Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35

Average Customer Rating:
4.019 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
4
Customer Reviews for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Review 1 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
My skin said "Yes"
Date:January 6, 2014
Tags: natural looking skin primer everyday wear, get up and go makeup busy people
This is the best product I have purchased in sometime now. I wanted something for those days when I don't want to wear heavy makeup and this is perfect! I finished the look off with mac's skinfinish natural and it gives me the no makeup but makeup look that you see so often in your favorite beauty and fashion magazines. As a busy Mother of 4 and business owner I don't have time sometimes to do a full out face and this will def. become my go to everyday wear. I must add that these photos are so wrong!!! I am nc42 in macs prolongwear foundation and I purchased dark in the bb creme at the counter..online dark looks basically an ebony color and I am not that dark! I highly recommend going to the store to purchase the first time to make sure you have the correct shade as the photos are nothing more than wrong! Hope this helps!
+37points
39of 41found this review helpful.
Yourfavlashguru
Location: Mauldin, SC
Review 2 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Incredible!
Date:January 22, 2014
Tags: covering imperfections, luminous skin
I've always heard about BB products, but I never tried them because I have Rosacea. I wear a tinted medicated moisturizer over my skin. I figured I could never get a color to match where it would look natural. Boy, was I wrong. This incredible product in the color Light Plus matches my skin perfectly. My brown spots on the side of my face are gone. I have a wonderful luminous glow. I no longer need any under eye concealer which is amazing because I have hereditary under eye circles. My skin is so smooth the rest of my make-up glides on smoothly and my skin is so soft. Use Brush #188, It loses a lot of hairs in the process, but works perfectly for applying this product. I originally purchased the color Medium Plus which was too dark. Returned for Light Plus which was perfect. Don't give up on the color - - it's well worth experimenting.
+10points
11of 12found this review helpful.
Dooney
Location: Medford, OR
Review 3 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
BB cream is amazing but only useful to some
Date:December 29, 2012
Tags: fair to light complexions, dry skin, minimal need for cover up
I just bought this beauty balm on the recommendation of MAC saleswoman when I said I wanted a liquid foundation to use under my powder (my usual foundation) to fill in a few acne scars and basically do what powder foundation can't. She recommended the BB balm and applied it to my face. She said it helps minimize redness as well. She used the "light plus" shade. I bought it and I am oh so glad I did. I tried it at home myself and works perfectly! I almost don't even need to apply any foundation or powder on top. I certainly don't have perfect skin. Even in my late 20's I still have breakouts occasionally and I have a few light acne scars, but this product makes my skin appear much clearer than it is. I also have fairly dry skin, especially in the winter so this product helps prevent the flakiness you get with powder foundation.
The downside....the limited color selection. I looked this product up online after I purchased it and was SHOCKED to find my "shade" was the darkest they made. You have got to be kidding me! I have pretty fair/light skin and usually wear the shade just above the lightest shade in foundations (I have never used MAC before so I don't know my MAC foundation shade.) My undertone is neutral. The light plus matches my skin exactly. If my shade in this beauty balm is the darkest they make I can't imagine how many people are excluded. MAC really should make a larger variety of tones for this particular product and maybe if enough people make these comments they will.
+17points
19of 21found this review helpful.
hkras
Location: Columbus, OH
Review 4 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Way too light
Date:January 8, 2014
Tags: smoothing/evening
I wear NC 35 in studio fix foundation. The salesman gave me light. I look like a mime. Love the formula, hate the color. Smooths and perfects but go darker. Trust me.
+11points
13of 15found this review helpful.
MrsCadle
Location: Richlands, VA
Review 5 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Beauty Balm Rocks!!!!!
Date:March 15, 2014
Tags: flawless face, buildable coverage, natural smooth texture
I went to MAC in Orland Square Mall and Jacara was so nice to apply this BB cream to my face and wow did I look amazing. She put the Prep & Prime CC Pen in Peach Lustre to correct my imperfections and NW45 studio fix concealer to conceal. Then she use the 130 brush to apply Dark Deep BB cream all over my face and set everything with the CC Loose Powder in Recharge. My skin was so flawless and just pretty. I was so having a vanity moment ladies, usually I am a lot more humble about myself but not this time. LOL. It creates an amazingly smooth and flawless appearance too. I like to apply the BB cream with the 159 brush (if you don't have, after you read this review, get it) after putting on my studio fix concealer. Then I moisten my beauty blender with water to enlarge it and spray some fix + on it and smooth everything out. Creates an even smooth application to the face. Stay Faceful ladies!!!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Silkylady
Location: Chicago
Review 6 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Thick and very light.
