Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator

Average Customer Rating:
4.709 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Review 1 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
LOVE
Date:December 5, 2014
Tags: Gentle, Foaming, Refreshing, Effective
I have dry/normal skin with some rosacea. My skin is hard to please. I washed my face w/ the lightful cleanser and loved it. With a clean face I used the volcanic ash exfoliator. I left it on 2 mins. Before I used the volcanic ash, I had some acne on my face that hadn't surfaced yet or I had not seen yet. After using, my face was perfectly clean, soft and smooth AND (in a good way), it brought my acne to the surface from deep beneath the skin! I actually feel like the zips erupted like a *volcano* in a good way and I was able to clear them out and treat them with the Lightful Lotion (which is like a toner and I use with a cotton round). I decided if I got that good of results, I would do it again, just on the few zits. After the 2nd time (about 5 mins), the zits calmed down a bit. I cannot believe how well this works! I would rather it bring up a few rough deep zits than have them sit in there making my skin ugly. Also, I thought my nose piercing had closed in completely since I took the nose ring out nearly a year ago, and I have not seen a hole--until I used this product. I am grossed out to know that despite how many cleaners I have used and how well I clean my face everyday, that I have not unclogged my piercing hole until now (I have used many other exfoliators this year). I can always put foundation over it to cover it but I LOVE that this stuff unclogs my skin so I know what I'm dealing with, yet making it so healthy feeling and definitely not over-dried, like most exfoliants do. I LOVE this stuff
+24points
25of 26found this review helpful.
craycraymomma
Location: Tx
Review 2 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
My favorite Item
Date:February 13, 2015
Tags: Effective, exfoliator
I bought this item a long time ago, ill say at least more then 6 months ago and I am barely running out. I love this exfoliator so much I had to leave it a review. You only need a tiny bit each time you use it. I exfoliate about 2-3 times a week after washing my face first and I leave it on for about 5 minutes the rise off with cold water it leaves my face feeling clean and soft. Today I came to website to order another one before I completely run out. I do have sensitive and i didn't find it irritating at all.
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
ZURILuce
Location: HOUSTON
Review 3 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
LOVE THIS!!!
Date:August 27, 2013
Tags: Gentle, Creamy, Effective, exfoliating cleansing
This is an AWSOME exfoliator!! I am all about skincare first....makeup second. I try different skincare products alll the time from department stores; drug stores; online, etc; however, I have to be careful because I have sensitive skin. I usually only purchase makeup from MAC but I went to the MAC store with my daughter and she purchased the ash exfoliator, so of course I tried it and LOOOOOVED it. I will be purchasing my own very soon.
I use to work in the cosmetic/skincare industry for over ten years; one company I worked for sold pharmaceutical grade skincare products including an exfoliator and I thought it was the best. I have been converted, I will be using MAC's ash exfoliator from now on....DON'T CHANGE THE FORMULA.
It leaves my skin feeling so smooth, soft, supple and polished; like I just had a facial. I'm over 40 and it makes me look younger.....I keep looking in the mirror :D
GREAT PRODUCE MAC!
+90points
93of 96found this review helpful.
Melrose
Location: King of Prussia, PA
Review 4 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Date:February 23, 2014
Tags: Refreshing, Effective
HANDS DOWN BEST EXFOLIATOR EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This product seriously leaves your skin feeling like you just had a mini facial, brightens and energizes instantly. after the first use there's a noticeable difference in skins appearance.i have exclusively used MAC products for the last 5+yrs but this is seriously the best and most impressive product ive ever purchased!!!!!!!!!!!
+28points
28of 28found this review helpful.
loohoo
Location: maine
Review 5 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Amazing Stuff!!
Date:January 26, 2015
Tags: Refreshing, Effective
I just used this product, at the recommendation of a friend. I was skeptical at first, because I have combination skin. Oily in some places, overly dry in others. It wasn't harsh at all. My skin feels SO smooth and soft. Seriously, never have I ever used a product that's made my skin feel like this. I HIGHLY recommend this to ANYone! I'm already anticipating purchasing my next tube, and I just cracked this one open! This is the first ever MAC product I've ever purchased, and now .. I'm ready to purchase more. I'm a believer!!
