Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MAC Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35

Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (64 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
4
Customer Reviews for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Review 1 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
My skin said "Yes"
Date:January 6, 2014
Tags: natural looking skin primer everyday wear, get up and go makeup busy people
This is the best product I have purchased in sometime now. I wanted something for those days when I don't want to wear heavy makeup and this is perfect! I finished the look off with mac's skinfinish natural and it gives me the no makeup but makeup look that you see so often in your favorite beauty and fashion magazines. As a busy Mother of 4 and business owner I don't have time sometimes to do a full out face and this will def. become my go to everyday wear. I must add that these photos are so wrong!!! I am nc42 in macs prolongwear foundation and I purchased dark in the bb creme at the counter..online dark looks basically an ebony color and I am not that dark! I highly recommend going to the store to purchase the first time to make sure you have the correct shade as the photos are nothing more than wrong! Hope this helps!
+97points
104of 111found this review helpful.
Yourfavlashguru
Location: Mauldin, SC
Review 2 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
Great product
Date:January 13, 2015
Tags: normal/combination skin
I'm 63 years old & have been using this product on my combination skin for over a year. It gives me color & some coverage without looking heavy, as heavy applications of foundation & powder at my age are aging! I use the Medium Plus shade on my light-medium skin, as I frequently use a self tanner to give me a tad more color. Pairing moisturizer with this BB cream makes my skin look healthy! One tube lasts 2-3 months (using 5-6 days per week). A great product & a good value!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Debbi
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Review 3 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: Less than 1 year
M•A•C Products owned: 1-5 products
BB cream is amazing but only useful to some
Date:December 29, 2012
Tags: fair to light complexions, dry skin, minimal need for cover up
I just bought this beauty balm on the recommendation of MAC saleswoman when I said I wanted a liquid foundation to use under my powder (my usual foundation) to fill in a few acne scars and basically do what powder foundation can't. She recommended the BB balm and applied it to my face. She said it helps minimize redness as well. She used the "light plus" shade. I bought it and I am oh so glad I did. I tried it at home myself and works perfectly! I almost don't even need to apply any foundation or powder on top. I certainly don't have perfect skin. Even in my late 20's I still have breakouts occasionally and I have a few light acne scars, but this product makes my skin appear much clearer than it is. I also have fairly dry skin, especially in the winter so this product helps prevent the flakiness you get with powder foundation.
The downside....the limited color selection. I looked this product up online after I purchased it and was SHOCKED to find my "shade" was the darkest they made. You have got to be kidding me! I have pretty fair/light skin and usually wear the shade just above the lightest shade in foundations (I have never used MAC before so I don't know my MAC foundation shade.) My undertone is neutral. The light plus matches my skin exactly. If my shade in this beauty balm is the darkest they make I can't imagine how many people are excluded. MAC really should make a larger variety of tones for this particular product and maybe if enough people make these comments they will.
+48points
60of 72found this review helpful.
hkras
Location: Columbus, OH
Review 4 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Beauty Balm Rocks!!!!!
Date:March 15, 2014
Tags: flawless face, buildable coverage, natural smooth texture
I went to MAC in Orland Square Mall and Jacara was so nice to apply this BB cream to my face and wow did I look amazing. She put the Prep & Prime CC Pen in Peach Lustre to correct my imperfections and NW45 studio fix concealer to conceal. Then she use the 130 brush to apply Dark Deep BB cream all over my face and set everything with the CC Loose Powder in Recharge. My skin was so flawless and just pretty. I was so having a vanity moment ladies, usually I am a lot more humble about myself but not this time. LOL. It creates an amazingly smooth and flawless appearance too. I like to apply the BB cream with the 159 brush (if you don't have, after you read this review, get it) after putting on my studio fix concealer. Then I moisten my beauty blender with water to enlarge it and spray some fix + on it and smooth everything out. Creates an even smooth application to the face. Stay Faceful ladies!!!
+28points
31of 34found this review helpful.
Silkylady
Location: Chicago
Review 5 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Incredible!