Date:March 1, 2012
Tags: women with very fair skin
I tried two other BB creams before I tried MAC Prep + Prime BB. One was too yellow. The other one was pretty good, but not perfect. I was hoping MAC would be perfect. However, the product is VERY LIGHT. My skin isn't very dark but I do tend to wear light to medium shades in foundations. The BB cream was very obvious on my skin. It looked like I was wearing foundation that was about two shades too light. Aside from the color problem, the formulation is also very thick and tends to dry before you can spread it completely. Because of this, the application tends to be streaky and if you try to continue rubbing after it has dried out a bit, you will end up with little particles that look like dry skin. MAYBE I just got a tube from a bad batch. Overall, a disappointing purchase.
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
GRMI
Location: MI
Review 7 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Product is Hit; my color is a miss
Date:July 31, 2013
Tags: people who need only minimal coverage, all skin types
I really do like this product. Compared to some other BB creams I've tried, this one wins hand down. Perfect amount of moisture without being greasy. I love that I can cleanse, tone, smooth this on and go, for an everyday look. The colors on site are misleading. I'm usually an NW40, so I chose Medium Dark because it has a milk chocolate look on the screen. Thought it would be perfect but as it turns out, it's really sort of a medium beige. Dark would have been a better choice (probably could have even gotten away with Dark Plus). But I make do with it, because it's too much trouble to exchange thru mail, and it's not yet available at my local MAC store. Next time I just know to go a shade darker :-)
+8points
11of 14found this review helpful.
Darla
Location: Louisiana
Review 8 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Cannot Live Without This!!!
Date:June 12, 2012
Tags: everyone, daily use, beautiful skin
I purchased this on a hunch, and I absolutely love this stuff!!!! I normally like medium to full coverage foundation, but this with a little mineralize skinfinish powder gives a truly flawless finish. Blending with a brush, or with your fingers, and it is invisible. All you see is beautiful, glowy skin (and I have LOTS of redness!!)
+18points
20of 22found this review helpful.
JazzKoen
Location: North Texas
Review 9 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love It
Date:June 3, 2011
Tags: not so perfect skin
I LOVE,LOVE this stuff. It goes on smooth and just a hint of color. Makes your makeup
last all day. Makes your skin look perfect.
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
Stacey1
Location: Texas
Review 10 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Amazing Product
Date:August 28, 2012
Tags: sun protection, foundation, oily skin
I have tried a lot of different BB creams and this one is the best. I use it as a foundation. It looks good all day and evens out skin tone. The coverage isn't heavy and I like it that way. I have severely oily Asian skin and this cream doesn't leave me looking shinny like a seal by the end of the work day.
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Kerby
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Review 11 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
On the BB Band wagon.
Date:August 12, 2011
Tags: combination/ oily skin that needs a little help.
I am intrigued by the new BB creams and have been waiting for MAC to come out with its version. I love this. High spf, goes on smoothly. light weight, no pilling , just enough color and the right amount of mattifying. Makes my skin really look flawless.
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
jvvt
Location: VT
Review 12 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
the best "all in one"
Date:November 11, 2011
Tags: light skin protection moisturize
i went to MAC to get just the regular primer and their associate told me to try this one instead, because they´d run out of the other one. i was a lil skeptical at first... but i agreed to get it. BLESS THAT DAY! :)
its an amazing primer that moisturizes my skin, it has a soft tint to it so it acts as a light foundation and it´s SPF 35 which is perfect for my light skin.
i barely use foundation anymore.
LOVE BEAUTY BALM!
get it!!
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
jannu
Location: panama
Review 13 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Not My Color
Date:August 28, 2012
I tried to find a shade that would work, but they are all horrid. Dark skin, do not apply. Disappointing? I chose not to purchase
+11points
15of 19found this review helpful.
