it leaves my face feeling clean and soft. Today I came to website to order another one before I completely run out. I do have sensitive and i didn't find it irritating at all.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
ZURILuce
Location: HOUSTON
Review 8 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
LOVE IT !
Date:January 3, 2015
Tags: Gentle, Refreshing, Effective, cleaning
I generally don't write reviews but i couldn't help myself on this. This stuff is seriously the best ! You notice a difference right away. It left my skin super soft and felt so clean. I love this exfoliator and would recommend it to everyone !
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
kgrewal
Review 9 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
I Love this stuff
Date:January 19, 2014
Tags: Effective
Volcanic ash exfoliator makes my skin feel so soft and smooth. I Love it!!!
+11points
12of 13found this review helpful.
Jessi2380
Location: Pasadena
Review 10 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Makes skin baby soft and clear
Date:July 29, 2014
Tags: Gentle, Foaming, Creamy, Refreshing, Effective
This makes me feel like I have entirely brand new skin, or like I got back the skin I was born with as a baby. It really softens, clears, and brightens the skin, and improves the look of pores. After I use this, I just want to sit there and enjoy the feeling of perfect skin without applying anything else. This product belongs in the cosmetics Hall of Fame, if there were such a thing
+6points
8of 10found this review helpful.
Peachy
Location: Atlanta
Review 11 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Amazing Stuff!!
Date:January 26, 2015
Tags: Refreshing, Effective
I just used this product, at the recommendation of a friend. I was skeptical at first, because I have combination skin. Oily in some places, overly dry in others. It wasn't harsh at all. My skin feels SO smooth and soft. Seriously, never have I ever used a product that's made my skin feel like this. I HIGHLY recommend this to ANYone! I'm already anticipating purchasing my next tube, and I just cracked this one open! This is the first ever MAC product I've ever purchased, and now .. I'm ready to purchase more. I'm a believer!!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Amanda5979
Location: Oregon
Review 12 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
I LOVE THIS!
Date:August 16, 2012
Tags: Gentle, Foaming, Refreshing, Effective, a refreshing clean feeling for all skin types!
I bought this on a whim, knowing the benefits of natural cleansers and trusting in MAC's reputation in spectacular products. This exceeded my expectations by far - so much so that I purchased 2 more bottles as back up when I learned that this not a permanent product in their line. I have normal/oily skin with a few blemishes here and there and I also have senstive skin. This was not only an effective product, it left my skin feeling refreshed and clean like no other exfoliator I have ever experienced in my life.
I would reccomend this to anyone....its fantastic!!!
Dear MAC, PLEASE MAKE THIS A PERMANENT OPTION IN YOUR LINE! I LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Shanneeepants
Location: West Chester, Pa
Review 13 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
GREAT
Date:June 5, 2014
Tags: Effective
leaves my skin smooth .. love love love
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
phanieramirez
Location: Stockton
Review 14 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Amazing!
Date:February 9, 2013
Tags: Refreshing, Effective
This product really works wonders. I purchased this earlier last week. Before going to bed i tried it out. I had a few breakouts and the next morning they were almost gone. After using this for a week my skin has become much clearer. I'm so glad it's permanent. This product is absolutely amazing!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Naty12
Location: Montreal
Review 15 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
AMAZING
Date:January 20, 2014
Tags: softens skin
worth the price!! It's exactly what I was looking for it takes out the after math of my mac matchmaster 3.0 foundation.it gives me that extra scrub I need after washing my face. I LOVE IT!!
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Mely
Location: Texas
Review 16 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
LOVE
Date:August 6, 2012
Tags: Gentle, Foaming, Refreshing, Effective
I love this stuff. I have two back-ups. LOL Im actually gonna order a few more. :O)
It smells lovely, i love how it makes me skin feel. SOOOO soft. The only thing i dont like is that i can only use it twice a week :O)
Most times, i use it three times a week... I just love it SO much! Its lovely for dry skin.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
stevia
Location: texas
Review 17 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Worst product ever....
Date:February 20, 2013
Worst product I have ever purchased from MAC and I’ve been using their makeup for over 10 years. I bought this exfoliator because my skin had become a little drier than normal during the winter months. Not only did this do nothing for sloughing off dead skin, it also caused my face to break out like crazy. I've never had a reaction like this to anything and it has taken months of non-use for my skin to bounce back to normal. It is rare for me to even get a pimple let alone "breakout" so trust me when I say this product made my face a complete mess. For all those quick reviewers (i.e. people who review products right away without giving them a chance to see what they actually do) I also loved this product at first but be aware if your skin starts breaking out after the first few uses - it's probably not hormonal and it won’t get better no matter how much you like the smell and feel of the product itself. Speaking of which, this product is loaded with perfume. I don't know why MAC seems to be putting so much of it in their products lately. I returned this after using it for a month.
+4points
9of 14found this review helpful.
mMAC
Review 18 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
I love it.
Date:June 13, 2013
Tags: Refreshing
This exfoliator is very good in my opinion. I have dead skin pealing from my nose and forehead area. I used this about 3 times and it gently removed ALL the dead skin from those areas. And the smell is nice too.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
ke3515
Location: Miami
Review 19 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Like Cleansing your face with ROCKS
Date:February 28, 2013
Tags: strong fragrance, black, scratchy, rough
I read all the reviews before purchasing this, but I have to say, I don't know WHO would EVER tag this as "gentle"???? It felt like cleansing my face with pumice stones. Very rough, very scratchy and kind of terrifying. It does look fairly entertaining when you put it on because it's like black facepaint, so there's that...
Hard to rinse off and has a strong fragrance also. Thinking this product is not a friend to anyone with sensitive skin in any way, and honestly I wouldn't recommend anyone use it on anything but their feet maybe. I can only imagine how horrible this would feel if your skin was already broken out. :::shudder:::
I will probably return it or save it for pedicures when my feet are really calloused from going barefoot in the summer.
Disappointing.
+4points
6of 8found this review helpful.
NinjaGlamour
Location: Midwest US
Review 20 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
AMAZING!
Date:July 22, 2012
Tags: Gentle, Foaming, Refreshing, Effective
I have oily, sensitive, acne prone skin and was a little nervous about trying this out. I was pleasantly surprised that my face did not break out at all from using this product! My face felt so smooth and refreshed after using it and it has replaced the previous exfoliator in my regimen. If you are considering buying this product, DO IT! It sells out fast since MAC won't (for whatever crazy reason) make this permanent.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
NiecyL
Location: Texas
1-20 of 51 reviews