Date:January 22, 2014
Tags: covering imperfections, luminous skin
I've always heard about BB products, but I never tried them because I have Rosacea. I wear a tinted medicated moisturizer over my skin. I figured I could never get a color to match where it would look natural. Boy, was I wrong. This incredible product in the color Light Plus matches my skin perfectly. My brown spots on the side of my face are gone. I have a wonderful luminous glow. I no longer need any under eye concealer which is amazing because I have hereditary under eye circles. My skin is so smooth the rest of my make-up glides on smoothly and my skin is so soft. Use Brush #188, It loses a lot of hairs in the process, but works perfectly for applying this product. I originally purchased the color Medium Plus which was too dark. Returned for Light Plus which was perfect. Don't give up on the color - - it's well worth experimenting.
+36points
41of 46found this review helpful.
Dooney
Location: Medford, OR
Review 6 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
I'm In Lovvvveee
Date:November 10, 2014
Tags: tinted moisturizer
I love this product. I wear this bb cream with concealer and it looks so natural. It feels so light, like I have nothing on but still provides medium coverage. The shade matches my skin tone better than my regular mac shade, which is nc42. It's more neutral/beige than mac's regular shades. I also have very dry skin and it moisturizes and hydrates my skin so well.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Omninico
Location: Kansas City, KS
Review 7 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
Amazing and worth the money!
Date:April 19, 2014
This product is great! Great quality just as you would come to expect from MAC. I purchased a similar and cheaper product from a different brand and was totally disappointed. Not only did it break me out but it also did not blend well. This product blends well and actually provides nice coverage without being thick. It is a bit on the light side. I read several reviews before purchasing and many suggested buying a shade darker than you normally would. I did and was very happy. Just for reference I wear NC30 in the winter and NC35 in the summer and I ordered medium and have been very happy with it. Hope this helps.
+15points
18of 21found this review helpful.
JanaGad
Location: Atlanta, GA
Review 8 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Amazing Product
Date:August 28, 2012
Tags: sun protection, foundation, oily skin
I have tried a lot of different BB creams and this one is the best. I use it as a foundation. It looks good all day and evens out skin tone. The coverage isn't heavy and I like it that way. I have severely oily Asian skin and this cream doesn't leave me looking shinny like a seal by the end of the work day.
+21points
21of 21found this review helpful.
Kerby
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Review 9 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Thick and very light.
Date:March 1, 2012
Tags: women with very fair skin
I tried two other BB creams before I tried MAC Prep + Prime BB. One was too yellow. The other one was pretty good, but not perfect. I was hoping MAC would be perfect. However, the product is VERY LIGHT. My skin isn't very dark but I do tend to wear light to medium shades in foundations. The BB cream was very obvious on my skin. It looked like I was wearing foundation that was about two shades too light. Aside from the color problem, the formulation is also very thick and tends to dry before you can spread it completely. Because of this, the application tends to be streaky and if you try to continue rubbing after it has dried out a bit, you will end up with little particles that look like dry skin. MAYBE I just got a tube from a bad batch. Overall, a disappointing purchase.
+17points
17of 17found this review helpful.
GRMI
Location: MI
Review 10 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Cannot Live Without This!!!
Date:June 12, 2012
Tags: everyone, daily use, beautiful skin
I purchased this on a hunch, and I absolutely love this stuff!!!! I normally like medium to full coverage foundation, but this with a little mineralize skinfinish powder gives a truly flawless finish. Blending with a brush, or with your fingers, and it is invisible. All you see is beautiful, glowy skin (and I have LOTS of redness!!)
+31points
33of 35found this review helpful.
JazzKoen
Location: North Texas
Review 11 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Love It
Date:June 3, 2011
Tags: not so perfect skin
I LOVE,LOVE this stuff. It goes on smooth and just a hint of color. Makes your makeup
last all day. Makes your skin look perfect.
+19points
19of 19found this review helpful.
Stacey1
Location: Texas
Review 12 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
On the BB Band wagon.
Date:August 12, 2011
Tags: combination/ oily skin that needs a little help.
I am intrigued by the new BB creams and have been waiting for MAC to come out with its version. I love this. High spf, goes on smoothly. light weight, no pilling , just enough color and the right amount of mattifying. Makes my skin really look flawless.
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
jvvt
Location: VT
Review 13 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
the best "all in one"
Date:November 11, 2011
Tags: light skin protection moisturize
i went to MAC to get just the regular primer and their associate told me to try this one instead, because they´d run out of the other one. i was a lil skeptical at first... but i agreed to get it. BLESS THAT DAY! :)
its an amazing primer that moisturizes my skin, it has a soft tint to it so it acts as a light foundation and it´s SPF 35 which is perfect for my light skin.
i barely use foundation anymore.