Soulnoir
Review 14 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Date:November 10, 2012
Tags: dry/combination skin, flawlessfreshdewy look, prep the skin for foundation
I have been using the Prep + Prime Face Primer for a couple years now. It helped the foundation go on easier but i still felt like i needed something more so i decided to try the Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm and i absolutely fell in love on the first try. It not only helps the foundation go on smoother but it helps give a fresh dewy look. It also hydrates your skin but not to much so you dont get an oily look. I have combination skin but since its around the winter time my face can feel a little dry and tight and this helps reverse that. My favorite foundation is Pro-Longwear Foundation since it lasts all day and helps control oil that accumlates on the skin through out the day and with this on top of the Beauty Balm with a light dusting of Blot Pressed Powder and i have not a spot of oil. This is by far my favorite product ever and i highly recommend trying it out, Its def worth it
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
LovelyGirl
Location: new jersey
Review 15 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
NICE for people who dont want cakey feeling
Date:November 25, 2012
Tags: light coverage, non sticky feeling
I have dry to combo REALLY sensitive skin, I've broken out to bb creams (at least drugstore) I was fearful the SPF would break me out, but gladly this one didn't.
They're expanding their color range, I am really pale/yellow undertones and got the LIGHT+, i must say it's too light (sorta pink) for me, but it still works.
I pair this with my mineralize skin finish, and it works for me. It's SHEER, don't expect it to hide acne marks, but my MSF hides it.
What I really like about the BB cream is it evens my face out and brightens it up, it's a big plus that it's NOT sticky and NOT going to break me out.
The only problem is the price, it's too pricey, I probably WON'T repurchase.
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
OCgirly
Location: orange county, CA
Review 16 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Why so light?
Date:November 14, 2012
Tags: light skin tones
MAC, what's up with only providing your customers with 3 unbelievably light shade options for this product? Anyone who doesn't have a really light complexion cannot use this product at all. This behavior doesn't seem to fit the all-inclusive cosmetics company I have grown to love. Please fix this situation!
+7points
10of 13found this review helpful.
Kitten
Location: San Francisco
Review 17 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Great Product!
Date:May 29, 2012
Does just what it says it does! For those feeling streaky or having a hard time rubbing it in, I think they are using too much (I did that the first few times thinking I needed more than I really needed). I use a pea size amount and dab it on my chin, forehead and both my cheeks and then blend it in and have no problems. It is light colored and I have medium skin - olive undertone but using the correct amount you can't see any lines. I used this BB and then apply powder - no foundation needed for me (yet!) I'm 32 & mom of 2 young kids - my skin has changed since having babies, but this product definitely helps it look more evened out. Love the SPF 35!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Leigh
Location: WI
Review 18 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
4/5 Stars
Date:January 26, 2013
Tags: normal skin -not oily or dry
I originally went into MAC to purchase more of my usual foundation when the employee suggested i try this product as it had just come in that day. I have light skin but have a few red spots. I was pleased at how light it felt and belded seemlessly. You can build on it to cover up red spots but it doesn't cover as much as my regular foundation. Definately use a brush with this and not a sponge...it goes a lot further! It does smell a bit like sun tan lotion, but i like that smell :) Overall, I would recommend this to a friend,
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
lemnak
Location: Chilliwack, BC
Review 19 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
good stuff
Date:September 24, 2011
Tags: priming, skipping the foundation straight to powder, spf protection
Great lasting power, plus spf 35 makes it even better. I have yet to try it on my darker skin tone clients. So far so good. Totally different texture from Prep + Prime Skin. I like the Skin's texture better than this one (more silky), but this one feels more like a tinted moisturizer but it feels like it holds on to makeup better...
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
kmlstudio
Location: sacramento
Review 20 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love!
Date:October 31, 2012
I love this stuff! And it does work well as a foundation primer, BUT my favorite part is that it's an amazing eyeshadow primer! I apply the BB cream to my face and use whatever's left on by brush on my eyes, then apply Face & Body (which is a little darker that my actually skin tone, to off-set the lightness of the BB cream) then brush on some finishing powder all over my face, and last apply Paint Pot to my lids and finish my makeup. My makeup has been done for 11 hours and it's only now starting to crease noticeably (and I have oily skin). Only downside: small range in colors, which is fixable with foundation and bronzer.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
meghanw
Location: California
1-20 of 52 reviews