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Amanda5979
Location: Oregon
Review 6 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
I am keeping this as part of my skincare regiment
Date:March 14, 2015
Tags: Refreshing, Effective, exfoliation
I just bought the volcanic ash exfoliator tonight. I've used it tonight and I love it!!!! My skin feels soft and smooth and I feel like I've had a facial!
Great product!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
LS7044
Location: Virginia
Review 7 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
AAH-MAZING!
Date:October 2, 2013
Tags: Refreshing, Effective
Originally, I asked for a sample of the volcanic ash exfoliator at the MAC counter. Took it home and tried it..... and went back the next day for the full-size product. It has a clean, earthy (nature-ish) scent, which is actually nice in the mornings when you're washing your face. The product looks a little gross when you use it, like dirty, but it worked wonders for me. This scrub left my skin soft and pleasant feeling, and moisturizer and makeup went on more evenly. It seemed that my face glowed.... but that was probably due to how clean it got from like one use of this. Great product overall!!!
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
purplediamonds
Location: LA
Review 8 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
FANTASTIC
Date:April 30, 2013
Tags: Refreshing, Effective
I love this exfoliater more than life itself, it's a heavy duty scrub that gets rid of all the gunk below skins surface and leaves your skin with a glow, not an instant one, but one that develops since it removes a layer of skin! Don't use this more than 3 times a week unless you have heavy acne and oil problems, or else it could potentially dry your skin. It leaves you feeling refereshed and like you got new skin! Works best after your wash your face with the Cleanse off oil and soap and water. Do not apply straight on to your fully made up face, it doesn't cut as deep into skin's pores if you decide to do that!
+39points
44of 49found this review helpful.
Mctransie
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Review 9 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
What a genius exfoliator!
Date:March 20, 2015
Tags: Refreshing, Effective, dry skin
I wanted to wait until a week later to write a review on this. I can honestly say this is the "genuis exfoliator". I have dry skin and it has help me moisturize my skin perfectly. I think for best results, I leave it on my face for about 5 to 7 mins and wash it off with warm water. It leaves my skin feeling like a brand-new face. Thanks MAC! You never disappoint me!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
SongbirdNation
Location: South Carolina
Review 10 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
MAKE THIS PERMANENT!!!!!!! Pretty please?
Date:August 6, 2012
Tags: Gentle, Foaming, Refreshing, Effective, everyone!, acne prone skin, dry flaky skin, oily skin
I have been obsessed with this product ever since its first release. I had sun poisoning and my skin was peeling REALLY badly. I went into Mac to see if they had a good heavy cream (which they did and it was wonderful) but they recommended this exfoliator too. I was desperate so I bought what i found out later was the last jar. Had I known how limited it was I wouldn't have used it on my whole body. But it WORKED MIRACLES!! Ever since that first jar I stop EVERY time I pass a Mac counter to ask about this product. Every two and a half years or so is UNACCEPTABLE for such an amazing product! I use it nearly every day when I have it. My acne prone combination skin clears up and balances out within three uses. I swear I even see an improvement on my old acne scars. If you can't or won't make it permanent can you at least bring it around once a year? Pretty pretty please? :)
+17points
18of 19found this review helpful.
Chriss
Location: Charlotte, NC
Review 11 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
LOVE IT !
Date:January 3, 2015
Tags: Gentle, Refreshing, Effective, cleaning
I generally don't write reviews but i couldn't help myself on this. This stuff is seriously the best ! You notice a difference right away. It left my skin super soft and felt so clean. I love this exfoliator and would recommend it to everyone !
+5points
7of 9found this review helpful.
kgrewal
Review 12 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
I LOVE THIS!
Date:August 16, 2012
Tags: Gentle, Foaming, Refreshing, Effective, a refreshing clean feeling for all skin types!
I bought this on a whim, knowing the benefits of natural cleansers and trusting in MAC's reputation in spectacular products. This exceeded my expectations by far - so much so that I purchased 2 more bottles as back up when I learned that this not a permanent product in their line. I have normal/oily skin with a few blemishes here and there and I also have senstive skin. This was not only an effective product, it left my skin feeling refreshed and clean like no other exfoliator I have ever experienced in my life.