LOVE BEAUTY BALM!
get it!!
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
jannu
Location: panama
Review 14 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Way too light
Date:January 8, 2014
Tags: smoothing/evening
I wear NC 35 in studio fix foundation. The salesman gave me light. I look like a mime. Love the formula, hate the color. Smooths and perfects but go darker. Trust me.
+15points
22of 29found this review helpful.
MrsCadle
Location: Richlands, VA
Review 15 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Product is Hit; my color is a miss
Date:July 31, 2013
Tags: people who need only minimal coverage, all skin types
I really do like this product. Compared to some other BB creams I've tried, this one wins hand down. Perfect amount of moisture without being greasy. I love that I can cleanse, tone, smooth this on and go, for an everyday look. The colors on site are misleading. I'm usually an NW40, so I chose Medium Dark because it has a milk chocolate look on the screen. Thought it would be perfect but as it turns out, it's really sort of a medium beige. Dark would have been a better choice (probably could have even gotten away with Dark Plus). But I make do with it, because it's too much trouble to exchange thru mail, and it's not yet available at my local MAC store. Next time I just know to go a shade darker :-)
+12points
16of 20found this review helpful.
Darla
Location: Louisiana
Review 16 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 6-10 products
Wonderful Product
Date:June 22, 2013
Personally,I immediately thought the packaging was very nice.very handy and it could fit anywhere,but for the makeup itself it is amazing,it brightened my skin instantly,just a thin film makes my skin look so natural and radiant.I am an NC20 and I got it in extra light.It's smooth,it plumps my skin and covers any imperfections,my skin looks healthy. It's also a great foundation saver! I totally recommended this primer!
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Kinny
Location: California
Review 17 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Date:November 10, 2012
Tags: dry/combination skin, flawlessfreshdewy look, prep the skin for foundation
I have been using the Prep + Prime Face Primer for a couple years now. It helped the foundation go on easier but i still felt like i needed something more so i decided to try the Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm and i absolutely fell in love on the first try. It not only helps the foundation go on smoother but it helps give a fresh dewy look. It also hydrates your skin but not to much so you dont get an oily look. I have combination skin but since its around the winter time my face can feel a little dry and tight and this helps reverse that. My favorite foundation is Pro-Longwear Foundation since it lasts all day and helps control oil that accumlates on the skin through out the day and with this on top of the Beauty Balm with a light dusting of Blot Pressed Powder and i have not a spot of oil. This is by far my favorite product ever and i highly recommend trying it out, Its def worth it
+8points
9of 10found this review helpful.
LovelyGirl
Location: new jersey
Review 18 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: 11-15 products
I wanted to love this....
Date:August 4, 2014
This barely gave me light coverage and seemed to make my skin oilier as the day went on.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Techie78
Location: Chicago, IL
Review 19 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: 1-3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
Finally a BB cream for Me!
Date:October 3, 2013
Tags: fair skin sunburnt prone skin
Since this whole BB cream trend went off, I told myself not to get into that- because they were way darker than my skin tone/coloring and because they don't offer enough coverage for my redness.However, that all changed when I was in need of something other than foundation for daily wear. So I thought about a BB cream...and while I was chatting with a lovely SA at MAC, she said that I should cuz it offers SPF protection and coverage, and a color to fit me! I was skeptical, but when she applied this in Extra Light, I fell in love and bought it immediately. I've never regretted it, since it melts into my skin and it looks like I'm wearing no makeup at all. This is my first BB cream and I'm happy I found one that actually fits me! Next I'm trying the compact! :)
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Zarie
Location: Washington
Review 20 for Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm SPF 35
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Using M•A•C for: More than 3 years
M•A•C Products owned: More than 15 products
GREAT COVERAGE
Date:January 12, 2015
I REALLY LIKE THIS BB CREAM, ITS ONE OF MY FAVORITE BB CREAMS. I LOVE THAT IT HAS A HIGH SPF. I USE IT IN PLACE OF FOUNDATION, IT COVERS GREAT AND LASTS ALL DAY. PRETTY GREAT FOR A BB CREAM
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
JACQUE408
Location: san jose,ca
1-20 of 64 reviews