I would reccomend this to anyone....its fantastic!!!
Dear MAC, PLEASE MAKE THIS A PERMANENT OPTION IN YOUR LINE! I LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
Shanneeepants
Location: West Chester, Pa
Review 13 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
I Love this stuff
Date:January 19, 2014
Tags: Effective
Volcanic ash exfoliator makes my skin feel so soft and smooth. I Love it!!!
+12points
13of 14found this review helpful.
Jessi2380
Location: Pasadena
Review 14 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Mineral snack for your skin
Date:April 9, 2015
Tags: Gentle, Refreshing, Effective
I tend to not like exfoliators because they either they dry out my combination skin or they are too harsh. This exfoliator is indeed different- first of all, its fun to smear over your skin because it feels like you're a kid again playing with dirt. :) But I digress...
I noticed that along with a nice smell it feels good- not too harsh. What feels even better is to let it sit on your skin for a minute or two. I don't know why, but it feels like your skin is soaking up the clean.
You can gently massage your skin with it and you won't feel like its scraping your face off. Rinses off quickly. I have used it twice so far and it makes my skin look AND feel soft. I pat a light layer of Comfort Creme afterwards, and my skin feels completely refreshed. It does indeed help even out your skin tone.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
NoDoubt
Location: Arizona
Review 15 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Makes skin baby soft and clear
Date:July 29, 2014
Tags: Gentle, Foaming, Creamy, Refreshing, Effective
This makes me feel like I have entirely brand new skin, or like I got back the skin I was born with as a baby. It really softens, clears, and brightens the skin, and improves the look of pores. After I use this, I just want to sit there and enjoy the feeling of perfect skin without applying anything else. This product belongs in the cosmetics Hall of Fame, if there were such a thing
+8points
10of 12found this review helpful.
Peachy
Location: Atlanta
Review 16 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Amazing!
Date:February 9, 2013
Tags: Refreshing, Effective
This product really works wonders. I purchased this earlier last week. Before going to bed i tried it out. I had a few breakouts and the next morning they were almost gone. After using this for a week my skin has become much clearer. I'm so glad it's permanent. This product is absolutely amazing!
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Naty12
Location: Montreal
Review 17 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
GREAT
Date:June 5, 2014
Tags: Effective
leaves my skin smooth .. love love love
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
phanieramirez
Location: Stockton
Review 18 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
I love it.
Date:June 13, 2013
Tags: Refreshing
This exfoliator is very good in my opinion. I have dead skin pealing from my nose and forehead area. I used this about 3 times and it gently removed ALL the dead skin from those areas. And the smell is nice too.
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
ke3515
Location: Miami
Review 19 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
best exfoliator ever
Date:October 11, 2014
Tags: Gentle, Foaming, Creamy, Refreshing, Effective, exfoliating
love the scent, skin brightening, smooth skin. If I could get away with it, I'd use this everyday!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
mascarajunkie
Review 20 for Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
IT DOES EXACTLY WHAT IT SAYS!!
Date:April 19, 2015
Tags: Gentle, Foaming, Creamy, Refreshing, Effective, exfoliating your face, leaving skin feeling soft clean free hydrant
I went to a mac stand at Macy's, planning on buying a BB Cream, when one of the lovely employs assisted me in trying the BB cream on, we realized that my skin was dry and peeling, so the BB cream was not applying on my face so well because of that. He recommended me to buy this two days ago and so far I am in love!!! It leaves my skin feeling free, soft, clean, unclogged, no peeling and better than my face has ever felt before. The only reason I give this product a 4/5 is because i have only been using it for going on 3 days now so I don't quite know if it will have any bad effects on me later on or if it doesn't show a great amount of improvement later on. But for now, so far- this is amazing! I recommend you getting it without a second thought! This is my first MAC product, next week i will return for a follow up and will buy a moisturizer for my face and continue from there!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Vall
Location: Massachussets
1-20 of 55 reviews